HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

shakiraa
post May 5 2007, 12:30 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ May 5 2007, 01:23 AM)
Yup.....the quality is awesome in 720p or 1080i/p, but do not expect that it is a sgood as the HD-DVD and BluRay movies' quality...though
Thanks so much Silencer and BeastX. Appreciate your advice.

I'm currently having a final thought whether to purchase a 40' Sony Bravia S or LG 42 inch (salesperson told me it comes with HD with 80 GB?).

One last question, to connect CPU to LCD TV, any special cable needed? Thanks again.
silencer
post May 5 2007, 03:14 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ May 5 2007, 06:14 AM)
It is also possible to download hd-dvd and blu-ray movies by nefarious means... but you would need a rather beefy dual core cpu or later gen graphic card (8800/8600/8500) for that supports H.264 decoding and HDCP for playback
well said..but with vga connection through my Sharp aquos G7 DVI-I input, the HDCP compatibility rule is not applicable at all for the said connection..yup..u neeed a dual core core capable PC and a reliable GC for hd viewing, and again..my lowly Nvidia 7800GT is more than sufficient for 1080p viewing..... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(shakiraa @ May 5 2007, 12:30 PM)
Thanks so much Silencer and BeastX. Appreciate your advice.

I'm currently having a final thought whether to purchase a 40' Sony Bravia S or LG 42 inch (salesperson told me it comes with HD with 80 GB?).

One last question, to connect CPU to LCD TV, any special cable needed? Thanks again.
It is either hdmi or dvi input...and u can use dvi-hdmi converter for the hdmi connection too...well, i'm not sure abaout both models, but it is higly recommended to get the LCD TV that support DVI-I input for trouble free input for both digital and analog connections from your pc......
shakiraa
post May 5 2007, 03:42 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ May 5 2007, 03:14 PM)
well said..but with vga connection through my Sharp aquos G7 DVI-I input, the HDCP compatibility rule is not applicable at all for the said connection..yup..u neeed a dual core core capable PC and a reliable GC for hd viewing, and again..my lowly Nvidia 7800GT is more than sufficient for 1080p viewing..... thumbup.gif
It is either hdmi or dvi input...and u can use dvi-hdmi converter for the hdmi connection too...well, i'm not sure abaout both models, but it is higly recommended to get the LCD TV that support DVI-I input for trouble free input for both digital and analog connections from your pc......
Yup. Got it already. Thanks again. Hope i can make my decision today.
redken
post May 6 2007, 10:48 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ May 5 2007, 06:14 AM)
It is also possible to download hd-dvd and blu-ray movies by nefarious means... but you would need a rather beefy dual core cpu or later gen graphic card (8800/8600/8500) for that supports H.264 decoding and HDCP for playback
Ei, beast, what's wrong with N7 series H.264 playback? I would admit, support for HD acceleration is rather problematic, but does N8 really solve to issue?
htkaki
post May 7 2007, 11:41 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jep @ May 4 2007, 10:23 PM)
No one bought Samsung LCD TV?..is it that bad?...i just bought one last week...LA40R81BX..so far very satisfied..now planning to buy either xbox360 or PS3..

I think it depends on luck also. Sold quite a number of Samsung LCD tvs, but no complaint so far sweat.gif

kaiserreich
post May 11 2007, 12:20 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Looking for a 32" LCD here.

From your discussions and my research,

I have shortlisted the
Sharp Aquos BX series for the s-vid and
Samsung R7 series.

I do not know which one is better.
Will be using for ASTRO + Movies sourced from you-know-where.
My budget can only go up to to RM4k maximum.
So my questions are

1. From the list, which one would be recommended for my usage?
2. Is there anything else you could recommend for 32" LCDs under RM4k
3. I have the Old ASTRO decoder, the old black one got in 2003, so what input should i be using, s-video or component
4. I might be considering purchasing a new DVD player as well, is it recommended if i opt for DVD players with HDMI if what I watch is just DVD-Rs? And Normal DVD9s?

cheers

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: May 11 2007, 12:20 AM
bysquashy
post May 11 2007, 12:52 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 11 2007, 12:20 AM)
Looking for a 32" LCD here.

From your discussions and my research,

I have shortlisted the
Sharp Aquos BX series for the s-vid and
Samsung R7 series.

I do not know which one is better.
Will be using for ASTRO  + Movies sourced from you-know-where.
My budget can only go up to to RM4k maximum.
So my questions are

1. From the list, which one would be recommended for my usage?
2. Is there anything else you could recommend for 32" LCDs under RM4k
3. I have the Old ASTRO decoder, the old black one got in 2003, so what input should i be using, s-video or component
4. I might be considering purchasing a new DVD player as well, is it recommended if i opt for DVD players with HDMI if what I watch is just DVD-Rs? And Normal DVD9s?

cheers
For your budget, you can go for Sharp Aquos PX series and Samsung R8 series. PQ is quite subjective, go to a shop to see them for yourselves. Happy shopping biggrin.gif
rx330
post May 11 2007, 11:52 AM

11,811 posts

astro until today, no component, use s -video, since u getting a new LCD go for a DVD player with HDMI output and upscaler capabilities

gd luck
kaiserreich
post May 11 2007, 04:49 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

I made a visit to a few electrical stores nearby and the salesman are so keen to sell me the Philips PHP-32PF7321, which comes with tempered glass and pixel plus and stuff whichever way they wish to call it. It's seems quite tempting for the offer but I smell something fishy, so I decided to come here first. Anyone got any ideas regarding the particular set?
Lord_Ashe
post May 11 2007, 04:59 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 11 2007, 04:49 PM)
I made a visit to a few electrical stores nearby and the salesman are so keen to sell me the Philips PHP-32PF7321, which comes with tempered glass and pixel plus and stuff whichever way they wish to call it. It's seems quite tempting for the offer but I smell something fishy, so I decided to come here first. Anyone got any ideas regarding the particular set?
PHP? I think it's the same model as mine. Just bought it last month. Got it with the free HDMI upscaling DVD player and 5 year warranty.

As the forumers here can tell you I've always been a fan of the Philips TVs.

My verdict after nearly a month:

HD quality is fantastic, especially on 360 (VGA) and PS3 thru HDMI.
Astro is meh, so I don't watch it on the LCD. I prefer to use my CRT Philips for that.
DVDs are dependent on the quality of the DVD (some good some not so good). Upscaling will improve your experience.
kaiserreich
post May 11 2007, 05:17 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ May 11 2007, 04:59 PM)
PHP? I think it's the same model as mine. Just bought it last month. Got it with the free HDMI upscaling DVD player and 5 year warranty.

As the forumers here can tell you I've always been a fan of the Philips TVs.

My verdict after nearly a month:

HD quality is fantastic, especially on 360 (VGA) and PS3 thru HDMI.
Astro is meh, so I don't watch it on the LCD. I prefer to use my CRT Philips for that.
DVDs are dependent on the quality of the DVD (some good some not so good). Upscaling will improve your experience.
Checking on the specs, the dynamic contrast at 3200:1 is rather low IMHO. Other than that, the specs seems quite okay. I have this distinct feeling that the salesman are trying to clear stock and cut me short by telling 'sometimes, contrast ratio are not so important'. That's what that made me feel a little worried.

About the upscalling players, let's say I got a HD content gotten from you-know-where with 720p sources. I burn it into DVD-R and play it. So what you guyz here say is that the upscaler will improve the quality?

Lord_Ashe
post May 11 2007, 05:32 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 11 2007, 05:17 PM)
Checking on the specs, the dynamic contrast at 3200:1 is rather low IMHO.

About the upscalling players, let's say I got a HD content gotten from you-know-where with 720p sources. I burn it into DVD-R and play it. So what you guyz here say is that the upscaler will improve the quality?
I kinda subscribe to the "dynamic contrast not that important" model, simply because most times (IINM) the dynamic contrast is only measured from grey to grey - and oftentimes don't reflect the true capability of the display. The static contrast ratio though is 1200:1 so personally I feel it's good enough.

It's ALWAYS a good idea to test the model you like with material you're gonna play on it - at the end of the day your eyes are gonna be the best judge, no matter what the reviews say.

That totally depends on the media - if it's an MPEG2 file encoded natively at 720p there MAY be some improvement but I doubt it.
kaiserreich
post May 11 2007, 05:41 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Ok, I have a 5 years old PC and would like to hook it up to the LCD tv once I got it to watch 720p content encoded in MPG-2 format. I was wondering if this is possible to do since my GPU is rather old and would the PQ be nice?
Lord_Ashe
post May 11 2007, 05:53 PM

1,495 posts

rx330
post May 11 2007, 06:14 PM

11,811 posts

Lord_Ashe
post May 11 2007, 06:16 PM

1,495 posts

rx330
post May 11 2007, 06:26 PM

11,811 posts

kaiserreich
post May 11 2007, 08:14 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ May 11 2007, 05:53 PM)
Ah interesting. It may be handy to note the Philips only maxes out at 1024x768 for PC connections. For native 720p MPEG2 content I usually use the free upscaling DVD player I got since it supports MPEG1, MPEG2, DivX 3.11, DivX 4.x, DivX 5.x, DivX 6.0, DivX Ultra.

In that case, using a player (or PS3) would be the best case for this unit. Of course, if you can afford an LCD/plasma that supports higher PC resolutions that's much better.
Any ideas what is the resolution for the Samsung R71 and Sharp Aquos PX when connecting PCs to these? Can't seem to find any info on the manufacturer's site
Lord_Ashe
post May 12 2007, 12:27 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 11 2007, 08:14 PM)
Any ideas what is the resolution for  the Samsung R71 and Sharp Aquos PX when connecting PCs to these? Can't seem to find any info on the manufacturer's site
Maybe some Samsung and Sharp owners can chip in. IINM for 1366x768 LCD TVs, supported resolution sometimes doesn't go beyond 1024x768 - this happened to the LCD TV we have in the office.
saiga
post May 12 2007, 12:43 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

Bro kaiserreich,

I was looking for R7 before, but couldn't find one. This set already stop production and that's why i opted for the Sharp PX. If u still wany one then u should go for R8 instead.Better design and specs but a bit expensive.Last time i check is RM4.5K (about 2 weeks ago).Now maybe cheaper, biggrin.gif

Nway, about the PQ on Astro from my survey i found out Toshiba and Sharp is the best.Even using composite the different is not noticable (for my eyes) compare with s-video. thumbup.gif

129 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:43 AM