7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

Mackiddo
post May 12 2010, 09:06 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(CognitionCycle @ May 12 2010, 03:38 AM)
Shit... any advice how to finance property in Singapore? Seems to me monthly salary SG$5,000 also not enough. But then average household income is less than that. So, how does the middle income group survive in Singapore?
there is no guarantee you will make money from private property but you will definitely make from hdb flat. that's the main reason i went for the 5-room resale flat. my loan payment 75% cover by cpf and the 25% i'm paying is much lower than the amount you pay for renting a master room tongue.gif ..so buying hdb flat is better than buying shares smile.gif

Added on May 12, 2010, 9:13 am
QUOTE(SPS @ May 11 2010, 07:29 PM)
90 sq metres is considered an average sized unit in Singapore.  5-room units which are 30 years old and barely 100 sq metres (and also needs renovation of at least SGD20-30K) in better locations like Queenstown, Redhill and Tao Payoh are selling for SGD700-800K! 

Decent-sized condos (100 sq metres and above) at these locations are going above SGD1 million.

Unlike Malaysia where the property market is relatively quiet and stagnant, Singapore has a runaway property market with locals and foreigners (particularly Chinese nationals) continually buying and selling properties in an ever-increasing spiral where prices of condos can rise 20-30% in a mere 12 months!
you can scout for area like bukit panjang. think thats the cheapest location for a hdb flat. 5 room flat cost around SGD$350k ? so 20% will be SGD$70k + COV around SGD$15k + legal and agent fees SGD$10k ? = SGD$95k, excluding renovations nod.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 12 2010, 09:13 AM
Mackiddo
post May 18 2010, 07:51 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 18 2010, 06:55 PM)
my gf says she would rather die than have her kids be schooled in sg. i dunno, she believes that malaysian education at least is more well rounded and the kids have a more meaningful childhood. i guess its about what we want out of society.
it's a laughing stock when the Ministry of Education having a flip-flop policies. Last time used to teach in Malay, then English, then back to Malay. I'm glad I sent my kids to be schooled in Sg. At least I know they will be treated equally when it's time to go University or JC.
I don't agree Msia education is more rounded. It's actually Sg education which is more rounded, less based on text book, more on research and 'out of the box' thinking. If not why would hundred, probably thousand of parents in JB sending their kids to be school in Sg ?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 18 2010, 07:55 PM
Mackiddo
post May 18 2010, 08:43 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 18 2010, 07:57 PM)
To make their children suffer the 1 hours or so travel time. I wonder how does one encourage out of the box thinking since you just tell people not to follow their predecessor method of solving the problem. But then again they will just wikipedia it so thats not really thinking out of the box is it.
seriously i also don't understand why the parents willing to let their children endure the traveling time. Unless they really lost confident in the education system. a system where even the teacher are confused.
who's talking about wikipedia ? only you ? School kids in Sg are doing more outdoor research activities, visiting places, write reports instead of doing tons of homework from the text book.

Added on May 18, 2010, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ May 18 2010, 08:03 PM)
There was a time when they said that whilst the school plays a big part, parents is ultimately the driving force and the pillar of the child's growth,  irregardless of being in M'sia, Singapore or JB, no miracle in school can save the child from his parent's neglect to be the guide in all things.
quite true but it also depends on how the child is nurture. It will only work together with the parents and a good education system and I don't see that in Malaysia. And another thing is the quota system.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 18 2010, 08:46 PM
Mackiddo
post May 19 2010, 05:31 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 19 2010, 12:05 PM)
even the iphone plan is not worth?..saw the iphone lite plan is only sgd56/mth..but i dunno what other charges impose sad.gif
sgd200...wow..that's alot sad.gif
no corporate plan from your company ? The best deal is of coz corporate plan. My iPhone Singtel plan sgd12 per month for the classic plan and 3G data 50GB for sgd7. so total sgd19 per month
Mackiddo
post May 21 2010, 06:22 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

CCK lar. not a bad place. lot of ppl stay here also smile.gif rental also not too high ...lots of good food.
Mackiddo
post May 25 2010, 10:24 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

the latest development is a win-win situation for both. ppl from both side will gain from an improve bilateral relation.
Mackiddo
post May 27 2010, 12:41 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

you totally forgot about Iskandar in which MY need support from Sg. I still think it's a win-win solution.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 27 2010, 12:42 AM
Mackiddo
post May 29 2010, 10:13 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(bonethug1212 @ May 29 2010, 07:59 PM)
isn't singapore too small a place to work for long term? don't you get bored?
Nope
Mackiddo
post May 30 2010, 05:01 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 30 2010, 02:09 PM)
As far as i know, u need to pay $100 for the ERP machine, then everyday u enter Singapore, u need to pay $4.
you only need to 'rent' an ERP machine if you plan to pass thru an ERP gantry. the auto pass is sgd$10 (value sgd$4) IIRC. VEP is sgd$4 per weekday 2am-5pm, 10 days free per year, public holiday free

Added on May 30, 2010, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(bonethug1212 @ May 30 2010, 12:35 AM)
Do you guys normally go to malaysia on weekends? I got an offer to work their and have one month to decide hmm.gif
i'll go in probably once or twice per month. watch cantonese movies, i cant stand the mandarin sub laugh.gif , eat, shop, chill-out, top up petrol ... but mostly on weekdays. Will be going in again tomorrow.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 30 2010, 05:08 PM
Mackiddo
post May 31 2010, 01:19 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(uberlebender @ May 31 2010, 10:12 AM)
Thanks! Great info! Now i can try to make a budget. Is it an option to rent an ERP machine? How much would that cost then? If u meant borrowing from others,i dun think i have ne frens who have them.
bike no choice, have to rent if you wanna go places that have ERP gantries. if not then you don't need to. u can't borrow as the ERP machine got it own tags, linked to the vehicle.
fine for going thru an erp gantry without a ERP machine = sgd$70 IIRC

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 31 2010, 01:20 PM
Mackiddo
post May 31 2010, 10:43 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 31 2010, 03:34 PM)
What can do when on the average singaporean food not that nice.
not entirely true. there's a lot of nice food in Sg, you just have to know where to look. Normally on my off day i'll drive around looking for nice food.
Mackiddo
post Jun 1 2010, 06:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 1 2010, 05:51 PM)
Why not just ask your company to put you on company blackberry enterprise plan. Since it wont be personal but for business but you can take advantage of using it for minor personal calls or using skype whenever you feel homesick or to call love ones.

I rarely call my parents or frens over the phone, preferring to use either skype, e-mail or msn.
why not using skype apps on iPhone over 3G. I'm doing that but need to jailbreak 1st. brows.gif
Mackiddo
post Jun 1 2010, 07:18 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jun 1 2010, 07:04 PM)
I thought skype recently released a updated apps that allow call over 3g? By the way does apple employee use jailbreak iPhone?
not too sure but mine jailbroken from day 1.
Mackiddo
post Jun 2 2010, 05:17 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

seriously, i think Apple is a good company to be in. Good working culture.
Mackiddo
post Jun 3 2010, 09:14 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

American company working culture is different from chinaman company. More freedom.
Mackiddo
post Jun 8 2010, 04:55 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jun 8 2010, 03:48 PM)
My opinion is 50:50 of success, okay maybe up to max 70% if you want it higher. (Just a pluck from air figure)

Look at all of those Malaysian working in SG now, do you think they are not as good as those Sgrean which went thru NS?

Btw, I wanted to ask something.
What is the approx MRT travelling time during morning peak hours, say around 8am?
For e.g. from Admiralty to Raffles, how long does it takes from station to station.
8am MRT will be packed like sardine ohmy.gif
Mackiddo
post Jun 9 2010, 11:25 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 8 2010, 08:50 PM)
So... what is so exciting that you get to do in Malaysia but can't do in Singapore?
setting off firecrackers during festive season brows.gif

Added on June 9, 2010, 11:26 am
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jun 9 2010, 11:23 AM)
Hi guys, need your advise on this. My girl lives in singapore with a bunch of friends (rented), and they were there since beginning of this year. Today she told me that her house got splashed red paint because the ex-tenant owed loan sharks some money.

Right now, for me, I'm worried for her safety. What do you suggest she can do?
Moved !!!

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 9 2010, 11:26 AM
Mackiddo
post Jun 9 2010, 04:14 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jun 9 2010, 02:39 PM)
In another 1 day time, the productivity of whole SG nation will drop !

World Cup 2010 will commence !

You will see many zombies at work..
and I refused to subscribe to their WC 2010 plan !!! must go kopitiam for that vmad.gif
Mackiddo
post Jun 9 2010, 10:41 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 9 2010, 10:39 PM)
lol.. share with ur housemate ler...
haha...too bad also, no house mate vmad.gif
Mackiddo
post Jun 10 2010, 07:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

i'm just curious. have you guys ever thought of owning a bike in Sg ? I mean it's faster than the mrt and economical. Unless rain then no choice.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 10 2010, 07:46 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0509sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:25 AM