126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V5

r1v3r
post Jan 24 2011, 11:18 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 21 2011, 05:49 PM)
care to share how long ago was that? they are really limiting pr approvals... but i hope the low birth rate news will loosen the requirements  biggrin.gif
My son got his PR ~Aug 2010

Wrong, GE coming GOV only wants Singaporean and not PRs. SG babies don't need PR application. Instead ang pow, 4 months leave etc is waitting for SG babies. If your babies are PR, some company only give paid maternity leave of 2 months for up to two confinment(two delivery) only. Mother have to apply no pay leave or take MC/hospital leave for the 3rd kids onward. That's why most PR only have 2 kids unless the wife don't have to work.

When I renew my re-rentry permit, the officer just click on the screen and tell me how many times I leave the country and for how long I was away. I was away for a long time so they only renew 3 years for me instead of 5 or 10 years last time. Now maximum re-rentry permit renewal is 5 years.

SG wants as many PR to convert as they are mostly well educated and earning good money. Most PR thanks SG for the education/work opportunity the SG gov provided. SO, what is the chance for these converted PR to support the current GOV wink.gif They also want these PR to integrate to the local society before they convert. So what is the chance for SG gov to grant PR to a person who stay in JB and spent very little time with the local society wink.gif ( Lets say SG gave those who work in SG stay in JB voting right, will these people even bother to vote at all?)

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Jan 24 2011, 11:35 AM
Shinichi
post Jan 24 2011, 10:51 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Jan 24 2011, 10:53 AM)
Comtech is a building along Alexandra road not a company. smile.gif
oops, thanks for pointing this out smile.gif

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Jan 24 2011, 10:59 AM)
1. You can look at the following area nearby. Travel depends on where you stay. You can always use gothere.sg to check for most efficient route.
    - Queenstown, Redhill, Telok Blangah
Thanks bro for the tips, will check out available rooms around these areas then smile.gif
Now waiting for my EP before can start asking around for room rental...

For room rental in SG, can I rent a room for few months then move to another place? I don't think there will be any contract to bond us at least need to rent for 1 year right?

Added on January 24, 2011, 10:54 pmBased on information from IRAS, tax residents refers to those residing in SG for >= 183 days, but is it inclusive of Saturday & Sunday too?

Added on January 24, 2011, 11:10 pmHi all, following are my checklist items for Singapore new comers:

1. Accommodation (room rental ~ S$500-600)
2. Getting Connected (phone and/or broadband)
3. Travel (EZLink)
4. Banking Account

Please help to add on if I missed any. Probably this can be updated at thread first page to ease those who will be joining us in future smile.gif

This post has been edited by Shinichi: Jan 24 2011, 11:10 PM
wlcling
post Jan 24 2011, 11:48 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 24 2011, 10:51 PM)
oops, thanks for pointing this out smile.gif
Thanks bro for the tips, will check out available rooms around these areas then smile.gif
Now waiting for my EP before can start asking around for room rental...

For room rental in SG, can I rent a room for few months then move to another place? I don't think there will be any contract to bond us at least need to rent for 1 year right?

Added on January 24, 2011, 10:54 pmBased on information from IRAS, tax residents refers to those residing in SG for >= 183 days, but is it inclusive of Saturday & Sunday too?

Added on January 24, 2011, 11:10 pmHi all, following are my checklist items for Singapore new comers:

1. Accommodation  (room rental ~ S$500-600)
2. Getting Connected (phone and/or broadband)
3. Travel (EZLink)
4. Banking Account

Please help to add on if I missed any. Probably this can be updated at thread first page to ease those who will be joining us in future smile.gif
normally room rental contracts are bonded at 6 months minimum with 1 year lease.. that's quite the common standard. if within 6 months you leave, landlord has the right to makan your 1 month deposit (yes this is the standard too)...

i used to stay at tiong bahru area which is a convenient 25 min bus ride to alexandra point. abit expensive as since its the closest hdbs to orchard road..
wlcling
post Jan 24 2011, 11:58 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(charhorfun @ Jan 21 2011, 11:35 PM)
Guys, wanted to ask about this.

I have been trying to find out non-HDB property prices from SG property websites, but it seems all non-HDB property prices are "POA - price on ask" only. Can't get a feel on the price range.

Can you guys share with the price range of the most affordable non-HDB property?

I am planning to work in SG. I am hoping not to rent a place due to the expensive rental (I have a family). I would prefer to buy a property, any decent / not too old / 3-4 rooms flat near MRT will meet my needs. But since I am not a PR, I can't get HDB. And applying PR for myself and my family will take a long time, and I don't want my money to go into rental.

If you guys know of any property website that list the price of non-HDB property please do share with me. Thank you!
3-4 room not too old, non-HDB property near an MRT? i think 2 mil is sufficient ba! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 23 2011, 11:05 AM)
private condo costs million SGD...i cant afford it  cry.gif
don't fret.. i cant even afford a 500k hdb.

QUOTE(Argiope @ Jan 23 2011, 04:07 PM)
Heya, do you guys have experience with any of these 3 hotels before? Need some feedbacks on hotel condition, conveniency and location as my parents (60 y.o.) are visiting next month and prefer to stay in Chinatown and short walking distance (5-10 mins) to MRT/hawker centres.

1. Hotel Re! - $378 for 3 nights.
2. Hotel 81 Osaka - $294 for 3 nights. (If not mistaken this is located in a neighbourhood and don't have much to see/shop/walk nearby?)
3. Hotel 81 Chinatown - $303 for 3 nights. (Wotif says usual price $300/night! Sure anot?)

hotel 81 chinatown best for your aged parents since its nearest.. price is still reasonable ba at avg 100 p night... (wotif's quote is exaggerated.. only their mystery deals are worth it)
wlcling
post Jan 25 2011, 12:01 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

Just sharing... what you need to know on the benefits/drawbacks of singapore citizenship.. maybe can put to front of page... think this will be a common question in the future when more ppl here get older and need to plan for the future

http://www.guidemesingapore.com/relocation...s-and-drawbacks
r1v3r
post Jan 25 2011, 10:44 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 25 2011, 12:01 AM)
Just sharing... what you need to know on the benefits/drawbacks of singapore citizenship.. maybe can put to front of page... think this will be a common question in the future when more ppl here get older and need to plan for the future

http://www.guidemesingapore.com/relocation...s-and-drawbacks
This guide is mostly talk about $$ and it only consider student and working adults not so much from the perspective of children and senior resident.

blinkblink88
post Jan 25 2011, 11:01 AM

Blink Pets Bakery
650 posts

may i know do anyone tried that the Singapore government refuse to give you the working visa because of you still owe ptptn loan?
crapp0
post Jan 25 2011, 11:04 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 24 2011, 11:48 PM)
normally room rental contracts are bonded at 6 months minimum with 1 year lease.. that's quite the common standard. if within 6 months you leave, landlord has the right to makan your 1 month deposit (yes this is the standard too)...

i used to stay at tiong bahru area which is a convenient 25 min bus ride to alexandra point. abit expensive as since its the closest hdbs to orchard road..
Wow, minimum 6 months stay. So far i've rented from landlords and its always 3months minimum stay or forfeit of deposit.

But if the landlord cannot tahan you and ask you to leave within the first 3 months, then the landlord should pay you an amount equating to the monthly desposit. But to escape this prob, what landlords do is impose new rules and make your life a living hell to force you to leave, rather then they ask you to leave.
Aloong
post Jan 25 2011, 11:20 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 25 2011, 11:04 AM)
Wow, minimum 6 months stay. So far i've rented from landlords and its always 3months minimum stay or forfeit of deposit.

But if the landlord cannot tahan you and ask you to leave within the first 3 months, then the landlord should pay you an amount equating to the monthly desposit. But to escape this prob, what landlords do is impose new rules and make your life a living hell to force you to leave, rather then they ask you to leave.
What if u dun follow these "new rules"?
What can they do, they will still nid to ask u to leave.

seantang
post Jan 25 2011, 11:22 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Something I saw from JobsDB this morning. From the description, it should be Sands. They even whack the salary in the ad!

Regional Financial Analyst

●        Newly Created Position / Ample Growth Opportunity
●        Central Location
●        Salary Circa – 65K per annum

My client is a leading gaming developer listed in the US Stock Exchange with its regional head office in Singapore. It has plans to start and grow a new product line in Asia, as such they are looking to recruit an experienced Financial Analyst to join its team.

Reporting and working closely with the CFO as well as the Managing Directors in the other countries, you will be responsible for managing the forecast, budget, and planning for their two business units. You will analyse the P&L, investigate variance to the budget and forecast, analyse potential deals and provide advice to the management on their profitability. In addition, you will develop sophisticated, robust and consistent models for scenario analysis to support their decision making process.

To qualify for this position, you should have an accountancy degree with over 3 years of working experience in a similar capacity. You should have advance excel skills and strong financial modelling experience. This is an excellent opportunity to join a growing organisation with ample plans for expansion.

Interested candidates can either forward their CVs in MS Word Format to Finance-WY@talent2.com.sg quoting reference WY/31030/LT or contact, Wai Yin Yeo in our Singapore Office, at +65 6511 8537 for a preliminary and confidential discussion.

alvin227
post Jan 25 2011, 11:32 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 23 2011, 01:31 AM)
Nop, will be working at HP. smile.gif
Yes, the norm is S$60k for most banks. But I do recall there was a bank that require foreigner income to be around S$40 or 45k only... but could not recall which bank for now. I'll check all available banks in SG and browse thru their cards section to find a suitable card for me...
which bu? eb?
crapp0
post Jan 25 2011, 01:22 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jan 25 2011, 11:20 AM)
What if u dun follow these "new rules"?
What can they do, they will still nid to ask u to leave.
They will make things very difficult to force you to break the contract and pay to the landlord if you leave within the 3 first months, rather then they ask you to leave and pay you the penalty price.

Woah, a crane accident just occurred at sembawang shipyard, the crane drivers head was sliced.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 25 2011, 03:15 PM
akira de aimbuster
post Jan 25 2011, 03:46 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jan 24 2011, 11:07 AM)
I am not sure bout the chances of one getting industrial training in Singapore but what i heard is very low because u need to have a working permit to work here. Unless u study in singapore and the student pass then u can get industrial training here.
I have sent to 3 companies in sg, and one of them asked me to interview with them in sg sweat.gif
I dont think making the working permit is hard for them, especially for big companies.

3 is kinda less, since only one out of 10++ will really reply student. So I am thinking of sending my application to more company, but i have hard time finding company is sg sweat.gif
crapp0
post Jan 25 2011, 04:20 PM

4,414 posts

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

This ruling reminds me of an animal activist petitioning the amount of space given to livestock during transportation. Only in singapore, they apply it to people, especially foreigners. In dubai which is considered less developed then singapore, you hardly see employers transporting worker in vehicles which were designed to "only" carry goods.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Heres another brochure. Noticed how it depicts the guy whose sitting on the floor is much happier then the guy who has a proper seat? I wonder which fella made this since it just doesnt make much common sense. Instead of malaysia boleh, singapore pun boleh juga.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 25 2011, 04:51 PM
magiclover
post Jan 25 2011, 05:25 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 25 2011, 01:22 PM)
They will make things very difficult to force you to break the contract and pay to the landlord if you leave within the 3 first months, rather then they ask you to leave and pay you the penalty price.

Woah, a crane accident just occurred at sembawang shipyard, the crane drivers head was sliced.
Do I get to see in news?
r1v3r
post Jan 25 2011, 05:27 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 25 2011, 04:20 PM)
Heres another brochure. Noticed how it depicts the guy whose sitting on the floor is much happier then the guy who has a proper seat? I wonder which fella made this since it just doesnt make much common sense. Instead of malaysia boleh, singapore pun boleh juga.
All because of COE and to help SME make more money.

In the brochure, person sitting down on the floor would have lower Center of gravity (CG) than those who sit on somthing (thus higher). Tendency of falling out is higher for those with higher CG.... Having said that, I must say that allowing people to sit behind truck without seat and seat belt is not a good policy. Even the school bus have indivisual seat belt.

Then again, many SG male will have chace to sit behind truck when they serve NS right?

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Jan 25 2011, 05:28 PM
reign226
post Jan 25 2011, 08:03 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jan 14 2011, 01:54 PM)
Some of the activities, you can do it alone like jogging, swimming, play some online games etc.

Btw, I would like to do some night safari/zoo photography... anyone keen to join?
DSLR?

QUOTE(fbjkl @ Jan 15 2011, 10:52 AM)
anyone is working in Keppel Shipyard/Jurong Shipyard?

which 1 is better? in terms of career advancement, benefits, welfare, bonus?
Keppel FELS. Bonus among the highest compare to other BU I believe =). Never had experience with Jurong although recently they got a few projects also.

QUOTE(wseng @ Jan 18 2011, 08:49 AM)
i'm in marine line but not keppel / jurong. heard so far their bonuses almost alike.. in terms of months.
not sure though about salary. but in my impression Keppel guys looks much better overall.

Exposure is super great ... but workload is the huge turn down. Same for both shipyards.
if you manage to pull through years in shipyard you might be someone great someday

Added on January 18, 2011, 8:51 am

any lucky ones got their PR approved these days .. ?
Yes working hours and long and tough, even more so if you are in production. It is the nature of the business. Expect to come in during weekends and holidays as everybody is always chasing the deadline.

Added on January 25, 2011, 8:08 pm
QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Jan 25 2011, 11:01 AM)
may i know do anyone tried that the Singapore government refuse to give you the working visa because of you still owe ptptn loan?
Sg gov / your employer won't know about PTPTN or anything like that. But if you owe money it's best to pay back because there are lots of people out there who needs it in Malaysia.

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Jan 25 2011, 03:46 PM)
I have sent to 3 companies in sg, and one of them asked me to interview with them in sg sweat.gif
I dont think making the working permit is hard for them, especially for big companies.

3 is kinda less, since only one out of 10++ will really reply student. So I am thinking of sending my application to more company, but i have hard time finding company is sg sweat.gif
Last time I must have sent more than 25 applications but only one responded. Just preservere and try your best.

This post has been edited by reign226: Jan 25 2011, 08:08 PM
rickysim84
post Jan 25 2011, 08:36 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Jan 25 2011, 03:46 PM)

Wow, ur response not bad le. For me last time, i send out more than 10 companies and non replied D:

Still, choose the right company with u so that after the intern, u can straight work there without problem.
crapp0
post Jan 25 2011, 09:47 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(magiclover @ Jan 25 2011, 05:25 PM)
Do I get to see in news?
It wont be publicize, but it will be in mom records that an accident did happen. A few times fatal accidents do happen in both sembawang and keppel shipyards but u never hear about it unless its has a high death toll count.

Anyway the accident i mentioned occurred today. One fatality which was the crane driver. I doubt anybody will fuss about it since its not somebody important so no news about it.

Added on January 25, 2011, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 25 2011, 05:27 PM)
All because of COE and to help SME make more money.

In the brochure, person sitting down on the floor would have lower Center of gravity (CG) than those who sit on somthing (thus higher). Tendency of falling out is higher for those with higher CG.... Having said that, I must say that allowing people to sit behind truck without seat and seat belt is not a good policy. Even the school bus have indivisual seat belt.

Then again, many SG male will have chace to sit behind truck when they serve NS right?
NS fellas have proper seats with cushion with a canopy over their heads. You'll notice for the foreign workers whose company transport is a vehicle designed to transport goods, it doesnt have the amenities of canopy, or proper seats for that matter, let alone seat belts. So in the case of an accident, these guys get tossed around like rag dolls either in a steal cage out the vehicle they go. But its not really a big deal in singapore since their basically disposable people.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Jan 25 2011, 09:57 PM
reign226
post Jan 25 2011, 10:33 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 25 2011, 09:47 PM)
It wont be publicize, but it will be in mom records that an accident did happen. A few times fatal accidents do happen in both sembawang and keppel shipyards but u never hear about it unless its has a high death toll count.

Anyway the accident i mentioned occurred today. One fatality which was the crane driver. I doubt anybody will fuss about it since its not somebody important so no news about it.

Added on January 25, 2011, 9:52 pm

NS fellas have proper seats with cushion with a canopy over their heads. You'll notice for the foreign workers whose company transport is a vehicle designed to transport goods, it doesnt have the amenities of canopy, or proper seats for that matter, let alone seat belts. So in the case of an accident, these guys get tossed around like rag dolls either in a steal cage out the vehicle they go. But its not really a big deal in singapore since their basically disposable people.
Wow what happened to the crane driver?? He wasn't in the crane was he?

126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:34 AM