4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Card v11

wongpeter
post Aug 19 2010, 12:59 PM

973 posts

Anyone knows why Citibanks' cards don't have Verified by VISA?
wongpeter
post Aug 30 2010, 10:20 PM

973 posts

Anyone here can shed some light on Citibank's Customer Credit Limit? It seems that in this month of August Citibank has come up with something new called Customer Credit Limit.

Shouldn't banks be more prudent rather than just keep on increasing the credit limit every chance they get. Doesn't this place them at greater risk if the customer defaults on settling the credit card debt?
wongpeter
post Aug 31 2010, 02:54 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Aug 31 2010, 01:52 AM)
many ppl hope they keep increase the limit so everyone can get platinum smile.gif
Not necessarily so. Higher and higher CL's places one at risk of increasing liability in the event of CC fraud. I know in theory we are only liable for RM250 or something like that but then again theory is not the same as real life. tongue.gif
wongpeter
post Sep 2 2010, 01:25 PM

973 posts

Anyone here got the free netbook in Stancharts great giveway promotion in July?
Dang! I got this sms on Aug 30:

STANCHART:
Thank you for supporting Standard Chartered Cards. You have qualified for an iPod shuffle in our Great Giveaway Promotion held in July. A redemption letter will be mailed to you by 10 Sept 2010.

I was hoping for a free netbook but no luck. cry.gif
wongpeter
post Sep 2 2010, 01:29 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 2 2010, 12:19 PM)
I guess Credit Limit and how clean your record is when using the CC.
They won't see detailed transactions.
Is it possible that Bank Negara and all the banks exchange customers credit info with each other? My friend bought Sukuk recently and he started getting kad raya from the Kementerian Perdagangan Antarabangsa as well as other Govt depts which he never did before.
wongpeter
post Sep 3 2010, 09:53 AM

973 posts

8 Most Deceptive Terms Used in Credit Card Offers

wongpeter
post Sep 4 2010, 08:42 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 3 2010, 09:30 PM)
make it 4
yea, diff to know what's their system time to send in the sms

Added on September 3, 2010, 9:31 pm

interbank giro - IBG
It was stated as 9am to send in the sms. I suspected things didn't go down well when they only acknowledged receipt of my sms 45mins later.
wongpeter
post Sep 5 2010, 03:34 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Sep 5 2010, 12:00 AM)
Today I went to HLB to pay my CC for the first time.  Used to the cheque deposit machines with scanning capabilities of various banks, I was shocked to find HLB still using ancient machines to accept cheques in an envelope together with a cheque deposit form.  I went to the counters (no customers at that time) and tried to process my payment, but was told I must use the machines.  Citibank had these too, but at least they didn't require forms or that special envelope.
I SMSed after 9am, but I never got any acknowledgement... there goes my Shuffle.
Which banks having cheque deposit machines with this cheque scanning facility? I know RHB still using the envelopes with cheque deposit form.

As stated, the shuffle is guaranteed. There is a good chance that those of you who didn't get the shuffle sms may have actually won yourselves the netbooks. Just keep your fingers crossed and wait for another week or so when they will be sending out the shuffle prize. Good luck! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Sep 5 2010, 03:37 PM
wongpeter
post Sep 5 2010, 03:41 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ Sep 5 2010, 03:35 PM)
hi. guys. I got one question here. let say if the  principal card and supplementary card account is separate. if the cc statement state that principal is RM5.40 CR and the supplementary is RM146.60 and  the CC bill statement show the total current balance as 141.20. SO the supplementary pay total of RM145.00 since the principal card user din spend anything.But when the next statement come the RM5.40 is credited to the principal account while the supplementary still have the balance of RM1.60( since only pay RM145.00 previously since statement show total balance is only RM141.20) but i din see any late payment charge. Can anyone explain to me why? kind of blur.
wow! your situation very complicated, got me very blur blur! just wondering why you would settle the cc and leave a balance of RM5.40 and RM1.60? Any special reasons for not settling in full, after all we are talking about RM1.60!

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Sep 5 2010, 03:41 PM
wongpeter
post Sep 5 2010, 04:23 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ Sep 5 2010, 04:04 PM)
the situation is like this. the RM5.40 is  i overpay so the bank owe me RM5.40 but my supplementary card spend 146.60 but pay only RM145.00. but the total current balance show in the statement is RM141.20. means that the 146.60-5.40=141.20.So the supp card user pay RM145 which is more than RM141.20 but in the current statement  the RM 5.40 is credited to pricipal account where as the supp card have the balance of 1.60(146.6-145=1.60). No late payment charge. weird. issit as long as we pay all the total current balance shown in statement , doesn't care whether is principal account or supp account, there will be no late payment charge?Can anyone explain to me?Thanks.
If I am not mistaken, the balance of supp card & principal card is lumped together when it comes to settlement. Since you have overpaid on the principal card in excess of the supplementary card I see no reason why the bank should penalise you with a late payment charge.
wongpeter
post Sep 6 2010, 01:57 PM

973 posts

maybe cos VISA got better security or Mastercard got lots of cc fraud. lol
wongpeter
post Sep 7 2010, 11:54 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 6 2010, 05:00 PM)
How did you come to such conclusion ?
Just some unsubstantiated rumors. Pay it no mind and pls disregard.
wongpeter
post Sep 8 2010, 09:38 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(LOOOOOOL @ Sep 7 2010, 11:41 PM)
lol..i tried citi and hsbc -.-"
btw, looking for some bank tat nearest to me, well u knw...

erm, for maybank, they have any cash back card??
I think Maybank is quite strict and fussy about the requirements for their cc application.
Give BSN or Bank Rakyat a try. BSN has a Sijil Simpanan scheme. If you save RM5k under this scheme you will be eligible to apply for their cc. If successful, use the card for a period of time and then with an immaculate credit record go apply for the cc's of your choice ie citi and hsbc. You should stand a better chance this time around.
wongpeter
post Sep 8 2010, 12:56 PM

973 posts

What is the annual fee for the OCBC Titanium card, in the event we don't swipe it for the requisite number of times in a year?
wongpeter
post Sep 8 2010, 03:21 PM

973 posts

I just received the redemption letter for the iPod Shuffle from Standard Chartered and guess what? They got my name wrong! A JCMS ProRewards Sdn Bhd sticker was on the back of the envelope so I immediately called them up and was told that 'there was something wrong with the system' which resulted in this booboo and that the correct Letter of Redemption would be sent out after the Raya holidays. As the letter is on StanCharts letterhead I am thinking the cockup is StanCharts fault. I once had the unpleasant experience of dealing with SCs' customer service when I tried to register for online banking where we were supposed to wait for the authorization code by sms. The sms never came so I called up SC cs and they asked if my h/phone no was correct. I said yes and was told it needs 3 days to update the system. 3 days later I tried registering again and again the sms never arrived. Called up cs and the chap asked to re-confirm my tel no. I told him my tel no. and he said he will expedite ( his exact word!) the process for me. I was thinking wow! here's a chap who is really helpful and then he said ....it will take 3 days to update the system. What a blardy moron! He obviously doesn't understand the meaning of the word expedite. About a week later I tried registering online once more and again the sms never arrived. Called up cs and this time a gal answered. She asked if xxx-xxx xxxx was my tel no. I was fuming. After re-confirming my tel no. they finally succeeded in getting my no. wrong! And then after giving her a piece of my mind I waited another 3 days and finally succeeded in registering online.

If anyone from StanChart reads this pls realize your bank has got a bunch of idiots in the customer service dept. The chap who got my no. wrong after I had told him the correct no. goes by the name of 'G' or 'Ji' or Gerard if I am not mistaken. He should have his services terminated for gross incompetence.
wongpeter
post Sep 8 2010, 10:41 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 8 2010, 08:40 PM)
guess you're not the only one
i received the letter today oso, correct address, wrong name

am wondering whether can redeem it nonetheless rolleyes.gif
will gv it a shot this weekend since is planning to go to pavillion anyway

Added on September 8, 2010, 8:57 pm

Refer here
Cannot redeem cos your name on your cc won't match the name on the redemption letter. Just wait for them to resend the corrected letter of redemption after Raya.

waah how come the OCBC gold card annual fee is even cheaper than the Citibank silver card?! shocking.gif

Added on September 8, 2010, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 8 2010, 10:19 AM)
they are still 1516 to approve you or reject.. so thinking it for so long. I am in the same boat as you.
sry shouldn't that be 15one10 instead of 1516 or maybe my Canto is rusty..... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Sep 8 2010, 10:46 PM
wongpeter
post Sep 9 2010, 10:57 AM

973 posts

STANCHART: Due to technical issues, a new Great Giveaway letter will be sent with your gift. Pls ignore previous letter. Sorry for inconvenience caused.

"a new Great Giveaway letter will be sent with your gift" - so that means they are going to send me my gift with another redemption letter, therefore TWO Gifts?

StanChart really needs to employ staff who are more proficient in English or with higher IQ! And they definitely need to phase out their 486 PC's running on Windows 3.1! doh.gif

Added on September 9, 2010, 10:59 am
QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 9 2010, 10:52 AM)
1516 is read in Cantonese and means that "still in thinking, dont know want or not"...
yes but I thought in Canto it is : 'yat ng yat sap' - 15one10. I am not familiar with the HK version ie 1516. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Sep 9 2010, 10:59 AM
wongpeter
post Sep 9 2010, 11:03 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Sep 9 2010, 09:48 AM)
Normally the CC tax won't absorb or can't waive by bank. They will do rebate to compensate it. As for annual fee, some bank will waive for you, if not just said u gonna terminate the card, probably they will waive it.

My citibank card got waived when I just mentioned it (not asking) to the call center.
What do you mean by "just mentioned it (not asking) to the call center."?

Added on September 9, 2010, 11:04 am
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 9 2010, 11:00 AM)
you get the reply through email?

i sent an email to them yesterday to complain but no response yet
I was sent this notification by sms.

This post has been edited by wongpeter: Sep 9 2010, 11:04 AM
wongpeter
post Sep 9 2010, 11:09 AM

973 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 9 2010, 11:06 AM)
ic, hopefully they do send the gift instead of the letter or both laugh.gif
For having caused great inconvenience to us, StanChart should give us the netbook instead! kakaka drool.gif
wongpeter
post Sep 9 2010, 12:20 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 9 2010, 11:21 AM)
yea, you bet
since ur surname is wong as well, did the letter sent to you was address to Chong Yxx Cxxx?
The letter was addressed to a Wong Kam Boon which of course is NOT my name! Could that be your name? tongue.gif

JCMS ProRewards Sdn Bhd just called me up to say that after Raya, they will be send the gift to my house directly. hooray! that saves me some aggravation & stress from the traffic jams in KL! rclxms.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:12 PM