Credit Card v11

tgeoklin
post Aug 25 2010, 06:52 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Aug 25 2010, 02:01 AM)
but why scb world card requirement is so low one.. is this lower class world mastercard le or same standard like cimb world mc le... less benefits than platinum card some more wo..
Different banks have different criterias for positioning of their cards. In SCB's case, it is still positioned above their platinum offerings plus we cannot say that its requirements are that low. Further, since its new, no one can be sure if they are strict or lenience about approval rates or CL granted. Further, in terms of benefits, its not inferior to CIMB's offerings
tgeoklin
post Sep 2 2010, 07:51 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Sep 1 2010, 07:01 PM)
http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyScene/P...yScene/6801/0/0
Anybody knows which credit cards can absorb the RM50 government tax? I mean unconditionally, without needing to spend a certain amount or using reward points.
Credit card is a business. If you are a high spender, any banks will be more than willing to pay your govt tax & annual fees. Otherwise, it would be limited to selected banks such as Bank Rakyat etc tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 8 2010, 08:08 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(qsil @ Sep 7 2010, 11:11 PM)
I received a WORLD CARD by invitation from Maybank; anybody knows what is the minimum credit limit ? becoz my current maybank amex limit is 50k , i was told that the limit for world card would be in range of 100-200k, and the call centre informed me that my new limit would be raised to 100-200k range, is this true ? however 1 big disadvantage is the annual fee....1k for normal 1.5k with klia lounge access !!! but annual fee would be charged only at the end of 1st yr. However gov tax rm50 is upfront  mad.gif
Put it this way, if you are not keen to pay annual fees, suggest for you to apply for CIMB's WMC instead as its free for life. Don't be taken in by the CL as even my secretary have a MBB classic card with a CL of RM45K. But if you are a big spender, then rest assured that your annual fee is definitely waiveable tongue.gif

Well, if you are not a supporter of the RM50 tax then, get an ABB, HLB, HSBC, EON, SCB, UOB etc. So far 100% confirm MBB will not absorb or compensate you for the so called tax, plus having to put up with their 1st class service biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Sep 8 2010, 08:12 AM
tgeoklin
post Sep 8 2010, 08:19 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 7 2010, 07:33 PM)
Feel so useless having RHB Tesco card until this week where they have 8x points + 8% cash back...

Just received SCB Ipod redemption letter... feel so sad
Why so sad? You were hoping for the grand prizes? Put it this way, I had been entering all their guaranteed prize schemes since day one it was introduced and never once was I even close to the grand prizes. Fyi, even if you do send you sms on the dot, there are almost 50K smses being sent at the same time to the same number, so chances of getting in amongst the first 100 is very very slim rclxms.gif

On the bright side, at least they did took note of our suggestion and now you are not required to sms in the middle of the night ... biggrin.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 8 2010, 10:49 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 8 2010, 09:20 AM)
Today in The Star, it was reported that government considering to limit the number of credit card issue to an individual. Looks like the coming budget there would be some new conditions again for card holders.

Below is a graph in the article  showing amount of CC and Personal Loan debt as of July 2010.
Look on the bright side, at least this way we won't be hitting the shit like over in the US. Most probably they will do like S'pore and limit the CL to say max of 3 times your salary etc. Overall, I would say its a good measure, unlike the stupid RM50 tax which serves no purpose but to enrich some cronies rclxms.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 14 2010, 08:33 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Sep 13 2010, 01:22 PM)
Just sharing, for SCB credit card,
Recently applied for SCB card,
finally today they sent me the cc.
I phone to scb to argue for the credit limit.
Cause the credit limit is below my other bank credit limit, and my current montly salary.

The customer told me that, i must activate the cc, and use for six month, then only can request for 6 months.

So sad that I need to hold this card for 6 months, therefore, i ask them to cancel the card immediately wihtout activate this card.

Anyone can share, if your current salary is RM3k, then you credit limit also RM3k or above?
As previously mentioned many times before by seniors here, it is not an issue with SCB as no other banks will entertain your request as well since you are already having total credit limit in excess of RM10K in totality, which far exceeded your income of RM3K. The only solution is to cancel all your cards and concentrate on one or placed an FD secured card, then the limit will not be affected that much by your earnings.

Seriously, if you are not earning that much, a high credit limit will only be a liability and nothing to shout about sad.gif

Added on September 14, 2010, 8:34 am
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 14 2010, 12:07 AM)
I beg to differ. I mom got her first credit card in her early 50s and she doesn't have KWSP. My dad doesn't have KWSP either. Both of them are on the pension scheme.
I think the EPF option only appplies to non-pensioners tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Sep 14 2010, 08:34 AM
tgeoklin
post Sep 14 2010, 05:32 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 14 2010, 11:09 AM)
My mom told me they were on both schemes many many years ago but somehow they stopped deducting money from her salary to KWSP years ago. So she just closed the account. My dad did the same. My dad retired a long time ago. Both of them claim that the pension scheme is better. Let say that you've been working for the government for 25 years continuously (if i'm not mistaken), you will get 50% of your gross salary every month. Assume your gross salary is RM10,000 by the time you retire, you'll still get RM5,000 every month just sitting at home  biggrin.gif    My aunt, who's a senior assistant director in one of the government agencies is earning more than RM10,000 a month in gross income and she still has about 8 years before retiring. She is on the pension scheme too. Imagine how much she'll get after she retires  biggrin.gif  We haven't even counted the gratuity she is going to receive at the end of her service  drool.gif

Yeap, very worthwhile but in the long run not sustainable as imagine working 25 years then getting 50% for over the next 25 years, if not longer while for EPF you will only get 23%, plus all the benefits such a free medical plus periodic adjustments for inflation & bonus for time to time. While EPf is your own fund, Pension is theorectically future funds from tax payers and as the civil service grows, it becomes unmanagable.

My cousin too was a civil servant with her Royal Majesty Service and now pocketing almost 5K pound sterling every month to do shopping & travelling all year round. Based on family life span history, she should live past 90+ no problem. drool.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 20 2010, 03:44 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 20 2010, 03:27 PM)
trueeev ...

but i stil dont get it.  i might have 10 cc cards and if i clear all cc debts who cares? as opposed to one who only has 1 cc card but never pays,.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
There are 2 parts to this :-

1) a CL is a fixed obligation on the bank's part, and limited in nature, so they must choose carefully to optimise their returns

2) its not how much you used but potentially how much you are worth, so do not be surprised if even your housing loan gets turn down due to over exposure issues

Hope that helps
tgeoklin
post Sep 20 2010, 04:33 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(samquah @ Sep 20 2010, 03:56 PM)
wat is the credit limit offered by this ocbc titanium? if my citibank is 30k cl, will ocbc titanium offer the same?
Nope, very high chance that it will be lower tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 20 2010, 05:58 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 20 2010, 04:46 PM)
bt i tot CL 30k can get a plat already?
Yes, RM30K is a plat card limit for some banks but the Titanium is below plat status, plus OCBC is ultra stingy, so the answer is definitely NO tongue.gif

If I am to guess, I would say RM15K would be their figure, but do keep us informed hmm.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 20 2010, 06:13 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Sep 20 2010, 06:02 PM)
just asking,

when u guys refer to paying your cards on time as in fully settle after each month usage? or just minimum? i usually pay only minimum unless i have extra for the month i will clear more than minimum..

does that affect my applications as the card still have balance uncleared.
YES, banks love you ...... and if you meet their income requirement and do not have a lot of cards/debts, 100% approval rclxms.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 21 2010, 01:07 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Sep 21 2010, 12:37 PM)
meaning HSBC's cc is better than others?
I think it meant HSBC ultra stingy with their limit and if need higher limit, cannot find customers lieu rclxms.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 22 2010, 07:21 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Sep 22 2010, 12:58 AM)
Customer service may not be aware promotions held at card centre.
Actually, they are right. You do need to provide prove of income if required. After all, the existing card could be an FD secured card etc. tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 22 2010, 11:43 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 22 2010, 10:57 AM)
If the existing card is a secured card, they can check it through your CCRIS record. The particular card will be marked as "collateral" in your credit report which can be obtained at any BNM branch.
Yes, they will know its secured. Then they will ask for your supporting income docs tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Sep 22 2010, 11:45 AM
tgeoklin
post Sep 22 2010, 12:39 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Sep 22 2010, 12:28 PM)
looks like CIMB world card has more benefits than Direct Access World Card leee.. I thought is the same le...
Oh, as in?? Do share
tgeoklin
post Sep 22 2010, 08:34 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 22 2010, 06:40 PM)
I can tell you that the actual HSBC VISA Platinum doesn't look as nice as the one shown in their website or printed on the brochure. The one advertised is all black while the actual one is shiny black. Anyway, it still looks much grander than their Premier MasterCard.
My vote goes to EON Bank's Visa Signature. Best looking card for 2010
tgeoklin
post Sep 23 2010, 12:40 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Sep 23 2010, 11:54 AM)
I saw the direct access worldcard today.. walao, not classy at all one le... is like a normal cheap plastic card.. no shining shining effect like platinum card.. if people dunno what is world card, they might think this is classic card lo...

why now sound like everyone qualify to apply worldcard dy.. few months back only everyone saying word card very high class now like all plat can upgrade dy.. haha

the maybank worldcard got shining like platinum card or also like cimb world card le.. I think too plain lo.. at least give a little glossy lo.., haha
Actually, if you are really serious about the status of your cards, then only the following should be considered :-

1) Amex Centurion
2) CIMB Enrich WMC
3) SCB VI
4) HSBC Premier
5) UOB Midas Plat

Happy collecting and good luck tongue.gif

tgeoklin
post Sep 23 2010, 12:55 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(rockefeller @ Sep 23 2010, 12:43 PM)
Yes I agree. And you already have a few of those already biggrin.gif
Guilty as charged but unfortunately 1) is still elusive for now ......lol tongue.gif
tgeoklin
post Sep 24 2010, 07:44 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 23 2010, 08:34 PM)
I have none of the above  cry.gif Those cards are indeed exclusive.

I would say the really exclusive card is AMEX Centurion, got equivalent USD1million FD with a bank also cannot qualify for it. CIMB Enrich WMC is also exclusive as it is by invitation only.

As for SCB VI, HSBC Premier and UOB Midas, anybody can qualify if he/she got cash to deposit with the banks.
CIMB strategy is indeed good (giving WMC/VI to HSBC and Citibank card holders with CL less than RM50K) if the government really does limit people from having cards from 2 banks only.
Perhaps Gen-X (who made a very useful table, see: My Credit Cards, MilesAndMore or winner sifus can tackle this question?

Just to elaboarate a little, actually, all cards are available, if you are loaded enough. My point actual was to emphasise the differences between selected cards and those of the mass market in general. After all, having the same name eg WMC or VI in itself is not the same. Its akin to getting a C class versus an S class, despite both being mercs tongue.gif

And as so many seniors had pointed out, CL is not an end unto itself, which is why cards like HSBC Premier only starts off wth RM30K CL. And if one fine day when your card is stolen, what good will a RM100K CL do you? Further, doubt if the cashiers or even your friends know how much is your CL, unless your are advertising it prominently whistling.gif

I can't help but be reminded about the days of the UOB "ONE" Platinum ... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Sep 24 2010, 08:17 AM
tgeoklin
post Sep 24 2010, 01:17 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 24 2010, 01:09 PM)
i failed my ocbc titanium i think because i got too high credit limit on other cards. they would total up my credit limit from other bank and then compare the risk of me maxing out all the cards.

so.. moral of the story is.. high CL not necessary good esp if u have multiple card.
Need to qualify that .... high CL should commensurate with your income/net worth smile.gif

Been in the same spot but the difference was my Term Loan (to purchase a property) was denied and had to reduce the CL on one of my card to reduce my overall credit exposure tongue.gif

0.0773sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:18 PM