Runnerz... #3, All about running...

Liuism
post Sep 10 2009, 02:10 PM

1,866 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Sep 8 2009, 03:50 PM)
hehe tongue.gif 2.6 in 15mins was nt all fast.. the fastest chiq so to speak was even faster then what i could clock
i know tat la, there's always somebody faster than me. Just don't get too carried away by what other people are better at.
Simple
post Sep 11 2009, 12:40 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Sep 10 2009, 12:32 PM)
simple, marvin, devil, phoenix

this Sat LSD- start 530am

1) 4 loops Bird Park ~ 2.56k x 4 = 10.24k
2) Bkt Aman - Petronas - Bkt Aman = 19.6

if u dont want to do the bird park loop, join us at 630am
Yes captain. I will be there sharp. flex.gif Sorry for MIA for 2 weeks. Really need to run liao. If not going to suffer during mizuno run d....
d3vilzzzz
post Sep 11 2009, 01:36 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

@liuism
dun get too carried away is one way to look at it..
i prefer to refer to them as me motivation to train biggrin.gif

@simple
both marvinct and i are starting at 615 to run 15km.. we are doing a loop which goes near the MATRADE building.. around the mosque.. something like dat.. keke
MayanPaw
post Sep 12 2009, 12:48 PM

13 posts

Hi everyone, noob reporting in. Suggestion needed.

Recently i've decided to buy a pair of running shoes to motivate myself. Stumbled upon the AdiZero Pro in Midvalley, super lightweight and best of all looks so darn cool. But i heard from sfax said that 2 months of running on the road could write it off. So any idea from u all pro runners?

I want something that is suitable for indoor(gym) and outdoor(road maybe). Last long, about 1 year (always experience the bottom layer come off).
I don't want those that looks bulky, something like the adizero pro will be good.

I am not an extreme racer like u guys, i dun go for marathon, reason being no company. I only use it for training in gym and to jog every evening to keep fit.

As i said, to motivate myself, i'm willing to spend around RM500 on it. Maybe 1 for indoor and 1 for outdoor?

Sorry if i'm in the wrong thread.

This post has been edited by MayanPaw: Sep 12 2009, 12:50 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Sep 12 2009, 01:59 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(MayanPaw @ Sep 12 2009, 12:48 PM)

Recently i've decided to buy a pair of running shoes to motivate myself. Stumbled upon the AdiZero Pro in Midvalley, super lightweight and best of all looks so darn cool. But i heard from sfax said that 2 months of running on the road could write it off. So any idea from u all pro runners?

I want something that is suitable for indoor(gym) and outdoor(road maybe). Last long, about 1 year (always experience the bottom layer come off).
I don't want those that looks bulky, something like the adizero pro will be good.

I am not an extreme racer like u guys, i dun go for marathon, reason being no company. I only use it for training in gym and to jog every evening to keep fit.

As i said, to motivate myself, i'm willing to spend around RM500 on it. Maybe 1 for indoor and 1 for outdoor?

Hi there newbie..

If you knw sfax, ur in good hands..
he is one of the many sifus we have here..

what he says is true.. aidzero leans more towards the lightweight trainer category and racer category hence nt suitable for norm training biggrin.gif the shoes are to be used norm for speed and hill training..

if ur just running to keep fit, its still advisable to get a pair of proper trainers.. our resident shoe pros ccube and phoenix i m sure are more then willing to help.. u can get great shoes n discounts frm them..

i dun tink there are shoes say suited for just indoor and shoes just suited for the outdoors..
i m sure 1 pair wud do just fine in any given environment..
BUT its advisable to hv at least 2 pairs so that u can alternate between them tongue.gif
BamBang
post Sep 13 2009, 07:45 AM

29 posts

from my experienced..if u buy a shoes wit RM200++ n ur not a marathon runner..it vil not be write off if u only run 4 about 2 months..unless u buy shoes wit a price like RM50 something..even BATA shoes oso sometime can hold on more than 2 month..

n 4 deciding which shoes is better 4 u..i vil say choose 4 comfort..4 d brands i think 4 ur budget better take NIKE,ADIDAS,or NEW BALANCE..they were among d best brands i ever tried..

when u 1st found shoes in a shops..try it 1st..take a few steps using both of ur legs..don simply buy bcoz of its design..

lastly..if i were u..RM500 budget juz 4 jog everyday sweat.gif ...
better join marathon la..when i 1st ran i always dream 2 wear dat price of shoes..hehehe icon_rolleyes.gif
don straight away join full marathon..10km is good enough..

got lots of great stuff inside d goodies bags...u can motivate urself ++++++ coz when u join marathon,even 10km..sure u don wan 2 be d last person 2 arrive..
n sure u vil start 2 run everyday 2 train..^^

d best part is u can cuci mata after finish running.. brows.gif brows.gif

dats all..choose wisely..have fun..^^

This post has been edited by BamBang: Sep 13 2009, 11:13 AM
ccube
post Sep 13 2009, 09:38 AM

1,074 posts

MayanPaw, the AdiZero Pro is a very light weight shoe just meant for races. It is not a trainer as it has very little or in fact no cushioning at all to support your body. And not only you can write it off in 2mths, if you wear it constantly for training you can write off your knee and ankle as well. So dont just be deceived by the weight and the looks, as wrongly using the shoe will eventually cause severe injury to your legs.

If you have a budget of RM500, then the range of selection is very wide. I sell SAUCONY and NEWTON, and so definitely there will be a model that suits you. The Saucony Triumph 6 will have the right cushion and stability for your indoor/outdoor use, and weighing around 11oz. Selling at RM320. This is just one of the models. A lighter pair of trainer will be Fastwitch 3 (7oz) selling at RM260. PM me if you are interested.

Liuism
post Sep 13 2009, 09:43 PM

1,866 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Sep 11 2009, 01:36 PM)
@liuism
dun get too carried away is one way to look at it..
i prefer to refer to them as me motivation to train biggrin.gif
hahaha..okok..i just did my run today..so far so good..still need to train harder..
d3vilzzzz
post Sep 13 2009, 11:48 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

same same biggrin.gif

we ALL need to train hard keke tongue.gif
steveysl
post Sep 14 2009, 11:02 AM

300 posts

i just got my Fastwitch 3 from ccube on Saturday. went for hour run. What can i say about the shoe? it is light, and it still has good cushion. i like this shoe.

thanks ccube. nice to meet u. maybe will run with yall one day, but my pace is slwo.
ccube
post Sep 14 2009, 11:51 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(steveysl @ Sep 14 2009, 11:02 AM)
i just got my Fastwitch 3 from ccube on Saturday. went for hour run. What can i say about the shoe? it is light, and it still has good cushion. i like this shoe.

thanks ccube. nice to meet u. maybe will run with yall one day, but my pace is slwo.
steve, nice meeting u.

Glad u like the Fastwitch 3. Generally those who bought it will not have regret about the shoe. In fact they like it so much that they will buy a 2nd pair. Runners are getting the price to performance of this model. I am very confident it can match the quality of ASICS DS series, Adizero series and the rest w/o paying too much for it.

Hopefully u can host us in seremban for a run.
pingpang
post Sep 14 2009, 12:30 PM

171 posts

Wow! Nice pair of Saucony as compared with "branded" shoes but with a cheaper price. It is a Good running shoe.

tenno
post Sep 14 2009, 12:48 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(pingpang @ Sep 14 2009, 12:30 PM)
Wow! Nice pair of Saucony as compared with "branded" shoes but with a cheaper price. It is a Good running shoe.
Well, actually, Saucony is a branded shoe, just tht not many ppl know it here, & ccube is the sole distributor.
steveysl
post Sep 14 2009, 02:08 PM

300 posts

ccube, i will consider another pair later, maybe the white one, since i got the black, but not so soon. yes, definitely another pair of sock, no blister!

if you and your team ever come to Seremban, for run or for food, just give me shout. you know my contact.

i am thinking of selling my asics, too big for me, US9.5, the smallest size the shop have. too eager to get it. :-$

i will stick with the FW3 now.
inspiron
post Sep 14 2009, 06:03 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Sep 9 2009, 07:14 PM)
inspiron: Do check your foot type by doing a wet test and compare it with the results as shown on the link above. Then, check for your shoe's outsole wear and tear to determine what kind of runner you are and then finally, check if the model of your shoe is made for you.

Furthermore, it may be your running style or gait that might be causing your problem. Do you have any past injuries? Supplements may help, but bear in mind that it's no miracle nutrients and it may not work with everyone.
My foot type is the Normal (medium) Arch. Last time don't have any past injuries.

I wouldn't go by this test if you are new to running. I started running a little more than a year ago. According to the wet test, I had a normal arch, if not slightly high. So I got Asics gel nimbus 9 shoes, great shoes but wrong for my feet. After some plantar faciitis, shin splints and knee issues, I thought it would be best to get a professional opinion. It turns out that I overpronate (typical of flat feet- this test did not indicate that) and needed a stability shoe (which is the exact opposite of what I had).

Your best bet is to go to a running store (they have a list of local top rated running stores on this site) and let them analyse your gait. The right shoe for you foot is a must! Definitely don't guess at the type of shoe you might need.

Anyone know if there is such a store in Penang?

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Sep 9 2009, 09:51 PM)
@inspiron
u use to run? hw long was it since ur last run before u started running again..
around 2 weeks ago. I use to run twice a week but cut down to once a week.

btw, sorry for the late replies as I was away for vacasyun doh.gif
triple02
post Sep 14 2009, 07:41 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Sep 13 2009, 09:38 AM)
MayanPaw, the AdiZero Pro is a very light weight shoe just meant for races. It is not a trainer as it has very little or in fact no cushioning at all to support your body.  And not only you can write it off in 2mths, if you wear it constantly for training you can write off your knee and ankle as well.  So dont just be deceived by the weight and the looks, as wrongly using the shoe will eventually cause severe injury to your legs.

If you have a budget of RM500, then the range of selection is very wide.  I sell SAUCONY and NEWTON, and so definitely there will be a model that suits you.  The Saucony Triumph 6 will have the right cushion and stability for your indoor/outdoor use, and weighing around 11oz.  Selling at RM320.  This is just one of the models.  A lighter pair of trainer will be Fastwitch 3 (7oz) selling at RM260.  PM me if you are interested.
writing off your ankle and knees' haha ccube damn farnee! laugh.gif well ccube is correct, i rather spend that amount of money on a shoe that has support and cushioning and keep racers to race days only though i prefer to use my training pair, my adizero's are in my car trunks now well wrapped in the box its been ages since i ran in them...even for speedworkout's i use the same shoe's
ccube
post Sep 14 2009, 08:31 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Sep 14 2009, 07:41 PM)
writing  off your ankle and knees'  haha ccube damn farnee!  laugh.gif  well ccube is correct, i rather spend that amount of money on a shoe that has support and cushioning and keep racers to race days only though i prefer to use my training pair, my adizero's are in my car trunks now well wrapped in the box its been ages since i ran in them...even for speedworkout's i use the same shoe's
triple02, u are right. if one is not a real fast runner, a light weight racer does not help at all. it will probably cause more injury. A light weight trainer will be more than enuf if one need to do speedwork or use it on race day. Else stick to your old faithful trainer for race day is perfectly fine.
MayanPaw
post Sep 15 2009, 01:50 AM

13 posts

Hey guys,

Really appreciate all ur oppinions. Really do. Actually i'm interested in any shoes as long as it suits me. Just that i need recommendation from u guys who are experts in this field. And i dun think sales person have the lvl of knowledge as u guys, no offence. Just want to be on the safe side. So it's either the Fastwitch3 or Triumph 6 for me? So how do i try 'em? Do u have a shop where i can pay a visit and try them out?

To bambang. Fyi, the longest run i ever did is 7km while im in my secondary school for merentas desa 2 years back. I think i clocked 40 mins in that run. Got 9th. Best achievement in my life, yet. After that i used to go gym everyday and do 5km on treadmill in 30 mins.
The only think that best motivate myself was ur last phrase. But not the one before that. Chicks ftw. XP

Thanks again.

This post has been edited by MayanPaw: Sep 15 2009, 01:57 AM
vin_ann
post Sep 15 2009, 09:18 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(MayanPaw @ Sep 15 2009, 01:50 AM)
Hey guys,

Really appreciate all ur oppinions. Really do. Actually i'm interested in any shoes as long as it suits me. Just that i need recommendation from u guys who are experts in this field. And i dun think sales person have the lvl of knowledge as u guys, no offence. Just want to be on the safe side. So it's either the Fastwitch3 or Triumph 6 for me? So how do i try 'em? Do u have a shop where i can pay a visit and try them out?

To bambang. Fyi, the longest run i ever did is 7km while im in my secondary school for merentas desa 2 years back. I think i clocked 40 mins in that run. Got 9th. Best achievement in my life, yet. After that i used to go gym everyday and do 5km on treadmill in 30 mins.
The only think that best motivate myself was ur last phrase. But not the one before that. Chicks ftw. XP

Thanks again.
which 1 to get? Fastwitch 3 or Triumph 6.

simple only,
1st see ur budget, if under ur budget then proceed to next Q.
2nd, which foot type are you? (neutral or pronated)
3rd, are you over-weight? (calculate ur BMI)

if both suites u, then get both shoe! laugh.gif

MayanPaw
post Sep 15 2009, 11:57 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 15 2009, 09:18 AM)
which 1 to get? Fastwitch 3 or Triumph 6.

simple only,
1st see ur budget, if under ur budget then proceed to next Q.
2nd, which foot type are you? (neutral or pronated)
3rd, are you over-weight? (calculate ur BMI)

if both suites u, then get both shoe!  laugh.gif
I've actually stated my budget and all that in the previous post if u did notice it. So now i need u guys to recommend the shoes(please be more straight forward to the shoe's model if it's ok) that best suits my usage. Then i will go try on all the models u all recommended to see which fits my feet best.

2nd question, i think mine is normal.

3rd, not overweight, 21.8

Thanks in advance.

126 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:03 AM