Credit Card v13

TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 7 2011, 05:06 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jan 7 2011, 07:22 AM)
I wonder do they keep your original FD slip/cert as collateral after approving the card?
For HSBC, no.

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Jan 7 2011, 09:14 AM)
how entry is entry o? u have atlease 200k relationship with them...
CL shouldn't be too low ooo..
Many have complained it really is very low. But i guess this is normal. Standard Chartered for instance, requires one to have a minimum deposit of RM250k with them to be a Priority Banking client and the credit line given to the Priority Banking VISA Infinite is peanut too.

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jan 7 2011, 09:15 AM)
FYI, the entry level is RM30K CL for the HSBC Premier MasterCard
Same for HSBC VISA Platinum.

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Jan 7 2011, 03:26 PM)
don't know how LHDN calculate but for my 3k i paid RM15

yup the cs in masjid jamek gave me the whole stack of document & i went to LHDN stamp office to got it stamp
How troublesome ! Last time when i applied for a secured credit card from HSBC, i did not have to pay any stamp duty at all. I only had to sign on a few documents and that was it.
ck_tonny
post Jan 7 2011, 06:39 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 7 2011, 05:06 PM)
How troublesome ! Last time when i applied for a secured credit card from HSBC, i did not have to pay any stamp duty at all. I only had to sign on a few documents and that was it.
Maybe OCBC has a strict internal control, they want all documents legalised, if not court will not recognised their documents, haha.
winner
post Jan 7 2011, 09:00 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 7 2011, 01:36 PM)
Overall, I feel OCBC Titanium is better than AMEX Gold Credit Card. But the AMEX can be use as secondary after OCBC.
OCBC Titanium MC is definitely better than Amex Gold cc. Not talking about the benefits, Amex's acceptance level will never be as good as MC and VISA.
charymsylyn
post Jan 7 2011, 10:04 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(roy918 @ Jan 7 2011, 01:22 PM)
If one happens to hold OCBC Titanium and Amex, do you think OCBC Titanium better than Amex?
There is no right or wrong answer but this is purely discussion. There is no point to discuss here if you are limiting what can be discussed.
In my case, my Amex Gold CC of 3 years was cut in favour of OCBC Titanium. Also decided to let my Sonycard of 4 years go in favour of CIMB DA. But looking at the promotions dropped, probably wouldn't keep my DA for 2012.
winner
post Jan 7 2011, 10:12 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Jan 7 2011, 10:04 PM)
In my case, my Amex Gold CC of 3 years was cut in favour of OCBC Titanium.
3 years? Amex Gold cc was introduced in mid 2009.
shauyan
post Jan 7 2011, 10:13 PM

178 posts

hi guys, need your opinion.
I'm planning to travel overseas. I have 3 cards: CIMB Master Gold, Citi Cash back Plat and Maybank Petronas Gold.

When one you recommend to use? Maybank have lowest 0.5% admin charge but how the conversion rate?
charymsylyn
post Jan 7 2011, 10:27 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jan 7 2011, 10:12 PM)
3 years? Amex Gold cc was introduced in mid 2009.
Opps, you are right, got confused because they set my expiry date the same as my MBB Amex card. Got mine in August 2009.
ronnie
post Jan 7 2011, 11:03 PM

Not enough stars
21,313 posts

QUOTE(shauyan @ Jan 7 2011, 10:13 PM)
I'm planning to travel overseas. I have 3 cards: CIMB Master Gold, Citi Cash back Plat and Maybank Petronas Gold.

When one you recommend to use? Maybank have lowest 0.5% admin charge but how the conversion rate?
Without a doubt, use the Maybank Petronas Gold when overseas. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
hye
post Jan 7 2011, 11:11 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Just use your Maybank for overseas use. Conversion rate ? You didn't even tell us which country you want to go to ... which date, what time you intend to use the card. Conversion rates will change on a daily basis and the rates are set by the bank, none of us here would be able to tell you what is the conversion rate is right ?
hebe87
post Jan 7 2011, 11:15 PM

935 posts

None of us able to tell the conversion rate.

But from experience by several card users here, MBB cards have the lower rates (after conversion and admin charges)
chng5255
post Jan 7 2011, 11:30 PM

109 posts

ranking of bank in terms of cc recognition? anyone pls?

This post has been edited by chng5255: Jan 7 2011, 11:42 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 7 2011, 11:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 7 2011, 05:06 PM)
Many have complained it really is very low. But i guess this is normal. Standard Chartered for instance, requires one to have a minimum deposit of RM250k with them to be a Priority Banking client and the credit line given to the Priority Banking VISA Infinite is peanut too.
RM200K-RM300K in deposits nowadays is not much, you can't even get a double storey terrace house in 1U area. Bangsar single storey terrace house also cannot get.

There is a big difference between a person having annual income of RM200K vs a person having only RM300K in deposit and no regular income. The thing is when one deposit RM250K to RM300K, the amount is not pledge towards CC CL.

read my post in my blog below where I did do a comparison between different cards for SG transactions:
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/

MBB generally give lower conversion rate. If you do travel overseas frequently, recommend you apply MBB Plat MC where it gives 2X Treat Points (Petronas Plat 1X only).
TeraPox
post Jan 7 2011, 11:39 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 7 2011, 11:36 PM)
RM200K-RM300K in deposits nowadays is not much, you can't even get a double storey terrace house in 1U area. Bangsar single storey terrace house also cannot get.

There is a big difference between a person having annual income of RM200K vs a person having only RM300K in deposit and no regular income. The thing is when one deposit RM250K to RM300K, the amount is not pledge towards CC CL.
read my post in my blog below where I did do a comparison between different cards for SG transactions:
http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/

MBB generally give lower conversion rate. If you do travel overseas frequently, recommend you apply MBB Plat MC where it gives 2X Treat Points (Petronas Plat 1X only).
it's minimum from 200k... smile.gif the actual amount can be various...

btw, my premier CL is quite high... altho not as high as my MBB WMC.

I always shop online and shop @ SG... citibank rate is okie, mbb provides good rate as well... just dun use any Amex card oversea...

This post has been edited by TeraPox: Jan 7 2011, 11:42 PM
erry-
post Jan 8 2011, 12:17 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 7 2011, 11:36 PM)
If you do travel overseas frequently, recommend you apply MBB Plat MC where it gives 2X Treat Points (Petronas Plat 1X only).
mbb plat mc only? how about plat visa?

but remember, mbb plat got annual fee RM550 sweat.gif

unless they give u free (like me, they give me free 3 years, after expired another free 3 years thumbup.gif)
mine is visa.

Faidzal
post Jan 8 2011, 12:19 AM

240 posts

Any chance of Direct access/CIMB giving petrol rebates again?

Dun wan to apply another CC just to get petrol rebates, I kind of like DA's Balance transfer terms (effectively 6 months interest free loan). No, i don't want to switch to the CIMB petronas card either.
erry-
post Jan 8 2011, 12:21 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Jan 6 2011, 09:42 PM)
i did fd pledge & got my ocbc titanium, there are plenty of document to sign & got it stamp duty
however, bank still have the right to reject the application
btw, the min fd to pledge is RM3k smile.gif
this is my prob.

pledge fd is 'like' to show the bank how much money we can 'store' with them 'as a proof' to get their cc.
in my case, i dont have any prob to pay my cc (all no outstanding).

so as u said, if i do pledge fd with ocbc, they also have the right to reject sweat.gif

QUOTE(Faidzal @ Jan 8 2011, 12:19 AM)
Any chance of Direct access/CIMB giving petrol rebates again?

Dun wan to apply another CC just to get petrol rebates, I kind of like DA's Balance transfer terms (effectively 6 months interest free loan). No, i don't want to switch to the CIMB petronas card either.
no idea sweat.gif

go apply ocbc. no harms.
get 5% rebate at all petrol station.

use rm10k/year they will give bonus rm50 on 13th statement (to offset gst 2nd year).

wongpeter
post Jan 8 2011, 12:25 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(chng5255 @ Jan 7 2011, 11:30 PM)
ranking of bank in terms of cc recognition? anyone pls?
cc recognition based on what criteria?

or is your question based loosely along the lines of 'what is the meaning of life?' anyone care to answer?
erry-
post Jan 8 2011, 12:26 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jan 6 2011, 01:53 PM)
hmmm i am actually rather happy with alliance plat - good CS. try calling their plat line - the regular number is a waste of time. 03-55169898

good luck.
PJusa, i wanna ask u regarding alliance plat cash back.

at main page shows "Up to 2.0% cash back on anything, anywhere, anytime."

at details page show "Up to 2.0% cash back on retail spend".

i know the cash back is tier-based.

my question now, is petrol included? thanks

notworthy.gif

hye
post Jan 8 2011, 12:41 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Jan 8 2011, 12:25 AM)
cc recognition based on what criteria?

or is your question based loosely along the lines of 'what is the meaning of life?' anyone care to answer?
I won't bother ... question is very subjective. You can ask 100 guys in here and they will give you 100 different answers.
TeraPox
post Jan 8 2011, 12:56 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 8 2011, 12:41 AM)
I won't bother ... question is very subjective. You can ask 100 guys in here and they will give you 100 different answers.
I agree with hye... smile.gif

123 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:46 PM