Working Life in Singapore V5
reign226
Dec 1 2010, 11:21 PM
Landlord just raised my rental. 1 person staying near Lakeside MRT for $500...is that considered expensive? Haven't checked rental rates in awhile.
Thinking of staying at JB too since I work in Tuas. But nowadays too many OT, finish 8.30 can't imagine what time I can reach home if stay at Gelang Patah there.
reign226
Dec 2 2010, 08:56 PM
Any sabahans here? i'm going back this weekend =)
reign226
Dec 2 2010, 10:21 PM
Haha but my room is just normal room in a 2+1 hdb.
reign226
Dec 6 2010, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 4 2010, 12:56 PM) Got my ticket at malaysia to same destination for only rm19 dollars. Singapore buses are damn overpriced during festive season. No kidding. I bought Sg-Pg normal 3 seater bus for $120. Talk about cut throat (flights sold out). Normally how much is the price? I'm hoping Sg busses won't pull the stop-at-every-state-along-the-way stunt like the last time I bought those sekarang-jalan busses at JB. QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Dec 5 2010, 10:08 PM) guys, know anywhere to change cheap currency? from myr to sgd. The rates won't differ by much as long as you change at money changer and not those bank booths. Even if you change thousands of RM or SGD, maybe you will see a difference by a few RM. Do whatever is convenient. Added on December 6, 2010, 7:16 pmRemitting seems to have higher exchange rate. Saw that day 2.28 vs 2.29 at Jurong Point. Not sure if the fee is high or not. This post has been edited by reign226: Dec 6 2010, 07:16 PM
reign226
Dec 6 2010, 07:25 PM
Anybody driving back from Pg to Sg after cny? Around 5-6th Feb 2011?
reign226
Dec 6 2010, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 6 2010, 10:18 PM) mine slightly different... breakfast eat bread, lunch eat malay food(talk with those malay girl in malay they happy then tambah lauk free), then dinner nasi ayam 1.50~2.00 i walk bout 3~4km to work so no transport the rental for 1st month can hutang as the owner is fren's fren however i still buy some chicken essence for them as gift so maybe is only like slightly over 100 Wah you walk 3-4km to work daily?
reign226
Dec 7 2010, 06:07 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 7 2010, 01:52 AM) the spread from buy to sell in msia is 20 cent.... in sg is 10 cent... so msia is slightly cheaper, but if you are changing big quantity, safer to do it in sg... Doesn't tighter spread means better rates? IE the rates they offer is closer to the actual exchange rate.
reign226
Dec 8 2010, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Dec 8 2010, 12:06 PM) I took it once, depart from the carpark near ICA building. Ticket office is just outside Lavender MRT. I saw people actually hand carry those big thick blanket in transparent plastic bag, maybe they got good deal in SG so they buy extra. It was mid night bus, once on highway the aircond was freaking cold. Those people start to take out the blanket to cover themselve  I was wearing jacket yet not enough to keep warm. I did not sleep much that night. Reach Penang bridge ~6am. If possible, I prefer flight. First time taking night bus? All the night busses are susceptible this kind of problem so better go prepared. Some even bring duct tape to block all the air vents around their seat. QUOTE(wickedghost @ Dec 8 2010, 04:02 PM) anyone heard of atwin marine engineering? They are the outfit sub contractor for all our rigs.
reign226
Dec 8 2010, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 8 2010, 08:00 PM) Yes, they do fabrication of steelwork for the marine industry. Their currently engaged to fabricate a lifting beam for transocean's drilling ship, deepwater expedition which is currently based in PTP, JB. Transocean is building a drillship at PTP? Or the ship stopped at PTP to have this retrofit? Just now attended presentation of 1000mt crane by Favalle Favco. Didn't know it was a Malaysian company till they mention the fabrication is being done in Selangor.
reign226
Dec 8 2010, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 8 2010, 10:37 PM) How should i know since i dont work for them? Just countercheck their work if its upto the ship class, transocean and asmi requirements. Added on December 8, 2010, 10:39 pmYou didnt know that transocean deepwater expedition was built by the very company which your working for? Some minor and major retrofit job since their not satisfied with the work done at sembawang. The bulk of major retrofitting was done in sembawang anyway. That will be the day when malaysia has the ability to build a drilling ship from scratch. Btw i heard singapore is not in contention for petrobas 28 rigs contract due to issues with the costing on singapores yard side. Quite a shame since each rig is estimated at around 700 million a piece. I just joined. Anyway if it's a rig and has lots of open mushroom air cowls, most probably they are built by my company. Scarebeo 9 sailed into our yard as a commissioning job only but turned into a repair =P. I highly doubt Petrobras will skip Singapore as one THE leading rig builders in the world for jackups and semis. I'm quite optimistic Sg will land a few contracts. Anyway we will know the results of tender quite soon so we shall see =).
reign226
Dec 8 2010, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 8 2010, 11:16 PM) The leading doesnt mean they have to choose it. Since the brazil government which partly own petrobas is trying to steer petrobas to award the majority of the 28 rig contract to south americas, mostly brazils own shipyards. I dont think so since the first round of negotiations was pending after singapores shipyard blurted out their tender prices. They can always go for china shipyards in dalian, for the price which singapore is asking for, you can build 3 rigs for the price of 2 singapore made rigs. Well I guess i'm lucky they have BrasFELS there =) I've seen Yantai Raffles work. Halfway towards wet tow, the semi built there got flooded. What was supposed to be a newbuild came into our yard as a repair. China may be cheaper, but the proof is in the finished work, and they aren't looking that good. Anyway none of the China yards were bidding. This post has been edited by reign226: Dec 8 2010, 11:39 PM
reign226
Dec 9 2010, 06:06 AM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Dec 9 2010, 12:03 AM) Thanks bro for reply. Which bus company you took? And how much is the price to travel from SG to PG? I checked AirAsia cheapest flight for end of December from SG to PG 1 way is SGD 114, is the price okay? Okay considering the flight is only few weeks from now. The earlier you buy the cheaper. Bus from JB to PG around RM60 if not mistaken.
reign226
Dec 9 2010, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 9 2010, 12:36 PM) anybody interested of going for a chill out sessions before xmas? Suggestion: 1)Place: RWS, Date: 16/12/2010, Time: 18:00 - 22:00 SGT, Total damage xcluding transport: SGD20 http://www.facebook.com/Guinness.SG?v=app_10442206389Nice idea. Too bad I will be in KL, then Penang, then KK for the next 3 weekends. Maybe after that. =P
reign226
Dec 9 2010, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 9 2010, 10:56 PM) Hi guys, Anyone here can recommend me some good SG forums like LYN for discussions and for goods trading? Tks. Hardwarezone : Messy but high traffic. Not organized. VR Zone: More organized, Lowyat standard, but a lot less volume. Those are the two I know. More for IT and gadget stuff. I realize Sg seldom people sell sec hand stuff, even if they do its at a very slight discount only. Lowyat.net FTW!
reign226
Dec 9 2010, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(wickedghost @ Dec 9 2010, 11:18 PM) Atwin Eng offered me interior designer rather than an engineer position...the worst part is the job scope is more to furnishing and interior design...the pay is damm low...no doubt im a msian and I have 2 years exp in O&G...they offer me less than SGD 2k....mayb 1.5-1.6k...and they have a mind set of converting the salary...wtf...I'm working in singapore and staying in singapore and spending in singapore brother...is not like I daily trip...damm lame excuse Bull crap...singaporeans are stingy scrooge...they think as if msians are cheap labours! Local chinaman companies are like that everywhere, especially in Malaysia. Most of my friends only cukup makan with their salary. At least if you work here 1.5-1.6k can still save some money on top of your normal lifestyle. If you don't like their offer, don't take it. I'm sure they have their reasons for offering you such a pay. Maybe they only need certain quality of people for the price so will keep looking until they find it. QUOTE(eventsphotoshoot @ Dec 9 2010, 11:40 PM) Singapore can go yamcha in the middle of the night anot ? Sked too stress then dunno how to find a solution to relieve stress !!  Middle of the night no transport and kena chop by Taxi leh...but got few places like Clarke Quay, 24 hour food courts, mcd for the night prowler. I rather sleep at night. Gone are the days of uni where it's common to go Mamak eat. Still can't find decent roti canai here. Nor Naan.
reign226
Dec 10 2010, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 10 2010, 08:34 AM) At least they have an active community to sell/purchase used games. I goto gametrader.sg to get my used ps3 titles. So far so good and all are in good condition without any scratches. Added on December 10, 2010, 8:36 amIts not just malaysians, alot of singaporeans in the sub-con industry, especially engineering treat their workers sub-par standard. One of my clients, NOV are looking for people. Since your in the O&G field, you can try them out at gul avenue. Their pay is competitve, their an MNC so no china man mentality and they have full clothes washing and shower facilities if you need it. What's NOV office doing here? Field engineer? Got flexible working hours or not? Heard american companies are big on flex hours. QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 10 2010, 12:47 PM) I wonder what work boots are issued by keppel. Is it king safety shoes? Yes. Why ask? Added on December 10, 2010, 11:49 pmAnybody driving to Penang on 24th Nite? This post has been edited by reign226: Dec 10 2010, 11:49 PM
reign226
Dec 11 2010, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 11 2010, 09:50 AM) I recently was given kings safety shoe to evaluate. After using it for 2 months, the outer sole started to split and water went it, plus it wasnt very comfortable. I'll just stick with jallate shoes. When i did a contract job for shell, they supplied me with red wing shoes. Damn nice but damn ex, in singapore it cost 250 just for 1 pair. NOV has a office at 29 tuas bay drive which services drilling equipment such as drill bits, riser pipes etc. Well my uni supplies them as well. I guess they are the cheaper, more disposable type. So far I find them to be quite comfortable after a period of wear in. Then again I don't go to site that often. It's quite heavy though. Train my legs everytime I put them on. Later going to join the Pentax outing! Shooting all over orchard st. Going to put my 100-300mm to good use for people sniping. =)
reign226
Dec 11 2010, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 11 2010, 02:38 PM) Oh, so your a kpp. I thought your one of those engineers who is always onsite. I guess nowadays they use contractors as their eyes and ears. Whats a kpp? QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 11 2010, 09:11 PM) Did u guys notice why almost all Singaporeans like to park their cars with their front facing outside? Haha true! My friend does that also. They all like to reverse parking. I think partly because the parking spaces are so small that reverse parking is the best way to angle the car in.
reign226
Dec 12 2010, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Dec 12 2010, 12:17 AM) True la. SG no Rempit and Less Bengs. Anyway, I tot frontal parking need some skills aldou it looks easy but front facing outside is more convenient but many ppl dont like it because they thought reverse parking is harder. I second that. I drove here before and the parking lots are so small with parking so cramped that I had to reverse park, otherwise difficult to enter and exit the lots.
reign226
Dec 14 2010, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 14 2010, 10:44 AM) anyone do any Xmas shopping yet? things to 'smuggle' back to Malaysia for friends/relatives  Smuggling back a lot of Marks & Spencer food =P