125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V4, Please read FAQ at 1st page!!

TShihihehe
post Sep 18 2010, 06:38 PM

13,789 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Sep 18 2010, 08:20 PM)
Got new firmware released @ september......

I9000XXJPH ##  803.PIT  Version 2.2  2010 September
Do you guys think that if the new firmware would boost the wifi signal on the phone??
The current signal strenght seems very low...
at most places i cant receive any signal but a netbook can receive at least 1 bar of signal...
Im not sure if theres software or firmware to fix this cause Laptop wifi can boost it signal strenght by updating to the latest driver  rolleyes.gif
do u know that wifi signal on phone is lower than netbook/notebook/pc???
damagedigital
post Sep 18 2010, 06:49 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Sep 18 2010, 09:03 AM)
wanna ask, how did you do the steps?

after connecting the phone to the computer, do you need to mount the phone?
and i tried to type "adb reboot download" and it says adb is not recognized as an internal or external command
Dude do u have android development kit (sdk) installed in ur pc?if u hv go to the dir in cmd prompt n cd to the tools folder..frm there type adb reboot download...it worked for ne since the 1st day i gt d phne
darude87
post Sep 18 2010, 06:54 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(damagedigital @ Sep 18 2010, 06:49 PM)
Dude do u have android development kit (sdk) installed in ur pc?if u hv go to the dir in cmd prompt n cd to the tools folder..frm there type adb reboot download...it worked for ne since the 1st day i gt d phne
my bad, wasn't aware of the sdk, i've manage to workout the fix for the recovery already biggrin.gif
anyway, wanna ask how you guys manage the battery level of this phone? from day 1 i get my phone, i seems need to charge it almost every 24 hours, usage consist of calls(not so much), sms (average) , wifi(a lil bit)
is there any apps can make battery life slightly longer?
llk
post Sep 18 2010, 06:59 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Sep 18 2010, 06:54 PM)
my bad, wasn't aware of the sdk, i've manage to workout the fix for the recovery already  biggrin.gif
anyway, wanna ask how you guys manage the battery level of this phone? from day 1 i get my phone, i seems need to charge it almost every 24 hours, usage consist of calls(not so much), sms (average) , wifi(a lil bit)
I think this is quite normal, i also charging everyday
Leo the Lion
post Sep 18 2010, 07:29 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Sep 18 2010, 07:54 PM)
my bad, wasn't aware of the sdk, i've manage to workout the fix for the recovery already  biggrin.gif
If u wanna go for high-end phone, u have to know the battery life can be sucks b4 buying it. sweat.gif
Cyclone1
post Sep 18 2010, 08:02 PM

408 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Sep 18 2010, 06:21 PM)
Wow then how to use it since there are some printing on the sp originally from package? Anyway there are so many positive comments about the SGP brand, should be the good one.
hahaha... scroll text downward to read the wording that directly beneath the printing... or tilt the phone and squeeze my eye to glimpse at the hidden text tongue.gif

ok.. i will try to look for sgp protector .. thx ~
ohmlawx
post Sep 18 2010, 08:07 PM

732 posts

Hai.
Just curios why some of u guys having a short battery life. Mine can last a day or more, with heavy gaming & wifiing. All i do u not using the live wallpaper, and use black wallpaper. Also, disable the 3g connection.
pokewenger01
post Sep 18 2010, 08:26 PM

35 posts

Samsung galaxy s or galaxy beam ( World's first Android projector phone )

which phones are better?
Singapore on sale galaxy beam now..
dont know which one Im should buy..
ohmlawx
post Sep 18 2010, 08:49 PM

732 posts

wow.. the Galaxy Beam look nice.. With projector, 8mp with flash.. damn technologies are very fast.. downside is 3.7inch screen, and 720mhz processor..
alvinz
post Sep 18 2010, 09:44 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 18 2010, 02:08 PM)
I put into leather casing. The plastics are at the side to hold the entire phone. Dunno got scratches or not. Didn't want to take it out and add more scratches. Lol..
hmm, just checked my phone with viva casing ... doesnt seems to have any scratches on the chrome part, just checked it under yellow lights .. i will check again later .. lazy to get up tongue.gif

QUOTE(holypredator @ Sep 18 2010, 06:20 PM)
Got new firmware released @ september......

I9000XXJPH ##  803.PIT  Version 2.2  2010 September
Do you guys think that if the new firmware would boost the wifi signal on the phone??
The current signal strenght seems very low...
at most places i cant receive any signal but a netbook can receive at least 1 bar of signal...
Im not sure if theres software or firmware to fix this cause Laptop wifi can boost it signal strenght by updating to the latest driver  rolleyes.gif
err ... i guess u dont know much on hardwares ... ur netbook or notebook manage to get at least a bar of signal is becoz the hardware which is the WiFi card is 50x times bigger than SGS's, in fact every phone in this world, there is no phone that can receive higher signal than a note/netbook yet ...

QUOTE(llk @ Sep 18 2010, 06:21 PM)
Wow then how to use it since there are some printing on the sp originally from package? Anyway there are so many positive comments about the SGP brand, should be the good one.
yea am using the SGP ultra oleophobic sp ... damn nice .. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 18 2010, 07:29 PM)
If u wanna go for high-end phone, u have to know the battery life can be sucks b4 buying it.  sweat.gif
says who? ...
battery status update,
Current Status (as of this post): 25%
2days 11hrs 48mins 53secs since unplugged ..
Usage: alot ALOT of texting, at least 2hrs of wifi ... screen brightness just slightly above 0% ... using the water + building wallpaper ...

as mentioned b4, u gotta charge a few cycles b4 commenting on the battery .. but of course, all this varies on different phone and different settings ...

QUOTE(pokewenger01 @ Sep 18 2010, 08:26 PM)
Samsung galaxy s or galaxy beam ( World's first Android projector phone )

which phones are better?
Singapore on sale galaxy beam now..
dont know which one Im should buy..
galaxy beam is nice ... held the phone b4 when i was in SG ... that time i was also choosing between SGS and SGBeam ...
and violla! ended up with SGS and very happy with it ... if u r a person that do videos alot, beam is a good choice, can project ur vids or maybe pics anywhere as along as that is a solid surface ... i am a lazy type of person that doesnt prefer to take pics nor videos, so i chosed SGS ...
Narako
post Sep 18 2010, 10:30 PM

what?
705 posts

hey guys seeing the htc desire hd start up so fast why cant the galaxy s do it? doesnt it have a 45nm cpu also and 1ghz? or because dont have the android 2.2? can some one explain?
silentser
post Sep 18 2010, 11:00 PM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Sep 18 2010, 10:30 PM)
hey guys seeing the htc desire hd start up so fast why cant the galaxy s do it? doesnt it have a 45nm cpu also and 1ghz? or because dont have the android 2.2? can some one explain?
question, from the video you see, does the phone is already being used? have many apps on it? or it just a demo video with stock apps?

and you can make sgs fast boot, remove the boot animation ( something about playlogos, search it), use touchwiz as home, remove all the eidget from home screen
kmrdeva
post Sep 18 2010, 11:05 PM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Sep 18 2010, 10:30 PM)
What do you mean by 'start up so fast'? Bootup time?

I dunno how quick the Desire HD boots, but my SGS is pretty quick, I think. Way better than shit slow Blackberry (my previous phone, Curve 8900).

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Sep 18 2010, 11:05 PM
Narako
post Sep 18 2010, 11:15 PM

what?
705 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Sep 18 2010, 11:05 PM)
What do you mean by 'start up so fast'? Bootup time?

I dunno how quick the Desire HD boots, but my SGS is pretty quick, I think. Way better than shit slow Blackberry (my previous phone, Curve 8900).
well here is the link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KX8Uety5mOw

JustForFun
post Sep 18 2010, 11:29 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Depends on how many start up services your phone runs...

By the way, how often do we actually shut off our phone? lol
benny888
post Sep 18 2010, 11:35 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Just joined the Galaxy S club few days ago. Got myself a Singapore Singtel set, brand new sealed set. My impressions , not good so far. Only the screen/display is fantastic.

I tend to compare it with my Nexus ( Froyo) /HTC HD2 on Froyo. Scrolling super smooth, installing apps and loading up apps is almost instant. The Galaxy S is terribly laggy and scrolling is not so smooth. I can bear with the scrolling but the installation of apps, access files using say Astro File Manager is terribly slow. All these are instant on the Nexus/HD2 w Froyo

Multitasking is poor ; while installing and same time I download other apps from market unit will freeze short few seconds - quite irritating

Even the HD2 Froyo browser beats the Galaxy browser - no point compare with Nexus which is way ahead. The Galaxy browser is poor - i replace it with Opera which is better, now comparable to the Nexus

My unit came with the 3 buttons unable to boot into recovery. Since yesterday I have root it and is now running Froyo I9000XXJP2 . The performance has improved compared with original stock rom but still loses out to the Nexus and HD2 on Froyo

I noted the battery on the Galaxy is hotter, ranging 32 to 42 routine usage vs 28 to 38 on nexus while the HD2 Froyo ranges 26 to 38

I read the Galaxy S is a better performer on games but I cannot verify this as I dont play any games

Despite these once programs loaded it perform well , only the loading part is obviously slower than the Nexus and HD2 on Froyo

Bootup time is very much faster on the Galaxy S vs Nexus/HD2 , at least by 10 seconds

Lastly, the GPS is in a word " sucks" ; pickup is weak. Pickup on Nexus/HD2 is within 5-8 secs , while the Galaxy takes at least 10 - 15 secs

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 18 2010, 11:43 PM
Jason
post Sep 18 2010, 11:47 PM

6,354 posts

ok i've been doing testing today...and i have a real problem. the moment i activate GPS (Papago X5) and i EXIT the application.. thereafter my galaxy will NOT sleep.

here's what happened
1. used papago x5.. reach destination
2. exit papago x5 (using the EXIT button in the application)
3. went lepak, makan, notice battery weak, thought it was the GPS usage
4. charge the phone up to 95%, go home
5. journey home took an hour, battery drop to 81% (NO USAGE)
6. enter battery info menu (*#*#4636#*#*) and notice Since last unplugged, Running (100%) 1hr 2m 55s, go to Settings -> About -> Battery Use > 1h 3m 12s since unplugged..

means since the moment i unplugged the phone till i got home, it never SLEPT.

nothing else was used, no games, no apps, NOTHING. my phone has OCLF installed, and its rooted. help. can anybody replicate this problem?
jujx
post Sep 18 2010, 11:52 PM

1,398 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 18 2010, 11:35 PM)
Just joined the Galaxy S club few days ago. Got myself a Singapore Singtel set, brand new sealed set. My impressions , not good so far. Only the screen/display is fantastic.

I tend to compare it with my Nexus ( Froyo) /HTC HD2 on Froyo. Scrolling super smooth, installing apps and loading up apps is almost instant. The Galaxy S is terribly laggy and scrolling is not so smooth. I can bear with the scrolling but the installation of apps, access files using say Astro File Manager is terribly slow. All these are instant on the Nexus/HD2 w Froyo

Multitasking is poor ; while installing and same time I download other apps from market unit will freeze short few seconds - quite irritating

Even the HD2 Froyo browser beats the Galaxy browser - no point compare with Nexus which is way ahead. The Galaxy browser is poor - i replace it with Opera which is better, now comparable to the Nexus

My unit came with the 3 buttons unable to boot into recovery. Since yesterday I have root it and is now running Froyo I9000XXJP2 . The performance has improved compared with original stock rom but still loses out to the Nexus and HD2 on Froyo

I noted the battery on the Galaxy is hotter, ranging 32 to 42 routine usage vs 28 to 38 on nexus while the HD2 Froyo ranges 26 to 38

I read the Galaxy S is a better performer on games but I cannot verify this as I dont play any games

Despite these once programs loaded it perform well , only the loading part is obviously  slower than the Nexus and HD2 on Froyo

Bootup time is very much faster on the Galaxy S vs Nexus/HD2 , at least by 10 seconds

Lastly, the GPS is in a word " sucks" ; pickup is weak. Pickup on Nexus/HD2  is within 5-8  secs , while the Galaxy takes at least 10 - 15 secs
Yea the stock firmware suffers badly from Lags and GPS problem

Try to get a new firmware and go XDA find the instruction to flash voodoo lagFix.

Then you'll find yourself a phone that open apps speed on par as iOS
alvinz
post Sep 18 2010, 11:54 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 18 2010, 11:35 PM)

Despite these once programs loaded it perform well , only the loading part is obviously  slower than the Nexus and HD2 on Froyo

Lastly, the GPS is in a word " sucks" ; pickup is weak. Pickup on Nexus/HD2  is within 5-8  secs , while the Galaxy takes at least 10 - 15 secs
err ... i would like to point out that u kept on using the word Froyo in ur post ... do take note, froyo for galaxy s are all still in beta stages ...
u r like comparing a top EPL football team to a team that just got into the EPL from division one ...
i dont know much and would like to stay neutral on this as i dont own the phones u mentioned ... and really hoping for the official froyo to come out asap ...
btw, gps on my sgs is super fast ... i feel its fast coz i compared it with garmin mobile xt on n82 ... didnt count how fast though ...
benny888
post Sep 18 2010, 11:58 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alvinz @ Sep 18 2010, 11:54 PM)
err ... i would like to point out that u kept on using the word Froyo in ur post ... do take note, froyo for galaxy s are all still in beta stages ...
u r like comparing a top EPL football team to a team that just got into the EPL from division one ... 
i dont know much and would like to stay neutral on this as i dont own the phones u mentioned ... and really hoping for the official froyo to come out asap ...
btw, gps on my sgs is super fast ... i feel its fast coz i compared it with garmin mobile xt on n82 ... didnt count how fast though ...
With Froyo installed on it, the scrolling and laggy has improved but still loses out to Nexus/HD2 Froyo. WYou need to be a user of these phones to really see the difference.

125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:26 AM