125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

SUSrockefeller
post Oct 31 2010, 12:55 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 31 2010, 12:25 AM)
IMO, I find that MBB's CC has lower forex rate than money changer's rate
this is correct and i'm speaking through experience. when travelling i normally carry three cards.

one from maybank one from cimb one from american express. maybank is the best followed by cimb and then only amex when it comes to foreign currency conversion.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 31 2010, 01:38 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Oct 29 2010, 03:00 PM)
As my Alliance cc was charged RM50 gst on 19/10/10.
i casually call cs at 2pm just now to ask for gst waiver,
cs told me that after min RM300 retail spend then call back to ask for waiver & RM50 would be credited on the next statement smile.gif
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(rickkywong @ Oct 29 2010, 03:17 PM)
another latest info:
AirAsia online booking payment via credit/debit card Convenience Fee has been increase from RM5 to RM6 (so bad). vmad.gif  I just find out when i make a booking 3 hours ago..
Next time pay using direct debit. You don't have to pay the convenience fee then.

QUOTE(tzeling @ Oct 29 2010, 03:30 PM)
Anyone could answer me pls?
Mine was charged on the second month after the anniversary month. So i guess it's the same for yours too.

By the way, HSBC launched a co-branded VISA Infinite and VISA Signature card in Taiwan just a while ago. Though a co-branded card, it probably is a sign they might introduce these cards types to other countries where it has a significant retail banking business too smile.gif

chemistry
post Oct 31 2010, 02:17 AM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 31 2010, 01:38 AM)
Next time pay using direct debit. You don't have to pay the convenience fee then.

IMO whether using direct debit or cc depends on the transaction amount and card feature. Since OCBC Ti cardmembers get to earn 1% on air ticket purchase, it is still worth to pay that convenience fee RM6 provided the trxn amount is at least RM600.

What say you? smile.gif
andrekua
post Oct 31 2010, 02:29 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(persistence85 @ Oct 29 2010, 11:42 PM)
EON bank not good ler... transcation over Rm1.6k++ also no give call for safety verification ....

Maybank got... Eon Bank dun have ler
Dont you think its very troublesome?

I really hate when they called me to confirm. I think HSBC called me once when I broke my card limit a day after I requested an upgrade to 10K. Understandable. SCB nor Citibank never call me at all despite swapping 10k air ticket in one go. Citibank did SMS me once after my boss got onto the flight (call back if fraud, when the flight already took off, LOL).

OCBC the worse, cant reach me after 3 transactions and decided to block my card after just 3 transaction which is around RM300 in total. Sucks!!! Still will kept it for the sake of rebate.

I really think its not our duty to cooperate with them. They should be the one to exercise the security measure like checking for signature irregularity, using additional pin for online transaction.

I think for SCB and Citibank, if Im not mistaken, they only introduce the security pin for online transaction a few months ago. Still remember the simplicity of purchasing AA tickets just by card number, expiry date, and cvv. I was like WTF.
hye
post Oct 31 2010, 02:52 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@keith_hjinhoh

I agree on your argument that using cc overseas is a slight premium over hard cash. But consider this, if you are a business traveler, a week stay in UK can easily come up to RM10K.

It doesn't take much to quickly decide that carrying RM10K in cash is not sensible at all! There's a slight trade off here but obviously using cc will win.

And for internet transactions e.g Buying items from Target, while paying cash is cheaper but you have to be physically there to pay. So it wouldn't make sense to buy a plane ticket to US just to pay Target in cash right?

Had credit card is deemed creating a burden to consumers, it wouldn't have seen such worldwide acceptance as a consumer financial tool.

Added on October 31, 2010, 2:58 am@WhiteWing

Can you please not advocating sneaky methods of applying cc and grow up a little when posting replies here ? Bluffing your way on cc application just to get gifts is one thing but readers here may get the wrong idea and do it. We definitely do not want additional regulations on cc. Imposing GST on the excuse curbing debts is bad enough already.

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 31 2010, 02:58 AM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 31 2010, 03:36 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 31 2010, 02:17 AM)

IMO whether using direct debit or cc depends on the transaction amount and card feature. Since OCBC Ti cardmembers get to earn 1% on air ticket purchase, it is still worth to pay that convenience fee RM6 provided the trxn amount is at least RM600.

What say you? smile.gif
But at the end of the day, you'll still earn nothing (using RM600 as example) as the supposedly rebate earned will only be used to cover the RM6 charged by Air Asia. Besides, the OCBC Titanium MasterCard comes with a capped of RM50 cash rebate per month. Better charge something else to the card.

By the way, Air Asia is charging RM6 convenience fee per sector flight right ? So if you buy a return ticket you'll be charged RM12 for convenience fee alone, am i right ? I'm not familiar with Air Asia. Helped my friend to buy one ticket before and paid everything using direct debit. Didn't have to pay convenience fee.
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2010, 07:45 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 31 2010, 02:29 AM)

OCBC the worse, cant reach me after 3 transactions and decided to block my card after just 3 transaction which is around RM300 in total. Sucks!!! Still will kept it for the sake of rebate.
Actually I think OCBC did the right thing, they did try to reach you 3 times. I don't mind when banks called up to check if I made a transaction.

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 31 2010, 02:52 AM)
@WhiteWing

Can you please not advocating sneaky methods of applying cc and grow up a little when posting replies here ? Bluffing your way on cc application just to get gifts is one thing but readers here may get the wrong idea and do it.
Not only giving readers wrong ideas, he is actually advertising himself as a dishonest person.
andrekua
post Oct 31 2010, 08:00 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 31 2010, 07:45 AM)
Actually I think OCBC did the right thing, they did try to reach you 3 times. I don't mind when banks called up to check if I made a transaction.
Call me up 3 times and call me up after 3 transactions, which part of it you did not understood or is it my English sucks so badly?
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2010, 08:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Oct 31 2010, 08:00 AM)
Call me up 3 times and call me up after 3 transactions, which part of it you did not understood or is it my English sucks so badly?
Your english is perfect. After 3 transactions using OCBC, they try to contact you 3 times but failed. Is that correct?

Actually OCBC did call me up once only when I did my very first transaction amounting to more than RM4K. After that smooth sailing.
chemistry
post Oct 31 2010, 10:12 AM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 31 2010, 03:36 AM)
But at the end of the day, you'll still earn nothing (using RM600 as example) as the supposedly rebate earned will only be used to cover the RM6 charged by Air Asia. Besides, the OCBC Titanium MasterCard comes with a capped of RM50 cash rebate per month. Better charge something else to the card. 

By the way, Air Asia is charging RM6 convenience fee per sector flight right ? So if you buy a return ticket you'll be charged RM12 for convenience fee alone, am i right ? I'm not familiar with Air Asia. Helped my friend to buy one ticket before and paid everything using direct debit. Didn't have to pay convenience fee.
But, the transaction amount can contribute to yearly spending amount which eventually hit RM10k then the bank will credit RM50 to our account. There is still a 0.5% yield.

Anyway, the above case is only applicable for those whose annual spending amount almost/nearly hit RM10k. biggrin.gif
For cardmembers who can hit RM10k easily, then OCBC Ti is not recommended in this case.
rayfoo
post Oct 31 2010, 10:20 AM

2,562 posts

as i know using tmonline services with other card b4, they dont support mastercard securecode or verified by visa function, so they won't ask for your OTP or password in my case, u can try with GSC online it supports this function, OTP is over the phone if you choosen this option

QUOTE(lara_ @ Oct 29 2010, 11:07 PM)
Any idea how OCBC Titanium securepay work? Does it send OTP to our phone?

I notice when I pay bill at TMOnline, no OTP is send to me although TMOnline support securepay.
The transaction just successfully completed.
alexwsk
post Oct 31 2010, 10:29 AM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Oct 30 2010, 10:39 PM)
HSBC Premier World Mastercard can be included in this category. Criteria: Only for HSBC Premier customer (RM 200k in deposits)
HSBC Premier CC is World Mastercard category?
SUSvanderbilt
post Oct 31 2010, 10:36 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 31 2010, 10:29 AM)
yes, you can see the writing WORLD on the card even. i spoke to my relationship manager to confirm this already.
SUSrockefeller
post Oct 31 2010, 10:43 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(vanderbilt @ Oct 31 2010, 10:36 AM)
yes, you can see the writing WORLD on the card even. i spoke to my relationship manager to confirm this already.
yes true. having said that i must say Standard Chartered is really "cheapening" the World Mastercard. Its preferred banking world mastercard has a starting limit of RM 15,000! what the hell! Where as other players like cimb, maybank and mbf has general starting credit limit of RM 100k onwards.
SUSpersistence85
post Oct 31 2010, 10:54 AM

343 posts

QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Oct 30 2010, 10:56 PM)
I didn't give them any of my documents tongue.gif  ~ I got a credit card more than 2 years. I just submit using my IC and credit card photocopy. End of story tongue.gif ~ I told them I got more than 60k+ per annum salary tongue.gif and they just put it .. wahah .. I just wanna get their freegift ... they won't approve me tongue.gif
rclxms.gif
epalbee3
post Oct 31 2010, 11:40 AM

1,345 posts

then i shall apply for Standard Chartered World Card.. wink.gif

accompanied with preferred banking too..

but visa infinite is too difficult to get.
winner
post Oct 31 2010, 11:44 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 31 2010, 10:12 AM)
For cardmembers who can hit RM10k easily, then OCBC Ti is not recommended in this case.
Who said OCBC Titanium MC is not suitable for those big spenders? It serves me perfectly as my primary card. When the monthly rebates have been maximised, I switch to other cards.

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Oct 31 2010, 10:43 AM)
yes true. having said that i must say Standard Chartered is really "cheapening" the World Mastercard. Its preferred banking world mastercard has a starting limit of RM 15,000! what the hell! Where as other players like cimb, maybank and mbf has general starting credit limit of RM 100k onwards.
You must know that in order to obtain the SCB WMC, you need ONLY either deposit, investment or annual income amounting to RM72,000. For those earning only RM6,000 per month, getting a CL of RM15,000 is pretty normal. Nevertheless, CIMB/DA WMC's requirement isn't high either. As far as I know, existing CIMB Platinum cardholders who earns RM5,000 per month with a CL of RM30,000 can also try asking CIMB to upgrade their cards to WMC with a new CL of RM100,000.

If you would like to compare HSBC WMC which is only given to HSBC PB customers with SCB, you should compare it with SCB VI instead. SCB VI is exclusively for SCB PB customers only.
winner
post Oct 31 2010, 12:04 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 31 2010, 11:40 AM)
then i shall apply for Standard Chartered World Card.. wink.gif

accompanied with preferred banking too..
To be frank, I won't recommend you to get the SCB WMC as the benefit sucks. If you want a card from SCB, get the Business Platinum card instead. See the comparison below.

1. SCB WMC doesn't give any free access to airport lounges, while SCB Platinum gives unlimited access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge.
2. SCB WMC doesn't give complimentary travel insurance, but SCB Platinum does give a high premium of travel insurance.
3. SCB WMC gives 2x choice points for monthly spending of more than RM1,500, which equals to 1% cash back. SCB Business Platinum gives 0.5% cash back plus 1x choice point for any amount spent, which is also equivalent to 1% cash back.
4. For overseas transactions, SCB WMC only gives 2x choice points for monthly spending more than RM1,500, while SCB Platinum gives 3x choice points for any amount transacted in overseas.

As a smart consumer, you should know which card is better obviously.

This post has been edited by winner: Oct 31 2010, 12:06 PM
chemistry
post Oct 31 2010, 12:44 PM

3,064 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 31 2010, 11:44 AM)
Who said OCBC Titanium MC is not suitable for those big spenders? It serves me perfectly as my primary card. When the monthly rebates have been maximised, I switch to other cards.
Dude, read my entire post, don't just quote partially. Please read thoroughly before reply.
I and Miles were discussing about using Ocbc Ti to purchase AA ticket. I never said the card is not suitable for big spenders.

Miles said Ti's 1% rebate may be just enough to cover the convenience fee and end up didn't earn anything, but I replied that the swipe amount can help cardmember to achieve RM10k in order to get the bank waived the GST. This is especially suitable for cardmembers who do not spend much but wish to get GST waiver.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 31 2010, 12:50 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Oct 31 2010, 10:43 AM)
QUOTE(vanderbilt @ Oct 31 2010, 10:36 AM)

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 31 2010, 10:29 AM)

No. That is not true. The HSBC Premier MasterCard issued by HSBC Malaysia is not a World MasterCard. HSBC has a standardized design for all its Premier MasterCard which is why the word "world" is also printed on the card where they do not actually offer a World MasterCard. The HSBC Group only issues World Premier MasterCard in USA, Japan and Australia to date. They only offer a regular Premier MasterCard in the rest of the countries.

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 31 2010, 11:44 AM)
Who said OCBC Titanium MC is not suitable for those big spenders? It serves me perfectly as my primary card.
He was referring to the Air Asia case.

125 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:34 AM