Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

Osmosis
post Jun 25 2010, 08:38 PM

43 posts

Hi, Anyone working in Chartered Semiconductor before? hows the workstyle there? mind to share?
Osmosis
post Jun 26 2010, 12:11 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ Jun 25 2010, 10:56 PM)
Chartered Semi no longer exists. It's now Globalfoundries. Got a number friends there who often complain about the place.
Don't know how many times I see Ferraris and Lambos on the street, ppl queuing up to get into an LV store, etc...
Hi, what are their complaints about? boss? work condition? salary & benefits? really need to think thoroughly before joining this company
Osmosis
post Jul 10 2010, 12:56 AM

43 posts

Anybody know the salary range for an engineer 5 yrs experience working in semiconductor industry?
Osmosis
post Jul 10 2010, 10:37 PM

43 posts

Thanks for the sharing though.... is it a good baseline to expect a same salary as what we earn in Malaysia? I mean, lets say I earn 4k in malaysia and expect SGD 4k if i want to work in singapore?

Osmosis
post Jul 14 2010, 07:51 PM

43 posts

What is the house or room rent around woodlands area?
Osmosis
post Jul 14 2010, 09:24 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 14 2010, 09:14 PM)
i found 1 room at Marsiling last time, $460 with aircond. Indian family. but i now stay with my friend's aunty. $400 without air-cond at Sembawang
my fren prefer staying with single working adult... need to move in in september
Osmosis
post Jul 17 2010, 10:49 AM

43 posts

Is it easy for a Veterinarian to find a job in Singapore?
Osmosis
post Jul 17 2010, 11:22 PM

43 posts

Hi, I have one question here. My gf and I will be working in singapore soon. Btw, we plan to get marry this October. I read some infor about giving birth in singapore and it is damn expensive. So our plan is to have our baby birth in malaysia and bring the baby back to singapore. Is that ok? will the allow the baby entry into singapore? what is the common practice by others?
Osmosis
post Jul 17 2010, 11:55 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 17 2010, 11:29 PM)
You've never seen tourists with babies?
Tourist is just visiting -short period only. Its different from working.

Added on July 18, 2010, 12:01 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 17 2010, 11:39 PM)
i think if ur wife gives birth in sg... it is easier to apply prnext time for d bb
Thats one of the advantages. But its so expensive to gives birth in spore hospital... from what i read, it cost about 4-5k for normal delivery

This post has been edited by Osmosis: Jul 18 2010, 12:01 AM
Osmosis
post Jul 18 2010, 12:32 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 18 2010, 12:05 AM)
I don't think there's any democratic govt in the world that separates babies from their parents. That answers your question whether it's "ok".

Now... whether your children will automatically get long term or permanent residency status... that's an entirely different issue. It depends on your class of employment permit. The immigration dept website has all the details.

So, of course it's ok. It's just a matter of how much hassle it involves. At worst, you just go to JB and back every few weeks to renew the tourist visa.
Not to the extent of separating baby from their parents laa..... anyhow, thanks for the info though.
Osmosis
post Jul 18 2010, 02:11 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 18 2010, 12:41 AM)
if u are holding an EP, u can apply for dependent pass for the baby ma. so no issue on that, unless both of u are holding WP and wanna bring the baby to SG. I doubt with your income, u can give the baby a good childhood in SG though (if u are holding WP).
Thanks for the very informative info... my employer is helping with the EP processing

Added on July 18, 2010, 2:14 am
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 18 2010, 12:50 AM)
my landlords are both pr holders... and because they want to save the few bucks... their daugher now 2 yo has been waiting for 6 months for pr

i believe if u r working in a mnc... the mnc will help cover some of the expenses
Have yet to find about this. will ask my employer further if they provide such coverage... it would be much helpful if they provide..

This post has been edited by Osmosis: Jul 18 2010, 02:14 AM
Osmosis
post Jul 22 2010, 10:48 PM

43 posts

Just wana ask... do SG company provide any bonuses like translocation bonus, settling bonus or joining bonus? If yes, what is the estimate range?
Osmosis
post Jul 22 2010, 11:08 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jul 22 2010, 10:54 PM)
yes..they do provide but...it depend on u are on which package.....and what company....if MNC mostly have...hard to tell what range.....different company different 1~
But sure they will bond you right??

One more question... if working in woodlands, is it convenient to stay in Johor and drive?
How long will be stuck in the jam?
Osmosis
post Jul 23 2010, 10:19 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(tosomti @ Jul 23 2010, 07:12 PM)
Hi I just got an offer from globalfoundries.... would like to know any GF employee here? mind to share what GF working culture is all about? is the people friendly?

and what is the nearst location to stay? (easy access to mrt and bus)?

Thanks for sharing smile.gif
My friend also gt offer there ..... what position ru being hired fr?
I heard the company doing quite well....

about the culture, i am not so sure though....
Osmosis
post Aug 3 2010, 10:02 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 3 2010, 03:27 PM)
My thinking is that Singapore is holding on to West Malaysians' CPF because there are many, many more West Malaysians working in Singapore than East Malaysians. If they suddenly allow the release of all eligible West Malaysians' CPF, there would be such a one-time wave of CPF withdrawals that a cashflow crisis for the Sg govt is virtually guaranteed.
No its nothing to do with number of east malaysians working in SG. Its due to the previous history. I dont think Sg will have problem giving out CPF to the foreign employee when they resigned.

0.0575sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:35 PM