Bodybuilding Thread v8, Bodybuilding diskussion

MelForC3
post Nov 4 2010, 03:35 PM

957 posts

HI guys..

I can 'see' many people they train arm on one day which include bicep tricep and forearm.

Currently, I spread arm training into 2 days. One day for bicep one day for tricep.

I try to finish whole arm session (bicep & tricep, I dun train forearm) in one hour but if begin with bicep, is there any energy left for tricep? of course, stil can lift but light weight plus low rep.

Usually, i warm up by stretching around then follow up by pull-ups and dip.

pull up - 12,10,8,6
dip - 15,15,12,10 (if gt energy, one more for 8 reps)

So, what i do for bicep is as below

barbell curl (without the bar weight, 4 set)
20kg x 8 reps
10kg x 10 reps
0 kg x 12 reps

curl bar (without the bar weight, 4 set)
20kg x 8 reps
10kg x 10 reps
0 kg x 12 reps

dumbell curl (4 set)
25lbs x 8 reps
20lbs x 10 reps
15lbs x 12 reps

one arm hammer curl ( sit on bench )
15 lbs x 15 reps, 4 set

bicep cable lateral ( I don't know what it name, i just google it)
i do not know what is the weight for every piece of the place.

1 piece x 15 reps (2 set)
free weight x 30 reps (3-4 set)

usually, after doing all these, I'll work on abs and continue on treadmill for 10minutes

As soon as i finish all these work out, it already took me an hour and 10 minutes sometime. So whole gym session usually is an hour and half.

Can someone guide on this?? I do not know wheather what am i doing right or wrong. Currently in office, tricep workout shall post later.

Kindly assist.

Thanks in advance smile.gif

Added on November 4, 2010, 3:36 pmerr..one more... Rest time for set usually 30 - 45 secs.. i use handphone stop watch.. As for exercise, 3-4 minutes, wiping off sweat and drink water..

thanks again.

This post has been edited by MelForC3: Nov 4 2010, 03:36 PM
new[x]
post Nov 4 2010, 05:56 PM

411 posts

Guys,

Here is a noob question on drinks.

At mamak stall, what do u usually order for drinks?
Warm barley <-Not good coz of gluten?
Warm tea
Iced tea
100 Plus
Plain water

or should we avoid eating/drinking at mamak stall?

harris92
post Nov 4 2010, 07:46 PM

-
536 posts

QUOTE(newx @ Nov 4 2010, 05:56 PM)
Guys,

Here is a noob question on drinks.

At mamak stall, what do u usually order for drinks?
Warm barley <-Not good coz of gluten?
Warm tea
Iced tea
100 Plus
Plain water

or should we avoid eating/drinking at mamak stall?
You don't have to avoid it completely, if you go once a week, its fine. Just treat it as a cheat meal. That being said, I haven't had a roti canai in over a year. Anyway, for drinks, I usually order hot milo, with less sugar.

UNLESS, you really want to lose weight or have a damn-strict diet (which I don't), then its a different story. You can order hard-boil eggs for food.

jamis
post Nov 4 2010, 09:55 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

I prefer chinese tea or plain water. Only once in a blue moon i might order herbal tea, else mostly sugarless drinks.

And it is cheaper to have chinese tea or plain water XD
mofonyx
post Nov 5 2010, 08:04 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

I didn't read the entire article on gluten, but I think the writer misinterpreted several studies to mislead readers.

Common. I think if it was that damaging, it would be taught in classrooms. I've never heard of gluten free diets being recommended unless they're suffering from celiac disease.
pizzaboy
post Nov 5 2010, 10:34 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Nov 5 2010, 08:04 AM)
I didn't read the entire article on gluten, but I think the writer misinterpreted several studies to mislead readers.

Common. I think if it was that damaging, it would be taught in classrooms. I've never heard of gluten free diets being recommended unless they're suffering from celiac disease.
The writer did say that it's dangerous if you're suffering from celiac diseases and if you have gluten sensitivity. Well maybe that article didn't write it, but I read a few other articles too though. Sorry if that misled anyone.
ijnek
post Nov 6 2010, 05:02 PM

566 posts

i dun hv a specific Arm day, normally i would match it together like Chest/tricep and Back/Bicep.

as the tricep or bicep are also worked out as secondary muscles while trainin the primary muscle which is chest or back...
pizzaboy
post Nov 6 2010, 06:37 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Nov 6 2010, 05:02 PM)
i dun hv a specific Arm day, normally i would match it together like Chest/tricep and Back/Bicep.

as the tricep or bicep are also worked out as secondary muscles while trainin the primary muscle which is chest or back...
U ought to see how i do bench presses ... I try to totally avoid the chest from being involved
mikehuan
post Nov 6 2010, 06:41 PM

6,160 posts

CGBP?
iamyuanwu
post Nov 6 2010, 11:27 PM

2,425 posts

NGBP!
darklight79
post Nov 7 2010, 01:08 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(ijnek @ Nov 6 2010, 05:02 PM)

Bad. You have a lot to learn making these statements. Working out a muscle group with suboptimal intensity = suboptimal growth. Where are your huge arms?

darklight79
post Nov 7 2010, 01:18 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 6 2010, 06:37 PM)
U ought to see how i do bench presses ... I try to totally avoid the chest from being involved
Aren't you supposedly more into powerlifting orientated sports? Why are you making these crap statements in a bbing thread? If this is what the thread has degenerated into, ever wondered why the huge mofos like angrydog, Kmaru, etc have gone MIA?

You get less attention in the PL thread, so you come in here and start trying to impress newbies with all the technical impressive bombastic words? I always say, take a look at a person's physique before you take advice from them. This has been a staple unspoken rule even in international bodybuilding forums. Heck, Charles Glass, even now supposedly skinny used to be huge.

When have you ever had decent muscular development all your life? As far as I'm concerned when i last saw you till the present, you're still this skinny kid who has an attention deficit disorder. Come and tell me you've reached bodybuilder development, then you can start dishing out advice like a bodybuilding pro.

I don't care how many clients of yours you've supposedly built up and gotten huge, that's what you claim. rolleyes.gif But you seriously need to revamp a lot of the advice you've given.

Oh and if you're thinking of giving me a lengthy reply, I couldn't care less what you think. I have a job as a doctor, bodybuilding may not be my career but it is my lifestyle and one of my first loves. Only reason why i used to come sometimes was because i love helping newbies, not misleading them. Seeing people like you pollute this thread, it's pretty sad to watch. Cheers.

This post has been edited by darklight79: Nov 7 2010, 01:24 AM
chicaman
post Nov 7 2010, 01:45 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

Aren't we supposed to involve the chest as much as possible during bench press if we are training our chest and minimize the use of triceps as in do 75% of full motion from chest to top instead of 100%.

Correct me if I am wrong, I am willing to learn~
XP750
post Nov 7 2010, 04:16 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 7 2010, 01:45 AM)
Aren't we supposed to involve the chest as much as possible during bench press if we are training our chest and minimize the use of triceps as in do 75% of full motion from chest to top instead of 100%.

dont take it seriously dude
he was just being sarcastic smile.gif
pizzaboy
post Nov 7 2010, 11:24 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Nov 7 2010, 01:18 AM)
Aren't you supposedly more into powerlifting orientated sports? Why are you making these crap statements in a bbing thread? If this is what the thread has degenerated into, ever wondered why the huge mofos like angrydog, Kmaru, etc have gone MIA?

You get less attention in the PL thread, so you come in here and start trying to impress newbies with all the technical impressive bombastic words? I always say, take a look at a person's physique before you take advice from them. This has been a staple unspoken rule even in international bodybuilding forums. Heck, Charles Glass, even now supposedly skinny used to be huge.

When have you ever had decent muscular development all your life? As far as I'm concerned when i last saw you till the present, you're still this skinny kid who has an attention deficit disorder. Come and tell me you've reached bodybuilder development, then you can start dishing out advice like a bodybuilding pro.

I don't care how many clients of yours you've supposedly built up and gotten huge, that's what you claim.  rolleyes.gif But you seriously need to revamp a lot of the advice you've given.

Oh and if you're thinking of giving me a lengthy reply, I couldn't care less what you think. I have a job as a doctor, bodybuilding may not be my career but it is my lifestyle and one of my first loves. Only reason why i used to come sometimes was because i love helping newbies, not misleading them. Seeing people like you pollute this thread, it's pretty sad to watch. Cheers.
Good to know.
Cheers!

QUOTE(chicaman @ Nov 7 2010, 01:45 AM)

Definitely if your goal is to build a large chest. For myself, I do it in order to strengthen the triceps as it's hardly beneficial in my sport to have a large chest. Barbell benches are beneficial, as we use it to strengthen the triceps in order to help overhead stability in the jerk. So it's a tad different.

Also the thing about a lot of my PT clients are, they're mostly slightly elder (40 and above) and they generally have issues like shoulder stability, anterior deltoid pain, so it's difficult to have them bench full ROM, with the emphasis on the chest as it requires a wider grip with the elbows outwards. This can and in fact, will affect their already weakened shoulders so based on experience and guidelines from P.T. organizations, we avoid the elbows flared out version. What I prescribe is more overhead dumbbell pressing to strengthen the entire shoulder structure as well as a lot of emphasis on the postural (rear) shoulder muscles so they don't eventually develop a hunch.

I could just use dumbbells exclusively but in my field, it's necessary to help them learn other movements because if they see other trainees in the gym, using barbell benches, they will too want to jump into it. Eventually when I leave these clients, they're bound to move to the barbell sooner or later due to curiosity and peer pressure in the gym, so it's best to teach them both methods of chest emphasis and triceps emphasis.

It's not that big a deal if you don't have a shoulder issue though, but for me, I've just got to keep it safe.
shiloong7081
post Nov 7 2010, 01:42 PM

928 posts

when doing deadlifts, what are the signs to look out/feel for that you are not doing it correctly ?
LadyVanity
post Nov 7 2010, 02:08 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ Nov 7 2010, 01:42 PM)
when doing deadlifts, what are the signs to look out/feel for that you are not doing it correctly ?
rounding of the lower back. get someone to spot you. never take form for granted doing deadlifts. one tiny error could mean a slipped disc. ive seen and heard it happen so, so many times. sad.gif

shiloong7081
post Nov 7 2010, 03:17 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(LadyVanity @ Nov 7 2010, 02:08 PM)
rounding of the lower back. get someone to spot you. never take form for granted doing deadlifts. one tiny error could mean a slipped disc. ive seen and heard it happen so, so many times.  sad.gif
yeah, am quite apprehensive when it comes to lifts involving the back. that's something i will look out for.

what about 'feel' ? i can feel the strain + tension on the lower back when lifting, that's normal right ? how to know when you've rounded your back/ wrong form , where would the tension be at ?
LadyVanity
post Nov 7 2010, 03:40 PM

249 posts

umm... i dont exactly know how to describe the feel to you >< personally, if my back starts to round i feel a certain "pull" on my spine and the tension actually going off the targeted muscles... and i know very quickly that i gotta fix my form or drop the weights if they;re too heavy. not sure if that makes sense to you.... x.x

some tension on the lower back is fine. the deadlift is an exercise to work ur lower back anyways... a sharp pain would be a surefire indicator that you hv done something wrong lol but i think once u feel that sharp pain its too late and u might hv done some damage to urself.
pizzaboy
post Nov 7 2010, 04:47 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ Nov 7 2010, 03:17 PM)
yeah, am quite apprehensive when it comes to lifts involving the back. that's something i will look out for.

what about 'feel' ? i can feel the strain + tension on the lower back when lifting, that's normal right ? how to know when you've rounded your back/ wrong form , where would the tension be at ?
Your first repetition, with the empty bar when you do your warmup, should be with a straight back, repeat this movement over and over again, till it's ingrained in your brain. Then start adding weight, and kept an "eye" on your lower back. It will certainly feel heavier but the back tightness should feel consistent. The moment you pull the bar and suddenly the feeling is different, chances are, it's a lower back rounding.

Or, use cues. My cues to my clients are "Pinch your credit card with your shoulders". This forces them to keep the upper back tight and would subsequently stabilize the lower back too. I do joke saying if they don't pinch the card tight, I'll take more money from them the next month, but holy cow you'll see how much harder people squeeze the backs after that. So use mental cues like this, and it'll keep your form right.

142 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:26 PM