Did the moderator close the O&G thread as well for being "over 2500 posts"?
Working Life in Singapore V5
Dec 1 2010, 11:32 AM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
Did the moderator close the O&G thread as well for being "over 2500 posts"?
Dec 1 2010, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(unpredictable soul @ Dec 1 2010, 08:58 PM) is it true tat finding employment opportunity in sg would be difficult as the employers r looking for PR of Sg or singaporeans? it is.Added on December 1, 2010, 9:31 pm QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 1 2010, 09:06 PM) Looks like I am the only 1 working in SG but staying in JB.... haiz~~ what to do... all people here salary high high , only small potato like me got peanut salary and have to commute daily You boleh tahan ma... Commuting like that, most people beh tahan.This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 1 2010, 09:31 PM |
Dec 2 2010, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(kellyC @ Dec 2 2010, 11:51 AM) Guys, just a quick question if you're earning about 9-10K RM in Malaysia. what would be your expected salary to work in SG ? Very general rule of thumb, about 90% or S$8K-9K.But it really depends on which industry you're working in, size & type of company and whether the job size is really the same. There are simply more regional and global job sizes in Singapore. KL is mainly local/national and maybe some regional. This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 2 2010, 12:07 PM |
Dec 2 2010, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(kl87 @ Dec 2 2010, 01:27 PM) wao ! if i can earn rm9k in malaysia , i will not leave malaysia ! RM9K a month is about RM117K a year (assume 13 months salary). Tax is about 15K on 100K taxable income and EPF is 13K or 11%. So, your take home is only 89K or RM7416 each month (average over 12 months).In contrast, S$117K in Singapore will be taxed $8.5K. CPF is $12.6K. So take home is $96K or S$7991 per month. So, not only is your take home higher, but also a much larger portion of salary deductions goes to your pension fund rather than to the govt. And if you save 50% of your take home, you will end up with RM45K in Malaysia after 1 year. In Singapore, it's S$48K or RM110K @2.3. But frankly, I find that it much easier to save a higher % of my take home in Sg than Malaysia. For instance, I'm going to buy an iPad or Galaxy Tab for Xmas. In Malaysia, that would eat X% of my salary. In Singapore, the % is much smaller... X%/2.3. This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 2 2010, 02:16 PM |
Dec 2 2010, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Dec 2 2010, 02:49 PM) PS: some item in msia is still much cheaper than in singapore Your salary is also almost same number but different currency.Eg. Or_l B product, is almost same price but different currency. And for most big ticket, imported, non-household, non-food, non-consumer items - the prices are at parity no matter which currency you spend. It's all about earning and spending power. Last thing is how much of your income do you spend on these items... I might buy 2 tubes of toothpaste a year for S$20 at most. But I also buy a 2 mobile devices a year for S$2000. It's much more beneficial to me that mobile devices are cheaper or same price as in Malaysia. Toothpaste can 10X more expensive in Sg than My but still have insignificant impact on me. This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 2 2010, 03:07 PM |
Dec 2 2010, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(tsm @ Dec 2 2010, 10:10 PM) cosmetic products cheaper in malaysia. while, books cheaper in singapore. you still can move some of your stuff from malaysia eg. tuna, biscuit, detergent powder..........................................you can save $$$$$ $$$$$? How much tuna, biscuits, detergent powder do you eat? |
Dec 3 2010, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 3 2010, 11:12 AM) SG Canteen Operator who stay in JB? Umm, you reckon NEA or AVA will let a licensed canteen operator do that? |
Dec 3 2010, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 3 2010, 01:00 PM) It isnt a problem if your an illegal canteen operator. I think intelligent illegal canteen operators will not put themselves in a position where they subject the inventory for their illegal activity to daily customs scrutiny. |
Dec 3 2010, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 3 2010, 02:24 PM) many canteen food are import from Malaysia, maybe not those in orchard road. You are correct. Most foodstuffs in Singapore are imported from Malaysia. But by licensed and registered importers.There's a difference between importing commercial quantities and bringing in food for personal consumption. There's a ceiling weight & value specified for personal consumption, if I'm not mistaken. QUOTE(r1v3r) NEA and AVA only care if they prepare the food in clean and safe way. Where you buy or how much you pay for that packet of rice, sugar etc is not so easy to monitor. As above. Imports of food like meat, vegetables etc are regulated. The distinction between import & personal consumption applies.So, it's not just how food is prepared, but also what food is being prepared. Added on December 3, 2010, 2:35 pm QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 3 2010, 02:29 PM) not all canteen are like MNC and have to be audit. They are not so rich to avoid some risk. You are thinking too much. Ask your canteen operator. Do they go to JB every morning to buy a couple bakuls of veges or do they buy from the wholesale importer? Perhaps you're simplifying things too much?Anyway... see the 2 following websites: AVA - Bringing Food into Singapore... the key seems to be <5kg. Importing food products into Singapore This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 3 2010, 03:30 PM |
Dec 3 2010, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 3 2010, 04:05 PM) you are thinking too much and too high from the ground. I might be. But it's usually great to rationalise until you run into someone who goes 100% by the book.QUOTE(r1v3r) Today is friday, have a nice weekend. It is indeed. This weekend will be nice... shopping for a HDTV and a tablet. You have a good weekend too.This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 3 2010, 05:07 PM |
Dec 6 2010, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(Charizard @ Dec 6 2010, 11:13 AM) I subscribed Singtel mobile broadband, but then after 5 to 10 min, i cannot surf already even though my computer is showing that im still connecting to the internet. Anyone staying in ang mo kio area having the same problem? Or only me? Don't have this issue in AMK. I'm using Singtel mobile BB too.I feel this is a power management issue. Most drivers have a setting that can be enabled to power down the device (modem, LAN card etc) after a short idle period. Change your overall power option to "Always On" and see if that helps. Otherwise, go to control panel and check the settings for each driver that might be important to the internet connection. |
Dec 8 2010, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Dec 8 2010, 09:40 AM) I got a room for rent in Marsiling. walking distance to MRT. Aren't you the chap who walks 3-4km to work and does a half marathon every evening? EDIT: it's washabushi, not you. Tim chor seong This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 8 2010, 09:51 AM |
Dec 11 2010, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 11 2010, 09:11 PM) Did u guys notice why almost all Singaporeans like to park their cars with their front facing outside? That's how they are taught at driving schools. |
Dec 12 2010, 01:17 AM
An interesting observation from expatsingapore.com about the prevalence of reverse parking here
QUOTE Whatever the real reason, it certainly fits into the Singaporeans' mindset. If you reverse in you can make everyone wait for you while you complete the maneuver. If you reverse out, you're pretty much forced to give way to all the people whizzing by. Pretty obvious why the reverse in method predominates here. Added on December 12, 2010, 1:21 am QUOTE(reign226 @ Dec 12 2010, 12:49 AM) I second that. I drove here before and the parking lots are so small with parking so cramped that I had to reverse park, otherwise difficult to enter and exit the lots. Some parking lots, I have to agree. For most though, not really.If you notice, Singaporeans will typically swing the nose of the car into the opposite lane - making the angle less acute - and then reverse in. On the other hand, if you just swerve wide near the center line or a bit into the opposite lane before turning opposite full lock, it's entirely possible to drive straight into the average Singaporean parking lot. This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 12 2010, 01:23 AM |
Dec 12 2010, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 12 2010, 07:33 AM) and also help u saves couple dollar of gas per year by "reverse parking" How is that? |
Dec 12 2010, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 12 2010, 12:39 PM) I'm not quite convinced.Firstly, there is no difference in fuel consumption whether you're reversing or going forward. It's all about engine rpm and throttle. True, of course you go faster driving forward and therefore warm up the engine faster... but how much longer does it take to reverse a car out of a parking lot? 15 seconds? Definitely not long or far enough enough to make any difference to warming up. Secondly, in the tropics, the only time there is a engine fluid temperature difference that is significant enough to cause changes in fuel consumption is during the first start in the morning. After that, the temperature difference (as it relates to fuel consumption) is really not significant for the rest of day. Added on December 12, 2010, 3:02 pm QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 12 2010, 02:24 PM) those without car knowledge can never steal any my car... I hid a main circuit breaker switch between the battery and the ECU. Works well if I park my car overnight. They can't move the car unless they use a tow truck. I also had a circuit breaker switch between the battery and the fuel pump, like the type they use in race cars in case of fires.even can maybe he/she cant reach the destination safely...muahaha Then I have a circuit breaker switch hidden in the cabin between the ignition and the starter motor. I use that when I'm parking normally. If you like, you can also pull fuses out of the fuse box to disable the car. This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 12 2010, 03:03 PM |
Dec 12 2010, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 12 2010, 03:12 PM) wahahaha...the thief must be frustrated to troubleshoot how to get the car working...lol My personal wireman did it (my cousin).btw...u DIY? |
Dec 14 2010, 11:47 AM
Dec 15 2010, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Dec 15 2010, 08:22 PM) Who want to buy iPod or Mac unit? i still can get 10% discount from my company. Buying from Apple Store in MY instead of SG is already an automatic 10% discount at today's exchange rate. |
Dec 17 2010, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 17 2010, 09:58 AM) Most of the houses ive toured are non-approved. But they still have a tenancy agreement as a formality. It isnt a legally binding tenancy agreement. Even if the tenancy agreements are legally binding, enforcing them is a whole different matter.The question to ask... even if you sign the tenancy agreement and either party contravenes it... then what? What do you do? How do you enforce it? Who helps you enforce the it? The police? A court? How long will enforcement take? In what form will that enforcement be in? How much does it cost to get a tenancy contract enforced? How do you prove your case in a tenancy dispute? |
| Change to: | 0.0307sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:23 PM |