Working Life in Singapore V5

magiclover
post Dec 4 2010, 12:01 PM

285 posts

Hey peeps,

My friend has a bus ticket from Singapore to Melacca on 2nd Feb 2011, 1.30pm for sale, $32

Its chinese new year eve bus ticket

My friend has bought extra, if you are interested please do PM me and I'l give you her contact

Thanks biggrin.gif
magiclover
post Dec 5 2010, 04:29 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 4 2010, 12:56 PM)
Got my ticket at malaysia to same destination for only rm19 dollars. Singapore buses are damn overpriced during festive season.
I agree
Even she had bought it like 2 months earlier, its so expensive.

Since I'm from Muar, I can take a private chartered car home, which they pick up from door-to-door.
magiclover
post Dec 15 2010, 01:47 PM

285 posts

I think maids in Malaysia have no off day?
More work to do because house compound is bigger tongue.gif
Think back, pity my maid last time.
magiclover
post Dec 15 2010, 03:16 PM

285 posts

Lol.
Maid sharing between household. Is it allowed? Can save a lot! 1 family save a maid's room and probably can be rented out at $400 - 500 to cover the monthly cost of maid!

Side note, very pek cek I always never get to eat the refreshment after most of the AGM cause it will be all wallop by uncles and aunties whose daily job is to attend shareholders meetings with minimal shareholdings for the food.

magiclover
post Dec 16 2010, 07:59 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Dec 16 2010, 07:37 PM)
Ping me if u r interest smile.gif

offer until 31 Dec 2359PM
lol

Added on December 16, 2010, 7:40 pm
u r from muar too?

me too....
me three.....

*ops i blindly replied without scrolling up. haha

Its RM60 per ride, just give them a call and they'll arrange for you. Usually is 4 to a car (Camry, new and old models)
Or you can just charter a car to yourself, RM240.

This post has been edited by magiclover: Dec 16 2010, 08:01 PM
magiclover
post Jan 12 2011, 01:10 PM

285 posts

Lol misinterpretation i guess?

She wanted transport back to Singapore from Malaysia on 6th Feb.
magiclover
post Jan 25 2011, 05:25 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 25 2011, 01:22 PM)
They will make things very difficult to force you to break the contract and pay to the landlord if you leave within the 3 first months, rather then they ask you to leave and pay you the penalty price.

Woah, a crane accident just occurred at sembawang shipyard, the crane drivers head was sliced.
Do I get to see in news?
magiclover
post Jan 26 2011, 01:18 AM

285 posts

Can't imagine how one look like with his head sliced. Lol.
It should be a big thing in the papers, instead of some *YAWNews*
magiclover
post Jan 27 2011, 10:20 AM

285 posts

What intention?
I believe your savings after rent + necessity will at least be equivalent to a whole month salary back home.
magiclover
post Jan 27 2011, 02:51 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Jan 27 2011, 10:53 AM)
blush.gif  do remember to deduct $$ for family, $$ for PTPTN loan, $$ for car loan for family
Still, "assuming" the base salary in SG is $2k, after the rent $500k, food, travel, phone and basic miscellaneous expenses $500. You still have $1000, which is about RM2350-2380

Ok now, "assuming" the base salary in MY is also RM2000, if you don't pay rent, don't pay for dinner, your gross savings will be RM2000-(travelling, lunch)
If you were to work in Malaysia, you still pay $$ to family, $$ for PTPTN, $$for car loan for family.

So, where can we save more? Net savings in SG, if we are disciplined enough, will be equivalent or in fact more than our net salary in MY, assuming same position of work.

Plus, lower individual tax rate, more transparent working environment, etc etc.

magiclover
post Jan 27 2011, 03:52 PM

285 posts

Same i give parents Rm1000, and promised to buy a car. Haha.

Well well, like that one lo. so much commitments. But look at the brighter side, when u get promoted / increment, your salary increases but commitments remain. So save the increment amount lo.

If I were to work in KL I need to rent a room and buy a car, so its about the same as SG, but life here is more comfortable, for a single guy without commitments yet. At least don't have to worry about jam, accidents, break in...Haha

magiclover
post Jan 27 2011, 05:07 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jan 27 2011, 04:00 PM)
But then even though you save like almost 1 month salary for malaysia job. Yet you spend most of your days in Singapore and not in Malaysia. As if you are always go back JB and do shopping >.<. Unless you are planning to go back Malaysia to enjoy your life after few years of living in Singapore.  brows.gif

Yes, you do save alot of money if playing currency conversion, yet you are still in Singapore, live in Singapore, and work in Singapore. Just like if I work in Australia. I will say my saving is almost 3 months of your salary in Malaysia. But then, you still live in Australia. You spend most of your things in Aus. Of course, I will be having good times in spending clothes during CNY though. But you cant bring so much thing back to Aus cause most probably they will charge you during airport. >.<

Easiest question is.... Have you guys plan to settle in Singapore rather than staying and work in Malaysia from now on? Or generally feel like going back Malaysia after years of working?
Thats the point I'm trying to make, spending money back in Malaysia. Car loan, PTPTN, Parents. They will be in ringgit.
I think this debate has been around for quite some time.. spending in Singapore, gadgets, imported goods, western meals, chocolates like Ferrero Roche, are generally 50% of what i pay in ringgit.

I'm looking at the material I can enjoy/own in Sg as compared to Malaysia and pay my obligations back home in Ringgit and they will be a smaller fraction of my SG salary as compared to MY. Anyway part of my salary will go to my family to give them a more comfortable life, and they spend in RM biggrin.gif So it is not necessary to look at where I spend the $$ but how I spend them.

As for now I'm still considered young and I will not restrict myself to Singapore only, if given better opportunity elsewhere.
Not cheap to settle down in Sg though.

This post has been edited by magiclover: Jan 27 2011, 05:11 PM
magiclover
post Jan 27 2011, 08:28 PM

285 posts

The thing is I don't have the luxury to go home before midnight.
Well you'd guess my job by this description. Lol
magiclover
post Mar 4 2011, 11:07 AM

285 posts

Acca not sufficient?

From what I understand the Big 4s in Malaysia are paying more to ACCA than to degree grads.

For the case of Sg, the rate is the same
magiclover
post Mar 4 2011, 01:47 PM

285 posts

In sg there is life, in Brunei, hard to source for alcohol and pork I guess
magiclover
post Mar 9 2011, 04:46 PM

285 posts

I'm confused by the statement too.
magiclover