QUOTE(leng2 @ May 8 2010, 12:08 PM)
no control lag oLenovo ideapad Y460/Y560 Thread, Gaming nerd in a business package
Lenovo ideapad Y460/Y560 Thread, Gaming nerd in a business package
May 8 2010, 12:12 PM
4,631 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
May 8 2010, 12:18 PM
603 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
May 8 2010, 01:11 PM
9,692 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Mongrel Isle |
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 8 2010, 11:51 AM) Both 80GB X-25M and 64GB Kingston SSD Now+ are the good SSD. I have both. x-25M in my 5745G and Kingston in my netbook. x-25M has the fastest read speed. Kingston SSD+ is slightly slower but it has balance performance in both read/write. |
May 8 2010, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(leng2 @ May 8 2010, 12:18 PM) i using nub brand nia, cheapest in the market i think. forget the name d @@but just bought another one, logitech one, cheapest version too. haha. gona get another 1 soon QUOTE(ALeUNe @ May 8 2010, 01:11 PM) Both 80GB X-25M and 64GB Kingston SSD Now+ are the good SSD. i see....thanks I have both. x-25M in my 5745G and Kingston in my netbook. x-25M has the fastest read speed. Kingston SSD+ is slightly slower but it has balance performance in both read/write. gona consider liao |
May 8 2010, 02:11 PM
1,793 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: UC Berkeley |
wow..this ssd seems like a great deal. what is the price market now? oh and do u guys know any free softwares to recover deleted files
May 8 2010, 02:14 PM
19 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
I just booked the Y460 and paid the deposit for the RM 3599 version. I was planning to get the SXPS 16 with ATI 5730 but I don't want to play the waiting game forever. Y460 is the only laptop readily available locally with ATI 5650. Other laptops like ASUS or 4820tg Acer are either out of stock or only have the ATI 5450 option.
I tried to find reviews of this laptop online but so far I can only find news listing about Y460. Thus I relied mostly on this forum thread to know more about this laptop. From what I gather, Y460 runs hot but if I use a laptop cooler, it should be fine. Will there be throttling issues like the SXPS when the cpu goes above 80C? Lastly, I heard that dx11 games run faster than dx10. However a lot of times, I heard low to mid end cards like 5450 and 5650 are unable to use dx11 though on paper they can. I'm confused by these two seemingly contradictory statements. Could an expert enlighten me please? Thanks. This post has been edited by TealTurino: May 8 2010, 03:34 PM |
May 8 2010, 02:24 PM
7,558 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: HornBill Borneo |
QUOTE(TealTurino @ May 8 2010, 02:14 PM) I just booked the Y460 and paid the deposit for the RM 5599 version. I was planning to get the SXPS 16 with ATI 5730 but I don't want to play the waiting game forever. Y460 is the only laptop readily available locally with ATI 5650. Other laptops like ASUS or 4820tg Acer are either out of stock or only have the ATI 5450 option. Care to list down the spec for this Y460 @RM5599 I tried to find reviews of this laptop online but so far I can only find news listing about Y460. Thus I relied mostly on this forum thread to know more about this laptop. From what I gather, Y460 runs hot but if I use a laptop cooler, it should be fine. Will there be throttling issues like the SXPS when the cpu goes above 80C? Lastly, I heard that dx11 games run faster than dx10. However a lot of times, I heard low to mid end cards like 5450 and 5650 are unable to use dx11 though on paper they can. I'm confused by these two seemingly contradictory statements. Could an expert enlighten me please? Thanks. |
May 8 2010, 02:43 PM
8 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: KL |
QUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 8 2010, 10:03 AM) @Mie131085 hi . . . i having the same problem as mie 131085 it seem like my GPU in idle mode is 100/150 and 300/300 at load. and i wondering where can i download the latest GPU driver for this laptop. thx The temp on your laptop does look good but somehow I'm a bit curious why your GPU clock is lower than usual... it should be 450/800 idle and 550/800 load. If you have a screenshot on GPU-Z showing the HD 5650 info, that will let us know more i think i found the problem edi . . . its the graphic card power play option. Even though im using plugged in mode but before i use plugged in mode im using battery so after plugged in, i need to manually change the plugged in to maximize performance. LOL i duno why . . . by default it shud detect itself. BTW does anyone know where can i download the latest GPU driver for this laptop . . . Thx This post has been edited by bluesky413: May 8 2010, 03:05 PM |
May 8 2010, 03:06 PM
937 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(TealTurino @ May 8 2010, 02:14 PM) I just booked the Y460 and paid the deposit for the RM 5599 version. I was planning to get the SXPS 16 with ATI 5730 but I don't want to play the waiting game forever. Y460 is the only laptop readily available locally with ATI 5650. Other laptops like ASUS or 4820tg Acer are either out of stock or only have the ATI 5450 option. Wow, at RM5599, it's the most expensive Y460 thus far....mind to share what's the spec? I tried to find reviews of this laptop online but so far I can only find news listing about Y460. Thus I relied mostly on this forum thread to know more about this laptop. From what I gather, Y460 runs hot but if I use a laptop cooler, it should be fine. Will there be throttling issues like the SXPS when the cpu goes above 80C? Lastly, I heard that dx11 games run faster than dx10. However a lot of times, I heard low to mid end cards like 5450 and 5650 are unable to use dx11 though on paper they can. I'm confused by these two seemingly contradictory statements. Could an expert enlighten me please? Thanks. |
May 8 2010, 03:11 PM
136 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Melaka <-- -> Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(bluesky413 @ May 8 2010, 02:43 PM) hi . . . i having the same problem as mie 131085 it seem like my GPU in idle mode is 100/150 and 300/300 at load. and i wondering where can i download the latest GPU driver for this laptop. thx bcoz i notice when u choose the power plan setting,it also will affect the graphic card performance.. ..try take alook at ur power plan setting.. on advanced power setting |
May 8 2010, 03:21 PM
2,642 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
this laptop so many weird noise from inside la.. u guys have any noise?
This post has been edited by synz: May 8 2010, 03:23 PM |
May 8 2010, 03:33 PM
19 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
It's a typo. Should be RM 3566.
May 8 2010, 03:48 PM
8 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: KL |
i had tested it with GTA4 :EFLC with the following setting
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « after i change to some setting to medium , it seem like not much change » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Even though it's 20+ FPS but it also quite lag, the movement is like teleporting. |
May 8 2010, 04:12 PM
teleporting? not so cham la...
but my FPS 27 oooo |
May 8 2010, 05:09 PM
541 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(bluesky413 @ May 8 2010, 03:48 PM) Statistics Try change the AF setting to none and see how it performs. Try use High Performance mode and see how it goes too. Average FPS: 23.26 Duration: 33.23 sec CPU Usage: 67% System memory usage: 68% Video memory usage: 57% Graphics Settings Video Mode: 1366 x 768 (60 Hz) Texture Quality: High Shadow Quality: High Reflection Resolution: High Water Quality: High Texture Filter Quality: Anisotropic x4 Even though it's 20+ FPS but it also quite lag, the movement is like teleporting. @synz What kinda sound you're mentioning? HDD? Fan? Btw, I've confirmed you can OC HD 5650 to 5730 w/ the same heat produce(idle/load) so it's safe This post has been edited by jotaro12: May 8 2010, 05:11 PM |
May 8 2010, 06:53 PM
1,793 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: UC Berkeley |
QUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 8 2010, 05:09 PM) Try change the AF setting to none and see how it performs. Try use High Performance mode and see how it goes too. probably a noob question but how do u overclock hd 5650?@synz What kinda sound you're mentioning? HDD? Fan? Btw, I've confirmed you can OC HD 5650 to 5730 w/ the same heat produce(idle/load) so it's safe |
May 8 2010, 08:52 PM
937 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Malaysia |
Wow really? But how bout the voltage? Any changes? My guess is no changes if no heat difference produced...hmmm
May 9 2010, 12:26 AM
1,282 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: penang |
QUOTE(TealTurino @ May 8 2010, 02:14 PM) I just booked the Y460 and paid the deposit for the RM 3599 version. I was planning to get the SXPS 16 with ATI 5730 but I don't want to play the waiting game forever. Y460 is the only laptop readily available locally with ATI 5650. Other laptops like ASUS or 4820tg Acer are either out of stock or only have the ATI 5450 option. Y460 will not throtle the CPU speed even it is hot(more than 90C) , that's why it can produce a lot of heat when stressingI tried to find reviews of this laptop online but so far I can only find news listing about Y460. Thus I relied mostly on this forum thread to know more about this laptop. From what I gather, Y460 runs hot but if I use a laptop cooler, it should be fine. Will there be throttling issues like the SXPS when the cpu goes above 80C? Lastly, I heard that dx11 games run faster than dx10. However a lot of times, I heard low to mid end cards like 5450 and 5650 are unable to use dx11 though on paper they can. I'm confused by these two seemingly contradictory statements. Could an expert enlighten me please? Thanks. if you want your y460 to produce less heat, then you can manually throtle your cpu power, it definitely procduce less heat, but poorer performnace too. you can either choose performnace or heat reduction, you can't have both |
May 9 2010, 02:24 AM
541 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Had another gaming session for >2 hours playing AC 2. Screenshot took while I'm just past 2 hours mark.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Game @all high settings 1280X720. OCed to HD 5730 and lowered CPU speed. GPU ave. 68C so the heat is bearable @rubrubrub the answer is already on last few pages. @Izwan898 No need voltage tweak. |
May 9 2010, 03:09 AM
136 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Melaka <-- -> Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(jotaro12 @ May 8 2010, 10:03 AM) @Mie131085 Here is my GPU HD 5650 Info:The temp on your laptop does look good but somehow I'm a bit curious why your GPU clock is lower than usual... it should be 450/800 idle and 550/800 load. If you have a screenshot on GPU-Z showing the HD 5650 info, that will let us know more Left - Maximize Performance, Right - Maximize Battery Life » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i made changes on power option (on advanced power settings): » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « also can be changed at Catalyst control (Power Play): » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « yep, by doing this, it does affect the game performance, this setting (Maximize Battery Life) is good for for some games that utilize less than 300MHz GPU Clock by doing this, user can have a more longer battery life for heavy games, better use Maximize Performance (400 - 500MHz) instead |
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:26 PM |