Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V4, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!
benny888
Sep 18 2010, 11:35 PM
Gadget Freak
Just joined the Galaxy S club few days ago. Got myself a Singapore Singtel set, brand new sealed set. My impressions , not good so far. Only the screen/display is fantastic.
I tend to compare it with my Nexus ( Froyo) /HTC HD2 on Froyo. Scrolling super smooth, installing apps and loading up apps is almost instant. The Galaxy S is terribly laggy and scrolling is not so smooth. I can bear with the scrolling but the installation of apps, access files using say Astro File Manager is terribly slow. All these are instant on the Nexus/HD2 w Froyo
Multitasking is poor ; while installing and same time I download other apps from market unit will freeze short few seconds - quite irritating
Even the HD2 Froyo browser beats the Galaxy browser - no point compare with Nexus which is way ahead. The Galaxy browser is poor - i replace it with Opera which is better, now comparable to the Nexus
My unit came with the 3 buttons unable to boot into recovery. Since yesterday I have root it and is now running Froyo I9000XXJP2 . The performance has improved compared with original stock rom but still loses out to the Nexus and HD2 on Froyo
I noted the battery on the Galaxy is hotter, ranging 32 to 42 routine usage vs 28 to 38 on nexus while the HD2 Froyo ranges 26 to 38
I read the Galaxy S is a better performer on games but I cannot verify this as I dont play any games
Despite these once programs loaded it perform well , only the loading part is obviously slower than the Nexus and HD2 on Froyo
Bootup time is very much faster on the Galaxy S vs Nexus/HD2 , at least by 10 seconds
Lastly, the GPS is in a word " sucks" ; pickup is weak. Pickup on Nexus/HD2 is within 5-8 secs , while the Galaxy takes at least 10 - 15 secs
This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 18 2010, 11:43 PM
benny888
Sep 18 2010, 11:58 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(alvinz @ Sep 18 2010, 11:54 PM) err ... i would like to point out that u kept on using the word Froyo in ur post ... do take note, froyo for galaxy s are all still in beta stages ... u r like comparing a top EPL football team to a team that just got into the EPL from division one ... i dont know much and would like to stay neutral on this as i dont own the phones u mentioned ... and really hoping for the official froyo to come out asap ... btw, gps on my sgs is super fast ... i feel its fast coz i compared it with garmin mobile xt on n82 ... didnt count how fast though ... With Froyo installed on it, the scrolling and laggy has improved but still loses out to Nexus/HD2 Froyo. WYou need to be a user of these phones to really see the difference.
benny888
Sep 19 2010, 12:11 AM
Gadget Freak
Thanks for the tip on the voodo lagfix - will try it. Even though the Froyo is beta , it is still better than the stock firmware and will keep it
benny888
Sep 19 2010, 12:43 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jujx @ Sep 19 2010, 12:18 AM) Ops, typo. Got mix up, let me edit my post first. Yup its EXT4 Thanks for the reminder. Yes, it is only for v2.1. I have resolve my 3 button disability to boot into recovery. The solution is at : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=785201I did it before I flash the froyo firmware. Before that, I try to use adb boot recovery from terminal but process cannot complete while running odin ( serial comm error) This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 19 2010, 12:44 AM
benny888
Sep 19 2010, 10:16 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 19 2010, 01:43 AM) Thumbs up for your courage. What's your PDA and CSC version? Original Firmware : PDA : I9000DXJG4 PHONE: I9000DXJG4 CSC : I9000OLBJG4 New Froyo firmware: PDA : I9000XXJP2 PHONE: I9000XXJP2 CSC : I9000OLXAJP2 Later today I will reflash to Eclair 2.1 with the voodo lagfix to assess whether it will be better. Now downloading Added on September 19, 2010, 10:17 amQUOTE(MYstombox @ Sep 19 2010, 02:34 AM) Why are you guys so concerned about some synthetic benchmark? Do a more practical test by just loading all your 7 homescreens with "feeds and updates" samsung widget, beautiful widget, facebook for android, twitter for android, engadget widget. Then swipe through all 7 screens. And whatever other widget that you can find. And see if it lags, if it doesn't then that's what we really want. if it gets choppy, whatever synthetic benchmark score doesn't mean a thing. Absolutely right. The best judgement is in experiencing like what you had said This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 19 2010, 10:17 AM
benny888
Sep 19 2010, 02:56 PM
Gadget Freak
I have been successfully flashing few roms until the last one was XXJP2. This morning I flash to Eclair WXJM8 and also tried XXJP3 Froyo. Decided that Eclair WXJM8 was better with the voodoo lag fix, I flash back to WXJM8 but my phone hang with the yellow download logo , no response. I tried to use the 3 buttons , unable to go to download or recovery mode What I have is now a black screen showing phone disconnected with PC . Any advsie is appreciated The phone now cannot be detected by the PC ; have tried using Odin - no response
benny888
Sep 19 2010, 03:24 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(Narako @ Sep 19 2010, 03:15 PM) err since you review the nexus one and hd2 running android can you do a review for this phone? would be nice to see one from you.. I will do that when I can have it in order. Has been busy testing roms on it last 2 days. But I do notice that applying the voodoo lagfix has great improvements on Eclair 2.1. I still dont know where I went wrong, having flash in between 5 different roms. Looks like I have to sent in to Samsung Service Centre. The 3 buttons unable to get it work to boot into recovery/download as by default is disabled. But I manage to fix it using the software patch from XDA Added on September 19, 2010, 3:25 pmQUOTE(erymanthus @ Sep 19 2010, 03:23 PM) Hi sifus, Need some help here. I'm on JG4, not rooted and no Lag Fix installed. Is it possible for me to buy "paid applications" from the Market? I tried googling and found a website saying that "Market Apps Enabler" software allows me to do so but i couldn't find this software from the Market? I would love to have the option to buy applications but couldn't do so. Help appreciated. Thanks. You need to root in order to have market enabler to function This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 19 2010, 03:25 PM
benny888
Sep 19 2010, 03:43 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jujx @ Sep 19 2010, 03:33 PM) Did you disable voodoo lag fix before flashing new firmware? Download mode not working anymore? Sounds a lot like bricked phone No I didn't do that, but I don't think that was the problem. After I flash WXJM8 , I updated it with Voodo lag fix - must say is impressive. Then flash to test another Froyo XXJP3 , it too was successful. Lastly decided to flash back to WXJM8 - then my phone hang !
benny888
Sep 19 2010, 03:58 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(erymanthus @ Sep 19 2010, 03:52 PM) Thanks for the advice. Looks like I cannot buy any paid applications unless I root my phone. Will do some research on how to root and unroot the SGS to prevent warranty void. Use this easiest method to root and unroot : http://www.blogsolute.com/root-samsung-gal...9000-tool/9858/No need to worry about using terminal adb commands Added on September 19, 2010, 4:00 pmQUOTE(lch78 @ Sep 19 2010, 03:52 PM) That maybe the problem. You need to disable Voodoo before flashing new FW. I read somewhere in the forum-xda or Voodoo website regarding this. Otherwise u ll get a black screen.. Here is the link: http://project-voodoo.org/documentationThanks . Was not aware , anyway is a good lesson for me for not research enough before attempting This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 19 2010, 04:00 PM
benny888
Sep 20 2010, 04:14 PM
Gadget Freak
Sent in my galaxy to samsung centre plaza singapore at 1130am got set back flash original fw at 3pm same day. Best of all is free as set under warranty. They did not even ask for warranty card only check serial no. So will be busy again flashing newer Roms
This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 20 2010, 04:18 PM
benny888
Sep 20 2010, 07:03 PM
Gadget Freak
I forgot to mention i truthfully inform the counter exec i brick when flashing rom. She just smile and said is ok. N no problem reflash for me. The receipt state a service fee S$24 chageable but i need not pay as phone still under warranty. The 3 buttons remain disable as is this feature not meant for users and no replacement will be entertained. I would say the service center id great n efficient. They have 14 counter staff on standby to serve. Never expect they did for me within few hours
benny888
Sep 20 2010, 07:27 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(MYstombox @ Sep 20 2010, 07:23 PM) you went to which service centre? The one at causeway point has 3 counters only, but then again, that service centre is quite quiet. So even with 3 counters, service is usually fast. Plaza singapura
benny888
Sep 22 2010, 07:39 AM
Gadget Freak
Froyo delayed, latest update and quote from : http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/21/samsung...r-late-october/Samsung's indicated in the past that all versions of its ubiquitous Galaxy S would be getting Froyo upgrades in harmony (more or less) -- and it had also indicated that those updates would be happening in September. Well, you know how these things tend to go: plans change, bugs crop up, engineers go on vacation at inopportune times, and delays happen. On that note, Samsung Mobile's Spanish division is now saying that the Galaxy S will be getting Froyo in "late October" through the Kies desktop app, though we don't know whether EspaƱa speaks for the rest of the world -- it's entirely possible that this is a Spain-specific announcement. More on this one as we get it, but for now, we wouldn't count on many (if any) of these bad boys getting official updates in the next few days.
benny888
Sep 23 2010, 09:43 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(awintz @ Sep 23 2010, 08:42 AM) thanks for replying bro..... yeap, after reading your post, not dare to download the firmware....instead try to do the factory reset in the recovery mode.....walla....my phone alive again....thanks for the tips.... then i've installed the voodoo lagfix 3.0 beta with color but managed to get 1xxx points on the benchmark. can i installed back OCLF while voodoo is still in my phone? You have to disable voodoo lag fix and restore rom back to it's original. I find it easier to use the OCLF as it is easy to install and easy to remove. The app also allow you to root and unroot. My quadrant score using oclf is 2300. You need to be careful removing voodoo as wrong step will brick your phone. After I got my phone back from SAMSUNG service centre ( my first brick experience) I tried the voodoo lag fix to assess it's improvements. Then I remove and disable it and again my phone brick second time. However I manage to restore it and now I am using oclf.
benny888
Sep 23 2010, 11:03 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jujx @ Sep 23 2010, 09:51 AM) go to your internal sd card, find a folder name voodoo, create a folder name "disable lagfix" then restart, wait for about 10 minutes to 20 minutes. Done It doesn't work for me. After I did that, I try to flash a new rom - phone brick like first time. Luckily I manage to restore it myself this time
benny888
Sep 23 2010, 11:29 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jujx @ Sep 23 2010, 11:09 AM) I did twice and it works for me. Did you read this http://project-voodoo.org/faq ? You put in internal SD or external SD? there should be the same female voice to guide you through disabling lagfix I installed in the internal SD card. After my first brick experience, I read up the whole website on voodoo before I attempt it. Somehow I failed to disable it ; yes there was a guided female voice
benny888
Sep 24 2010, 11:05 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(ansonliew @ Sep 24 2010, 11:02 AM) sorry guys im a newbie n real noob in all these..can someone pls let me or show me the benefits or differences after i root and flash my phone? and if i only flash my phone without rooting wats the difference with a rooted device? sorry if im asking noob or repeated question cuz too many posts i cant read everything :S READ post # 1 FIRST before asking any questions. All the info , commonly ask questions and basics are there. I am sure you will have all your answers in the first post This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 24 2010, 11:06 AM
benny888
Sep 24 2010, 11:11 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(jiidaineko @ Sep 24 2010, 11:06 AM) cons : Laggy ???  the reviewer superhuman? can visualize things moving at 0.1seconds? Not suprising as the reviewer had review and experienced many phones. As per my initial 2 days with the Galaxy S, I reported here in this thread my experience saying the Galaxy S is the most laggy and slow response phone I have used compared to Nexus and HTC HD2 ( Froyo). The lagginess and not so smooth scrolling in the Galaxy S is very very obvious once you compare it to the other 2 phones I have used. However after install OCLF, it is very much better. Programs launched close to immediate and scrolling has improved but it still loses out to file access speed compared to the Nexus and HD2 ( Froyo) which is almost instant
benny888
Sep 24 2010, 11:16 AM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(ansonliew @ Sep 24 2010, 11:12 AM) I read everything already but still i dun get the difference between a flashed and rooted phone and an only flashed phone...can anyone enlighten me?  It is answered in point # 9 : I quote - root is the use account in Linux with all privileges. The root user can edit anything on the system. For safety reasons, users do not have all those privileges. When you root your phone, you will gain write access to areas of the phone you couldn't previously access and are allowed to run more commands in the terminal. The latest guide can be found here, however, all current CustomROMs are rooted and can simply be applied via update.zip. If all of this means nothing to you then you are probably wise to NOT root your phone. Mistakes using root can break your phone very easily. (Usually, but not always, these can be solved with a reflash. In Layman terms now you can open the bonnet of your engine and take out the whole cylinder block to service it. Without root you cannot access the system files
benny888
Sep 29 2010, 10:32 AM
Gadget Freak
You won't miss the iphone4 screen if you have the galaxy s. Straight off viewing, the iphone4 looks slighty better on alphabets but you will not notice it if you don't compare.