168 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

seantang
post Jul 17 2010, 01:13 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

I would go for Capitaland. It's 40% owned by Temasek, and if you make it onto their fast track or senior management ranks, you can move from GLC to GLC. Gives you the width and breadth possibilities of a huge MNC, but without the international feel though.

Golden Agri to me, is just like another Chinaman listed palm oil company, very much like KLK, IOI etc. Unless you're fortunate enough to be one of the inner circle, you'll never get very far. There will always be someone with a particular surname or relationship etc stepping on your head.

Having said that,.. of course if your destiny is to never make it past the senior management levels, you can't care less lah. Go for the best paymaster.
Jurlique
post Jul 17 2010, 03:13 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 17 2010, 12:51 PM)
heh? since when my company is the 3rd largest?

no no.. actually we are in the same industry... just that sometimes when short we supply to each other..

me?... business development and operations most of the time pao ka liao.. dont even have a proper title..

capitaland seems to be a good company.. but construction industry in singapore is small.. so they move overseas... i bet they are quite establish over the years

revenue; sgd 3 bill
g.profit; sgd 1 bill

golden agri just got listed not too long ago i think... they own plantations and their bosses are very aggresive in business development.. probably u wont get so much benefits but salary and bonus might be good...

revenue; usd 2.3 bill
g.profit; usd 0.5 bill
Then apply for Golden Agri la.. We can become colleagues too..

I heard the bonus they paid is about 4 mths. But until now still haven decided which company to go.. perhaps will go for Golden tho..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 17 2010, 10:32 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jul 17 2010, 03:13 PM)
Then apply for Golden Agri la.. We can become colleagues too..

I heard the bonus they paid is about 4 mths. But until now still haven decided which company to go.. perhaps will go for Golden tho..
my company gives minimum 4 months too... but this year i think will be bad...

ermm... wait till i get my pr 1st... hhahahaa... i am trying something.. if fail then i change job.. hehehehe

ermm.. oh ya, from wat sesantang mention.. i think if u r into shared services... hr, acc, treasury... capitaland might be better... but if u r into trading, golden agri is better
Osmosis
post Jul 17 2010, 11:22 PM

43 posts

Hi, I have one question here. My gf and I will be working in singapore soon. Btw, we plan to get marry this October. I read some infor about giving birth in singapore and it is damn expensive. So our plan is to have our baby birth in malaysia and bring the baby back to singapore. Is that ok? will the allow the baby entry into singapore? what is the common practice by others?
seantang
post Jul 17 2010, 11:29 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Osmosis @ Jul 17 2010, 11:22 PM)
Hi, I have one question here. My gf and I will be working in singapore soon. Btw, we plan to get marry this October. I read some infor about  giving birth in singapore and it is damn expensive. So our plan is to have our baby birth in malaysia and bring the baby back to singapore. Is that ok? will the allow the baby entry into singapore? what is the common practice by others?

You've never seen tourists with babies?

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 17 2010, 11:39 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Osmosis @ Jul 17 2010, 11:22 PM)
Hi, I have one question here. My gf and I will be working in singapore soon. Btw, we plan to get marry this October. I read some infor about  giving birth in singapore and it is damn expensive. So our plan is to have our baby birth in malaysia and bring the baby back to singapore. Is that ok? will the allow the baby entry into singapore? what is the common practice by others?
i think if ur wife gives birth in sg... it is easier to apply prnext time for d bb
Osmosis
post Jul 17 2010, 11:55 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 17 2010, 11:29 PM)
You've never seen tourists with babies?
Tourist is just visiting -short period only. Its different from working.

Added on July 18, 2010, 12:01 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 17 2010, 11:39 PM)
i think if ur wife gives birth in sg... it is easier to apply prnext time for d bb
Thats one of the advantages. But its so expensive to gives birth in spore hospital... from what i read, it cost about 4-5k for normal delivery

This post has been edited by Osmosis: Jul 18 2010, 12:01 AM
seantang
post Jul 18 2010, 12:05 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Osmosis @ Jul 17 2010, 11:55 PM)
Tourist is just visiting -short period only. Its different from working.

I don't think there's any democratic govt in the world that separates babies from their parents. That answers your question whether it's "ok".

Now... whether your children will automatically get long term or permanent residency status... that's an entirely different issue. It depends on your class of employment permit. The immigration dept website has all the details.

So, of course it's ok. It's just a matter of how much hassle it involves. At worst, you just go to JB and back every few weeks to renew the tourist visa.
Osmosis
post Jul 18 2010, 12:32 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 18 2010, 12:05 AM)
I don't think there's any democratic govt in the world that separates babies from their parents. That answers your question whether it's "ok".

Now... whether your children will automatically get long term or permanent residency status... that's an entirely different issue. It depends on your class of employment permit. The immigration dept website has all the details.

So, of course it's ok. It's just a matter of how much hassle it involves. At worst, you just go to JB and back every few weeks to renew the tourist visa.
Not to the extent of separating baby from their parents laa..... anyhow, thanks for the info though.
Lester1987
post Jul 18 2010, 12:41 AM

2,017 posts

if u are holding an EP, u can apply for dependent pass for the baby ma. so no issue on that, unless both of u are holding WP and wanna bring the baby to SG. I doubt with your income, u can give the baby a good childhood in SG though (if u are holding WP).

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Jul 18 2010, 12:41 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 18 2010, 12:50 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 18 2010, 12:41 AM)
if u are holding an EP, u can apply for dependent pass for the baby ma. so no issue on that, unless both of u are holding WP and wanna bring the baby to SG. I doubt with your income, u can give the baby a good childhood in SG though (if u are holding WP).
my landlords are both pr holders... and because they want to save the few bucks... their daugher now 2 yo has been waiting for 6 months for pr

i believe if u r working in a mnc... the mnc will help cover some of the expenses
Osmosis
post Jul 18 2010, 02:11 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 18 2010, 12:41 AM)
Thanks for the very informative info... my employer is helping with the EP processing

Added on July 18, 2010, 2:14 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 18 2010, 12:50 AM)
my landlords are both pr holders... and because they want to save the few bucks... their daugher now 2 yo has been waiting for 6 months for pr

i believe if u r working in a mnc... the mnc will help cover some of the expenses
Have yet to find about this. will ask my employer further if they provide such coverage... it would be much helpful if they provide..

This post has been edited by Osmosis: Jul 18 2010, 02:14 AM
crapp0
post Jul 18 2010, 10:28 AM

4,414 posts

Cant one use their medisave for delivering the baby in a hospital in malaysia since its way cheaper over there?
Aloong
post Jul 18 2010, 02:50 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jul 17 2010, 11:57 AM)
Golden Agri is the world's 2nd largest palm oil producer, u mean your company is the 3rd largest palm oil producer which in return become our competitor?

Can share which department or position are you in?

Actually 2 companies also interests me and 2 companies offer the same salary to me too. This is why I need to consider which company provide better bonus, career progression, culture and so on.
Palm oil sounds more lucrative than property developer.
But depends on what u do lar, sales, finance, IT, HR, Admin, etc..
Not sure bout GA, but Capitaland is singapore coy and very competitive (a.k.a stressfull).

rickysim84
post Jul 19 2010, 01:32 PM

1,106 posts

Wanna ask, did anyone here ever face a problem which a company trying to apply EP for u but rejected due to "inconsistency" reason? I work in singapore before and i hav EP before but got cancel because i change to another company. So anyone face this problem before and how to rectify it?

This post has been edited by rickysim84: Jul 19 2010, 03:06 PM
giorgene
post Jul 19 2010, 04:47 PM

435 posts

yesterday i tried to scan my passport at Woodlands Singapore check point, no problem! Don't have to queue at foreigner lane.. I'm EP holder..

This post has been edited by giorgene: Jul 19 2010, 04:49 PM
TSdokidoki
post Jul 19 2010, 05:08 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Jul 19 2010, 01:32 PM)
Wanna ask, did anyone here ever face a problem which a company trying to apply EP for u but rejected due to "inconsistency" reason? I work in singapore before and i hav EP before but got cancel because i change to another company. So anyone face this problem before and how to rectify it?
u mean ur new EP rejected with this reason 'inconsistency'?
Mackiddo
post Jul 19 2010, 05:59 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

not only mnc, in face a lot of companies provide maternity benefit. mine is cap at SGD$5k for normal delivery i think. Cesarean then + another SGD$2k.

Added on July 19, 2010, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 18 2010, 10:28 AM)
Cant one use their medisave for delivering the baby in a hospital in malaysia since its way cheaper over there?
i think they just allowed that but only on selected hospital

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jul 19 2010, 06:01 PM
rickysim84
post Jul 19 2010, 07:01 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jul 19 2010, 05:08 PM)
u mean ur new EP rejected with this reason 'inconsistency'?
yes yes
magiclover
post Jul 19 2010, 07:45 PM

285 posts

probably due to the fact that you're job hopping too much?>

168 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:05 AM