I registered for VIP5 last Monday, installation is to be done this Wednesday. I hope I can connect the IPTV via Homeplug.
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V6, News: RM200 for installation after Sept
Jul 26 2010, 03:16 PM
17 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
I registered for VIP5 last Monday, installation is to be done this Wednesday. I hope I can connect the IPTV via Homeplug.
Jul 26 2010, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(orenzai @ Jul 26 2010, 03:30 PM) I remember reading somewhere that IPTV does not really run well on Homeplugs due to the interference or smth. Let someone more knowledgeable come and clarify. I'll post an update on Wednesday or Thursday when it is installed and tested. Get my fingers crossed for now |
Jul 26 2010, 04:34 PM
Will TM install VDSL only on high rise building or they will selectively install in landed house also instead of FTTH?
Jul 26 2010, 05:42 PM
Can TM just install VDSL in my landed home so that they don't have to drill wall for installation? Is there any set back if they do that? thks.
Jul 27 2010, 09:29 AM
Is it possible to get a second IPTV STB, so that I can watch the IPTV both upstairs and downstairs?
Jul 27 2010, 05:21 PM
TM called, will install underground cable tomorrow morning, will only start installation in house 2.30pm.
Jul 29 2010, 10:28 AM
My VIP5 installation happened yesterday. The appointment was for 9.30am, but because the contractor for the underground cable was not available, i waited till 3.30pm before the installation started. Finally it completed at 7.30pm, activation of IPTV took almost 1 hour.
As promised i will update on the homeplug connection. My IPTV STB is connected to the DIR-615 through Aztech Gigabit homeplug, and it works perfectly, even the HD channels run without glitch. And my house is with 3-phase power. I have tried the homeplug in different sockets and they all paired seamlessly. So, yes, what Aztech claimed that the homeplug works for 3-phase is true. |
Jul 29 2010, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Jul 29 2010, 10:46 AM) Cool sharing. thanks a lot. Can check with you will the speed affect if the homeplug is plug into power extension plug ?? I am using HL280E (up to 1Gbps) directly to wall socket without extension. But i suspect with extension it will also work well, as i did move the homeplug to downstairs and plugged in an extension it still detected Gigabit connection (blue LED). IPTV only need 8Mbps, so i believe it will work on extension also.thanks Added on July 29, 2010, 11:05 amOh, another thing to share. I just plugged a telephone cable from Phone 1 on BTU to one of my phone wall socket, and my whole house is covered by the VOIP (I have disconnected my TM fixed line physically before doing this). The only thing left is i wonder can i buy an extra IPTV STB as i would really like to put 1 downstairs for my parents to watch. As i mentioned earlier, I have tried to plug a homeplug downstairs and got good Gigabit connection, so i believe it will work downstair also. This post has been edited by akerue: Jul 29 2010, 11:06 AM |
Jul 29 2010, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(hpteh @ Jul 29 2010, 11:08 AM) What is the model of homeplug you used? The FAQ in their website said it should work in 3-phase environment though. The only problem with my HL280E is it is noisy, it generates humming noise which is irritating if you stand too close to it Added on July 29, 2010, 11:20 am QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Jul 29 2010, 11:15 AM) Bro, when u bought ur homeplug ? how much for HL280E ? I bought them last weekend at AllIT in Low Yat. But I understand they are out of stock already there, you may want to try out in other shops. It costs RM149/piece in AllIT.Saw their promotions price http://www.aztech.com/my/promotions.html have to get one b4 the installer come install. thanks This post has been edited by akerue: Jul 29 2010, 11:20 AM |
Jul 29 2010, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Jul 29 2010, 11:15 AM) Bro, when u bought ur homeplug ? how much for HL280E ? hehehe, the promotion is not sincere, the HL110EW is selling at RM209 in AllIT (no free HL110E though)Saw their promotions price http://www.aztech.com/my/promotions.html have to get one b4 the installer come install. thanks Added on July 29, 2010, 11:26 am QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Jul 29 2010, 11:22 AM) But you can turn it off when you go to bed what, you don't need them when you are not watching IPTV. And when you are watching IPTV you won't notice the noise as it will be swampped by TV volume.This post has been edited by akerue: Jul 29 2010, 11:26 AM |
Jul 30 2010, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(hpteh @ Jul 29 2010, 07:20 PM) I use HL106E, just need to make sure the power line is on the same phase and it transmitted well. As for noise... Don't really notice any. I was told by Aztech ppl that noise only on HL280E for unknown reason. But fortunately once you turn on the TV you will not notice that noise anymore. I switch it off when I am not watching IPTV.Made a comparison between SD in HyppTV and Astro, SD quality in HyppTV is much better and sharper compared to Astro. And another nice thing is you can time shift it for max 2 hours, COOL |
Jul 30 2010, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(mikoblackcat @ Jul 30 2010, 10:07 AM) DId you try to plug it into a different socket? maybe the socket you use is a bit loose and arching and producing that noise.. hahaha, i like your options.If still got noise.... you only have a few solutions... 1. Return to Aztech and get a new one 2. Switch the TV volume louder.. other people in the house wont be happy... 3. Put a cotton bud in your ears.. you'll probably have a lot of missed calls... 4. Dont use it at all... Got no IPTV lorr... Cheers bro.... Anyway, yes i have tried it in different locations and the results are the same-noisy. I bought a pair, for some reason, the other one is OK. I have exchanged once already and the new one is as noisy. I have called the Aztech technical support and they have tested few themselves and according to him they are all noisy. He noted that it only happen to HL280E and not other slower speed model. You don't need to crank all the way up the TV volume la, as soon as you switch on the TV you will not notice the noise liao. So, it is not ideal but tolerable i would say |
Jul 30 2010, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jul 30 2010, 02:00 PM) Mikrotik RB250GS Sifu, mind to educate what is this switch for http://www.roc-noc.com/product.php?productid=381 40USD Check out the screenies of the switch web interface.. http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/SwOS Looks like it can handle Unifi |
Aug 2 2010, 09:35 AM
QUOTE(yushin @ Jul 31 2010, 11:39 PM) They'll make another appointment with me, this time with their network team to see can fix the DB box. Currently the DB box (green dustbin) has 24.8DB, which is NOT GOOD. My intsaller said the signal at my DB Box is 20dB and it is very good |
Aug 2 2010, 11:03 AM
Aug 2 2010, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 2 2010, 11:04 AM) 2months !!!! Wow..their service still that good... stop using TM service for more then 10 years. IF not bcos of UNIFI.... No need to fill in form, just call and they will ask you particulars that they need. After that, straight away they fixed an appointment for me. It took me 10 days from the day i called to complete installation.akerue, applied through phone no need fill in form ??? |
Aug 3 2010, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(rhoyo @ Aug 3 2010, 08:39 AM) hello guys wanna ask . if wanna unifi do i need a phone line like streamyx . btw anybody from putrajaya using this ? No, TM will install a new fibre optic line for your UNIFI, the FO line serves internet, IPTV and VOIP all at the same time. You can cancel your fixed line (copper line) and Streamyx after that if you want, i did that.Added on August 3, 2010, 9:31 am QUOTE(alextong8386 @ Aug 3 2010, 08:37 AM) Hi Sifu, I would say TM did a good job in wiring. If they can access your telephone duct they will use it. You can install upstair or downstair, up to you. But there may be some cable running on your wall outside. Inside is pretty neat actually, because the FO line is really small, they just need to drill a small hole to get the FO wire in.May I know did anyone conceal your internal wiring for Unifi fiber optic cable? Normally, for a 2 storey link house at Shah Alam with already underground copper telephone line, where will the fiber optic cable being install? Ground floor or 2nd floor? This post has been edited by akerue: Aug 3 2010, 09:31 AM |
Aug 3 2010, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 3 2010, 09:10 AM) Just checked with the agent i applied. She said impossible TM will call me for installation is few weeks. ..she said UNIFI at least need 1 month+ only will call for installations... Fuyo ~ their service NV improve. Really hope we got maxis, digi, celcom, P1 and more as malaysia cabling telco company......... that time TM confirm sau pei. i have a feeling it is your agent fault, not TM. I have heard agent takes longer, in fact, i approached an agent first and he told me i have to wait 1 month. Then i decided to call TM myself. As i said, TM took down my particulars and at the end of conversation, gave me the appointment straight. And within 10 days i got my installation completed. |
Aug 3 2010, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(D3vilsim @ Aug 3 2010, 12:12 PM) Hi, Yah called them and finally i request them to make my unit available. The guys who answered my call "Faiz" is quite helpful. He manage to check with technician and will make my unit available and install for me in a week time. But he only manage to get my address and phone number and just my short name. izit enough for him to proceed my application ? Congrats, but remember to call your agent to cancel your earlier appointment, otherwise you may get 2 at the end.If u also from block K must well ask them install together this coming friday. Really can't way to have fast internet speed |
Aug 3 2010, 02:32 PM
My installer was very careless, they left the green dustbin box open after installation. I found out 3 days later and put it back myself. But without key i can't lock it back. I called the CS to remind them and until today still no one come to lock it. So, anyone naughty can just pull my cable out and that's.
| Change to: | 0.0801sec
8 queries
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:07 AM |