125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V4, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

Jason
post Sep 19 2010, 01:33 AM

6,355 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Sep 19 2010, 12:53 AM)
I don't think it is OCLF or Voodoo. Previously I was on OCLF, after that change to Voodoo beta4. Papago still drains battery in the background even after you exit it. I think it is Papago software problem.. Anyhow, my papago is a trial version, full version i am not sure..
brother.. let me guess. your screen brightness is set to MANUAL! correct?
thats a theory i got from here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/archive/in...p/t-682923.html

my screen brightness is set to MANUAL as well..will be doing more testing.
mengsuan
post Sep 19 2010, 01:43 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 19 2010, 12:43 AM)
Thanks for the reminder. Yes, it is only for v2.1. I have resolve my 3 button disability to boot into recovery. The solution is at :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=785201

I did it before I flash the froyo firmware. Before that,  I try to use adb boot recovery from terminal but process cannot complete while running odin ( serial comm error)
Thumbs up for your courage. What's your PDA and CSC version?
alvinz
post Sep 19 2010, 01:52 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Sep 19 2010, 12:35 AM)
Yup, I received mine on 9th september. Using now already. I bought from the original Sgp via ebay USA.

I guess that is the risk for buying from outside shop, they can take out some stuff?
Opened the package myself, doesn't seem it haas been opened b4. Sighs maybe bad luck.

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 19 2010, 12:48 AM)
i removed OCLF (kept root though) and installed voodoo beta4
in benchmark..OCLF hit 2.2k.. voodoo hit 1.7k only

but in actual use, no difference.. both smooth.. voodoo also has the color fix..

Added on September 19, 2010, 12:49 am

im wondering did we get a lemon? if yes we should get it warranty replaced. can some bro/sis help replicate this problem???

did you use OCLF? i am suspecting OCLF might be the cause. now i just installed voodoo beta4 and will try to replicate
Nope, I am using oclf, doesn't seems to be the reason. Used x5 few days back and my phone is just doing fine. Just started charging, system says it was unplugged for 2days and almost 16hrs.
MYstombox
post Sep 19 2010, 02:34 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Why are you guys so concerned about some synthetic benchmark?
Do a more practical test by just loading all your 7 homescreens with "feeds and updates" samsung widget, beautiful widget, facebook for android, twitter for android, engadget widget. Then swipe through all 7 screens. And whatever other widget that you can find. And see if it lags, if it doesn't then that's what we really want.

if it gets choppy, whatever synthetic benchmark score doesn't mean a thing.
TShihihehe
post Sep 19 2010, 02:40 AM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Sep 19 2010, 02:19 AM)
Yes, it comes with 3 camera lens sp and 2 front screen sp.

Did u buy from the same reseller unitedsgpcorp?
i dont have any lens protector in 2 packages..so i just leave it
ChAOoz
post Sep 19 2010, 02:47 AM

3,501 posts

QUOTE(ohmlawx @ Sep 19 2010, 01:13 AM)
What kind of scrolling? I am on jg4 with voodoo, scroll superfast. Maybe u can try using voodoo.
Yeah i just applied voodoo lag fix. its awesome biggrin.gif
memento7
post Sep 19 2010, 04:39 AM

56 posts

hi guys... i just got my sgs week ago.. wanna ask.. do i need to root my phone for voodoo lag fix? or should i just wait for froyo?
benny888
post Sep 19 2010, 10:16 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 19 2010, 01:43 AM)
Thumbs up for your courage. What's your PDA and CSC version?
Original Firmware :
PDA : I9000DXJG4
PHONE: I9000DXJG4
CSC : I9000OLBJG4

New Froyo firmware:

PDA : I9000XXJP2
PHONE: I9000XXJP2
CSC : I9000OLXAJP2

Later today I will reflash to Eclair 2.1 with the voodo lagfix to assess whether it will be better. Now downloading

Added on September 19, 2010, 10:17 am
QUOTE(MYstombox @ Sep 19 2010, 02:34 AM)
Why are you guys so concerned about some synthetic benchmark?
Do a more practical test by just loading all your 7 homescreens with "feeds and updates" samsung widget, beautiful widget, facebook for android, twitter for android, engadget widget. Then swipe through all 7 screens. And whatever other widget that you can find. And see if it lags, if it doesn't then that's what we really want.

if it gets choppy, whatever synthetic benchmark score doesn't mean a thing.
Absolutely right. The best judgement is in experiencing like what you had said

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 19 2010, 10:17 AM
kmrdeva
post Sep 19 2010, 11:38 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(memento7 @ Sep 19 2010, 04:39 AM)
hi guys... i just got my sgs week ago.. wanna ask.. do i need to root my phone for voodoo lag fix? or should i just wait for froyo?
No, root not needed for voodoo. It's up to you if you want to wait or not, for Froyo.
sora_world07
post Sep 19 2010, 11:59 AM

111 posts

hey guys... im bout to get my sgs next week... its an AP set and the guy told me it would be a german set. do i need to worry bout anythin specific?
llk
post Sep 19 2010, 12:15 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(sora_world07 @ Sep 19 2010, 11:59 AM)
hey guys... im bout to get my sgs next week... its an AP set and the guy told me it would be a german set. do i need to worry bout anythin specific?
If the shop can given absolute warranty then nothing to worry, you always can flash the FW from any region around the world.
lch78
post Sep 19 2010, 01:58 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 19 2010, 02:33 AM)
brother.. let me guess. your screen brightness is set to MANUAL! correct?
thats a theory i got from here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/archive/in...p/t-682923.html

my screen brightness is set to MANUAL as well..will be doing more testing.
Actually I set to auto-brightness. I read the posting but not sure whether that is the case with this Papago.

The problem I found is as follows: You can check whether you are facing the same type of problem as I am facing.

1. I start Papago and run for a few minutes, let say 5 min.
2. I exit properly.
3. Half hour later I check battery usage using battery history (or spare parts or the codes you given).
4. Papago GPS use is 4m 50s, CPU use is 5m 20s, sensor use is 30m 20s.
5. I try run compass, drop game, camera, and every other apps that use sensor.
6. Another 15min pass, check battery history again, Papago GPS use 4m 50s, CPU use 5m 20s, sensor use 46m 35s.
7. Sensor battery use also got records of the compass, drop game, camera, etc. but they don't show increase after I stop those apps.

It appears that Papago activated a sensor and this sensor never shut down, lurking in the background draining battery all the time. I even tried flight mode, but the Papago sensor still active. Not sure how to proceed from here. So I just restart the phone and the problem goes away...

Hope you have better luck in catching this bug..

emino
post Sep 19 2010, 02:28 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

Just installed screenshot app for the phone. Hehe

Shameless self-picture as wallpaper FTW! laugh.gif
benny888
post Sep 19 2010, 02:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I have been successfully flashing few roms until the last one was XXJP2. This morning I flash to Eclair WXJM8 and also tried XXJP3 Froyo. Decided that Eclair WXJM8 was better with the voodoo lag fix, I flash back to WXJM8 but my phone hang with the yellow download logo , no response.

I tried to use the 3 buttons , unable to go to download or recovery mode

What I have is now a black screen showing phone disconnected with PC .

Any advsie is appreciated

The phone now cannot be detected by the PC ; have tried using Odin - no response

Bap3
post Sep 19 2010, 03:08 PM

422 posts

guys anyone experience screen flickering when scanning for wifi signal?...mine have it...i'm on JG4 with voodoo beta2
TShihihehe
post Sep 19 2010, 03:13 PM

13,790 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 19 2010, 04:56 PM)
I have been successfully flashing few roms until the last one was XXJP2. This morning I flash to Eclair WXJM8 and also tried XXJP3 Froyo. Decided  that Eclair WXJM8 was better with the voodoo lag fix, I flash back to WXJM8 but my phone hang with the yellow download logo , no response.

The phone now cannot be detected by the PC ; have tried using Odin - no response
i experienced this before and if i still remember,i take out the battery and put back again then reflash the firmware and it work back
llk
post Sep 19 2010, 03:14 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 19 2010, 02:56 PM)
I have been successfully flashing few roms until the last one was XXJP2. This morning I flash to Eclair WXJM8 and also tried XXJP3 Froyo. DecidedĀ  that Eclair WXJM8 was better with the voodoo lag fix, I flash back to WXJM8 but my phone hang with the yellow download logo , no response.

Do you try to press the 3 buttons abit longer? I remember i have this before during the 1st time i flash the FW 2 mths ago. By pressing the 3 buttons longer than normal finally manage to go the download page.

This post has been edited by llk: Sep 19 2010, 03:15 PM
Narako
post Sep 19 2010, 03:15 PM

what?
705 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 19 2010, 02:56 PM)
I have been successfully flashing few roms until the last one was XXJP2. This morning I flash to Eclair WXJM8 and also tried XXJP3 Froyo. Decided  that Eclair WXJM8 was better with the voodoo lag fix, I flash back to WXJM8 but my phone hang with the yellow download logo , no response.

err since you review the nexus one and hd2 running android can you do a review for this phone? would be nice to see one from you..
erymanthus
post Sep 19 2010, 03:23 PM

1,279 posts

Hi sifus,

Need some help here.

I'm on JG4, not rooted and no Lag Fix installed.

Is it possible for me to buy "paid applications" from the Market?
I tried googling and found a website saying that "Market Apps Enabler" software allows me to do so but i couldn't find this software from the Market?

I would love to have the option to buy applications but couldn't do so.

Help appreciated. Thanks.
benny888
post Sep 19 2010, 03:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Sep 19 2010, 03:15 PM)
err since you review the nexus one and hd2 running android can you do a review for this phone? would be nice to see one from you..
I will do that when I can have it in order. Has been busy testing roms on it last 2 days. But I do notice that applying the voodoo lagfix has great improvements on Eclair 2.1. I still dont know where I went wrong, having flash in between 5 different roms. Looks like I have to sent in to Samsung Service Centre.

The 3 buttons unable to get it work to boot into recovery/download as by default is disabled. But I manage to fix it using the software patch from XDA

Added on September 19, 2010, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(erymanthus @ Sep 19 2010, 03:23 PM)
Hi sifus,

Need some help here.

I'm on JG4, not rooted and no Lag Fix installed.

Is it possible for me to buy "paid applications" from the Market?
I tried googling and found a website saying that "Market Apps Enabler" software allows me to do so but i couldn't find this software from the Market?

I would love to have the option to buy applications but couldn't do so.

Help appreciated. Thanks.
You need to root in order to have market enabler to function

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 19 2010, 03:25 PM

125 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:37 PM