Photography Nikon D90 v7

TSSkyBlue99
post Apr 30 2010, 05:12 PM, updated 16y ago

Look at all their stars!! Not Mine!!
1,952 posts

Nikon D90

The D90 is a digital single-lens reflex camera model announced by Nikon on August 27, 2008. It is a "prosumer" model (cross between professional and consumer) meant as a replacement for the Nikon D80. It is also available with the newly announced Nikkor AF-S DX 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR kit lens.

Some of the improvements the D90 offers over the D80 include 12.3 megapixel resolution and live view capability. The D90 is also notable for being the first DSLR to offer video recording, with the ability to record HD 720p videos, with mono sound, at 24 frames per second (for up to 5 minutes or 20 minutes for smaller videos).

Specifications

Firmware

Manuals

Nikon DSLR Timeline

Reviews

Guides / Tutorials

Communities

Photography Tips

Photography Courses / Workshops

Nikon (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd

Previous thread

This post has been edited by SkyBlue99: Apr 30 2010, 05:21 PM
TSSkyBlue99
post Apr 30 2010, 05:13 PM

1,952 posts

Nikon D90 User Bar

TSSkyBlue99
post Apr 30 2010, 05:14 PM

1,952 posts

How to know whether your camera is brand new?
Best to do this test before you make payment.

How to detect Dead/Hot Pixel on your sensor?

What to do if you have Dead/Hot Pixel on your sensor?

How to detect Dust on your sensor?

How to remove Dust from your sensor?

How to clean your lens and filter efficiently?

How to know the shutter count?

Which SDHC memory card should you go for?

Nikon D90 Write Speed (Firmware A:1.00 B:1.00 L:1.000)

How to view NEF (Nikon RAW) files as Image thumbnails in Windows Explorer?

What is a good and free JPEG/NEF (Nikon RAW) viewer program?

What is a good and free JPEG/NEF (Nikon RAW) Image manipulation program?

What is a good and free batch rename Image files program?

What is a good and free batch resize Image files program?

Advantages & Disadvantages of taking photos in NEF (Nikon RAW)?

Difference between post processing with NEF (Nikon RAW) and JPEG

How to convert NEF (Nikon RAW) to JPEG easily?

How to organize the photos that you have taken?

TSSkyBlue99
post Apr 30 2010, 05:15 PM

1,952 posts

Difference between Auto White Balance and Manual White Balance?

Post Processing (The Gimp): How to remove Dust with Clone Tool?

This post has been edited by SkyBlue99: Apr 30 2010, 05:19 PM
TSSkyBlue99
post Apr 30 2010, 05:17 PM

1,952 posts

Post Processing (The Gimp): How to highlight an object and make the background black & white?

This post has been edited by SkyBlue99: Apr 30 2010, 05:19 PM
TSSkyBlue99
post Apr 30 2010, 05:17 PM

1,952 posts

Post Processing: How to batch enhance your photos with a little HDR processing

This post has been edited by SkyBlue99: Apr 30 2010, 05:20 PM
TSSkyBlue99
post Apr 30 2010, 05:18 PM

1,952 posts

open u can chat now
noobie1
post Apr 30 2010, 05:40 PM

2,538 posts

wow...so fast V7 ady...congrat...keep it up....
celciuz
post Apr 30 2010, 05:40 PM

14,037 posts

Sweet, v7 for D90 thread!

More dark siders biggrin.gif.
lighter
post Apr 30 2010, 05:48 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Apr 30 2010, 05:40 PM)
wow...so fast V7 ady...congrat...keep it up....
ofcoz its fast! i think almost 50% of the posts are asking for D90 pricing only.. sweat.gif
selinix
post Apr 30 2010, 05:53 PM

7,343 posts

Just put the current market price in the first post then
SUSmachinetosh
post Apr 30 2010, 06:19 PM

143 posts

woot~~ V7 already much faster then perdana now hahahaha
TSSkyBlue99
post Apr 30 2010, 06:30 PM

1,952 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ Apr 30 2010, 05:53 PM)
Just put the current market price in the first post then
it doesnt even work people will still be asking over and over rclxub.gif
shadow111
post Apr 30 2010, 06:45 PM

3,140 posts

grats for v7...
zellleonhart
post Apr 30 2010, 07:09 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Congratulation for reaching V7~ All hail the dark lord =D
selinix
post Apr 30 2010, 07:10 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Apr 30 2010, 07:09 PM)
Hey bro you didn't receive my PM regarding the sanyo eneloop batteries?
celciuz
post Apr 30 2010, 07:12 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Apr 30 2010, 07:09 PM)
No Dark Lords here tongue.gif, all apprentices. Dark Lord thread is there *points to D3 and gang's thread* LOL.
selinix
post Apr 30 2010, 07:26 PM

7,343 posts

I tried the HDR image batch processing according to the guidelines posted above but somehow the landscape image generate become squeezed/thinner. How come ar
celciuz
post Apr 30 2010, 08:14 PM

14,037 posts

One quick question, I just started using 2 batteries on my grip. My question is, when do the grip change to the second battery?

When battery 1 goes to 0%? Or it will cut off at certain level?

From my understanding, you're not supposed to drain lithium battery completely.
SoLiD
post Apr 30 2010, 08:29 PM

629 posts

hmm..they switch between battery like that 1 meh?...

i thought its like use both together as the same time...
kimurastanley
post Apr 30 2010, 08:30 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

V7 already??!! wah, congrat
KTCY
post Apr 30 2010, 09:03 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

I don't get it.

What's the point of posting congrats when open up a new thread ? doh.gif
celciuz
post Apr 30 2010, 09:08 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(SoLiD @ Apr 30 2010, 08:29 PM)
hmm..they switch between battery like that 1 meh?...

i thought its like use both together as the same time...
AFAIK it uses the one on the right then on the left. Hmm, guess nobody noticed about this.. my new batt got 45% left.. Gonna see how it goes tomorrow hehe. Got event to shoot xD
SoLiD
post Apr 30 2010, 09:14 PM

629 posts

45% still dun wanna charge?..tml event summore...half way thru kaput batt lol
cafuheva
post Apr 30 2010, 09:23 PM

1,188 posts

anyone know where to buy white balance lens cap for nikon d90? How much and what brand is good?

Tq
zellleonhart
post Apr 30 2010, 09:42 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2010, 08:14 PM)
One quick question, I just started using 2 batteries on my grip. My question is, when do the grip change to the second battery?

When battery 1 goes to 0%? Or it will cut off at certain level?

From my understanding, you're not supposed to drain lithium battery completely.
Err battery grip uses only one nikon battery at a moment. when the 1st is going to exhaust it will use the second one. if you use AA batteries then they will be used at the same time.

@KTCY
haha it's sort of a tradition XD
celciuz
post Apr 30 2010, 09:59 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(SoLiD @ Apr 30 2010, 09:14 PM)
45% still dun wanna charge?..tml event summore...half way thru kaput batt lol
Charging my other battery now biggrin.gif. The camera feels better with 2 batteries on my 50mm f/1.8D. Main reason I got a spare was for the balancing when using my 70-200.

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Apr 30 2010, 09:42 PM)
Err battery grip uses only one nikon battery at a moment. when the 1st is going to exhaust it will use the second one. if you use AA batteries then they will be used at the same time.

@KTCY
I see, thanks! Cause I read that lithium are not supposed to be depleted completely which would damage the battery.
yushin
post Apr 30 2010, 10:01 PM

3,328 posts

Congrats on V7 for fellow D90 users.

Want to ask you guys a question, can anyone notice the bokeh difference on pictures taken between Nikon 85 F1.4 and Nikon 85 F1.8?
SoLiD
post Apr 30 2010, 10:01 PM

629 posts

eh d90 + 70-200 roughly weighs how much ar?...
celciuz
post Apr 30 2010, 10:05 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 30 2010, 10:01 PM)

Want to ask you guys a question, can anyone notice the bokeh difference on pictures taken between Nikon 85 F1.4 and Nikon 85 F1.8?
Why not? biggrin.gif. The 85mm f/1.4D is sharp even wide open! Its a different class from the 85mm f/1.8D.

QUOTE(SoLiD @ Apr 30 2010, 10:01 PM)
eh d90 + 70-200 roughly weighs how much ar?...
Err, gripped + sb900 + the batteries + the lens.. 3kg I think? Adding the weight posted on website la that is.
KTCY
post Apr 30 2010, 10:05 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Apr 30 2010, 09:42 PM)

@KTCY
That's a spammer tradition. sleep.gif

QUOTE(yushin @ Apr 30 2010, 10:01 PM)

Yes, very obvious different when wide open.
And when on FF tongue.gif
SoLiD
post Apr 30 2010, 10:06 PM

629 posts

hmm my fren told me 5kg @.@

lol guess that is how much he feels when u hand held it whole day LOL
zellleonhart
post Apr 30 2010, 10:07 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 30 2010, 09:59 PM)
Charging my other battery now biggrin.gif. The camera feels better with 2 batteries on my 50mm f/1.8D. Main reason I got a spare was for the balancing when using my 70-200.
I see, thanks! Cause I read that lithium are not supposed to be depleted completely which would damage the battery.
I also read that lithium shouldn't be completely discharged. So im not confirm whether BG uses the 1st battery completely or what. need someone to verify this..
celciuz
post Apr 30 2010, 10:12 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(SoLiD @ Apr 30 2010, 10:06 PM)
hmm my fren told me 5kg @.@

lol guess that is how much he feels when u hand held it whole day LOL
Err, not sure. Not too bad lah actually. Only time I felt really tired was during F1. Non stop panning LOL~ Until the end I was picking cars to pan dry.gif. Initially so hardworking trying to capture all teams.

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Apr 30 2010, 10:07 PM)
I also read that lithium shouldn't be completely discharged. So im not confirm whether BG uses the 1st battery completely or what. need someone to verify this..
This is what I'm wondering biggrin.gif, but then I'll be using my battery tomorrow, probably will deplete away that 45% from the new battery.
djazmy
post Apr 30 2010, 11:56 PM

89 posts

finally! i got my own D90 ... got mine with the lens kit. Wanted to buy a prime lens(50mm 1.8d) but no stock.. maybe later..

got myself a Lowepro Slingshot 200AW too from a forumer..
shawn2k4
post May 1 2010, 12:52 AM

253 posts

New D90 Owner Here *waves*

Bought it during PC Fair recently for the price of

RM3400 ..Not sure if i got a good deal for it or not but here's what the package comes with

A) D90 Body
B) 18-105 Nikon Lense
C) Battery Pack
D) Original Nikon Tripod(standard one i suppose)
E) Nikon DSLR Camera Bag
F) Nikon Sling Bag
zellleonhart
post May 1 2010, 12:58 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(shawn2k4 @ May 1 2010, 12:52 AM)

RM3400 ..Not sure if i got a good deal for it or not but here's what the package comes with

A) D90 Body
B) 18-105 Nikon Lense
C) Battery Pack
E) Nikon DSLR Camera Bag
F) Nikon Sling Bag
Wah 2 bags? There's such package in the market? haha
Not bad getting a tripod and 2 bags for Rm3400. Although u can get cheaper (3300 at J-one PJ or 3350 at digitalsmania pudu) but they didn't give 2 bags and tripod =D
djazmy
post May 1 2010, 01:04 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(shawn2k4 @ May 1 2010, 12:52 AM)

A) D90 Body
B) 18-105 Nikon Lense
C) Battery Pack
E) Nikon DSLR Camera Bag
F) Nikon Sling Bag
wow.. i just got mine also, but at rm3400 i got D90 with 18-105 kitlens, a nikon bag (which is up for sale!), and a screen protector.. not much right?
i'm in Johor anyway.. that's the cheapest that they can give.. sigh..
shawn2k4
post May 1 2010, 01:07 AM

253 posts

Yeah they provided two bags . 1 was those standard DSLR bag, and another is an ordinary Sling Bag with Nikon Branding i suppose.

I got it during the PC Fair and apparently they were having some extra promotions of *Free* Photo Album printing if i were to take enough shots for the PC fair and be back on the next day for the printing..But then again , i pass up on it. Not worth the messed(referring to PC Fair) lol
zellleonhart
post May 1 2010, 01:08 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Sigh. the nikon bag is of very good quality and i think is original though. I hope i can sell it and then save for crumpler 7MDH~~
noobie1
post May 1 2010, 01:11 AM

2,538 posts

i never bother to get nikon bag at all...it just like telling all ppl "hey,i am using nikon,come robe me" =.="
djazmy
post May 1 2010, 01:13 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 1 2010, 01:11 AM)
i never bother to get nikon bag at all...it just like telling all ppl "hey,i am using nikon,come robe me" =.="
yeah, that is why i decided to sell my nikon bag, and bought myself a Lowepro Slingshot 200AW. Less looking like a slr bag.
cafuheva
post May 1 2010, 01:25 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 1 2010, 01:13 AM)
yeah, that is why i decided to sell my nikon bag, and bought myself a Lowepro Slingshot 200AW. Less looking like a slr bag.
that is perfect disguise. Coz nowadays so many SLR reported stolen. Latest one, got one guy his SLR stolen during his meal at McD when he leave his SLR on the table to go washing his hand. sweat.gif
noobie1
post May 1 2010, 01:31 AM

2,538 posts

swt..i would never leave my dslr alone...if i reli need to go in to washroom,i will ask my friend help me take care...else i would just bring it in with me..lolx...
zellleonhart
post May 1 2010, 01:53 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Thats why i still don't dare to bring my bag with my camera out. cuz it's too obvious with a big ass nikon word there. Even in LRT i saw some ppl carrying squary black OEM bag also know is DSLR lah.
dvlzplayground
post May 1 2010, 02:00 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(cafuheva @ May 1 2010, 01:25 AM)
that is perfect disguise. Coz nowadays so many SLR reported stolen. Latest one, got one guy his SLR stolen during his meal at McD when he leave his SLR on the table to go washing his hand.  sweat.gif
dats y when i makan alone... always seat nearest to the sink... hehe
djazmy
post May 1 2010, 02:02 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 1 2010, 01:53 AM)
Thats why i still don't dare to bring my bag with my camera out. cuz it's too obvious with a big ass nikon word there. Even in LRT i saw some ppl carrying squary black OEM bag also know is DSLR lah.
yup, i think if you buy the crumpler 7mdh, it would be a good disguise as it looks like a normal messenger bag...
zellleonhart
post May 1 2010, 02:06 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 1 2010, 02:02 AM)
yup, i think if you buy the crumpler 7mdh, it would be a good disguise as it looks like a normal messenger bag...
It's rm400 for 7MDH... damn... i might buy that before i get my 50mm 1.8. Or i can only rely on my kata dr467. but it's damn annoying... big...
noobie1
post May 1 2010, 02:15 AM

2,538 posts

i aso using kata dr 467 now..bag is good..but just not so good for go out shooting only...i aso eye-ing another bag now..a smaller bag for casual shooting...any suggestion??
zellleonhart
post May 1 2010, 02:34 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 1 2010, 02:15 AM)
i aso using kata dr 467 now..bag is good..but just not so good for go out shooting only...i aso eye-ing another bag now..a smaller bag for casual shooting...any suggestion??
Im just eying on the crumpler 7 million dollar home (7MDH). nt sure how big in actual size but i wan to fix many stuff. If u wan smaller can find 5MDH or 6 MDH. but not cheap haha
hackerzx
post May 1 2010, 02:45 AM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

not like that lor..now bag kosong also everyone try to robe u..put inside car also they will smash ur window
booby
post May 1 2010, 02:51 AM

oh god why
658 posts

is the price really that expensive if i were to get my d90 at foto shangrila in 1utama compare to other places like pertama complex?
noobie1
post May 1 2010, 02:52 AM

2,538 posts

^lolx..but at least for those not so good in dslr thing..they dont know mar..i not dare put inside car also..last time got a forum said his just bought D80 put in car..then gone after he come back from toilet..
zellleonhart
post May 1 2010, 02:57 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

You just bought, ppl know mah... u carry big D80 box, camera bag, tripod lah... camera shop plastic bag. Robbers will stalk you if they are interested...
noobie1
post May 1 2010, 03:12 AM

2,538 posts

hmm..but if not mistaken..he bought a second hand one..and he stop at duno which perhentian(like those going other state perhentian) ady...takkan the robber stalk u so long??
illegaldragon87
post May 1 2010, 03:19 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 1 2010, 02:57 AM)
You just bought, ppl know mah... u carry big D80 box, camera bag, tripod lah... camera shop plastic bag. Robbers will stalk you if they are interested...
Zell, how much u got for ur kata last time? Planning to get a backpack for travel.
SoLiD
post May 1 2010, 03:21 AM

629 posts

just now electric putus nth to do playing with some dramatic lighting lol

was sweating like mad cow trying to shoot these doh.gif

This post has been edited by SoLiD: May 1 2010, 03:21 AM
hackerzx
post May 1 2010, 03:47 AM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

they said nowadays robber so clever..got scanner can detect the battery lithium ..camera..laptop..so plug out the battery..someone dare to try? LOL.
noobie1
post May 1 2010, 03:52 AM

2,538 posts

^yup..i heard of that too...but is better to plug out our battery rather than let them snatch right??
djazmy
post May 1 2010, 04:47 AM

89 posts

Here's the first shot of my new D90... at last.. after months of eating bread. tongue.gif

freddy manson
post May 1 2010, 07:35 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

playing with long shutter last night:

and some strobist-tidak-menjadi after that:

maxh3h3
post May 1 2010, 08:10 AM

got got gotta feeling already
753 posts

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 1 2010, 04:47 AM)
Here's the first shot of my new D90... at last.. after months of eating bread.  tongue.gif

are you trying to say that u eat bread so long because u saving money to buy a d90?
this must be one satisfying moment
at last , at last, u are actually there smile.gif
celciuz
post May 1 2010, 08:42 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(cafuheva @ May 1 2010, 01:25 AM)
that is perfect disguise. Coz nowadays so many SLR reported stolen. Latest one, got one guy his SLR stolen during his meal at McD when he leave his SLR on the table to go washing his hand.  sweat.gif
That's his fault =/ Leaving his bag unguarded, I think any bag also would be stolen nowadays, not camera bags only.
maxh3h3
post May 1 2010, 09:12 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 1 2010, 08:42 AM)
That's his fault =/ Leaving his bag unguarded, I think any bag also would be stolen nowadays, not camera bags only.
agreed +1
booby
post May 1 2010, 01:10 PM

oh god why
658 posts

yay just bought my first dslr d90, need to learn a lot of stuff wink.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 1 2010, 01:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 1 2010, 07:35 AM)

i like this one biggrin.gif how u shot this?
noobie1
post May 1 2010, 01:53 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(booby @ May 1 2010, 01:10 PM)
yay just bought my first dslr d90, need to learn a lot of stuff  wink.gif
1st thing of all...have u read ur manual??
freddy manson
post May 1 2010, 02:42 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 1 2010, 01:19 PM)
i like this one biggrin.gif how u shot this?
The EXIF:
M mode, 30 seconds, iso200, f8 at 18mm
Noise Reduction sets at Normal
lionking7791
post May 1 2010, 02:50 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 1 2010, 02:42 PM)
The EXIF:
M mode, 30 seconds, iso200, f8 at 18mm
Noise Reduction sets at Normal
30 seconds?
lighter
post May 1 2010, 03:27 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(lionking7791 @ May 1 2010, 02:50 PM)
30 seconds?
whats wrong with 30 seconds? YOu can even shoot with 30 minutes. icon_rolleyes.gif
djazmy
post May 1 2010, 09:44 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 1 2010, 08:10 AM)
are you trying to say that u eat bread so long because u saving money to buy a d90?
this must be one satisfying moment
at last , at last, u are actually there smile.gif
yeah.. for about 3-4 months... cool2.gif
yup.. satisfiying indeed!
username86
post May 1 2010, 11:41 PM

170 posts

hallo guys. what is the newest street price for d90 body?
djazmy
post May 1 2010, 11:50 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(username86 @ May 1 2010, 11:41 PM)
Probably RM3300 for D90 + Kit Lens Nikon Malaysia Warranty
username86
post May 1 2010, 11:57 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 1 2010, 11:50 PM)
Probably RM3300 for D90 + Kit Lens Nikon Malaysia Warranty
ok. if for body only?
bad melatonin
post May 2 2010, 12:14 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

QUOTE(booby @ May 1 2010, 02:51 AM)
is the price really that expensive if i were to get my d90 at foto shangrila in 1utama compare to other places like pertama complex?

how much u can get at 1U?

QUOTE(username86 @ May 1 2010, 11:41 PM)

RM2450 ~ RM2500.

djazmy
post May 2 2010, 12:16 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(username86 @ May 1 2010, 11:57 PM)
ok. if for body only?
probably around RM2500....
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 12:35 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Bored, spam picture tongue.gif

superb88
post May 2 2010, 12:37 AM

170 posts

Hi all, new d90 user reporting to this thread. My Lumix DMC-FZ35 has been loyal as a learning tool to build on my basic knowledge on photography and has been replaced by my new D90 today! So far, went out for a few shots with it, not much results yet. I guess I'm jz too excited, nvr even read any user manual, jz jump out straight to shoot photos. hoho!
lionking7791
post May 2 2010, 12:47 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(superb88 @ May 2 2010, 12:37 AM)
Hi all, new d90 user reporting to this thread. My Lumix DMC-FZ35 has been loyal as a learning tool to build on my basic knowledge on photography and has been replaced by my new D90 today! So far, went out for a few shots with it, not much results yet. I guess I'm jz too excited, nvr even read any user manual, jz jump out straight to shoot photos. hoho!
How much you bought? Where you bought it?

Added on May 2, 2010, 12:50 amI plan to buy D90, but as I know DCIM 2010 is coming soon - 14/05/2010 to 16/05/2010...there is NIKON booth there....Can I ask all the sifu here, should I wait for this DCIM to get my new D90 or just buy it now??

Just for your information, I am very very new to DSLR. I am still in beginner stage. Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by lionking7791: May 2 2010, 12:50 AM
superb88
post May 2 2010, 12:55 AM

170 posts

I bought in Lowyat, shop's name very unusual. Called 'camera shop'. RM3280 for kit set with tripod, 8gb & bag. I believe if ur new to DSLR like I am, the D90's performance will be more than good enough to meet all yr needs. As for price, I dunno how much lower it can get. I surveyed around quite thoroughly, most average around RM3300++ with the standard 4gb, bag & tripod only. Mine is jz a slightly better deal. Good luck hunting!
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 01:00 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^Nikon Malaysia set?
SoLiD
post May 2 2010, 01:02 AM

629 posts

hmm rm3280 for d90 kit + 8gb + tripod + bag

Nikon malaysia warranty?

if warranty under nikon malaysia then damn good deal
sidewinderz
post May 2 2010, 01:19 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

meet the newest member in my Nikon family

SoLiD
post May 2 2010, 01:21 AM

629 posts

^ waiting for your photo spam thumbup.gif
sidewinderz
post May 2 2010, 01:28 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(SoLiD @ May 2 2010, 01:21 AM)
^ waiting for your photo spam thumbup.gif
some random bokeh test.hehe.. =) hope it satisfy you.. =P
SoLiD
post May 2 2010, 01:47 AM

629 posts

fuh poison yg ter-amat berkesan lol...

can do a comparison shot of 85mm and 50mm?

This post has been edited by SoLiD: May 2 2010, 01:50 AM
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 02:06 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^85mm confirm more bokeh lohhhh tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 2 2010, 02:22 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

huhu i really like that 85mm lens... too bad no AF-S VR version sad.gif
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 02:55 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Old lens mah, for FM2 punya, where got VR wor laugh.gif
celciuz
post May 2 2010, 07:40 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(lionking7791 @ May 2 2010, 12:47 AM)

Added on May 2, 2010, 12:50 amI plan to buy D90, but as I know DCIM 2010 is coming soon - 14/05/2010 to 16/05/2010...there is NIKON booth there....Can I ask all the sifu here, should I wait for this DCIM to get my new D90 or just buy it now??

Just for your information, I am very very new to DSLR. I am still in beginner stage. Thanks in advance.
I would say get it now, not necessarily would be cheaper during the event.

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ May 2 2010, 01:19 AM)

Hey bro, spamming showing off new toy eh biggrin.gif Like this pic a lot, accurate white balance!

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 2 2010, 02:22 AM)
85mm f/1.4G VR, gonna be pricey! Prepare your bullets for this tongue.gif.
maxh3h3
post May 2 2010, 08:04 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ May 2 2010, 01:19 AM)

i once have this but sell away , still miss it so so so so muchhhh
celciuz
post May 2 2010, 08:10 AM

14,037 posts

Killer bokeh lens thumbup.gif Lucky thing I'm not a big fan of prime lens. Else sure poisoned phew.
freddy manson
post May 2 2010, 08:15 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

prime lens is easy lens mah.. just need to compose only he he he~
celciuz
post May 2 2010, 08:17 AM

14,037 posts

I like shooting events xD not so practical with a prime =/. But they're light and has good optics compared to zooms. Not to mention less pricey too.
freddy manson
post May 2 2010, 08:33 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

yah.. but for walkaround/fast lens a prime is a must..
i love my minolta f1.7 on my a350 and it serves as my 2nd body exclusively..

flex.gif more poison from the 85mm?
maxh3h3
post May 2 2010, 08:36 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 2 2010, 08:33 AM)

anyone got af 135 f 2 bokeh maker here ?
celciuz
post May 2 2010, 08:37 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 2 2010, 08:36 AM)
drool.gif even more bokehlicious poison there brows.gif After that, next is the 200mm f/2? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by celciuz: May 2 2010, 08:37 AM
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 08:39 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(lionking7791 @ May 2 2010, 12:47 AM)

if u have the budget,just get it now..you wont know what will happen tomorrow...

Added on May 2, 2010, 8:48 am
QUOTE(celciuz @ May 2 2010, 08:37 AM)
drool.gif even more bokehlicious poison there  brows.gif After that, next is the 200mm f/2? tongue.gif
what the price for 200m f2?? i heard the sharpness is more better than 70-200...

This post has been edited by noobie1: May 2 2010, 08:48 AM
sidewinderz
post May 2 2010, 10:07 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

QUOTE(SoLiD @ May 2 2010, 01:47 AM)
fuh poison yg ter-amat berkesan lol...

can do a comparison shot of 85mm and 50mm?
lol...get 1..haha..well, if you want some bokeh test, i can try do it later tonight...=)

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 02:06 AM)
^85mm confirm more bokeh lohhhh tongue.gif
thumbup.gif

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 2 2010, 02:22 AM)
yea man...sad case...canon had a similar 1..but got USM..price also about the same...

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 02:55 AM)
Old lens mah, for FM2 punya, where got VR wor laugh.gif
the lens was introduced in the 90's if not mistaken

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 2 2010, 07:40 AM)
I would say get it now, not necessarily would be cheaper during the event.
Hey bro, spamming showing off new toy eh biggrin.gif Like this pic a lot, accurate white balance!
85mm f/1.4G VR, gonna be pricey! Prepare your bullets for this tongue.gif.
for events, zoom lens is still the way to go...cant imagine if they have something like 18-200 f2.8 VR..haha...tat time i would definitely drool...

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 2 2010, 08:04 AM)
why bro? sad.gif

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 2 2010, 08:33 AM)

hmm..poison coming up...hopefully next week when i do some portrait shots.. =)
celciuz
post May 2 2010, 10:48 AM

14,037 posts

Amber Chia rclxm9.gif
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 10:53 AM

2,538 posts

damn..just found out that the 200mm f2 is around 15k...swt...
celciuz
post May 2 2010, 10:59 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 10:53 AM)
damn..just found out that the 200mm f2 is around 15k...swt...
LOL, of course. These telephoto are pricey definitely. These are the king lens from Nikon!
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 11:14 AM

2,538 posts

at 1st i tot it was less than 10k...then it will be my next target...but now shakehead.gif shakehead.gif ...need to wait till i got work just can target...lolx...
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 11:36 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 2 2010, 08:04 AM)
I once have 2 unit of that tongue.gif
But too tight for me to use when dining. Sold if off for 35mm f2 tongue.gif then sold off 35mm for 50mm 1.4 tongue.gif

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 2 2010, 08:36 AM)
I got 135 f2 and 105 f2 bokeh test. brows.gif
Definitely killer. You wanna see ? tongue.gif

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 08:39 AM)
if u have the budget,just get it now..you wont know what will happen tomorrow...

Added on May 2, 2010, 8:48 am
what the price for 200m f2?? i heard the sharpness is more better than 70-200...
Comparing a prime with a zoom is really doh.gif
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 12:02 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Anyone here use wired or wireless remote release for D90? Any recommendation for which brand to get?
superb88
post May 2 2010, 12:19 PM

170 posts

Will be doing an outdoor portrait shot for my relative's pre-wedding next week. Will my kit set D90 decent enough? Hope 2 achieve some results. Anywhere I can read for a good guide for shooting portrait with kit lens? No cash 2 buy any lens atm.
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 12:23 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 2 2010, 11:36 AM)
I once have 2 unit of that tongue.gif
But too tight for me to use when dining. Sold if off for 35mm f2 tongue.gif then sold off 35mm for 50mm 1.4 tongue.gif
I got 135 f2 and 105 f2 bokeh test. brows.gif
Definitely killer. You wanna see ? tongue.gif
Comparing a prime with a zoom is really doh.gif
i wan see the 135 and 105 f2...in ur opinion,which 1 better??

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 12:02 PM)
Anyone here use wired or wireless remote release for D90? Any recommendation for which brand to get?
nikon got the wireless one right?? then go for nikon...the price is less than 50 IINM...
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 12:25 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 12:23 PM)
i wan see the 135 and 105 f2...in ur opinion,which 1 better??
nikon got the wireless one right?? then go for nikon...the price is less than 50 IINM...
135 of course. More tele at f2
Price near to 5k laugh.gif
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 12:34 PM

2,538 posts

^how about IQ and sharpness those??
and what the price for 105 one??
ReeNz
post May 2 2010, 12:58 PM

Glory Glory!
1,467 posts

Go get Nikon ML-L3 wireless remote..not expensive..
Isepunye
post May 2 2010, 01:02 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

long time didn come here. tired working lo...
btw, picture spam time now~!

Added on May 2, 2010, 1:15 pmi thnk there is some1 said UWA cant do bokeh nicely.... doubt on it. sweat.gif just resize using CS3

This post has been edited by Isepunye: May 2 2010, 01:16 PM
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 01:56 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 12:34 PM)
^how about IQ and sharpness those??
and what the price for 105 one??
Sharp at wide open tongue.gif
105 cheaper abit but around 4k also biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Isepunye @ May 2 2010, 01:02 PM)
long time didn come here. tired working lo...
btw, picture spam time now~!

Added on May 2, 2010, 1:15 pmi thnk there is some1 said UWA cant do bokeh nicely.... doubt on it. sweat.gif just resize using CS3

Bokeh is depends on distance of subject with background actually. So basically, at minimum focusing surely will have. My fishy can have yummy bokeh too biggrin.gif
freddy manson
post May 2 2010, 03:15 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 11:14 AM)
at 1st i tot it was less than 10k...then it will be my next target...but now  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif ...need to wait till i got work just can target...lolx...
even im working~ with my 2k patcheck andot yet married, still cannot get that lens loh~ hahaha

mine comes with the VG.. octopus one..
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 03:30 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 2 2010, 03:15 PM)
even im working~ with my 2k patcheck andot yet married, still cannot get that lens loh~ hahaha
mine comes with the VG.. octopus one..
i mean after i working i can slowly earn lah...as i am student now i sure cant fork out that amount of money mah...
and what with the VG?? he asking battery grip meh?? or wireless remote??
freddy manson
post May 2 2010, 03:47 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

i bought the octopus VG.. it comes with a wireless remote..
"saya membeli VG jenama octopus, diberikan percuma satu alatan kawalan jauh tanpa wayar"

sekian, terima kasih..

/ sorry, cant speak fluently any other language.. hope that sentence is understandable by you
hackerzx
post May 2 2010, 04:25 PM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

dem 50mm out stock? got other place aa? cheap2 pls tongue.gif
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 04:45 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
1.4 or 1.8 ? tongue.gif
better be 1.4 tongue.gif
celciuz
post May 2 2010, 04:45 PM

14,037 posts

I use the Nikon wireless remote, the infrared one. so far so good smile.gif.
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 04:49 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Trying out new color. Hope it's acceptable.

Taken at ISO 3200 hence the small reso tongue.gif
maxh3h3
post May 2 2010, 05:41 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 2 2010, 04:49 PM)

ktcy still prefer vivid pics smile.gif
too vivid for me blush.gif
wei some 135 f2 poison please if u got any flex.gif
celciuz
post May 2 2010, 05:47 PM

14,037 posts

My type of color biggrin.gif, I like punchy colors.
wen116
post May 2 2010, 05:48 PM

74 posts

hmmm anyone here got sell d90 body only? hehe if wanna to sell yr babe PM ME or sms me 0127973566
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 05:51 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 2 2010, 05:41 PM)
ktcy still prefer vivid pics smile.gif
too vivid for me  blush.gif
wei some 135 f2 poison please if u got any  flex.gif
hmm.gif
I didn't even set to vivid. hmm.gif

Currently only got 105mm f2 sample.
135mm f2 sample i not sure which memory card I snap with liao sweat.gif

105mm f2. both aperture set at f2.

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 2 2010, 05:47 PM)
My type of color biggrin.gif, I like punchy colors.
Thanks celciuz. But maxh3h3 said too vivid hmm.gif

This post has been edited by KTCY: May 2 2010, 06:05 PM
maxh3h3
post May 2 2010, 07:14 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 2 2010, 05:51 PM)
hmm.gif
I didn't even set to vivid. hmm.gif

Currently only got 105mm f2 sample.
135mm f2 sample i not sure which memory card I snap with liao sweat.gif

105mm f2. both aperture set at f2.

Thanks celciuz. But maxh3h3 said too vivid hmm.gif
well maybe because of my monitor maybe hmm.gif
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 07:17 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
Enjoy that 105mm pic ?
maxh3h3
post May 2 2010, 07:49 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 2 2010, 07:17 PM)
^
Enjoy that 105mm pic ?
so kaw kaw big for me in my 19'LCD monitor

so hard to study the pics hehe

poisoning but maybe because of the size of it, noise appear thumbup.gif
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 07:56 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

^
Was using ISO 1600 IIRC.
Then don't really process much. So sweat.gif
SoLiD
post May 2 2010, 08:02 PM

629 posts

the girl body seem kinda long for me..lol...
zellleonhart
post May 2 2010, 08:04 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

I think it's nice. I love vivid pictures!
maxh3h3
post May 2 2010, 08:08 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 2 2010, 08:04 PM)
i love vivid pics too but i prefer softer for portraits wub.gif
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 08:18 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 2 2010, 08:04 PM)
Thanks smile.gif

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 2 2010, 08:08 PM)
i love vivid pics too but i prefer softer for portraits  wub.gif
Then you shouldn't buy 135DC, 105DC for portrait already because the lens itself already very sharp tongue.gif
zellleonhart
post May 2 2010, 08:21 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 2 2010, 08:18 PM)
Thanks smile.gif
Then you shouldn't buy 135DC, 105DC for portrait already because the lens itself already very sharp tongue.gif
KTCY keeps poisoning there XD
actually what it stands for 'DC' and how much is the 105 mm DC?
maxh3h3
post May 2 2010, 08:22 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 2 2010, 08:21 PM)
Dc = defocus control

Added on May 2, 2010, 8:23 pm
QUOTE(KTCY @ May 2 2010, 08:18 PM)
Thanks smile.gif
softer not mean sharpness lar

i like baby skin soft tone wink.gif

This post has been edited by maxh3h3: May 2 2010, 08:23 PM
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 08:40 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 2 2010, 08:21 PM)
Didn't poison pun tongue.gif

35mm f/2D at f/2
Noisy as shoot at ISO 3200 sad.gif
I need FF badly as keep dine and drink at very dim place sad.gif

edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 08:41 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Cipet, today went Nikon Centre at BTS try out lenses. Tried 24mm f/1.4G, 50mm f/1.4D, 50mm f/1.4G, 24-70mm f/2.8, 70-200mm VRII f/2.8, 105mm macro f/2.8 in a day laugh.gif

Kena poisoned till don't feel like leaving there already...
zellleonhart
post May 2 2010, 08:46 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 08:41 PM)
Cipet, today went Nikon Centre at BTS try out lenses. Tried 24mm f/1.4G, 50mm f/1.4D, 50mm f/1.4G, 24-70mm f/2.8, 70-200mm VRII f/2.8, 105mm macro f/2.8 in a day laugh.gif

I would go another day... Not yet visited BTS with my d90 =D

but i don't dare to carry the nikon bag laaa. still funding for a crumpler 7MDH. Might bring my kata backpack @@
benlaw
post May 2 2010, 09:03 PM

548 posts

if d90 wan upgrade to d300,pm me lol
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 09:04 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^Lol, trade in?

Added on May 2, 2010, 9:07 pm24mm f/1.4G damn nice wei

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: May 2 2010, 09:07 PM
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 09:10 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 08:41 PM)

buy the nikon center and u can change lens every day...lolx..even body...
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 09:14 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Hahaha, then whoevers' camera got problem have to come to me lor laugh.gif

Damn like the macro 105mm and the heavy 70-200mm VR2 tongue.gif
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 09:19 PM

2,538 posts

^then while repairing u can play with their camera..lolx..
u haven try the 200mm f2 tongue.gif
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 10:39 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^Haha, oh ya forgot that already. Never mind can go again next week brows.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: May 2 2010, 10:40 PM
voryuz
post May 2 2010, 10:59 PM

47 posts

Hye, D90 family member,
Wanna ask, wat is the best lense combo for D90 to capture Potrait/Damn beautiful scene? any opinion?
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 11:13 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^Have you own a D90 body? What lens do you have already?
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 11:19 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(voryuz @ May 2 2010, 10:59 PM)
Hye, D90 family member,
Wanna ask, wat is the best lense combo for D90 to capture Potrait/Damn beautiful scene? any opinion?
to me,there is no best combo...there is only if u can afford the lens..lolx..tongue.gif
and even if u have the best lens,but ur skill lame, well,u know, u wont be able to capture any nice picture thou...

This post has been edited by noobie1: May 2 2010, 11:21 PM
voryuz
post May 2 2010, 11:21 PM

47 posts

Yea, I just own D90 (bought from my fren 4pm today) ;-) No lenses, body only, now buying one more D90 for my sis. So. what lenses is recommended for portrait and damn gud beautiful scene? ;-) Sifu, pls teach me ;-)
Isepunye
post May 2 2010, 11:22 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on May 2, 2010, 11:23 pmdamn good scene can be made by the man behind the camera not the lens. even kit lens can get good scence

This post has been edited by Isepunye: May 2 2010, 11:23 PM
voryuz
post May 2 2010, 11:23 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 11:19 PM)
to me,there is no best combo...there is only if u can afford the lens..lolx..tongue.gif
and even if u have the best lens,but ur skill lame, well,u know, u wont be able to capture any nice picture thou...
Ow.. ic ic.. ;-) Im newbie here ;-) b4 i use D90, i use normal compact camera only ;-)
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 11:24 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(voryuz @ May 2 2010, 11:21 PM)
Yea, I just own D90 (bought from my fren 4pm today) ;-) No lenses, body only, now buying one more D90 for my sis. So. what lenses is recommended for portrait and damn gud beautiful scene? ;-) Sifu, pls teach me ;-)
how well do you know in photography?? if u are new,i suggest u get the kit lens(18-105) 1st..learn some skill then only hunt for lens..
voryuz
post May 2 2010, 11:28 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 11:24 PM)
how well do you know in photography?? if u are new,i suggest u get the kit lens(18-105) 1st..learn some skill then only hunt for lens..
Ic.. Tq noobie1.. My friend suggest me 18-200mm DC OS lenses. He said that lenses better for noob like me plus, he said alang2 buy the better one.. izzit okay?
Isepunye
post May 2 2010, 11:31 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

if u thnk alang2 buy the better one, go and get nikkor 1755 laugh.gif
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 11:33 PM

2,538 posts

^y not suggest lens like 200mm f2 tongue.gif
Isepunye
post May 2 2010, 11:35 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

that my dream one. cannot let people have first b4 me tongue.gif
voryuz
post May 2 2010, 11:36 PM

47 posts

Lol..my budget for lense only 1.3k ( used one) no money to buy expensive lense -.- haha..
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 11:37 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

@noobie1

Simply suggest to people again. People just started to buy D90 only wei, never use DSLR before one know.

Even if you give him a 200mm f/2, picture result come out might be worse than a 18-200mm. doh.gif
voryuz

47 posts

@noobie1

Simply suggest to people again. People just started to buy D90 only wei, never use DSLR before one know.

Even if you give him a 200mm f/2, picture result come out might be worse than a 18-200mm. doh.gif

LoL.. yea, im still noobie >,<

This post has been edited by voryuz: May 2 2010, 11:39 PM
zellleonhart

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(voryuz @ May 2 2010, 11:28 PM)
Ic.. Tq noobie1.. My friend suggest me 18-200mm DC OS lenses. He said that lenses better for noob like me plus, he said alang2 buy the better one.. izzit okay?
Sigma 18-200mm DC OS is more expensive but the image quality of nikon 18-105mm VR is better. For beginners I would strongly suggest the 18-105 or the cheaper 18-55mm. Seriously.
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 11:39 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 11:37 PM)
@noobie1

lolx...wat la...isepunya started 1st...y din scold him instead me...lolx..
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 11:40 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

A kit lens of 18-105 or 18-55 will serve him well until he can fully utilize the aperture and the zoom distance of the lens. After that only consider 17-50, 24-70 or blah blah also still soon.

People who start their dslr photography with 200 f/2 surely open WTS thread the next day one.

Added on May 2, 2010, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 11:39 PM)
He suggested 17-55, at least that one is WAY more useful to get a kick start on photography compared to your 200mm F/2 SUGGESTION doh.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: May 2 2010, 11:42 PM
Isepunye
post May 2 2010, 11:45 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 11:39 PM)
im a good boy. tongue.gif

btw, i much prefer 18105 rather then 1855. there is my reason why biggrin.gif
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 11:46 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^Damn easy to see why.
Longer zoom and bigger lens body, who don't prefer haha.
zellleonhart
post May 2 2010, 11:47 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

I don't prefer just for one thing: MFD much longer than 18-55. But I can still shoot nice figure photos with the 105mm range. Not bad =D

A bit harsh for the reflection but I shot this in a hurry =D

This post has been edited by zellleonhart: May 2 2010, 11:49 PM
voryuz
post May 2 2010, 11:50 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 11:40 PM)
A kit lens of 18-105 or 18-55 will serve him well until he can fully utilize the aperture and the zoom  distance of the lens. After that only consider 17-50, 24-70 or blah blah also still soon.

People who start their dslr photography with 200 f/2 surely open WTS thread the next day one.
LoL..! haha.. so i should start with 18-105mm lense rite? ;-)

edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 11:51 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

I found 18-105 is a very good lens if you don't compare it with those f/2.8, f/2 or f1/8 1/4 one of course.
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 11:51 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(voryuz @ May 2 2010, 10:59 PM)
Hye, D90 family member,
Scenery : AF-S 24mm f/1.4 / Nikkor 14-24
Portrait : 200mm f/2, 135mm f/2, 85mm f/1.4

Oh well, we can just list down all that but do you really need it ? I'd advise go with Tamron 17-50 first tho I don't fancy zoom lenses tongue.gif

Anyway, photo spam tongue.gif
EXIF intact smile.gif

zellleonhart
post May 2 2010, 11:52 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 11:51 PM)
I found 18-105 is a very good lens if you don't compare it with those f/2.8, f/2 or f1/8 1/4 one of course.
exactly. You get what you pay. You pay RM1000 for this 18-105, so you get a RM1000 quality. You pay 5k and you get 17-55 f2.8 =D
Isepunye
post May 2 2010, 11:53 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

wowwww slurpppyyyy i want one can? tongue.gif
edwardgsk

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

@KTCY

Those lens above all can get him another FX body already one. sweat.gif

Go with 18-105 as starting i think ok already.

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: May 2 2010, 11:56 PM
zellleonhart

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Wahhh poisonous round bokeh of 35mm F/2 T^T
noobie1

2,538 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 11:40 PM)
A kit lens of 18-105 or 18-55 will serve him well until he can fully utilize the aperture and the zoom  distance of the lens. After that only consider 17-50, 24-70 or blah blah also still soon.

Added on May 2, 2010, 11:42 pm
He suggested 17-55, at least that one is WAY more useful to get a kick start on photography compared to your 200mm F/2 SUGGESTION doh.gif
i was the 1st suggest he get 18-105..lolx...

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 2 2010, 11:51 PM)
Scenery : AF-S 24mm f/1.4 / Nikkor 14-24
Portrait : 200mm f/2, 135mm f/2, 85mm f/1.4

Oh well, we can just list down all that but do you really need it ? I'd advise go with Tamron 17-50 first tho I don't fancy zoom lenses tongue.gif

whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
Isepunye
post May 2 2010, 11:54 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 11:46 PM)
^Damn easy to see why.
Longer zoom and bigger lens body, who don't prefer haha.
nope. at my eyes, it is sharper. a bit sharper. 18105 also less flare compare to 1855. bigger opening give u better light. at my eyes, it give slightly better colors too biggrin.gif

Added on May 2, 2010, 11:54 pm
QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 11:51 PM)
well i thnk tamron F2.8 not so good as the tales...

This post has been edited by Isepunye: May 2 2010, 11:54 PM
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 11:55 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ May 2 2010, 11:53 PM)
wowwww slurpppyyyy i want one can? tongue.gif
Come come tongue.gif

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 11:53 PM)
^Those lens above all can get him another FX body already one. sweat.gif

Yeap. nod.gif
Pair with cheap cheap 50mm f/1.8 should be fine enough

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 2 2010, 11:53 PM)
Wahhh poisonous round bokeh of 35mm F/2 T^T
brows.gif

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 11:53 PM)
whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
whistling.gif
edwardgsk
post May 2 2010, 11:56 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Removed.

Heck, double post doh.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: May 2 2010, 11:58 PM
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 11:56 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ May 2 2010, 11:54 PM)
nope. at my eyes, it is sharper. a bit sharper. 18105 also less flare compare to 1855. bigger opening give u better light. at my eyes, it give slightly better colors too biggrin.gif

but u are selling it off...lolx..
zellleonhart
post May 2 2010, 11:57 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

*tick* 35mm F/2 added to wishlist. But before that I will try playing with 50mm f1.8 first T^T
KTCY
post May 2 2010, 11:58 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ May 2 2010, 11:54 PM)

That's why I didn't use tongue.gif
And I don't really like zoom till I uses Nikkor 17-55 and 24-70 as well as 70-200 drool.gif

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 11:56 PM)
^Those lens above all can get him another FX body already one. sweat.gif

Why keep posting same thing ? sweat.gif
Isepunye
post May 2 2010, 11:59 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 11:56 PM)
but u are selling it off...lolx..
coz want to getting another F2.8 lens tongue.gif
noobie1
post May 2 2010, 11:59 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 2 2010, 11:58 PM)
And I don't really like zoom till I uses Nikkor 17-55 and 24-70 as well as 70-200 drool.gif
all ur lens are prime?? shocking.gif shocking.gif
zellleonhart
post May 3 2010, 12:00 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ May 2 2010, 11:59 PM)
coz want to getting another F2.8 lens tongue.gif
get siggy 17-50 OS HSM and tell us how good it is laaaa ^^
Isepunye
post May 3 2010, 12:00 AM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

hahahah wait till i fully try on VR1 first. later will see how. not in my budget yet.... might sell it off but still under consideration

Added on May 3, 2010, 12:01 am
QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 3 2010, 12:00 AM)
get siggy 17-50 OS HSM and tell us how good it is laaaa ^^
rclxm9.gif how u know my plan?

This post has been edited by Isepunye: May 3 2010, 12:01 AM
edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 12:01 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 11:53 PM)
Really dunno you all lah. Gila suggest crazy lens for beginner one doh.gif

For beginner, start with a few lens like 18-105mm, 50mm f/1.8 or f/1.4 is ok already.
KTCY
post May 3 2010, 12:02 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 2 2010, 11:57 PM)
*tick* 35mm F/2 added to wishlist. But before that I will try playing with 50mm f1.8 first T^T
why f/1.8, get f/1.4 la brows.gif
You know you want it brows.gif

Straight from camera brows.gif
voryuz
post May 3 2010, 12:03 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 2 2010, 11:55 PM)
Come come tongue.gif
Yeap. nod.gif
Pair with cheap cheap 50mm f/1.8 should be fine enough
brows.gif
whistling.gif
LoL.. u guys =.=
Btw, thx for the suggestion rclxms.gif
KTCY
post May 3 2010, 12:04 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 2 2010, 11:59 PM)
all ur lens are prime?? shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Yes nod.gif
zellleonhart
post May 3 2010, 12:04 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 3 2010, 12:02 AM)
why f/1.8, get f/1.4 la brows.gif
You know you want it brows.gif

Straight from camera brows.gif
Cannot afford it lah bro. Just upgraded to D90 not long. Eating sand now... Need to save slowly =D
edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 12:05 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

If he can pay more for f/1.4, then ok lor.
Today i found out that 50mm f/1.4G works better than f/1.4D on DX camera.
F/1.4D better on FX.

Colour, sharpness and focus speed, G pawn D on DX camera.
KTCY
post May 3 2010, 12:06 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 3 2010, 12:05 AM)
If he can pay more for f/1.4, then ok lor.
Today i found out that 50mm f/1.4G works better than f/1.4D on DX camera.
F/1.4D better on FX.

Colour, sharpness and focus speed, G pawn D on DX camera.
Sigma f/1.4 pawn G anytime sleep.gif
zellleonhart
post May 3 2010, 12:07 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 3 2010, 12:06 AM)
I guess general_nic will suddenly appear now and show off his sigmalux XD
noobie1
post May 3 2010, 12:08 AM

2,538 posts

he wont...he been missing quite a long time..even at D40 thread...
edwardgsk

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Haha, how's the colour for sigma one ah?

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: May 3 2010, 12:09 AM
KTCY

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 3 2010, 12:07 AM)
I hate that lens sad.gif
I was poisoned by that lens yesterday. The shop owner let me walk around with that lens to shoot portrait sad.gif
Damn damn damn sad.gif cry.gif
General_Nic
post May 3 2010, 12:09 AM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 3 2010, 12:07 AM)
LOL laugh.gif
was reading all the posts but lazy to post anythg
but c this made me post laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
noobie1
post May 3 2010, 12:09 AM

2,538 posts

haha..so good...y not walk it home...haha..
SoLiD
post May 3 2010, 12:10 AM

629 posts

damn KTCY and his prime... enuff poison d la....damn pain u know stuck with f/3.5-f/5.6 can die
KTCY
post May 3 2010, 12:11 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 3 2010, 12:09 AM)
haha..so good...y not walk it home...haha..
I dare not cry.gif
zellleonhart

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 3 2010, 12:08 AM)
I hate that lens sad.gif
I was poisoned by that lens yesterday. The shop owner let me walk around with that lens to shoot portrait sad.gif
lol the shop owner so cruel sad.gif Direct poison. He didn't one hit KO you and let you walk it home but make your wallet thinner and lighter? XD

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 3 2010, 12:09 AM)
LOL  laugh.gif
was reading all the posts but lazy to post anythg
but c this made me post  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Told you all he will pop up HAHAHA~
General_Nic

3,508 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 3 2010, 12:08 AM)
he wont...he been missing quite a long time..even at D40 thread...
lol, miss me ke? tongue.gif
i din post, but im always there...(reading u guys' posts whistling.gif )

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 3 2010, 12:08 AM)
I hate that lens sad.gif
when u bought it d u'll be loving it brows.gif
zellleonhart
post May 3 2010, 12:12 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(SoLiD @ May 3 2010, 12:10 AM)
damn KTCY and his prime... enuff poison d la....damn pain u know stuck with f/3.5-f/5.6 can die
Why will die? Go flickr and see other ppl's work with just a 18-55mm or 18-105mm f3.5-5.6, you will be amazed.

Of course f2.8/primes is better but f3.5-5.6 is not junk. It can produce brilliant photos provided you know how and have passion in you!
SoLiD
post May 3 2010, 12:13 AM

629 posts

the shop owner poison KTCY ...KTCY buys then he come this tread poison a few more to buy...they ask where KTCY recommend that shop.. profit!!
edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 12:13 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Hoho, how come i never die wor. Helped my sister to take photo for her business product and yet can hit 10k profit of sales in a week after that whistling.gif
KTCY
post May 3 2010, 12:14 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Sorry didn't mean it but my Crumpler been having at least f/2.8 or bigger.
Lately change to at least f/2 or bigger. No more f/2.8 tongue.gif
Pun intended. Don't angry ya tongue.gif

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 3 2010, 12:11 AM)
lol the shop owner so cruel  sad.gif Direct poison. He didn't one hit KO you and let you walk it home but make your wallet thinner and lighter? XD
Told you all he will pop up HAHAHA~
sad.gif
I won't. Must resist.

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 3 2010, 12:11 AM)
lol, miss me ke?  tongue.gif
when u bought it d u'll be loving it  brows.gif
I don't want cry.gif
My next target is FF already to pair with my current prime collection biggrin.gif
SoLiD
post May 3 2010, 12:14 AM

629 posts

neh can die thanks to all the bokeh poison lol....
noobie1
post May 3 2010, 12:15 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 3 2010, 12:11 AM)
I dare not cry.gif
pay the shop owner some cash then u can walk it back...tongue.gif

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 3 2010, 12:11 AM)
lol, miss me ke?  tongue.gif
when u bought it d u'll be loving it  brows.gif
yala..miss you...lolx...off topic ady...
KTCY
post May 3 2010, 12:16 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 3 2010, 12:12 AM)
Why will die? Go flickr and see other ppl's work with just a 18-55mm or 18-105mm f3.5-5.6, you will be amazed.

Of course f2.8/primes is better but f3.5-5.6 is not junk. It can produce brilliant photos provided you know how and have passion in you!
Actually even smaller aperture lens also can create nice bokeh if you know how to use it nod.gif

QUOTE(SoLiD @ May 3 2010, 12:13 AM)
the shop owner poison KTCY ...KTCY buys then he come this tread poison a few more to buy...they ask where KTCY recommend that shop.. profit!!
sweat.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 3 2010, 12:13 AM)
Hoho, how come i never die wor. Helped my sister to take photo for her business product and yet can hit 10k profit of sales in a week after that whistling.gif
thumbup.gif nod.gif
zellleonhart
post May 3 2010, 12:16 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

@KTCY
yea, save more and get a D700/D3s or a D700 replacement!

Offtopic: Anyway gtg... 2moro got work sad.gif See ya guys~ good nite~

This post has been edited by zellleonhart: May 3 2010, 12:17 AM
KTCY
post May 3 2010, 12:17 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 3 2010, 12:16 AM)
@KTCY
yea, save more and get a D700/D3s or a D700 replacement!

Offtopic: Anyway gtg... 2moro got work  sad.gif See ya guys~ good nite~
Probably a D700 to pair with my D90 smile.gif

I got replacement holiday tomorrow brows.gif
edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 12:20 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

D700 paired with D90!! drool.gif drool.gif
wen116
post May 3 2010, 12:38 AM

74 posts

anyone interested selling d90 here? if selling can pm me with yr condition and price tq
KTCY
post May 3 2010, 12:41 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(wen116 @ May 3 2010, 12:38 AM)
anyone interested selling d90 here? if selling can pm me with yr condition and price tq
RM 2.8k want ? laugh.gif

Would advice you to open thread at garage sales smile.gif
fcuk90
post May 3 2010, 12:44 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 3 2010, 12:41 AM)
RM 2.8k want ? laugh.gif

Would advice you to open thread at garage sales smile.gif
bought the sigmalux ? brows.gif
KTCY
post May 3 2010, 12:51 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 3 2010, 12:44 AM)
bought the sigmalux ? brows.gif
Nope sad.gif
But i dream of it cry.gif

Damn nice lens.
dvlzplayground
post May 3 2010, 03:47 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

fuhhh suddenly the poison here very potent tongue.gif shud've went to bed instead~ see what lens will i dream later haha

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: May 3 2010, 03:47 AM
celciuz
post May 3 2010, 06:59 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 2 2010, 09:14 PM)
Hahaha, then whoevers' camera got problem have to come to me lor laugh.gif

Damn like the macro 105mm and the heavy 70-200mm VR2 tongue.gif
70-200 VR2, solid lens! flex.gif

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 2 2010, 11:47 PM)
I don't prefer just for one thing: MFD much longer than 18-55. But I can still shoot nice figure photos with the 105mm range. Not bad =D

A bit harsh for the reflection but I shot this in a hurry =D
I wanna get one of these toys! Become my part time model already rclxm9.gif

Wah, 2 of the f/2.8 trinity from Nikkor thumbup.gif

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 3 2010, 12:06 AM)
But bear in mind Sigma is a third party, my friend got frustrated with the Sigma due to contact issue. Unable to change f/stop and happens quite frequently. Ditched it for the 85mm f/1.2L.

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 3 2010, 12:17 AM)
Probably a D700 to pair with my D90

I got replacement holiday tomorrow
Envy cry.gif
freddy manson
post May 3 2010, 07:19 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

some little2 spam from small2 person like me

This post has been edited by freddy manson: May 3 2010, 07:21 AM
zackskate666
post May 3 2010, 12:04 PM

468 posts

wow freddy..nice gila..

btw,im thinking of selling my lowerpro mini trekker and getting a computrekker..should i bought it now or rather wait for dcim and try to look for more option there?
celciuz
post May 3 2010, 01:14 PM

14,037 posts

Computrekker is one solid bag. My friend uses one with dual D300 along with a lot of heavy lens. And he sort of trashes the bag and the bag still look good. The straps and all no tears. Damn impressed.
munyip7
post May 3 2010, 01:16 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(hackerzx @ May 1 2010, 03:47 AM)
they said nowadays robber so clever..got scanner can detect the battery lithium ..camera..laptop..so plug out the battery..someone dare to try? LOL.
that's why need BG and use alkaline battery. sure safe...
celciuz
post May 3 2010, 01:17 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(munyip7 @ May 3 2010, 01:16 PM)
Alkaline batteries cannot be detected by them? hmm.gif Now this makes me curious how does it actually works drool.gif .
e_k1117
post May 3 2010, 01:28 PM

276 posts

i m interested in trading my d50 kit lens with d90 kit lens with top up of course...
anyone here wanna let go ??
loc: penang/kulim.
pm me if do...
noobie1
post May 3 2010, 01:38 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(munyip7 @ May 3 2010, 01:16 PM)
might wanna tell us more detail about it??
munyip7
post May 3 2010, 01:53 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 3 2010, 01:38 PM)
might wanna tell us more detail about it??
i am just being sarcastic. lithium or not battery scanner are just nonsense la. that's what i think. unless someone can gimme prove of such gadget, i will never believe. ppl car gets broken into because they leave bags in plain view, that i believe.
celciuz
post May 3 2010, 01:59 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(munyip7 @ May 3 2010, 01:53 PM)
i am just being sarcastic. lithium or not battery scanner are just nonsense la. that's what i think. unless someone can gimme prove of such gadget, i will never believe. ppl car gets broken into because they leave bags in plain view, that i believe.
doh.gif , you didn't sound sarcastic enough in that post LOL~ Thought you were serious about it rclxub.gif .
edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 02:08 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

I will like to know more about this thieve gadget too tongue.gif

Not for doing crime purpose of course laugh.gif
munyip7
post May 3 2010, 02:26 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 3 2010, 01:59 PM)
doh.gif , you didn't sound sarcastic enough in that post LOL~ Thought you were serious about it  rclxub.gif .
you are too naive. ahahaha
noobie1
post May 3 2010, 02:35 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(munyip7 @ May 3 2010, 01:53 PM)
lolx..last time my frend send me a photo of that device...thru mail..but then i deleted...cant show to you all...coz i was like not reli trust about that thing..after that,heard of this kind of device being use to detect battery that connect to laptop,camera and so on...well,i am not sure about this too..but i dun think different battery would make any different..
edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 03:13 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 3 2010, 02:35 PM)
lolx..last time my frend send me a photo of that device...thru mail..but then i deleted...cant show to you all...coz i was like not reli trust about that thing..after that,heard of this kind of device being use to detect battery that connect to laptop,camera and so on...well,i am not sure about this too..but i dun think different battery would make any different..
Car battery how? LOL laugh.gif
Anyway sign0006.gif

Later go Gardens there shoot photo. Bored at home.
noobie1
post May 3 2010, 03:43 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 3 2010, 03:13 PM)
Car battery how? LOL laugh.gif
Anyway sign0006.gif

Later go Gardens there shoot photo. Bored at home.
dude..dun tell me u going to nid a device to detect a car to steal a car...lolx...
anyways,i think this is not off topic..as we speak,we try to make other caution whr they put their camera..thus less camera get steal...
edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 07:18 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^Haha, it's a sarcastic joke on the battery detector thingy la dude.

Of topic lah. This is a thread to discuss about D90, not awareness raising thread.

It's true that this topic might help those camera owner to further prevent their camera get stolen, but people still get careless or lazy outside there. It still happen, although they already realized their camera would be at risk of getting stolen if they leave it on the table or the chair without any guidance, even for a short while to do something like refill water or get chili at Mcd for example.

But the issue is, they still leave it there. Why? Because they think it's a hassle to carry it together, all they think is it's just a short distance away and nothing will happen to it. Yes nothing would happen if you are lucky that no one is target at it. If you are unlucky, it disappear just because you want to save the hassle of bringing it together with you.
isnu1210
post May 3 2010, 08:03 PM

85 posts

Hi All,

Newbie owner reporting in...

get it from jOne for 2520 for body + upgrade 8gb SDHC and BAG...

and used lens from my friend...

Thank you.
maxh3h3
post May 3 2010, 09:59 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(isnu1210 @ May 3 2010, 08:03 PM)
Hi All,

Newbie owner reporting in...

get it from jOne for 2520 for body + upgrade 8gb SDHC and BAG...

and used lens from my friend...

Thank you.
wow, can consider a good offer with the price of the 8 gb sdhc card . bag is not really matter though

Added on May 3, 2010, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 3 2010, 07:18 PM)
^Haha, it's a sarcastic joke on the battery detector thingy la dude.

Of topic lah. This is a thread to discuss about D90, not awareness raising thread.

It's true that this topic might help those camera owner to further prevent their camera get stolen, but people still get careless or lazy outside there. It still happen, although they already realized their camera would be at risk of getting stolen if they leave it on the table or the chair without any guidance, even for a short while to do something like refill water or get chili at Mcd for example.

But the issue is, they still leave it there. Why? Because they think it's a hassle to carry it together, all they think is it's just a short distance away and nothing will happen to it. Yes nothing would happen if you are lucky that no one is target at it. If you are unlucky, it disappear just because you want to save the hassle of bringing it together with you.
2 days ago having beffet lunch with a friend of mine at jogoya starhill,
both were eating and i see my friend eating so i leave my bag below the table and go for some food
when i come back i was so shock that i see my friend gone for food living the place without anyone.
i was like SHiTTTTTTTTTT , luckily the bag is still there
give a warning to my friend, there is like 6 k s worth of equipment in bag, please dont ever live the place if i m gone
we take turn to attack the food till have to buy eno at nearest 7 eleven LOL

luckily me

This post has been edited by maxh3h3: May 3 2010, 10:04 PM
zellleonhart
post May 3 2010, 10:12 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 3 2010, 09:59 PM)
wow, can consider a good offer with the price of the 8 gb sdhc card . bag is not really matter though

Added on May 3, 2010, 10:04 pm

2 days ago having beffet lunch with a friend of mine at jogoya starhill,
both were eating and i see my friend eating so i leave my bag below the table and go for some food
when i come back i was so shock that i see my friend gone for food living the place without anyone.
i was like SHiTTTTTTTTTT , luckily the bag is still there
give a warning to my friend, there is like 6 k s worth of equipment in bag, please dont ever live the place if i m gone
we take turn to attack the food till have to buy eno at nearest 7 eleven LOL

luckily me
Wow that's pretty dangerous sweat.gif
If i were there it would be lost already hahaha
SUSmachinetosh
post May 3 2010, 10:16 PM

143 posts

ok ok i know u guys dok letak many poison with expansive lens but this one i took with my 50mm aje hehehe tongue.gif so lens murah beraksi skit hehe
General_Nic
post May 3 2010, 10:21 PM

3,508 posts

my uncle got 1 time, balik kampung, with all his cam gears(body+flash+4 lenses) n laptop in his Kata backpack
stopped at rest area makan, put bag on chair beside him
then after eating continue journey
it was like 30min later he baru rmbr he left his bag at the chair, lupa take, LOL doh.gif doh.gif
so faster exit tol u-turn, another 30min reach the same rest area
super lucky bag still there, if not GG lor
zellleonhart
post May 3 2010, 10:27 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 3 2010, 10:21 PM)
my uncle got 1 time, balik kampung, with all his cam gears(body+flash+4 lenses) n laptop in his Kata backpack
it was like 30min later he baru rmbr he left his bag at the chair, lupa take, LOL  doh.gif  doh.gif
lol so lucky! Maybe the others don't know there is camera inside lah. Some kata backpack doesn't look like a camera bag =D
edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 10:27 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 3 2010, 10:21 PM)
it was like 30min later he baru rmbr he left his bag at the chair, lupa take, LOL  doh.gif  doh.gif
Geng, he is blessed by god i think.

@maxh3h3
Hahaha, eat till have to drink eno ah, so tamjiak laugh.gif
Next time better double remind you friend not to leave the bag alone when you going to take food or go toilet.
CANONPIXMA
post May 3 2010, 10:44 PM

712 posts

guys, how big is danbo?
zellleonhart
post May 3 2010, 10:49 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 3 2010, 10:44 PM)
guys, how big is danbo?
Danbo mini is 8cm, danbo is 13cm. Don't buy the big one, it's too big. Unless you want to get one big one small for collection/photoshooting la. I have the mini one, IMO is just nice for its size. but the PVC not that good quality, need to take good care of it. scratches easily.
auhckw
post May 3 2010, 11:15 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 3 2010, 10:44 PM)
guys, how big is danbo?
Small Danbo

More unboxing of Small Danbo here:-
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=33321515

Shot with D90 smile.gif
CANONPIXMA
post May 3 2010, 11:19 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 3 2010, 10:49 PM)
Danbo mini is 8cm, danbo is 13cm. Don't buy the big one, it's too big. Unless you want to get one big one small for collection/photoshooting la. I have the mini one, IMO is just nice for its size. but the PVC not that good quality, need to take good care of it. scratches easily.
where can i buy danbo?? it looks nice hehehe
edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 11:24 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Off topic, anyone knows where can get the amazon.co.jp danbo ah? I'm looking for 1 sad.gif
auhckw
post May 3 2010, 11:25 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 3 2010, 11:19 PM)
where can i buy danbo?? it looks nice hehehe
QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 3 2010, 11:24 PM)
Off topic, anyone knows where can get the amazon.co.jp danbo ah? I'm looking for 1 sad.gif
The guy making new bulk today. Quick go cause limited units
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=215&t=1230293
zellleonhart
post May 3 2010, 11:25 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Guys, go search for "Hasegawa" trader in garage sales, he is a danbo bulk seller. I bought mine from him and I think he's still selling!

BTW danbo is best paired with yotsuba ^^ I have both~

This post has been edited by zellleonhart: May 3 2010, 11:27 PM
djazmy
post May 3 2010, 11:39 PM

89 posts

My first try of Bokeh using D90 ..just using kitlens.. sad.gif

f4.8, iso500

edwardgsk
post May 3 2010, 11:57 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^You can get more bokeh at f/3.5 and end of your zoom. tongue.gif
illegaldragon87
post May 4 2010, 12:00 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 3 2010, 11:57 PM)
^You can get more bokeh at f/3.5 and end of your zoom. tongue.gif
end of zoom whr can get f/3.5.... tongue.gif
SUSmachinetosh
post May 4 2010, 12:02 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ May 4 2010, 12:00 AM)
end of zoom whr can get f/3.5....  tongue.gif
he means the other end nod.gif

This post has been edited by machinetosh: May 4 2010, 12:02 AM
illegaldragon87
post May 4 2010, 12:06 AM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(machinetosh @ May 4 2010, 12:02 AM)
he means the other end nod.gif
den should be less bokeh wor... no meh?? hmm.gif
KTCY
post May 4 2010, 12:08 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Testing bokeh @ f2 sweat.gif
Too shallow.
dvlzplayground
post May 4 2010, 12:10 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i think he mean the 105mm end tongue.gif

even tho the max aperture is smaller, due to compression can make the 'illusion' of better bokeh

dats y lens like 55-200 also can make creamy bokeh even though it's not even f2.8. obviously the background need to be far la

then we have the 70-200 f2.8.... GG.. haha
SUSmachinetosh
post May 4 2010, 12:12 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ May 4 2010, 12:08 AM)

Testing bokeh @ f2 sweat.gif
Too shallow.
nando's sauce stand??? hahahaha
djazmy
post May 4 2010, 12:13 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ May 4 2010, 12:10 AM)
i think he mean the 105mm end tongue.gif

even tho the max aperture is smaller, due to compression can make the 'illusion' of better bokeh

dats y lens like 55-200 also can make creamy bokeh even though it's not even f2.8. obviously the background need to be far la

then we have the 70-200 f2.8.... GG.. haha
owh.. is that so? will try it again using 105mm
dvlzplayground
post May 4 2010, 12:21 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

it LOOKS like good bokeh because since u're zooming in from far, u get less background. less background = less clutter = look like good bokeh tongue.gif

n dats y UWA lens hard to get good bokeh. even though the background is blur, there's so much clutter that even at f2.8 it still doesnt look nice
KTCY
post May 4 2010, 12:21 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Gelato drool.gif

edwardgsk
post May 4 2010, 12:22 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ May 4 2010, 12:00 AM)
end of zoom whr can get f/3.5....  tongue.gif
Aiyak paiseh, my mistake. Is f/5.6.

Want bokeh, 200mm f/2 lor.

SUSmachinetosh
post May 4 2010, 12:28 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 4 2010, 12:22 AM)

200mm f/2 u make me>>>> cry.gif
selinix
post May 4 2010, 02:42 AM

7,343 posts

I tested some shots with diffuser on and off and I notice adding the diffuser create very obvious shadows. How come ar? I thought diffuser is suppose to help eliminated shadows..
freddy manson
post May 4 2010, 06:32 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ May 4 2010, 02:42 AM)
I tested some shots with diffuser on and off and I notice adding the diffuser create very obvious shadows. How come ar? I thought diffuser is suppose to help eliminated shadows..
what diffuser are u using?
pop-up one? external flash one?
a proper used one will definitely eliminate harsh shadows..
share pics.. please..
maxh3h3
post May 4 2010, 08:25 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 4 2010, 06:32 AM)
share pics.. please..
lambercy FTW
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 08:36 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 4 2010, 08:25 AM)
lambercy FTW
DFD Pro for me tongue.gif. Except I like the fact that lambency has the warm dome which is useful. DFD Pro needs to use the color gel :S.
maxh3h3
post May 4 2010, 08:52 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 08:36 AM)
DFD Pro for me tongue.gif. Except I like the fact that lambency has the warm dome which is useful. DFD Pro needs to use the color gel :S.
HAHA using DFD not so obvious like lambercy lor, people always look at it with big eyes imagine that will blow up since its so big liao
People just keep looking at it imagine what the hell is that.
noobie1
post May 4 2010, 09:04 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 4 2010, 12:22 AM)

saying me??lolx...

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 4 2010, 08:25 AM)
lambercy FTW
QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 08:36 AM)
i m just using the flash diffuser come with the sb900 only..not really know how to use it thou...
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 09:27 AM

14,037 posts

That diffuser, is good if you bounce on ceiling. Very even, but then during big halls or big space waste a lot power and overwork your flash a lot. ._. main reason why I got the DFD Pro.

If you go direct with that diffuser, also very stressing on the SB900.
selinix
post May 4 2010, 10:01 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 4 2010, 06:32 AM)
share pics.. please..
External flash one. SB-600.

Will try get some pictures later.

Not sure what brand is the diffuser because I bought it together when I buy the SB-600.
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 10:02 AM

14,037 posts

Sounds like SB600 + stofen + direct flash?
noobie1
post May 4 2010, 10:05 AM

2,538 posts

thanks for the tips..me still learning how to control the flash thou...what mode did most of you using??TTL??
and i still not sure how to count as correct exposure and the light not harsh...
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 10:09 AM

14,037 posts

Bridal Show 2010 at Renaissance, Melaka.

Lighting is pretty tough, spotlights shinning different colors all over sad.gif.
selinix
post May 4 2010, 11:43 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 10:02 AM)
Sounds like SB600 + stofen + direct flash?
i bounce the flash. Stofen is de diffuser brand?

i oso notice using the diffuser make the bounce flash alot brighter..
TSSkyBlue99
post May 4 2010, 11:50 AM

1,952 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ May 4 2010, 11:43 AM)
i bounce the flash. Stofen is de diffuser brand?

i oso notice using the diffuser make the bounce flash alot brighter..
it could be due to the diffuser makes the flash become even maybe thats why u feel its brighter
freddy manson
post May 4 2010, 11:52 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

It depends on what mode u're using for ur flash

If u're using manual, then try decreasing the power of the flash~
If u're using TTL, then diffuser is NOT recomended because sometimes the light will not be enuff...
CANONPIXMA
post May 4 2010, 12:00 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 09:27 AM)
That diffuser, is good if you bounce on ceiling. Very even, but then during big halls or big space waste a lot power and overwork your flash a lot. ._. main reason why I got the DFD Pro.

If you go direct with that diffuser, also very stressing on the SB900.
u using DFD Pro? much better than the sb900 white card?
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 12:11 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 4 2010, 12:00 PM)
u using DFD Pro? much better than the sb900 white card?
Of course, much better. The built in card cannot bounce in vertical direction. And also cannot adjust the angle. If at high ceiling areas sure jialat one the built in card.
CANONPIXMA
post May 4 2010, 12:18 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 12:11 PM)
Of course, much better. The built in card cannot bounce in vertical direction. And also cannot adjust the angle. If at high ceiling areas sure jialat one the built in card.
where u bought ur DFD pro? online? smile.gif
maxh3h3
post May 4 2010, 12:21 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 4 2010, 12:18 PM)
where u bought ur DFD pro? online? smile.gif
dunno why but find DFD very expensive, maybe i m not ready to spend like rm150++ for a diffuser yet cry.gif
CANONPIXMA
post May 4 2010, 12:28 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 4 2010, 12:21 PM)
dunno why but find DFD very expensive, maybe i m not ready to spend like rm150++ for a diffuser yet  cry.gif
yamiya selling for rm185 brows.gif dunno which shop got sell this diffuser
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 12:32 PM

14,037 posts

I got mine for RM155, but I bought 13 units together ^^. You can probably DIY it actually, not very complicated. But for a RM155 diffuser, it sure has some cheapo quality on the velcro dry.gif. Damn glue so messy one.
illegaldragon87
post May 4 2010, 12:38 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 4 2010, 12:21 PM)
dunno why but find DFD very expensive, maybe i m not ready to spend like rm150++ for a diffuser yet  cry.gif
at 1st i got the same thought as u.. i think RM150 is too much for a diffuser... but in the end i aso get it without regret until now... laugh.gif
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 12:47 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ May 4 2010, 12:38 PM)
at 1st i got the same thought as u.. i think RM150 is too much for a diffuser... but in the end i aso get it without regret until now...  laugh.gif
Just wondering, your DFD's glue on the velcro good? Mine kept slipping and then exposing some glue dry.gif sticking to my strap zzz!
TSSkyBlue99
post May 4 2010, 12:48 PM

1,952 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 12:32 PM)
I got mine for RM155, but I bought 13 units together ^^. You can probably DIY it actually, not very complicated. But for a RM155 diffuser, it sure has some cheapo quality on the velcro dry.gif. Damn glue so messy one.
what glue? mine don't have one blink.gif
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 12:52 PM

14,037 posts

Would be different version maybe ._.

How does yours looked like?
General_Nic
post May 4 2010, 01:05 PM

3,508 posts

IINM got 3 version of the DFD, latest 1 the bounce card mounting is at an angle 1
btw, found this, maybe DFD users can thk of upgrading/add-on tongue.gif
http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=86365
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 01:20 PM

14,037 posts

Seems like nobody selling that mega one hmm. LOL, the bigger the better xD
illegaldragon87
post May 4 2010, 01:27 PM

♠♠♠ ~♥FooD LoVeR♥~ ♠♠♠
1,362 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 12:47 PM)
Just wondering, your DFD's glue on the velcro good? Mine kept slipping and then exposing some glue dry.gif sticking to my strap zzz!
yup... mine aso exposing glue... not sure why but it seems lik wont end... sweat.gif
selinix
post May 4 2010, 01:34 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 4 2010, 11:52 AM)
It depends on what mode u're using for ur flash

If u're using manual, then try decreasing the power of the flash~
If u're using TTL, then diffuser is NOT recomended because sometimes the light will not be enuff...
I am using TTL and I notice with the same settings with the diffuser on the light is a lot brighter without the diffuser on.
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 01:44 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ May 4 2010, 01:27 PM)
yup... mine aso exposing glue... not sure why but it seems lik wont end...  sweat.gif
The velcro is slipping <__<

QUOTE(selinix @ May 4 2010, 01:34 PM)
I am using TTL and I notice with the same settings with the diffuser on the light is a lot brighter without the diffuser on.
Because basically your flash is pumping more power as the light is properly diffuser. TTL 0EV with diffuser and without diffuser is both different power. As in, one might me 1/16, another might be 1/32 (just for example).
selinix
post May 4 2010, 01:49 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 01:44 PM)
The velcro is slipping <__<
Because basically your flash is pumping more power as the light is properly diffuser. TTL 0EV with diffuser and without diffuser is both different power. As in, one might me 1/16, another might be 1/32 (just for example).
I see I see .. now I know why that happens.. I haven't really learn how to use the manual flash on my SB600
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 02:00 PM

14,037 posts

You rarely get to use manual actually, unless you're very experienced and knows exactly what you need and how much you need. Just stick to TTL unless you've a lot of time to setup for a proper exposure.
TSSkyBlue99
post May 4 2010, 02:06 PM

1,952 posts

celciuz, mind take a photo of the part u said the glue? simple method of identifying older version of DFD Pro, the angle adjuster is transparent if its the new one. old one is black colored.
freddy manson
post May 4 2010, 02:09 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

I usually use one setting on the camera body ie f8, shutter 1/200, iso200 and I'll change the flash power accordingly~
Used to be doing things like that already~
Its somewhat fun to see the outcome

Rarely use TTL... This is how I train myself flex.gif
qpywsqp
post May 4 2010, 02:10 PM

46 posts

My self own a SB800. That day i went for pageant shooting for my friend. I was very disappointed on my flash photography. I using TTL all the while, and i burst 3 shoot. The first shooting is perfect, but the second and third was under exposed gao gao. I still need to learn more on that. Did anyone can provide me some idea or any link that i can learn from it, and improve ASAP.
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 02:10 PM

14,037 posts

Mine hinge is black in color. The guy who sold told this is the latest. What shape is your bounce card? Mine's trapezium and is really thin. My friend has the old one, the bounce card is square and thick, he got it quite sometime ago. I got mine during March.

Added on May 4, 2010, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(qpywsqp @ May 4 2010, 02:10 PM)
My self own a SB800. That day i went for pageant shooting for my friend. I was very disappointed on my flash photography. I using TTL all the while, and i burst 3 shoot. The first shooting is perfect, but the second and third was under exposed gao gao. I still need to learn more on that. Did anyone can provide me some idea or any link that i can learn from it, and improve ASAP.
Bouncing up with the diffuser cap? High ceiling? Your flash didn't have time to recharge before the next shot.

This post has been edited by celciuz: May 4 2010, 02:11 PM
General_Nic
post May 4 2010, 02:12 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 02:10 PM)
Mine hinge is black in color. The guy who sold told this is the latest. What shape is your bounce card? Mine's trapezium and is really thin. My friend has the old one, the bounce card is square and thick, he got it quite sometime ago. I got mine during March.

Added on May 4, 2010, 2:11 pm
Bouncing up with the diffuser cap? High ceiling? Your flash didn't have time to recharge before the next shot.
yours is 2nd version i thk, new 1 is like this
http://yamiya.com.my/store/product.php?pro...at=0&bestseller
TSSkyBlue99
post May 4 2010, 02:14 PM

1,952 posts

mine is the same as the one nic posted
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 02:14 PM

14,037 posts

That's the same one as my friend's! But he got it back in 2009 though.
TSSkyBlue99
post May 4 2010, 02:16 PM

1,952 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 02:14 PM)
That's the same one as my friend's! But he got it back in 2009 though.
not so sure bit i remember that some had even said that the black hinge was removed for certain 'color bounce reasons'. well, that was before i bought it. blink.gif
General_Nic
post May 4 2010, 02:16 PM

3,508 posts

maybe yours reli latest jz launched not long? not sure
TSSkyBlue99
post May 4 2010, 02:17 PM

1,952 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 4 2010, 02:16 PM)
maybe yours reli latest jz launched not long? not sure
when launch doesnt matter as long can use enough already cool2.gif there are also imitation dembs around the market also selling around the same price cause they are exact look-a-like minus the demb prints
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 02:19 PM

14,037 posts

Found the images the seller passed to me when I was doing the bulk,

TSSkyBlue99
post May 4 2010, 02:22 PM

1,952 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 02:19 PM)

thats the old one =/ i remember seeing it on shashinki before they had the new one. now i think shashinki no longer selling it cant find it on their website.
maxh3h3
post May 4 2010, 02:23 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ May 4 2010, 02:17 PM)
when launch doesnt matter as long can use enough already  cool2.gif there are also imitation dembs around the market also selling around the same price cause they are exact look-a-like minus the demb prints
was going to ask u where got the china made cheaper one hehe
lets make a factory mass produce DFD buatan malaysia and sell for rm100 also enough lar drool.gif
TSSkyBlue99
post May 4 2010, 02:26 PM

1,952 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 4 2010, 02:23 PM)
was going to ask u where got the china made cheaper one hehe
lets make a factory mass produce DFD buatan malaysia and sell for rm100 also enough lar  drool.gif
if got cheaper 1 good lor.. but.. they selling same price the last time i saw it for sell.

u start lor i redirect business to u whistling.gif
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 02:28 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ May 4 2010, 02:22 PM)
thats the old one =/ i remember seeing it on shashinki before they had the new one. now i think shashinki no longer selling it cant find it on their website.
Is it? No idea then, my friend got his back in 2009, the exact same one posted by General Nic.

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ May 4 2010, 02:26 PM)
if got cheaper 1 good lor.. but.. they selling same price the last time i saw it for sell.

u start lor i redirect business to u  whistling.gif
I saw DFD buatan malaysia for like RM60 or RM70 before haha!
maxh3h3
post May 4 2010, 02:32 PM

753 posts

just a few plactic and velcro only cost like that rm 70 also untung like chibai already
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 02:34 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 4 2010, 02:32 PM)
just a few plactic and velcro only cost like that rm 70 also untung like chibai already
Haha, check it out at digicolor. If not mistaken I saw it there. Simple item smile.gif.
General_Nic
post May 4 2010, 02:50 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ May 4 2010, 02:17 PM)
when launch doesnt matter as long can use enough already  cool2.gif there are also imitation dembs around the market also selling around the same price cause they are exact look-a-like minus the demb prints
Nt to say latest is better, but since d seller szid latest, myb gt new version we din noe

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 02:19 PM)

Thats definitely d 2nd version
IINM d latest ver is launched last yr Sep

maxh3h3
post May 4 2010, 02:54 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 02:34 PM)
Haha, check it out at digicolor. If not mistaken I saw it there. Simple item smile.gif.
at penang ar? any place in KL a not?
C_Sagi
post May 4 2010, 02:58 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

Went to the zoo and got this.

This post has been edited by C_Sagi: May 4 2010, 03:09 PM
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 03:00 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 4 2010, 02:54 PM)
at penang ar? any place in KL a not?
digicolor not in KL ar? I remembering going there, at some complex. Cause my friend went to buy a pair of studio lights.
selinix
post May 4 2010, 04:11 PM

7,343 posts

With Diffuser

Without Diffuser

shadow111
post May 4 2010, 05:00 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ May 4 2010, 04:11 PM)
errmmm.. for me, the pic without diffuser seem better..
General_Nic
post May 4 2010, 05:13 PM

3,508 posts

for me, in a low ceiling room, i rather not use diffuser, i feel the light bounced off ceiling 90 degree is nicer
if in a hall where ceiling is way too high, only then i use diffuser
hackerzx
post May 4 2010, 05:16 PM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

anyone know aa which shop open their booth on DC event next week?
selinix
post May 4 2010, 05:35 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 4 2010, 05:13 PM)
for me, in a low ceiling room, i rather not use diffuser, i feel the light bounced off ceiling 90 degree is nicer
if in a hall where ceiling is way too high, only then i use diffuser
So diffuser is not necessary has to be on all the time?

I am really confused in how and when to use the diffuser actually. hahaha
General_Nic
post May 4 2010, 05:41 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(hackerzx @ May 4 2010, 05:16 PM)
anyone know aa which shop open their booth on DC event next week?
u mean DCIM?

QUOTE(selinix @ May 4 2010, 05:35 PM)
So diffuser is not necessary has to be on all the time?

I am really confused in how and when to use the diffuser actually. hahaha
diffuser is to reduce the harshness of flash when direct flash
but when using diffuser on bounce flash, it acts as a fake 'ceiling', but reduces the flash coverage

i say bounce card is more effective, thats y DFD is so popular thumbup.gif
CANONPIXMA
post May 4 2010, 06:00 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 4 2010, 05:41 PM)
u mean DCIM?
but when using diffuser on bounce flash, it acts as a fake 'ceiling', but reduces the flash coverage

i say bounce card is more effective, thats y DFD is so popular  thumbup.gif
any example of using sb900 bounce card and DFD bounce card? tongue.gif
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 06:12 PM

14,037 posts

With Diffuser

Without Diffuser
Hmm, diffuser seems to give harsh lighting. I think mainly because the edges transmits light as well and thus making the shadows on the walls more obvious.

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 4 2010, 06:00 PM)
any example of using sb900 bounce card and DFD bounce card? tongue.gif
Check my flickr, the recent ones are all DFD Pro. Oh wait, I didn't have any similar picture with the white bounce card. The white bounce is good but you can't go vertical with it unfortunately. Can just diy with a A4 paper and wrap it around the flash head with rubberband?

This post has been edited by celciuz: May 4 2010, 06:13 PM
selinix
post May 4 2010, 06:26 PM

7,343 posts

I guess the diffuser is only best use when I am using direct flash or in places with very high ceiling

This post has been edited by selinix: May 4 2010, 06:27 PM
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 06:33 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ May 4 2010, 06:26 PM)
I guess the diffuser is only best use when I am using direct flash or in places with very high ceiling
Going to get slow recharge due to stressing your flash head btw, try it out first.
booby
post May 4 2010, 06:37 PM

oh god why
658 posts

With Diffuser

Without Diffuser
got what difference in this 2 pic? hmm.gif

btw, want to ask noob ques, if the camera is not focused to something, it wont allow me to snap?
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 06:44 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(booby @ May 4 2010, 06:37 PM)
got what difference in this 2 pic?  hmm.gif

btw, want to ask noob ques, if the camera is not focused to something, it wont allow me to snap?
Correct, you won't be able to take a shot if you got nothing focused in AF-S. I think AF-C you can take shots even when not in focus.
ageell2004
post May 4 2010, 07:03 PM

192 posts

booby : notice the shadow n u see the difference.
djazmy
post May 4 2010, 07:40 PM

89 posts

Bokeh at 105mm as advised by the guru here...

celciuz
post May 4 2010, 08:46 PM

14,037 posts

Image looks kinda soft though, could be better if subject is in the middle to have a sharper image. 18-105's edge at 105mm is kinda soft.
djazmy
post May 4 2010, 08:54 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 4 2010, 08:46 PM)
Image looks kinda soft though, could be better if subject is in the middle to have a sharper image. 18-105's edge at 105mm is kinda soft.
owh, will try to snap the subject in the middle next time.. thanks for the c&c!
zellleonhart
post May 4 2010, 09:16 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Speaking about diffuser/bounce card, i've DIY-ed my own foam bounce card few months ago... It's very effective and cheap, only RM2.50 per A4 size foam. Can easily put into anybag because it can be rolled and will retain shape after that.

I think RM170 for a piece of plastic and card is not worth the price. I think my DIY will have just about the same outcome, just that it doesn't look so cool and not that versatile. Will post a photo of it later.
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 09:21 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 4 2010, 09:16 PM)
Speaking about diffuser/bounce card, i've DIY-ed my own foam bounce card few months ago... It's very effective and cheap, only RM2.50 per A4 size foam. Can easily put into anybag because it can be rolled and will retain shape after that.

I think RM170 for a piece of plastic and card is not worth the price. I think my DIY will have just about the same outcome, just that it doesn't look so cool and not that versatile. Will post a photo of it later.
That's what I wanted initially, went to search all over Melaka for the material cannot find. Got fed up and went to get the DFD instead. That one's good lor. can adjust power accordingly. But for places with really high ceilings cannot bend forward. Other than that, it is similar to DFD's concept.
edwardgsk
post May 4 2010, 09:21 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Heng lah. Can spend so much for a diffuser you guys.
I think i will self diy one when i'm free, personally don't feel the DFD worth the price.
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 09:23 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 4 2010, 09:21 PM)
Heng lah. Can spend so much for a diffuser you guys.
I think i will self diy one when i'm free, personally don't feel the DFD worth the price.
Not everyone would want to DIY, but if you've the time and skill I would suggest you to do that. DFD's not worth for the price. Too pricey for such item. But still cheaper than those Whaletail or Lightsphere actually haha.
zellleonhart
post May 4 2010, 09:25 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Here's the photo. Just taken 5 min ago =D

Yeah it cannot be bent forward but I saved RM170. No complaint for the price =D
But yea you need to change it once after few months but it's okay for me.

Actually, to DIY this is just about 5min la. just cut to the shape you prefer. And find better rubber band/velcro straps like what im using. I bought velcro straps at popular book store leisure mall. The foam paper my fren helped me buy in Mid valley.

This post has been edited by zellleonhart: May 4 2010, 09:26 PM
celciuz
post May 4 2010, 09:27 PM

14,037 posts

Yeah, I wanted this foam paper actually. Can bend to the back to decrease power. But can't go in front for more power. Find high and low at Melaka cannot find ._.|||
noobie1
post May 4 2010, 09:28 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 4 2010, 09:25 PM)
Here's the photo. Just taken 5 min ago =D

Yeah it cannot be bent forward but I saved RM170. No complaint for the price =D
But yea you need to change it once after few months but it's okay for me.

Actually, to DIY this is just about 5min la. just cut to the shape you prefer. And find better rubber band/velcro straps like what im using. I bought velcro straps at popular book store leisure mall. The foam paper my fren helped me buy in Mid valley.
i wanted to make those..but the foam..whr can i buy??
zellleonhart
post May 4 2010, 09:30 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Foam i got from midvalley. Not sure which bookstore leh. I try to ask my friend later.
noobie1
post May 4 2010, 09:44 PM

2,538 posts

^ok..pm me the detail..and the name is foam only??been google about the name..some called it craft foam or something like that...
zellleonhart
post May 4 2010, 09:47 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

There is a card clipped on the foam when i bought. The brand is Foam Zone. It didn't mention about what the foam is called. you can ask for "foam sheet" or "foam card" or "eva foam"<< heard it in another forum and "craft foam".
shadow111
post May 4 2010, 09:50 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 4 2010, 09:47 PM)
There is a card clipped on the foam when i bought. The brand is Foam Zone. It didn't mention about what the foam is called. you can ask for "foam sheet" or "foam card" or "eva foam"<< heard it in another forum and "craft foam".
only can get this in mid valley? another other bookshop got sell this?
capix
post May 4 2010, 09:55 PM

467 posts

hi... just get my 50mm+reverse ring..wanna ask if D90 body will spoil cause of the ring????
zellleonhart
post May 4 2010, 10:03 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 4 2010, 09:50 PM)
only can get this in mid valley? another other bookshop got sell this?
Quite rare lo, so far i went to some MPH and popular leisure mall also don't have. Art shop and some book store got sell.. ask them if you can't find.
edwardgsk
post May 4 2010, 10:14 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Borders, Popular and MPH should have gua. I got the same type of foam for my assignment last time at Sunway Pyramid. Got different colours one.
noobie1
post May 4 2010, 10:20 PM

2,538 posts

is this same material??
if it is,then i will going to make one myself...i just not sure about the material he use..
i think i saw those foam paper at puchong ioi mall..not sure izit the same..
post May 4 2010, 10:26 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

hey bros,
currently street price for SB-600 is how much ah ?
and also D90 body alone.

want to help nikon friend ask tongue.gif

btw the 18-105 VR lens very keng,
@105mm 1/40 the image sharp kao kao.
zellleonhart
post May 4 2010, 10:36 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 4 2010, 10:20 PM)
is this same material??
if it is,then i will going to make one myself...i just not sure about the material he use..
i think i saw those foam paper at puchong ioi mall..not sure izit the same..
Yea should be the same material. Looks just the same.
BaRT
post May 5 2010, 12:07 AM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

guys..
Im planning to get SB-600 soon..
may I know what is current price now?
selinix
post May 5 2010, 12:09 AM

7,343 posts

RM780 -800
wravez
post May 5 2010, 12:31 AM

58 posts

hey guys, now the polarising filter 77mm for hoya or kenko is how much? They said kenko and hoya is the same company, so they both have same quality. Is that true? And the ND filter get which brand better? and how much is it for now?
edwardgsk
post May 5 2010, 12:39 AM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

Ya, same company. And they have a lot of grades. Hoya Pro1 is better than those normal one and Hoya HD is the best grade.

ND filter got many good brands as well. Heliopan, Hoya and B+W also got. So far most popular out there is B+W if not mistaken, but of course it cost a lot.
wravez
post May 5 2010, 12:59 AM

58 posts

u know roughly how much for those?
fisherman10
post May 5 2010, 01:24 AM

1,372 posts

i think some of u were asking whether to use the sb900/sb800 original diffuser a few post back.

lemme give my 2 cents based on my experience. when in a hall and u're pointing the flash upwards to bounce from the ceiling, it's best not to use diffuser if u want even lighting with no shadows. using diffuser will send some light forward, causing the shadows.

however, the diffuser might help in diffusing the light a bit if u were to point it forward aka direct flash.
those demb flash diffuser works differently than the stock diffuser. the demb flash diffuser works by sending light upwards to bounce but also reflecting a bit forward to light ur subject. it gives ur subject a bit of brighter illumination and also some catch-light in the eyes.

any comments on this? right or wrong?
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 01:51 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(wravez @ May 5 2010, 12:59 AM)
u know roughly how much for those?
u can try check here or here for the price reference..
BaRT
post May 5 2010, 01:52 AM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ May 5 2010, 12:09 AM)
RM780 -800
duhh...thinking to get nissin instead..
selinix
post May 5 2010, 01:53 AM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ May 5 2010, 01:52 AM)
Support original tongue.gif
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 01:54 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ May 5 2010, 01:24 AM)
i think some of u were asking whether to use the sb900/sb800 original diffuser a few post back.

lemme give my 2 cents based on my experience. when in a hall and u're pointing the flash upwards to bounce from the ceiling, it's best not to use diffuser if u want even lighting with no shadows. using diffuser will send some light forward, causing the shadows.

however, the diffuser might help in diffusing the light a bit if u were to point it forward aka direct flash.
those demb flash diffuser works differently than the stock diffuser. the demb flash diffuser works by sending light upwards to bounce but also reflecting a bit forward to light ur subject. it gives ur subject a bit of brighter illumination and also some catch-light in the eyes.

quite similar with what i know so far..not dare say correct or not..coz i still new on flash light..

Added on May 5, 2010, 2:00 am
QUOTE(BaRT @ May 5 2010, 01:52 AM)
i think there are a few seller can sell at 750 or lower(lower a bit only)...
i would suggest get nikon too...but if u in urgent nid the speedlight and out of budget, then only get nissin,if not then save money for nikon..
nissin is ok but it lack some feature thou..i not reli sure about this ,just what i have heard..so i share..
get nikon u no nid to worry anything..

This post has been edited by noobie1: May 5 2010, 02:00 AM
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 06:44 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 5 2010, 12:39 AM)
Ya, same company. And they have a lot of grades. Hoya Pro1 is better than those normal one and Hoya HD is the best grade.

ND filter got many good brands as well. Heliopan, Hoya and B+W also got. So far most popular out there is B+W if not mistaken, but of course it cost a lot.
There's the HMC and Super HMC too biggrin.gif. Good stuffs as well thumbup.gif .

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ May 5 2010, 01:24 AM)

Yes, that is how the Demb works, you get catch light and nicely diffused light from the front through the diffuser.
KTCY
post May 5 2010, 07:32 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ May 5 2010, 01:53 AM)
Support original  tongue.gif
Nissin 866 even better than SB900 brows.gif
maxh3h3
post May 5 2010, 08:03 AM

753 posts

Support original   tongue.gif
i m using nissin di866 , u saying i surport cetak rompak vmad.gif
hehe, no need to compare to sb900 lar because its so much more expensive
di866 easily defeat sb600 with its price

Added on May 5, 2010, 8:07 am
QUOTE(KTCY @ May 5 2010, 07:32 AM)
Nissin 866 even better than SB900 brows.gif
well thats what DC magazine says rclxms.gif
but what can we complain by compairing the price of 1 sb900 for almost the price of 2 nissin di866 ?
Some people just wonder, does it means di866 not so yau yeng ? better buy sb600 look more yau yeng?
Just tell people that u can spend but try to spend wisely.
Money is always an issue, if no issue can buy without asking for discount lor doh.gif

This post has been edited by maxh3h3: May 5 2010, 08:07 AM
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 08:12 AM

14,037 posts

Di866 is worth the money spend thumbup.gif . Although I still prefer SB900 laugh.gif .
maxh3h3
post May 5 2010, 08:17 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 08:12 AM)
Di866 is worth the money spend  thumbup.gif . Although I still prefer SB900  laugh.gif .
I was thinking like u too last time but after consider liao, i go for nissin first
Maybe will get sb900 if i get serious with the CLS stuff because i need more than 2 flash in the future
for me, only those who go for brands would choose sb600 instead od di866
because both same price and different category ( Beginner/ Pro ) line

This post has been edited by maxh3h3: May 5 2010, 08:18 AM
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 08:20 AM

14,037 posts

My plan was to stick to SB900, and get another unit when the successor of SB900 is released (probably not so soon I guess).
maxh3h3
post May 5 2010, 08:25 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 08:20 AM)
My plan was to stick to SB900, and get another unit when the successor of SB900 is released (probably not so soon I guess).
oooo, sb900 price drop coming soon rclxms.gif
really wanna gather up for CLS outing ler , should be interesting
i never try to compare sb900 with di866 but people keep compairing it to the sb600 lol
should be nissin di622 vs Nikon SB600 and Nissin di866 vs Nikon SB900

SB means what ar?
SB = Semua Boleh hmm.gif
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 08:41 AM

2,538 posts

^ when is sb900 drop price?? lolx..kinda feel like i shudnt buy my flash so fast..lolx..
sb mean sui bian
TSSkyBlue99
post May 5 2010, 09:15 AM

1,952 posts

SN = Sky Blue
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 09:19 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ May 5 2010, 09:15 AM)
SN = Sky Blue
You meant SB? tongue.gif.

Who said price drop for SB900? blink.gif .
freddy manson
post May 5 2010, 09:34 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

Support original  tongue.gif
So... Nissin's not original?
It's the same as saying the same to lenses from Sigma, Tamron, Tokina, Samyang, etc etc

"Apa ada pada jenama, kalau gambar.. Habuk pun tarak?" flex.gif
General_Nic
post May 5 2010, 09:39 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 5 2010, 08:25 AM)
oooo, sb900 price drop coming soon  rclxms.gif
really wanna gather up for CLS outing ler , should be interesting
i never try to compare sb900 with di866 but people keep compairing it to the sb600 lol
should be nissin di622 vs Nikon SB600 and Nissin di866 vs Nikon SB900

SB means what ar?
SB = Semua Boleh  hmm.gif
they compare SB600 to Di866 coz of the similar price range mah
they want to noe shud get the less powerful n less function Nikon own brand is safer n more reliable
or get the on par with SB900 punya Di866 more worth n value for money
if performance of coz compare SB900 n Di866 la

i used to wish to have a SB600 in future to do CLS
but after reading d specs of Di866, now thk Di866 is seriously worth much more than its price thumbup.gif
but worry abt its slave mode function, heard that has some issue of difficult to trigger
maxh3h3, u tested your Di866 on slave b4?

btw, SB= Sure Best? tongue.gif
hackerzx
post May 5 2010, 10:59 AM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 4 2010, 05:41 PM)
u mean DCIM?

i say bounce card is more effective, thats y DFD is so popular  thumbup.gif
Yes. brows.gif
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 11:03 AM

712 posts

sb900 weather sealed ma brows.gif
if and only if using weather sealed camera and with water guard biggrin.gif
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 11:04 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 5 2010, 11:03 AM)
D300 and above, with the hot shoe protector ._. LOL~
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 11:08 AM

712 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 11:04 AM)
D300 and above, with the hot shoe protector ._. LOL~
i suppose nissin is not??
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 11:12 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 5 2010, 11:08 AM)
i suppose nissin is not??
No idea, didn't look much details on the Di866 since I bought SB900 already.
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 11:14 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 5 2010, 11:03 AM)
sb900 weather sealed meh?? i dint know that..
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 11:14 AM

712 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 5 2010, 11:14 AM)
sb900 weather sealed meh?? i dint know that..
but not on d90 tongue.gif
freddy manson
post May 5 2010, 11:28 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 5 2010, 09:39 AM)
but worry abt its slave mode function, heard that has some issue of difficult to trigger
maxh3h3, u tested your Di866 on slave b4?

btw, SB= Sure Best?  tongue.gif

I'd used it as slave alongside 2 SB900 and a SB800 (our CLS setup during shooting) and it never fails me. Not that hard to trigger as long as it's set to Group A (regardless of any channel)
Tried setting it to group B and it doesn't fires

Nissin Di866 for me~ it's FOR THE WIN!!!
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 11:31 AM

712 posts

picture spam smile.gif
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 11:33 AM

14,037 posts

Ahh, window seat. Nice... So far I didn't get any chance of sitting by the window after I got my DSLR sad.gif.
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 11:38 AM

712 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 11:33 AM)
Ahh, window seat. Nice... So far I didn't get any chance of sitting by the window after I got my DSLR sad.gif.
cant request for it? blink.gif i travel in groups so can swap sits with my friends tongue.gif
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 11:44 AM

14,037 posts

After I got my DSLR, my trips are all business trip. Company arrange one =/. And usually window seat is full >"<.
edwardgsk
post May 5 2010, 12:26 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

I haven seen anyone take picture of window seat from F-22 so far yet whistling.gif
Who want to be the 1st one laugh.gif
shadow111
post May 5 2010, 12:27 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 11:44 AM)
After I got my DSLR, my trips are all business trip. Company arrange one =/. And usually window seat is full >"<.
get close with yr company secretary and ask her to book window seat for you.. tongue.gif

isit taking photo in the flight allowed?
edwardgsk
post May 5 2010, 12:29 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

^Allow lah. No police enforcer will stop you from taking picture in the plane one lah.

Added on May 5, 2010, 12:30 pmGoing back to melaka now. Celciuz bro pm me your contact number, maybe i can call you out for yamcha at Melaka raya tongue.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: May 5 2010, 12:30 PM
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 12:34 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 5 2010, 12:26 PM)
I haven seen anyone take picture of window seat from F-22 so far yet whistling.gif
Who want to be the 1st one laugh.gif
i rather enjoy my flight biggrin.gif especially when the raptor breaks the sound barrier brows.gif

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 5 2010, 12:27 PM)
get close with yr company secretary and ask her to book window seat for you..  tongue.gif

isit taking photo in the flight allowed?
in flight is allowed but custom cant..
wen116
post May 5 2010, 01:55 PM

74 posts

haizzz still cant find a second hand d90 = =" second hand and new price different around?
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 02:08 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(wen116 @ May 5 2010, 01:55 PM)
haizzz still cant find a second hand d90 = =" second hand and new price different around?
d90 price dropped already, dun think too much just get 1 biggrin.gif
dun think there will b much different on the price for new and used set.
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 02:18 PM

14,037 posts

Just get a new one, well worth for the price biggrin.gif.

Searching high and low to 'employ' a Danbo mini for my full time model LOL~
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 02:19 PM

2,538 posts

^there is a boy and female danbo appear on pic a day thread...lolx..
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 02:26 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 5 2010, 02:19 PM)
^there is a boy and female danbo appear on pic a day thread...lolx..
I went to check and saw it. LOL. Creative, but too huge for me tongue.gif. I still like little danbo haha!
C_Sagi
post May 5 2010, 02:32 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

I'm curious, is a manual lens any good?
SUSmachinetosh
post May 5 2010, 02:35 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ May 5 2010, 02:32 PM)
I'm curious, is a manual lens any good?
worked the same bro but u hav to manual focus it thats all to it
wen116
post May 5 2010, 02:45 PM

74 posts

new one need wait for end of the month only got cash to buy XD... anyone having this problem? my fren bought a new d90 when he turn on the camera 1st picture will dark then second and continue all normal... this is normal or wat?
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 02:50 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(wen116 @ May 5 2010, 02:45 PM)
new one need wait for end of the month only got cash to buy XD... anyone having this problem? my fren bought a new d90 when he turn on the camera 1st picture will dark then second and continue all normal... this is normal or wat?
nope, not normal i guess hmm.gif
wen116
post May 5 2010, 02:51 PM

74 posts

should i ask him to go for warrenty?
only 5 days after buying~
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 02:55 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(wen116 @ May 5 2010, 02:51 PM)
should i ask him to go for warrenty?
only 5 days after buying~
same settings, same scene shoud produce the same image..
u sure the camera problem and not your friend?
wen116
post May 5 2010, 02:58 PM

74 posts

lol i dunno yet need to go test it~ cause he wanna to sell it off cheap XD planning to buy it but dunno the problem big or not ~
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 02:59 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(wen116 @ May 5 2010, 02:58 PM)
lol i dunno yet need to go test it~ cause he wanna to sell it off cheap XD planning to buy it but dunno the problem big or not ~
sweat.gif 5 days old sell alrdy?
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 03:00 PM

2,538 posts

better confirm is this is camera fault or ur friend dont know how to use D90...lolx..
C_Sagi
post May 5 2010, 03:01 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 02:18 PM)
Just get a new one, well worth for the price biggrin.gif.

Searching high and low to 'employ' a Danbo mini for my full time model LOL~
Why not just buy 1 ? tongue.gif
shadow111
post May 5 2010, 03:05 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(wen116 @ May 5 2010, 02:45 PM)
maybe he set the bracketing on.
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 03:11 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ May 5 2010, 03:01 PM)
Why not just buy 1 ? tongue.gif
'Employ' -> buy haha! Placed my order, hopefully I can get it by tomorrow biggrin.gif.
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 03:17 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 03:11 PM)
'Employ' -> buy haha! Placed my order, hopefully I can get it by tomorrow biggrin.gif.
wow thats fast, order today 2moro can get edi rolleyes.gif
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 03:19 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 5 2010, 03:17 PM)
wow thats fast, order today 2moro can get edi rolleyes.gif
Seller has stock in hand, so I banked it in just now. Most likely sending out by today so I should receive it by tomorrow brows.gif . Happy~ new things to try with photography.
C_Sagi
post May 5 2010, 03:24 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 03:19 PM)
Seller has stock in hand, so I banked it in just now. Most likely sending out by today so I should receive it by tomorrow  brows.gif . Happy~ new things to try with photography.
How much u pay including shipping.
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 03:27 PM

14,037 posts

I got it for RM87 inclusive of postage. Good deal I reckon, he's the only guy with stock now at LYN anyways.
C_Sagi
post May 5 2010, 03:29 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 03:27 PM)
I got it for RM87 inclusive of postage. Good deal I reckon, he's the only guy with stock now at LYN anyways.
Not bad.... i'm a cheapstake, I ordered one for RM50 but need to wait 20 days before arrive cause i use the cheapest shipping method. ><

This post has been edited by C_Sagi: May 5 2010, 03:30 PM
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 03:30 PM

2,538 posts

lolx..another version danbo appear at pic a day...DIY danbo...tongue.gif
shadow111
post May 5 2010, 03:33 PM

3,140 posts

out of topic.. juz curious, what so special about danbo?

This post has been edited by shadow111: May 5 2010, 03:33 PM
C_Sagi
post May 5 2010, 03:38 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 5 2010, 03:33 PM)
Cute?
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 03:38 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ May 5 2010, 03:29 PM)
Not bad.... i'm a cheapstake, I ordered one for RM50 but need to wait 20 days before arrive cause i use the cheapest shipping method. ><
cheapskate? nvm, as long as it arrives biggrin.gif

Added on May 5, 2010, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 5 2010, 03:33 PM)
i wana know also smile.gif

This post has been edited by CANONPIXMA: May 5 2010, 03:39 PM
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 03:41 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ May 5 2010, 03:29 PM)
I don't mind waiting for 20 days if it is RM50! =/. I don't know how to order myself so.. my best bet is to get it from someone who has them on hand.
pedagang
post May 5 2010, 04:57 PM

41 posts

hahaha

this is my flash really really cheap

http://speedlights.net/2010/03/21/yongnuo-yn465/

http://speedlights.net/2010/05/03/yongnuo-...5-i-ttl-review/

read it for review (not my review) , but that what is I read before get it

1 SB900 can buy 4 flash plus wireless trigger

"Tak salahkan pakai kasut GOMBAK"

C_Sagi
post May 5 2010, 05:05 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 03:41 PM)
I don't mind waiting for 20 days if it is RM50! =/. I don't know how to order myself so.. my best bet is to get it from someone who has them on hand.
Yup, same here. I was planning to order from lyn members too but lucky found it on my 2nd day search in the world wide web. tongue.gif
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 05:12 PM

712 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ May 5 2010, 05:05 PM)
Yup, same here. I was planning to order from lyn members too but lucky found it on my 2nd day search in the world wide web. tongue.gif
mind to share where u ordered yours?? in case i get a danbo tongue.gif
bad melatonin
post May 5 2010, 05:34 PM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 5 2010, 05:12 PM)

i will DIY myself a danbo using an A4 paper box & i will call it "danA4"... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bad melatonin: May 5 2010, 05:35 PM
CANONPIXMA
post May 5 2010, 05:42 PM

712 posts

guys, any1 here using nikon mbd80 and having problem tat it will loose?? need to tighten it after some time.. hmm.gif
C_Sagi
post May 5 2010, 05:47 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ May 5 2010, 05:12 PM)
Forgot the address. I saved on my home pc. Will let u know when i get back from work.
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 05:48 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(pedagang @ May 5 2010, 04:57 PM)

hahaha

this is my flash really really cheap

http://speedlights.net/2010/03/21/yongnuo-yn465/

http://speedlights.net/2010/05/03/yongnuo-...5-i-ttl-review/

read it for review (not my review) , but that what is I read before get it
1 SB900 can buy 4 flash plus wireless trigger

"Tak salahkan pakai kasut GOMBAK"

there is no wrong if u dun wan buy nikon...but what u pay is what u get..
if you have the money for lambo,why u wanna buy kancil??(just an example)

C_Sagi
post May 5 2010, 05:57 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 5 2010, 05:48 PM)
there is no wrong if u dun wan buy nikon...but what u pay is what u get..
if you have the money for lambo,why u wanna buy kancil??(just an example)
Kancil can masuk tight space ? (sorry, couldnt resist notworthy.gif)
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 06:11 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ May 5 2010, 05:57 PM)
Kancil can masuk tight space ? (sorry, couldnt resist notworthy.gif)
but kancil cant run fast right?? there is always pro and con in a product.. in this case,quite similar to nikon and 3rd party..
nikon can choose the power and zoom..while 3rd party cant right??(i knw 3rd party can choose power,but can u know which is which??sorry but i dun know much about 3rd party flash, all i know is the 3rd party flash only got the light for power but it doesn't indicate which light is for which power)
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 06:13 PM

14,037 posts

Di866 a bit different I think, colorful LCD there tongue.gif. Thought I don't like it as the screen is a bit small and hard to read compared to the black and white from SB900.
maxh3h3
post May 5 2010, 06:28 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 06:13 PM)
Di866 a bit different I think, colorful LCD there tongue.gif. Thought I don't like it as the screen is a bit small and hard to read compared to the black and white from SB900.
same case with me ler because i never really use sb900 before so i ll consider sb900 harder to use
and find di866 easier because i have it and done raping it drool.gif
dont compare kancil and lambo lar,
try compare Toyota vios and Proton Waja smile.gif
Waja still offer what vios offer with a cheaper price and lower quality of course sweat.gif
BaRT
post May 5 2010, 08:22 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 5 2010, 01:54 AM)
i think there are a few seller can sell at 750 or lower(lower a bit only)...
i would suggest get nikon too...but if u in urgent nid the speedlight and out of budget, then only get nissin,if not then save money for nikon..
nissin is ok but it lack some feature thou..i not reli sure about this ,just what i have heard..so i share..
get nikon u no nid to worry anything..
thanx for the advice..
the budget is not as issue for me...
I just thinking value for money...
Im not a pro photographer...just suka2....
some said nissin is value for money in term of function, etc

noobie1
post May 5 2010, 08:42 PM

2,538 posts

^well,if no budget limit,then i would recommend go for nikon..
i dint use nissin before..so i cant comment much..u can try ask maxhehe about nissin...
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 08:45 PM

14,037 posts

Nissin is definitely way to go if you're looking for the best deal, but if budget is not an issue go for SB900.
zellleonhart
post May 5 2010, 08:52 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Hmm nissin di866 is just about rm750+?
That's cheap if like that. Can it become a master commander flash like SB900?
noobie1
post May 5 2010, 09:19 PM

2,538 posts

^they said the function same as sb900..so i guess can gua..
selinix
post May 5 2010, 09:53 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ May 5 2010, 08:22 PM)
thanx for the advice..
the budget is not as issue for me...
I just thinking value for money...
Im not a pro photographer...just suka2....
some said nissin is value for money in term of function, etc
If budget is not an issue. I think just go for SB900? is the best you can get out there...
freddy manson
post May 5 2010, 10:34 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 5 2010, 08:52 PM)
Hmm nissin di866 is just about rm750+?
That's cheap if like that. Can it become a master commander flash like SB900?
yup..
i can even trigger SB900 when using Di866 in Master Mode (Wireless)

rclxm9.gif he he rumors saying SB900 gona have replacement model coming out soon, not that real lah..
no hype from the Nikonians..
zellleonhart
post May 5 2010, 10:37 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

You mean sb600 replacement is it? sb900 quite new wor...
BaRT
post May 5 2010, 10:47 PM

-Retired MOD-
2,163 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ May 5 2010, 09:53 PM)
If budget is not an issue. I think just go for SB900? is the best you can get out there...
sorry..I mean budget is not an issue but still the range is up to SB600 sweat.gif
either SB600 or Nissin...
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 10:52 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ May 5 2010, 10:47 PM)
sorry..I mean budget is not an issue but still the range is up to SB600 sweat.gif
either SB600 or Nissin...
Then Di866, no debate over it already. Much more features and powerful compared to SB600.

It is like buying Acer laptop versus buying a Sony Vaio or something. Price to performance ratio still Di866 rocks over the SB600.
zellleonhart
post May 5 2010, 11:00 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

But if you plan to play CLS in the future then i think getting SB600 better. cuz di866 i heard if it becomes a slave flash there are some misfires and need to be in sight of the camera. But di866 is a great commander flash, but not slave flash.
freddy manson
post May 5 2010, 11:07 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

as i posted in the D40 thread..
my Di866 can only fires when its in the Group A.. dont matter what channel it is..
change to Group B and it wont fires..

and yes, it have to be in line with the transmitter (camera body) because the sensor can detect it from the front only.. :sigh:
General_Nic
post May 5 2010, 11:09 PM

3,508 posts

but if want/nid 4 SB900's similar powered flash, Di866 is d choice brows.gif
unless can afford another 4 SB900 la laugh.gif

btw, IINM, unlike SB900 which can control max 4 flash units only
SU800 can control up to 16 thumbup.gif

Added on May 5, 2010, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 5 2010, 11:07 PM)
as i posted in the D40 thread..
my Di866 can only fires when its in the Group A.. dont matter what channel it is..
change to Group B and it wont fires..

and yes, it have to be in line with the transmitter (camera body) because the sensor can detect it from the front only.. :sigh:
i thk dats d slave issues i heard

This post has been edited by General_Nic: May 5 2010, 11:10 PM
celciuz
post May 5 2010, 11:13 PM

14,037 posts

I thought SB900 can control 3 groups, SU800 probably 4 groups? Didn't know there was a max amount of flash wor? My friend triggered 6 SB900 together on D300 before anyways, but all using same channel and group for TTL.
zellleonhart
post May 5 2010, 11:13 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

That will hold me back from getting di866 in the future because like di622, it needs to be in line with the camera body. But then di622 has firmware upgrade so that it can be radio triggered, but i dunno why di866 cannot.

Anyway, di866 has a plastic mount and the screen too small... but it's almost half price of a sb900 tongue.gif
General_Nic
post May 5 2010, 11:18 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 5 2010, 11:13 PM)
I thought SB900 can control 3 groups, SU800 probably 4 groups? Didn't know there was a max amount of flash wor? My friend triggered 6 SB900 together on D300 before anyways, but all using same channel and group for TTL.
im not sure, mayb SB900 max is 8 flash units?

*searching for SB900 manual now tongue.gif

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 5 2010, 11:13 PM)
That will hold me back from getting di866 in the future because like di622, it needs to be in line with the camera body. But then di622 has firmware upgrade so that it can be radio triggered, but i dunno why di866 cannot.

Anyway, di866 has a plastic mount and the screen too small... but it's almost half price of a sb900 tongue.gif
the in line thingy, i dunno issit the same with SB900?
for SB900 to be slave u nid have the IR receiver facing the cam too

This post has been edited by General_Nic: May 5 2010, 11:19 PM
maxh3h3
post May 5 2010, 11:29 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 5 2010, 11:18 PM)
im not sure, mayb SB900 max is 8 flash units?

*searching for SB900 manual now  tongue.gif
the in line thingy, i dunno issit the same with SB900?
for SB900 to be slave u nid have the IR receiver facing the cam too
i use to have alot of problem using my d80 as commander and di866 as the slave
Alot of misfired but when i got my d90 liao, i have never misfire any shot so far
maybe my d80 commander mode not sensitive, because i tried shoot without the IR facing my d90
maumau
post May 6 2010, 12:01 AM

346 posts

wow.. everyone talking bout flash...

juz bought my SB9 1 week ago.... no regret..

zellleonhart
post May 6 2010, 12:06 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

No sb900 no need face the IR *provided your camera is using commander flash, not just normal pop up flash*

cuz sb600 also no need face IR on my fren's D80. the sb600 can be triggered even though it's about one room away (with both doors opened) and behind the camera.

Nic, time to get a SU800 or a body with commander flash brows.gif
noobie1
post May 6 2010, 12:10 AM

2,538 posts

how to make sb900 to be slave?? set it to remote?? or what??
zellleonhart
post May 6 2010, 12:13 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

I dunno how to use nikon flashguns cuz i don't have one XD
noobie1
post May 6 2010, 12:24 AM

2,538 posts

^save money to get one..tongue.gif u wont regret afterward..
zellleonhart
post May 6 2010, 12:26 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

no no i will be using di622 until i kena toto. Going to upgrade firmware to enable radio trigger, so i don't need nikon flash at the moment. Di622 is satisfying me enough since it have strong output (more powerful than sb600), cheap, easy to swivel (no need press button like sb600), looks big XD, easy to use and later after upgrade can trigger using the commander.

no need upgrade =D
djazmy
post May 6 2010, 12:29 AM

89 posts

going to buy di622 soon.. is it good enough for wedding pictures indoor?
zellleonhart
post May 6 2010, 12:38 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 6 2010, 12:29 AM)
going to buy di622 soon.. is it good enough for wedding pictures indoor?
Yes provided you are good at controlling the flash so that it will not be too harsh and yet not underexposed.
You still need a fast lens though =D
djazmy
post May 6 2010, 12:40 AM

89 posts

50mm 1.8d good enough? lol
General_Nic
post May 6 2010, 12:43 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 5 2010, 11:29 PM)
i use to have alot of problem using my d80 as commander and di866 as the slave
Alot of misfired but when i got my d90 liao, i have never misfire any shot so far
maybe my d80 commander mode not sensitive, because i tried shoot without the IR facing my d90
ic, but i heard a lot ppl have trouble triggering SB900/SB600 slave when there's strong light
experienced b4?

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 6 2010, 12:06 AM)
No sb900 no need face the IR *provided your camera is using commander flash, not just normal pop up flash*

cuz sb600 also no need face IR on my fren's D80. the sb600 can be triggered even though it's about one room away (with both doors opened) and behind the camera.

Nic, time to get a SU800 or a body with commander flash brows.gif
lolz, now your turn to poison me body with built-in commander ar? laugh.gif
nvm, currently still happy with jz body mounted flash, prefer get better lenses 1st tongue.gif

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 6 2010, 12:10 AM)
how to make sb900 to be slave?? set it to remote?? or what??
yupe, turn d dial to remote, then set the group n channel

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 6 2010, 12:40 AM)
good for portrait n candid shots, but when group shots u'll have trouble tongue.gif
zellleonhart
post May 6 2010, 12:47 AM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

No lah, strobist isn't really important in your range of photography. I need lah cuz i shoot more close ups (not macro) like figures. 50mm f1.8 will be my next haul =S

BTW i m going to get my bagman L size slingbag this week... Can't get 7MDH, too expensive sad.gif
djazmy
post May 6 2010, 12:51 AM

89 posts

will get my 50mm 1.8f lens tomorrow hopefully... and i got my cheap pro288 tripod today.. good enough for me..
noobie1
post May 6 2010, 12:51 AM

2,538 posts

then what is different btw slave,remote,wireless trigger and optical trigger??
just different name??
General_Nic
post May 6 2010, 12:56 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 6 2010, 12:47 AM)
No lah, strobist isn't really important in your range of photography. I need lah cuz i shoot more close ups (not macro) like figures. 50mm f1.8 will be my next haul =S

BTW i m going to get my bagman L size slingbag this week... Can't get 7MDH, too expensive sad.gif
close ups? u'll want THIS tongue.gif

where u getting your Bagman?
i want oso but i only noe online selling, dunno which shop got sell
price? can ask if buy 2 together got cheaper? tongue.gif

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 6 2010, 12:51 AM)
then what is different btw slave,remote,wireless trigger and optical trigger??
just different name??
'slave' is the flash when in remote mode, 'remote' is the mode the flash is in
wireless trigger is the stuff that flash mount on n trigger in normal mode
optical trigger means triggered by other flash
TSSkyBlue99
post May 6 2010, 07:35 AM

1,952 posts

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 6 2010, 12:40 AM)
Bold choice u dare challenge yourself biggrin.gif gonna make u work hard on composition
noobie1
post May 6 2010, 08:04 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 6 2010, 12:56 AM)
'slave' is the flash when in remote mode, 'remote' is the mode the flash is in
wireless trigger is the stuff that flash mount on n trigger in normal mode
optical trigger means triggered by other flash
then can D90 wireless trigger sb900 alone??(i mean with no xtra device such as sb800 those..)
cant right??
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 08:15 AM

14,037 posts

A lot of people mistake how the CLS systems works for the body commander, basically wireless radio data is send for TTL info, triggered by optical. Without the radio signal, the flash won't trigger at all.
noobie1
post May 6 2010, 08:27 AM

2,538 posts

^i am confuse now..are you trying to say that when sb900 is remote,and we use D90 body commander to trigger, it's actually trigger by wireless and optical??
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 08:30 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ May 6 2010, 08:27 AM)
^i am confuse now..are you trying to say that when sb900 is remote,and we use D90 body commander to trigger, it's actually trigger by wireless and optical??
Yes, you need both wireless and optical to trigger the CLS mode. If you put wrong channel and group, your SB900 won't at all even with flash triggering it.

FTANEY
post May 6 2010, 09:05 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 6 2010, 12:26 AM)
no no i will be using di622 until i kena toto. Going to upgrade firmware to enable radio trigger, so i don't need nikon flash at the moment. Di622 is satisfying me enough since it have strong output (more powerful than sb600), cheap, easy to swivel (no need press button like sb600), looks big XD, easy to use and later after upgrade can trigger using the commander.

no need upgrade =D
Where we can do the firmware upgrade?
capix
post May 6 2010, 09:16 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 6 2010, 12:51 AM)
will get my 50mm 1.8f lens tomorrow hopefully... and i got my cheap pro288 tripod today.. good enough for me..
how much the tripod bro?
bad melatonin
post May 6 2010, 10:05 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 08:30 AM)
Yes, you need both wireless and optical to trigger the CLS mode. If you put wrong channel and group, your SB900 won't at all even with flash triggering it.

does D90 hv d ability to trigger SB900 via wireless/radio mode?

celciuz
post May 6 2010, 10:06 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ May 6 2010, 10:05 AM)
does D90 hv d ability to trigger SB900 via wireless/radio mode?
If you mean just radio signal alone, no. It will need radio for TTL and flash as optical trigger.
bad melatonin
post May 6 2010, 11:08 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 10:06 AM)
If you mean just radio signal alone, no. It will need radio for TTL and flash as optical trigger.

oic... so for my case i'll be needing SU-800 in order for TTL.. hmm.gif is dat rite?

noobie1
post May 6 2010, 11:16 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 08:30 AM)
oic..all this long i thought either one mode would be enough to trigger...my bad..

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ May 6 2010, 11:08 AM)
oic... so for my case i'll be needing SU-800 in order for TTL.. hmm.gif  is dat rite?
if u can afford to get su-800,y not get 2nd hand sb800/900(let them be master to trigger ur slave)??
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 11:16 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ May 6 2010, 11:08 AM)
oic... so for my case i'll be needing SU-800 in order for TTL.. hmm.gif  is dat rite?
SU-800, another commander flash like SB-900 or maybe those pocket wizard type of devices.
freddy manson
post May 6 2010, 11:21 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

so far I'm using:
1x Di866
2x SB900
1x SB800

All triggered using pop up flash from D90
The usual setup is:
Di866 on the umbrella
1 SB900 in the softbox
The other SB900 + SB800 is used behind white linen as backlight

This is how I do portrait/CLS photos so far

Maybe if I add more flash then need wireless trigger later~
djazmy
post May 6 2010, 11:23 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(capix @ May 6 2010, 09:16 AM)
how much the tripod bro?
got it for only RM150 from gstrapinuse
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 11:23 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 6 2010, 11:21 AM)
so far I'm using:
1x Di866
2x SB900
1x SB800

All triggered using pop up flash from D90
The usual setup is:
Di866 on the umbrella
1 SB900 in the softbox
The other SB900 + SB800 is used behind white linen as backlight

This is how I do portrait/CLS photos so far

Maybe if I add more flash then need wireless trigger later~
Don't need commander, your D90 will trigger them fine. Unless you need more groups lah that is. But if 2 groups only D90 is ok, if 3 groups then you need one of your SB900 as the commander.
bad melatonin
post May 6 2010, 11:36 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 11:16 AM)
SU-800, another commander flash like SB-900 or maybe those pocket wizard type of devices.

i guess i'll opt for SB-900 1st since i got no speedlight... blush.gif

This post has been edited by bad melatonin: May 6 2010, 11:36 AM
freddy manson
post May 6 2010, 11:47 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

Pocket Wizard will burn a hole in the pocket haha even more expensive than SU800 ):

Yah so far I'm using only 2 groups. In the future if I'm planning on going more specific then maybe gona need those wireless triggers lah

But for now, controlling 2 groups is enuff la I think

BTW, I use Di866 as my main flash (:
In love with the power so much hehehe
C_Sagi
post May 6 2010, 12:34 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

Can anyone recommend me some good shop in lowyat plaza or do i have to ask every shops in there ?Or if any with prices that can let me view online would be even better. Thanks.
shadow111
post May 6 2010, 12:56 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ May 6 2010, 12:34 PM)
Can anyone recommend me some good shop in lowyat plaza or do i have to ask every shops in there ?Or if any with prices that can let me view online would be even better. Thanks.
for online purchase.. http://www.shashinki.com/
C_Sagi
post May 6 2010, 01:01 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 6 2010, 12:56 PM)
for online purchase.. http://www.shashinki.com/
Nah, i only use that for guideline cause local price will usually be cheaper. Thanks smile.gif
oyama
post May 6 2010, 01:50 PM

925 posts

can anyone explain what is AP set for dslr? means outside warranty? saw one of the seller here selling d90 AP set..it a lot cheaper with 18-200.. thanks!~

This post has been edited by oyama: May 6 2010, 02:01 PM
djazmy
post May 6 2010, 02:00 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ May 6 2010, 01:01 PM)
Nah, i only use that for guideline cause local price will usually be cheaper. Thanks smile.gif
can ask the forumer here gstrapinuse and mitmivec.. they usually sell cheaper
selinix
post May 6 2010, 02:03 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ May 6 2010, 01:50 PM)
can anyone explain what is AP set for dslr? means outside warranty? saw one of the seller here selling d90 AP set..it a lot cheaper with 18-200.. thanks!~
Guess those are called grey set which is brought in from other countries. The warranty is not cover by Nikon Malaysia
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 02:06 PM

14,037 posts

I think that unit probably coming in from Hong Kong. The Nikon stuffs there are cheap!
busyman
post May 6 2010, 02:15 PM

1,465 posts

wanna ask tat

D90 bag is leather 1??

how it look?

can any1 upload some photo here?

i saw 1 man take it n it look nice, leather 1, but i did not see d inside n duno if it tough enough..

selinix
post May 6 2010, 02:20 PM

7,343 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ May 6 2010, 02:15 PM)
wanna ask tat

D90 bag is leather 1??

how it look?

can any1 upload some photo here?

i saw 1 man take it n it look nice, leather 1, but i did not see d inside n duno if it tough enough..
No is not leather.. never seen a leather one before and I doubt those came bundle with D90 is leather..
busyman
post May 6 2010, 02:31 PM

1,465 posts

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2033657

http://forums.vr-zone.com/cameras-garage/5...camera-bag.html

tis 1 ..

d leather bag...

This post has been edited by busyman: May 6 2010, 02:35 PM
Cannibal
post May 6 2010, 03:04 PM

287 posts

buying flash for my d90.. thinking either Di866 or SB600. is there any feature missing if i use Di866?
marsupilami
post May 6 2010, 03:23 PM

313 posts

okay guise,

i just bought a d90 coz of the price lol

but WB got serious issue i think.u guys experience it also?

Added on May 6, 2010, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(Cannibal @ May 6 2010, 03:04 PM)
buying flash for my d90.. thinking either Di866 or SB600. is there any feature missing if i use Di866?
actually, the di866 packed more features than the sb600

This post has been edited by marsupilami: May 6 2010, 03:24 PM
oyama
post May 6 2010, 03:26 PM

925 posts

QUOTE(selinix @ May 6 2010, 03:03 PM)
Guess those are called grey set which is brought in from other countries. The warranty is not cover by Nikon Malaysia
QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 03:06 PM)
I think that unit probably coming in from Hong Kong. The Nikon stuffs there are cheap!
ouh..thanks!~ really damn cheap..with 18-200 some more.. just afraid one day need to be repair/services..make big hole inside ur pocket then.. laugh.gif
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 03:27 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 6 2010, 03:23 PM)
okay guise,

What issue are you facing with the WB?
Cannibal
post May 6 2010, 03:27 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 6 2010, 03:23 PM)
okay guise,

this is my first camera i dont know whether its WB got issue ornot.. i just always have hard time adjusting WB
marsupilami
post May 6 2010, 03:31 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 03:27 PM)
What issue are you facing with the WB?
normally when shooting indoor using f1.8 0r f2.8 with fluorescent light, the color become yellowish at certain location.and its looks kinda ugly tho

Added on May 6, 2010, 3:31 pm
QUOTE(Cannibal @ May 6 2010, 03:27 PM)
this is my first camera i dont know whether its WB got issue ornot.. i just always have hard time adjusting WB
what lens u using?
what do you mean by hard time adjusting WB?

This post has been edited by marsupilami: May 6 2010, 03:31 PM
C_Sagi
post May 6 2010, 03:34 PM

Wooooo~ \m/
511 posts

QUOTE(djazmy @ May 6 2010, 02:00 PM)
can ask the forumer here gstrapinuse and mitmivec.. they usually sell cheaper
Ok, thanks.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 03:34 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 6 2010, 03:31 PM)
normally when shooting indoor using f1.8 0r f2.8 with fluorescent light, the color become yellowish at certain location.and its looks kinda ugly tho

what lens u using?
Without flash or with flash? I know my D90 don't detect tungsten well, I usually do PRE or K settings for WB.
Cannibal
post May 6 2010, 03:38 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 6 2010, 03:31 PM)

what lens u using?
i use kit lens

fluorescent setting doesn't look real under fluorescent light. maybe i noob
marsupilami
post May 6 2010, 03:41 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 03:34 PM)
Without flash or with flash? I know my D90 don't detect tungsten well, I usually do PRE or K settings for WB.
w/out flash, i set it at auto WB, the yellowish color appear only on certain location,
i tried to use other setting as well but my d80 auto WB on same settings didn't produce that result

QUOTE(Cannibal @ May 6 2010, 03:38 PM)
i use kit lens

it's kinda blueish?
i set -1 for WB since the original images kinda blueish, i am up for warmer color
shadow111
post May 6 2010, 03:42 PM

3,140 posts

QUOTE(Cannibal @ May 6 2010, 03:38 PM)
i use kit lens

hv u try Auto?
Cannibal
post May 6 2010, 03:48 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 6 2010, 03:41 PM)
w/out flash, i set it at auto WB, the yellowish color appear only on certain location,
i tried to use other setting as well but my d80 auto WB on same settings didn't produce that result
it's kinda blueish?
i set -1 for WB since the original images kinda blueish, i am up for warmer color
i set to -max still bluish.

QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 6 2010, 03:42 PM)
hv u try Auto?
in the end i use flash WB and sometimes Auto. fluorescent setting totally unusable

This post has been edited by Cannibal: May 6 2010, 03:50 PM
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 03:52 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(marsupilami @ May 6 2010, 03:41 PM)
it's kinda blueish?
I guess the lighting isn't that even and quite harsh. Try using the PRE method to meter any white surface.
marsupilami
post May 6 2010, 03:55 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 03:52 PM)
I guess the lighting isn't that even and quite harsh. Try using the PRE method to meter any white surface.
hmm.gif maybe need to test this,
never use PRE before, maybe i can try, i think its getting confused the subject with white background
maxh3h3
post May 6 2010, 06:27 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 03:52 PM)
k is easier than pre for me smile.gif
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 06:37 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ May 6 2010, 06:27 PM)
k is easier than pre for me smile.gif
Self preference bro, some might like K, some might like PRE. For me PRE is more accurate, least trial and error too.

Balanced nicely for my subject, but the yellow spotlight is harsh at the back, impossible to balance both. Used warm color gel on my SB900 to balance with the spotlight as well.

This post has been edited by celciuz: May 6 2010, 06:39 PM
zellleonhart
post May 6 2010, 08:19 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ May 6 2010, 12:56 AM)
close ups? u'll want THIS  tongue.gif

where u getting your Bagman?
i want oso but i only noe online selling, dunno which shop got sell
price? can ask if buy 2 together got cheaper?  tongue.gif
I am getting from shlow1819 in garage sales. Search for bagman and shlow1819 and u can find his thread.
He's a digitalsmania shop reseller. so u can get bagman at digitalsmania too.

QUOTE(FTANEY @ May 6 2010, 09:05 AM)
Where we can do the firmware upgrade?
Wisma techna, it's the distributer's building (schimdt marketing). Need to make appointment before u go. i not sure the number yet.
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 08:21 PM

14,037 posts

Gah, just now arrived home thinking my Danbo arrived together, mana tau only see my credit card bill waiting for me dry.gif.

Can't wait to try shooting with a toy hehe.
zellleonhart
post May 6 2010, 08:29 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 08:21 PM)
Gah, just now arrived home thinking my Danbo arrived together, mana tau only see my credit card bill waiting for me dry.gif.

Can't wait to try shooting with a toy hehe.
lol try not to buy everything with credit card, you will suffer later XD

Danbo is cute but the quality not that good, the surface can scratches easily (definitely will scratch even though u take very good care of it)...
If scratched and if you use direct flash towards its face, the scratches are very visible... Good luck =D
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 08:56 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ May 6 2010, 08:29 PM)
lol try not to buy everything with credit card, you will suffer later XD

Danbo is cute but the quality not that good, the surface can scratches easily (definitely will scratch even though u take very good care of it)...
If scratched and if you use direct flash towards its face, the scratches are very visible... Good luck =D
Aiyo, then it becomes like doing portrait PP it away smile.gif.
zellleonhart
post May 6 2010, 08:58 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ May 6 2010, 08:56 PM)
Aiyo, then it becomes like doing portrait PP it away smile.gif.
yea sometimes need PP its face. But if you got correct angle you can't see the scratches.
freddy manson
post May 6 2010, 09:35 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

^ so that's a good way to learn portrait shooting.. kan?
celciuz
post May 6 2010, 09:42 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ May 6 2010, 09:35 PM)
^ so that's a good way to learn portrait shooting.. kan?
Haha, good practice mah, especially when you got no real models to take pics, practice with a toy xD. Will pose for you as long as you like and anyhow you like lol~
zellleonhart
post May 6 2010, 10:00 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

But portrait is a different story lol. Cuz shooting danbo is at close range, flash can be bounced easily and get good exposure. but portrait is different sweat.gif

And danbo is not moving and will keep staring at you if you want!
KTCY
post May 6 2010, 10:22 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

UnCLeBaNaNa2
post May 6 2010, 10:39 PM

26 posts

I think my 50mm F/1.8D lens is having a problem |:

Looks like 3 (or more) of my aperture blades are not opening fully at F/1.8. Hence the uneven shaped bokeh. :|

This post has been edited by UnCLeBaNaNa2: May 6 2010, 10:39 PM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1593sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:38 AM