HDTV FAQ, For all Console users
bysquashy
Nov 25 2006, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(term001 @ Nov 25 2006, 03:28 AM) need your help guys... i just bought Sharp Aquos LC-32BX5M LCD, is it posible view full screen (wide 16:9) without the top/bottom black bars when playing DVD ?? i oredi set the lcd & dvd player (i'm using samsung DVD-HD860-connect to lcd thru hdmi cable) to widescreen mode but still the output got letterboxing Appreciate any help....thanks guys... Hope that you are enjoying your new tv
bysquashy
Dec 18 2006, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(vodafone @ Dec 18 2006, 12:25 AM) The new Sharp GX series is good but is not release yet in Malaysia. It supports true HD mode (1080p) with 2000:1 contrast, 4ms response time. Anybody has any news on the series release date here?  From the staff in Sharp, GX won't be in Malaysia but they'll have LC-52G7M, LC-46G7M and LC-42G7M which supports 1080p by Jan 2007. Will keep you guys updated in my bulk below \/
bysquashy
Jan 11 2007, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(yeewensmc @ Jan 10 2007, 07:25 PM) Sharp is the world renown lcd maker. So i didnt doubt the quality. But the problem is the 37inch screen. Is the screen size too small for my living room. My distance from my sofa from the tv is 13feet. So is it 2 small for it ? Currently using a 29inch CRT mon. bysquashy from LYN is selling RM6899 for the 37BX6M and i saw in the paper HengLee electronics is selling 37BX5M for RM5899. Hi yeewensmc, Will check the price with the dealer about HengLee's low price, will update my price accordingly as I haven't sold any of them yet, so the price was based on the price when I started this thread, thanks This post has been edited by bysquashy: Jan 11 2007, 01:51 PM
bysquashy
Jan 12 2007, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(saiga @ Jan 11 2007, 09:02 PM) just want to ask.anybody here use wall mount for their LCD TV? can share with me the cost and where to get. thanks. Most bracket goes from RM200-RM400 and the installation cost will be RM150-RM300 depending on model.
bysquashy
Jan 12 2007, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(yeewensmc @ Jan 12 2007, 12:40 PM) I saw it at the star newspaper few days ago. It stated 3days only. But i doubt it cause every few weeks i'll saw the same old ad on the newspaper again. Thinking of buying from you. Must discuss with my brother and my parents. I'll go to the UE3 electronics shop a take a look around. Survey survey ...  I went to Sharp this morning to clarify this issue, the price that HengLee is offering is way too low, further more HengLee is not registered under Sharp, so they think most probably the unit is not legitimate or for sure its out of stock (gimmic). You can always call Sharp to verify.  New PX series has arrived, will update my thread accordingly this evening (too much back log in the office, no time  ), the quality is amazing, mean while, you can surf Sharp's website for more info on PX series.
bysquashy
Jan 14 2007, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(saiga @ Jan 14 2007, 11:35 PM) I read here that the wall mount can get from Jalan Pasar (if u in the Klang Valley). Here also have one thread About the installation maybe can do yourself.Not so difficult (for lcd),onli need people to help you lift the tv. The maximum weight for the bracket for the bulk is a bit too low. Only can fix small tv to it.
bysquashy
Jan 24 2007, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 24 2007, 10:27 AM) how does astro sucks in LCD? tat day i saw one, so much finer than my crt leh Which unit are you refering to? Very interesting
bysquashy
Jan 24 2007, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(wandiana @ Jan 24 2007, 05:33 PM) Hi..all.. i'm noobs regarding this hdtv facts.. soon im planning to buy one.. but dunno what r the best hdtv specs to suit my Xbox360.. so i guess u all can guide me.. what r the major specs to look into when buying those hdtv.. cables, av input, osd, bla..blaa.. i dunno... thanx..  A unit which supports 1080i would be sufficient as not many xbox 360 games is being rendered at 1080p. Fast response time will be good.
bysquashy
Mar 15 2007, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(BeastX @ Mar 13 2007, 05:57 PM) Sharps have 32incher that can do 1080p 1:1 pixel to pixel.. been out since end of last year ... the LC-32GS10 and LC-32GS20... cost about rm 6k Toshiba's Rezga at 37 does 1080p as well... the high priced WestingHouse panel of Asia. Those models are for Japan market only. For 32", I still think that its a bit overkill
bysquashy
Mar 19 2007, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 19 2007, 09:45 AM) so its better to wait a bit more? until 1080p goes mass? Seriously, I don't think 1080p would go mass soon as Malaysia lack of HD sources.
bysquashy
Mar 20 2007, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 19 2007, 05:52 PM) i think most owners ofplasma and lcd (non gamers) dun even know wat HD content is, they just buy the tv nia, as long got slim panel can liao That's the reason why I think 1080p won't hit off soon. People wants sexy tvs which cost ~RM8000 rather than ~RM15000. They don't care about I/P.
bysquashy
Mar 21 2007, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(neoardi @ Mar 20 2007, 07:33 PM) I just saw a brochure about the latest Sharp Aquos 1080p LCD @ SenQ. The model for the 46" is LC-46P7M. Then I ask for the price then they quoted RM19599 after discounted from retail RM22999  . Can anyone confirm this price and whats the improvement from the last model (LC-46G7M)? BTW, LG also released their 1080p LCD (47LB1R) recently, and Harvey Norman quoted RM14999 IINM. This mean more and more 1080p display flooding our shore. p/s- I still cannot decide which 1080p display shud I buy  . Yes, P7M series is out, I'm not sure of the improvements of it, their website is not updated and their staff is too busy to reply my e-mails. Do drop me a message if you want one, I'm sure my quote will be more friendly.
bysquashy
Mar 25 2007, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(obefiend @ Mar 25 2007, 04:05 PM) necessary if u accidentally fling ur wiimote onto the screen! lol.. saw quite a few pics and vids on youtube!! hahaha Hmmm, if its CRT then i would be worried about wiimote kissing the screen, for lcd, i think it whould be able to take some beating.
bysquashy
Mar 28 2007, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(irvene2000 @ Mar 27 2007, 11:43 PM) really ? thanks ! haha by the way tat's not the astro decoder , i have 1 astro decoder but each tv is fitted with one of this gadget , so each tv will be watching the same program cause all of them jus respond to 1 decoder = ) Yeah, its some sort like RF transmitter. The device transmite the RF from the remote and tranfer it to the astro decoder. Remote >>>> DeviceA >>>> DeviceB >>>> Astro decoder
bysquashy
Mar 28 2007, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(irvene2000 @ Mar 28 2007, 11:21 AM) but another problem is that Astro is having the same "ants" problem and today 8tv became blur(last night perfectly fine) whereas NTV7 pulak become clearer dy (last night blur)  Every is ok with your previous CRT? QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 28 2007, 12:41 PM) maybe ur samsung got ants nest inside?  This rx330 ar, kacau people pulak
bysquashy
Mar 28 2007, 05:11 PM
QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Mar 28 2007, 04:39 PM) hmmm ... that really seems strange ... my father is using the 40inch R7 and theres no problem with astro ... only problem is those local broadcast because we dont have antenna for it  Well, since you have Astro, you wouldn't need it right?
bysquashy
Apr 5 2007, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(wcliang @ Apr 5 2007, 07:40 AM) do we need special TV antenna for LCD TV ? Nope. But my guess is, when HD comes (the case if its provided by Astro) the antenna need to be upgraded.
bysquashy
Apr 5 2007, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 5 2007, 12:27 PM) I know bro, tu ler yang pelik. We were scratching our collective heads trying to figure out how to make the Sharp 52incher to look at least comparable to the Sony 40incher in terms of PQ (we want to sell the Sharp, since it is not viable in business sense to hang on to stock for so long, before we can replenish new upcoming models), but even with SpyderTV calibration, we cant get it to look as nice as the 40incher. The lingering problem will always be that both of them are placed side by side, and obviously patrons will be inclined to do comparisons between them.  I can confirm that the new Samsung we had is the new R8. 3 HDMI inputs, 720p, and gorgeously lickable piano finish front panel. Even the control pannel buttons on the right side is touch-activated, they are not normal buttons so to speak. Since all the 3 brand has their own advantage, may be I should have a bulk for each of them
bysquashy
Apr 5 2007, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2007, 03:27 PM) wa seh, sounds like string got himself a pc of share in mediaplexx  I thought he's working there, no? This post has been edited by bysquashy: Apr 5 2007, 10:02 PM
bysquashy
Apr 6 2007, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(ana @ Apr 6 2007, 12:08 PM) yep nice lcd...definately looks bigger when i put it in my room. but the sad part..saw in a paper today..another electrical chain shop is giving better deal on this model starting today will send my humble setup later..bilik bersepah  Many shops advertise attractive prices, but actually they don't have stock for that unit.