Credit Card v11

MilesAndMore
post Aug 30 2010, 06:36 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(underpressure @ Aug 30 2010, 06:27 PM)
Been doing some research, it seems you just need to earn more than 4k monthly salary to qualify for a Citibank Cash Back Plat Card. Can anyone verify this?

Yes. That is true as the minimum per annum salary required is RM48,000.

Which other bank offers the lowest requirement for their Platinum card?

Standard Chartered Bank.

And is it possible to switch from card to another even when you don't meet the requirement? For example your salary is 5k, the min for Citi Plat is 4k where as HSBC is 10k, after using it for a year you switch to hsbc, will hsbc approve it?
You need to earn at least RM12,500/month to qualify for the HSBC VISA Platinum, not RM10,000/month. Anyway, if you intend to use an existing Platinum credit card that is more than 1 year old. The card must comes with a minimum credit limit of RM30,000. Even if you meet their VISA Platinum requirements, there is still no guarantee that you will get it as everyone knows it is hard to get a HSBC credit card.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 30 2010, 06:37 PM
winner
post Aug 30 2010, 07:28 PM

2,221 posts

dausan2003,

As we have mentioned over and over again here, one could not trust 100% what cc sales personnel promise, unless it is an official statement from the bank.

You should be aware that service tax is immediately charged upon card approval and activation. Further, as far as I know, MBB has never granted any free points for cardholders to offset the service tax.

I never trust all promises from cc sales personal and even CS officers. I always refer to the T&Cs and official statements from the respective bank.

This post has been edited by winner: Aug 30 2010, 07:59 PM
jack2
post Aug 30 2010, 08:47 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Wonder if anyone checks with OCBC self service that my Titanium application was unsuccessfully but following the announcement, there was second announcement for the same application with pending status.

Checked with OS and they said if there is any change of the application, they will make update and canceled the application and resubmit again. That is why I heard two results.

Therefore, it is still under process...
lara_
post Aug 30 2010, 10:18 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 30 2010, 08:47 PM)
Wonder if anyone checks with OCBC self service that my Titanium application was unsuccessfully but following the announcement, there was second announcement for the same application with pending status.

Checked with OS and they said if there is any change of the application, they will make update and canceled the application and resubmit again. That is why I heard two results.

Therefore, it is still under process...
Can share what did you change on your application until they need to cancel and resubmit?
wongpeter
post Aug 30 2010, 10:20 PM

973 posts

Anyone here can shed some light on Citibank's Customer Credit Limit? It seems that in this month of August Citibank has come up with something new called Customer Credit Limit.

Shouldn't banks be more prudent rather than just keep on increasing the credit limit every chance they get. Doesn't this place them at greater risk if the customer defaults on settling the credit card debt?
Gen-X
post Aug 30 2010, 11:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Last week OCBC CS told me they sent out my card on 25th Aug by courier but have yet to receive it today. So called OCBC and the CS confirmed again card sent out on 25th but vis normal post shakehead.gif OCBC damn kedekut lah, somemore normal post not reliable. Not only that, card activated automatically, gave me a heart attack. Asked them to block the card until I get the card and call them back.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 30 2010, 06:36 PM)
You need to earn at least RM12,500/month to qualify for the HSBC VISA Platinum, not RM10,000/month. Anyway, if you intend to use an existing Platinum credit card that is more than 1 year old. The card must comes with a minimum credit limit of RM30,000. Even if you meet their VISA Platinum requirements, there is still no guarantee that you will get it as everyone knows it is hard to get a HSBC credit card.
Well not sure about hard to get a HSBC Visa Plat credit card or need RM12.5K/month salary. Got mine HSBC Visa Plat at MidVallley in 2007 because an agent ask me for "help" while was shopping there. All I did was gave him my name card, filled in annual salary > RM100K without any proof and signed on the dotted lines. No calls or whatever from HSBC to verify I applied for the card and they gave me CL more than RM30K, maybe it is because I have a few cards where CL > RM30K. I don't even have a HSBC account.

On the other hand, my dad who has more than twice my annual income than me also have HSBC Credit Card but his CL is less than mine hmm.gif

MBB very stingy with CL. Once I applied for Petronas Gold CC, also because agent asked for help, they only gave me RM20K CL, but this time on the form I filled my salary >RM50K as did not really bother about CL as using it for petrol only. Then when got my AMEX Gold CC also they gave me same CL as it is shared, called AMEX up within few days after I got my card last year and requested it to be increased (asked them go check my AMEX charged card history) and they did it within a week to the amount I asked for.

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Aug 30 2010, 10:20 PM)
Anyone here can shed some light on Citibank's Customer Credit Limit? It seems that in this month of August Citibank has come up with something new called Customer Credit Limit.

Shouldn't banks be more prudent rather than just keep on increasing the credit limit every chance they get. Doesn't this place them at greater risk if the customer defaults on settling the credit card debt?
well my Citibank Clear Card has reached the max CL so guess can't be raised anymore. I read somewhere that Citibank actually let you charged more than your CL but then there is some fees involved.
zenquix
post Aug 30 2010, 11:19 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 30 2010, 11:16 PM)
Last week OCBC CS told me they sent out my card on 25th Aug by courier but have yet to receive it today. So called OCBC and the CS confirmed again card sent out on 25th but vis normal post shakehead.gif OCBC damn kedekut lah, somemore normal post not reliable. Not only that, card activated automatically, gave me a heart attack. Asked them to block the card until I get the card and call them back. 
Strange, when I got my card, it needed to be activated by calling into their IVR.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 31 2010, 12:25 AM

9,301 posts

Well not sure about hard to get a HSBC Visa Plat credit card or need RM12.5K/month salary. Got mine HSBC Visa Plat at MidVallley in 2007 because an agent ask me for "help" while was shopping there. All I did was gave him my name card, filled in annual salary > RM100K without any proof and signed on the dotted lines. No calls or whatever from HSBC to verify I applied for the card and they gave me CL more than RM30K, maybe it is because I have a few cards where CL > RM30K. I don't even have a HSBC account.

Most probably it was your other credit cards that help you to get the HSBC credit card then because it's either you give them your salary slip with a monthly salary of no less than RM12,000 or just give them your IC number so that they can check your CCRIS record. It has got to be your credit cards that with > RM30k credit limit that did the trick.

On the other hand, my dad who has more than twice my annual income than me also have HSBC Credit Card but his CL is less than mine hmm.gif
No one can really understand how they determine just how much credit limit they want to grant you. I overheard someone complained to the customer service officer inside the Premier Centre that their credit card HQ rejected his request for higher credit line for his MasterCard despite having RM500k of FD with them.
maru
post Aug 31 2010, 01:52 AM

1,191 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Aug 30 2010, 10:20 PM)

many ppl hope they keep increase the limit so everyone can get platinum smile.gif
jack2
post Aug 31 2010, 02:18 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Aug 30 2010, 10:18 PM)
Can share what did you change on your application until they need to cancel and resubmit?
I never made any changes or new submission. I wonder why they did so... Probably they rejected me at first place, and reconsider again?
ronnie
post Aug 31 2010, 02:39 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Standard Chartered is offering RM188(Platinum)/RM88(Gold) cash back now... If you miss the previous offer, now's the 2nd chance (and better) to get FREE cash.
wongpeter
post Aug 31 2010, 02:54 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Aug 31 2010, 01:52 AM)
many ppl hope they keep increase the limit so everyone can get platinum smile.gif
Not necessarily so. Higher and higher CL's places one at risk of increasing liability in the event of CC fraud. I know in theory we are only liable for RM250 or something like that but then again theory is not the same as real life. tongue.gif
shinjite
post Aug 31 2010, 03:59 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

I am an EON BANK CC user and I was charged for this gst svc fee charge and its stupid annual fee ~_~
Since I am a gold card user basically I need to swipe 24 times right in 1 year, does autobilling counted as usage?

What is this GST SVC fee charge?

This post has been edited by shinjite: Aug 31 2010, 04:03 AM
jack2
post Aug 31 2010, 04:19 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Aug 31 2010, 03:59 AM)
I am an EON BANK CC user and I was charged for this gst svc fee charge and its stupid annual fee ~_~
Since I am a gold card user basically I need to swipe 24 times right in 1 year, does autobilling counted as usage?

What is this GST SVC fee charge?
I think you did not read news?

It is government service tax fee.
Dannyl
post Aug 31 2010, 08:02 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 31 2010, 02:39 AM)
Standard Chartered is offering RM188(Platinum)/RM88(Gold) cash back now... If you miss the previous offer, now's the 2nd chance (and better) to get FREE cash.
Wow, I think that's the highest cashback so far. Last year I got the Business Platinum for RM100 cashback only (cancelled after that). I guess the RM188 is only for new customers?
haoching
post Aug 31 2010, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 31 2010, 02:39 AM)
which link mentioned free cashback of RM188? interested to apply 1...
ronnie
post Aug 31 2010, 11:04 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 31 2010, 08:02 AM)
Wow, I think that's the highest cashback so far.  Last year I got the Business Platinum for RM100 cashback only (cancelled after that).  I guess the RM188 is only for new customers?
Yep.. new applicant6s only... i guess SCB needs to capture more market share but cancellation of card can be done after 6 months ;-)
ronnie
post Aug 31 2010, 11:05 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(haoching @ Aug 31 2010, 10:59 AM)
which link mentioned free cashback of RM188? interested to apply 1...
Saw the banner over at the SCB booth at 1Utama New Wing (opposite Jack's Place).
-Shinjiz-
post Aug 31 2010, 11:41 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Aug 31 2010, 11:05 AM)
Saw the banner over at the SCB booth at 1Utama New Wing (opposite Jack's Place).
Is SCB CC worth a shot besides its cashback promotion? smile.gif
maru
post Aug 31 2010, 11:53 AM

1,191 posts

Waiveable government tax n it's free annual for 2 years. Would say it's good deal to collect another plastic

126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0317sec    0.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:50 AM