121 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept

akerue
post Aug 19 2010, 02:21 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(klgoh99 @ Aug 18 2010, 08:53 PM)
I managed to completely take away the TM's DIR615 from the network. My solution as follows:

BTU -> RB250GS @Port 5 -> STB IPTV
...........RB250GS @Port 4 -> My Old Router

The RB250GS is Mikrotik 5 Ports Gigabit Manage Switch. I get it from Singapore at USD39.95 + about USD17.00 postage from Singapore to KL. After receive it, you have to upgrade the firmware to version 1.2, every things look fine. I think this is one of the cheap solution to get a stable network with IPTV and Internet. :-)

Singapore RB250GS Dealer website: http://www.soliton-networks.com.sg
Good news, congrats. Can you share the method with some of us who is less technical savvy? icon_question.gif
azri
post Aug 19 2010, 02:42 PM

47 posts

Can anyone tapau RB250GS for me too? or organize bulk purchase?

I had mine swapped last Monday. This morning, it's toast! No LED except the blue one on the side...

It's like 1 replacement per week... damn, I'm losing my patience...
pr0di9y
post Aug 19 2010, 02:44 PM

Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned
2,404 posts

QUOTE(akerue @ Aug 19 2010, 02:21 PM)
Good news, congrats. Can you share the method with some of us who is less technical savvy? icon_question.gif
I believe there are more reading need to be done on your side 1st before we can even help to explain on what is suppose to be done. The Wikipedia should have all the basic read up on what is a router and it's purpose in the network environment as well as other devices which are being discuss over this thread.

I would say that most of the guides which was given by rizvanrp, me and others are well understandable with some moderate experience with network terminology or at least know how to setup a basic default factory firmware router around in our current Malaysia IT hardware retail market.
OKLY
post Aug 19 2010, 02:46 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Spotted cable work for UniFi just now at Klang, the Bak Kut Teh area (Batu Tiga if I'm not mistaken).
billytong
post Aug 19 2010, 02:52 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(pr0di9y @ Aug 19 2010, 02:44 PM)
I believe there are more reading need to be done on your side 1st before we can even help to explain on what is suppose to be done. The Wikipedia should have all the basic read up on what is a router and it's purpose in the network environment as well as other devices which are being discuss over this thread.

I would say that most of the guides which was given by rizvanrp, me and others are well understandable with some moderate experience with network terminology or at least know how to setup a basic default factory firmware router around in our current Malaysia IT hardware retail market.

wait, i do not have the device or Unifi yet. (*still waiting them, 1 week already, 1 more week to go) So I have noidea about how to play those toys yet for now.

So up until now it is not possible for us to connect conventionally from regular router to BTU just for internet only?

we still have to use your pppoE style with NAT issue once a while?
richard912
post Aug 19 2010, 02:54 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(azri @ Aug 19 2010, 02:42 PM)
Can anyone tapau RB250GS for me too? or organize bulk purchase?

I had mine swapped last Monday. This morning, it's toast! No LED except the blue one on the side...

It's like 1 replacement per week... damn, I'm losing my patience...
Oh dear. The replacement unit I got on Monday seems to be working fine so far. Didn't need to rest it (off and on) yet. Keeping my fingers crossed that it stays that way. Btw, my entire set up is on 24-7 but I'm not a heavy downloader
Evirober
post Aug 19 2010, 02:56 PM

636 posts

My 1st issue with Unifi is that the fiber comes from the back of my house. They cant pull it over to the front as its too high so entry via back into the PC room. Gaming devices and TV in the hall Gah....
wiraone
post Aug 19 2010, 03:09 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(pr0di9y @ Aug 19 2010, 01:49 PM)
Well if you're lucky enough to be one of the Huawei GPON BTU owner then you have the luxury to get connect to the internet via configuring the WAN PPPoE profile. If not then you just have to play the waiting game I guess.
Sorry, didn't really read previous threads .. when you said WAN PPPoE profile, does it mean that you made the BTU as a router? Is there anyway that we could use LAN2 as a network bridge or something? I mean, all the non-IPTV traffic going to LAN2 while only IPTV traffic going to LAN1? I couldn't find any english manual on the net, there is one in Chinese .. but surely, I don't understand it at all smile.gif

For me, my WZR-HP-G300NH is currently running on DD-WRT and I guess my backup will be to set it up as per rizvanrp's DIR-615/DD-WRT.
pr0di9y
post Aug 19 2010, 03:44 PM

Always Outnumbered, Never Outgunned
2,404 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 19 2010, 02:52 PM)
wait, i do not have the device or Unifi yet. (*still waiting them, 1 week already, 1 more week to go) So I have noidea about how to play those toys yet for now.

So up until now it is not possible for us to connect conventionally from regular router to BTU just for internet only?

we still have to use your pppoE style with NAT issue once a while?
Just pray hard that you will be lucky enough to get the Huawei GPON BTU instead of the ZTE, then at least you know you will still able to get connected to internet via my guide. Yes, the NAT issue will be there. Cause the way the current settings done on the BTU does not have the function to route TCP/UDP ports directly sad.gif or in that case it don't even have the function for us to do TCP/UDP port forwardings.

QUOTE(wiraone @ Aug 19 2010, 03:09 PM)
Sorry, didn't really read previous threads .. when you said WAN PPPoE profile, does it mean that you made the BTU as a router? Is there anyway that we could use LAN2 as a network bridge or something? I mean, all the non-IPTV traffic going to LAN2 while only IPTV traffic going to LAN1? I couldn't find any english manual on the net, there is one in Chinese .. but surely, I don't understand it at all smile.gif

For me, my WZR-HP-G300NH is currently running on DD-WRT and I guess my backup will be to set it up as per rizvanrp's DIR-615/DD-WRT.
The LAN's settings is all depends to your liking. For me I use LAN2 of the Huawei GPON BTU device, other people can use other ports on the device as well you don't have to follow my entire setup. But if you wanted to, of course there is no one stopping you on that smile.gif.

The whole debate I've been seeing here is:-

1. I don't want to spend more to get a replacement unit for the DIR-615 H/W Version G1 from TM, so is there any cheaper/alternative to this?
2. I scared my DIR-615 H/W Version G1 from TM will go bonkers even before I got my UniFi setup.
3. I wish to use the IPTV, but I don't want to use it with the DIR-615 H/W Version G1 from TM. Also not willing to spend money to get a new hardware. Instead I wish to configure my current 3rd party router to work with the IPTV.

I believe all you guys really need to worry about is actually, making sure everything is working fine as it is and getting the speed that you are promise by TM when you subscribe to UniFi.

And the rest, just leave it to the god of IT hardware lulz...

Sorry if I just pour cold water into this thread XD
wiraone
post Aug 19 2010, 04:27 PM

3,892 posts

Haha.. okay, for now, everything works perfectly for me .. so, I just pray that the DIR-615 doesn't die on me so soon until Buffalo could come out with the latest DD-WRT which works with VLAN & VLAN tagging smile.gif
Red Maniac
post Aug 19 2010, 05:42 PM

347 posts

There are getting more and more ppl signing up for the Unifi service.

In fact, when I called TM at 6:30pm yesterday, to enquire for the installation appointment, the earliest date available is on 1st Sept. Today at 2pm I called to fix the appointment, the earliest available date is 2nd Sept sweat.gif . I also been told there will be no installation from the 7th to 12 th Sept due to Raya holiday. The installation charges will be imposed from the 16th Sept onward. Better hurry if you're still deciding to use Unifi.
alextong8386
post Aug 19 2010, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(Red Maniac @ Aug 19 2010, 05:42 PM)
There are getting more and more ppl signing up for the Unifi service.

In fact, when I called TM at 6:30pm yesterday, to enquire for the installation appointment, the earliest date available is on 1st Sept.  Today at 2pm I called to fix the appointment, the earliest available date is 2nd Sept  sweat.gif .  I also been told there will be no installation from the 7th to 12 th Sept due to Raya holiday.  The installation charges will be imposed from the 16th Sept onward.  Better hurry if you're still deciding to use Unifi.
How much installation charges will be impose by TM after 16th Sep 2010?

r47z
post Aug 19 2010, 06:01 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(Evirober @ Aug 19 2010, 02:56 PM)
My 1st issue with Unifi is that the fiber comes from the back of my house. They cant pull it over to the front as its too high so entry via back into the PC room. Gaming devices and TV in the hall Gah....
u sure they can't? They manage to pull from the back (underground) to my roof and into my room which is situated on the top floor of a 2+1 house. But of course pulling further means you'll lose more speed.... 27db at the moment..... sad.gif
Wan
post Aug 19 2010, 06:40 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Just got mine done this morning. They start around 9.30-10am or so until 1pm. Nicely done I'd say. I pray the router is a good one for me.
ReaperOfSoul
post Aug 19 2010, 06:44 PM

648 posts

The Dlink router that TM gave me is still doing fine after 5 months not switched off. Doing occasional torrenting and not failing me YET. Hope it doesnt dies tongue.gif
bbjslee
post Aug 19 2010, 06:52 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

Anyone tried use a second wireless router as range extender?

Let say I configure:
Router A -> Modem,
Router B -> Router A as wireless range extender
IPTV->Router B (wired)

How is the performance of the IPTV? Smooth?

wiraone
post Aug 19 2010, 06:57 PM

3,892 posts

Anybody with WRT54G/GS/GL with DD-WRT? It has the VLAN trunking, tagging and port assignment. I just realised that I've this in one of my boxes and got it out and installed DD-WRT just now .. its just that .. I don't understand how the assignment should be .. grr.. probably I could setup this router as a backup for the DIR-615.
Hou_JaI
post Aug 19 2010, 08:07 PM

1,129 posts

Today just got my unifi ... i have 1 pc near the residential gateway which i use it to download stuff ... i have another pc in a reading room, apparently, both of these pc are using wireless usb connection.

The problem now is when the pc near my living room is downloading things, the pc in my reading room will not be able to surf the net. The web pages just never appear or sometimes, it will just load partially complete ...

what is wrong ar? is it because the RG can only serve 1 wireless connection at a time? how to fix this ?!?!?
smatdesa
post Aug 19 2010, 08:22 PM

57 posts

Not sure of the details, but heard it just now.

My neighbour was on the trial package, so she got her unifi since may. So when the offer expires, she decided to maintain, but drop her speed from 20Mbps to 10Mbps.

This morning, a unifi bill came in, and she has to pay close to RM1.5k, for installation and decomissioning charges.

I'm waiting for her to reach home so i can find out more details. Anybody else hear about paying for installation fees?
#Fly
post Aug 19 2010, 08:27 PM

318 posts

Quick question. Those green dustbin look alikes, are they called FDCs (Fibre Drop Cabinets)? Just wondering.

121 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0553sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:07 AM