125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Credit Card v12, Credit card GST remains....

chemistry
post Oct 14 2010, 08:49 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 14 2010, 06:58 PM)
I am very surprised to learn that your spending at Carrefour Tropicana City was only entitled to 1% cash back. You should make a complaint to OCBC. They might have calculated the rebate wrongly.
IMHO, OCBC should not be liable for the inappropriate MCC code assigned to Carrefour. This has been mentioned in the T&C. I don't think OCBC will entertain this kind of complaints.
ck3lam
post Oct 14 2010, 08:59 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 14 2010, 08:14 PM)
Carefour has nothing to do with Aeon. Carefour is a hypermarket chain, while Jusco is just a supermarket and departmental store and was never considered as a hypermarket.
Oh previously heard that AEON is going to buy over C4. blush.gif Nvm, it's not important.

Well, I'm just wondering why different C4 has different MCC, just...weird.

Added on October 14, 2010, 9:03 pm
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 14 2010, 08:20 PM)
that's the problem, ppl don't bother to read the tnc sent together with their cards
else they shud be able to keep track of it and avoid being charged
Maybe they are too excited to use the card. Looking at tnc will make them yawning yawn.gif

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 14 2010, 09:04 PM
winner
post Oct 14 2010, 09:14 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 14 2010, 08:49 PM)
IMHO, OCBC should not be liable for the inappropriate MCC code assigned to Carrefour. This has been mentioned in the T&C. I don't think OCBC will entertain this kind of complaints.
We, consumers cannot be just keep quiet and let Carefour Tropicana City keep giving only 1% cash back. Those so called victims should make a report to Carefour and OCBC on this. No harm to have a try.
Reventon
post Oct 14 2010, 09:26 PM

2,921 posts

@ rockefeller

Huh ? HSBC with CL 30k above can be used as reference to apply for CIMB VI / WMC for 100k CL ? Hm... perhaps its rare cases ? i dont think this apply to everyone hmm.gif , AFAIK using card reference without submitting any proof of income usually will have CL increment by 5% - 20% from the card, mostly considered by credit exposure of the applicants. from 30k jump to 100k , there is quite a big gap.... hmm.gif
ck3lam
post Oct 14 2010, 09:28 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 14 2010, 09:14 PM)
We, consumers cannot be just keep quiet and let Carefour Tropicana City keep giving only 1% cash back. Those so called victims should make a report to Carefour and OCBC on this. No harm to have a try.
Ya, maybe can ask them what MCC for C4 Tropicana is.

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Oct 14 2010, 09:30 PM
chemistry
post Oct 14 2010, 09:42 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Oct 14 2010, 09:28 PM)
Ya, maybe can ask them what MCC for C4 Tropicana is.
Agree!
We cannot blame OCBC for not giving 5% rebate. It is not the bank's fault anyway. But we can ask the bank what mcc code Carrefour is using.
travelyew
post Oct 14 2010, 10:23 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 14 2010, 09:42 PM)
Agree!
We cannot blame OCBC for not giving 5% rebate. It is not the bank's fault anyway. But we can ask the bank what mcc code Carrefour is using.
Ya
The problem is we donno which shop with what MCC code then we unable to know which can entitle for 5% or not

SUSrockefeller
post Oct 14 2010, 10:36 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Oct 14 2010, 09:26 PM)
@ rockefeller

Huh ? HSBC with CL 30k above can be used as reference to apply for CIMB VI / WMC for 100k CL ? Hm... perhaps its rare cases ? i dont think this apply to everyone  hmm.gif  , AFAIK using card reference without submitting any proof of income usually will have CL increment by 5% - 20% from the card, mostly considered by credit exposure of the applicants. from 30k jump to 100k , there is quite a big gap.... hmm.gif
Yes this applies generally. Three of my friends got their CIMB VI/WMC by submitting HSBC Platinum CL 30k. If you're in the banking industry, it is general knowledge that CIMB is desperate to increase its credit card database thus granting high credit limit to many people even without having substantial deposit / facility with them. They are still far behind Maybank in terms of card membership.

This post has been edited by rockefeller: Oct 14 2010, 10:38 PM
waynekoowy
post Oct 14 2010, 11:26 PM

473 posts

American Express Gold credit card, is it waived for lifetime? curious ..
MilesAndMore
post Oct 14 2010, 11:30 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(waynekoowy @ Oct 14 2010, 11:26 PM)
American Express Gold credit card, is it waived for lifetime? curious ..
Yes for the one without Maybankard logo.

celaw
post Oct 15 2010, 12:24 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Oct 14 2010, 06:36 PM)
Hello .... the question is that are you looking for a cc provider who give you lousy service but all freebies or likewise? Seems you are looking for everything to be free from all the questions you posted.

e.g. CIMB got many attractive offers and merchant discounts / OCBC you get rebates which are far worth more than the GST paid. Too bad you are probably won't consider them coz they don't pay for you the GST.

GST somebody has to pay ... please get that right. It is not waiverable in the first place.
haha.. actually I want OCBC Titanium but my annual income not yet reached that level...

Actually the GST not a big issue, just wan to know which bank more generous... hahaha..

1 thing i don't like CIMB DA is the bonus point only carry for 3 years FROM THE CARD ISSUANCE DATE!! That's meant watever i spent on the "2nd year and 11 month", the bonus point will be forfeited without any time for me to redeem it... haihh... but i cant see any others better credit card choice for me..
egyprince
post Oct 15 2010, 12:26 AM

On my way.....getting stronger each day
1,277 posts

Which card is the best in market now?
celaw
post Oct 15 2010, 12:47 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ Oct 15 2010, 01:26 AM)
From my opinion, is OCBC Titanium (I'm just a small usage consumer)
ronnie
post Oct 15 2010, 12:54 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ Oct 15 2010, 12:26 AM)
OCBC Titanium is the better all-rounder CC to have...
MilesAndMore
post Oct 15 2010, 12:55 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Oct 15 2010, 12:24 AM)
haha.. actually I want OCBC Titanium but my annual income not yet reached that level...

Actually the GST not a big issue, just wan to know which bank more generous... hahaha..

1 thing i don't like CIMB DA is the bonus point only carry for 3 years FROM THE CARD ISSUANCE DATE!! That's meant watever i spent on the "2nd year and 11 month", the bonus point will be forfeited without any time for me to redeem it... haihh... but i cant see any others better credit card choice for me..
Are you sure ? I used to be a CIMB Bank card holder and i am almost 100% sure your bonus points earned is good for 3 years from the month of accumulation.

celaw
post Oct 15 2010, 01:06 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 15 2010, 01:55 AM)
Are you sure ? I used to be a CIMB Bank card holder and i am almost 100% sure your bonus points earned is good for 3 years from the month of accumulation.
This is the email reply i get from DA CS

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your email.

Please be informed the bonus point will be expired 3 years after the card issuance date.

Thank you for banking with us and have a pleasant day!

Regards,
Wahidah
Email Support
Customer Relations

hye
post Oct 15 2010, 06:34 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@celaw

Whatever reply you received from CIMB CS, I second bro MilesAndMore reply on CIMB points expiry.
There are times CS may provide a mistake in their info and this is one of them. There are many CIMB cc user veterans in here. Some even used the card before it is called CIMB. (It was Southern Bank before)

This post has been edited by hye: Oct 15 2010, 06:44 AM
cenkudu
post Oct 15 2010, 07:04 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Oct 13 2010, 10:50 PM)
I would advise you to quickly call 1300885000 to inquire what's going on.
My sister also missed one private call last week. She has been complaining on the PENDING status, until today she called back to Call Centre and was told that the previous call was to verify some details in the application form. After the conversation and verification, the Officer told that application status will be known in 2 days' time.
I have called CS yesterday. they said the status is pending and they could not check whether the high authority need more docs or need verification. since it is already 4 weeks +, maybe no hope for this card
gerrardling
post Oct 15 2010, 08:05 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

i am also cimb cc holder, points will be expired after 3 years
roy918
post Oct 15 2010, 08:29 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Oct 14 2010, 09:30 AM)
As requested in v11 thread, this is the list of my spending on OCBC Titanium card from 9/28-10/11.
The spending listed is "round down" and "sum".

479.00  Klinik + Insurance
253.00  Carrefour Tropicana
119.00  Giant Kelana Jaya
45.00  Petrol BHP
58.00  Pizza Hut
42.00  Secret Recipe
113.00  TMOnline
100.00  TNB @ Kedai Tenaga
100.00  TNB @ OCBC

5% rebate 28.95
1% rabate 7.32
The first transaction is obviously 1%.
The others is obviously 5%. Somehow, I get 1% for some of my spending. To be accurate, RM253 total spending goes to 1%.
My first guessing is Carrefour which 253 sharp.

Hope the expert here can help.  rclxms.gif
P/S:
Remove as not relevant anymore.
Lara, I believe the rebate is calculated based on nearest ringgit of TOTAL SPENDING for each category (1% rebate and 5% rebate) and not rounded down for each transaction. That's why you will be seeing 10cent difference from your calculation.

5.  The OCBC Titanium Cash Rebate Programme is calculated based on the Total Retail Spend for the month and is non-cumulative from previous month.

125 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:24 AM