The RM8 is just like "value added services". You can opt not to sign up for that, and if you don't sign up for that, normal SMS charges applies.
Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY
Jul 15 2009, 05:47 PM
1,367 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
The RM8 is just like "value added services". You can opt not to sign up for that, and if you don't sign up for that, normal SMS charges applies.
Jul 15 2009, 05:48 PM
3,239 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Sydney, NSW |
QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jul 15 2009, 05:45 PM) It's kind of a question on why would Maxis implement the RM8 charges for the SMS. Why wouldn't they stamp it together with the call rates? IMO, iValue caters more to corporate users who calls often. therefore the plan itself doesn't include any SMS usage at all. and the RM8 package caters to those who SMS a lot between Maxis to Maxis.For simplicity sake, I understand. But why? RM8 for SMS is just a little bit arkward. Regards, Joey p.s:Come to think of it, would would Maxis milking away my RM8. |
Jul 15 2009, 05:53 PM
3,651 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Fort Canning Garden Status: Dog Fighting |
1. is 333 mins of free calls is sufficient for you? (0.15cents per minute for extra calls made)
I think it's sufficient. I'm not of a chatter box anyway. 2. do you have any supplementary lines or plan to have one soon? (iValue is a standalone plan and is not allowed not pair with any supp lines) Nope. I'm going solo on this. Period. 3. do you SMS a lot? (iValue has separate SMS charges, 10cents per SMS is quite expensive IMO) As per my reply earlier, RM8 for 500 SMS is deemed a little too much for me. 4. if you're comfortable with the plan you're on now, just get the iData RM50 or RM30 (allows you moderate usage of data per month, as number of apps on iPhone utilise data usage) or else get the phone through the Hotlink plan, no strings attached. iData RM50 or RM30...sounds right to me. Fits my usage pattern too. I might be hooked with the Apps provided. Hahaha~~~ Hotlink? As in pre paid? Nope. Post paid is fine with me. So, the question is: How much is the total for my monthly bill? RM100 (call credits)+RM8 (SMS)+RM50 (data)= Approx. RM158 per month? Thanks for your prompt reply. Keep up the good work, "teikwing". Appreciate your help. Regards, Joey p.s: I'm more into "Ringgit"and "Sen" talk. This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Jul 15 2009, 05:57 PM |
Jul 15 2009, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Jul 15 2009, 05:53 PM) So, the question is: How much is the total for my monthly bill? RM100 (call credits)+RM8 (SMS)+RM50 (data)= Approx. RM158 per month? iData can be paired with your current VP80. so the total charges will be RM80 (if you stay within your RM80 usage) + RM50 (iData 2 - 500MB) + RM8 (500 Maxis SMS package)= RM138. |
Jul 15 2009, 06:09 PM
167 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 15 2009, 05:30 PM) are you a heavy data user? how much are your call charges every month? from the ones you listed, and from my humble opinion, option 1 is the best if you utilise data heavily. option 3 if you are a moderate user and option 2 is you're have balanced usage between data and calls. Thanks teikwing! Well I suppose you're right. I broke down the details if it helps anyone in my shoes:Prepaid + ValuePlus 80 + Unlimited 3G = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm2490 + Monthly rm179 iValue 2 = 667 minutes + 1GB data = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm1990 + Monthly 155 iData 2 = 500MB data @ rm50 + ValuePlus 80 = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm2090 + Monthly rm130 iData 3 = 3GB data @ rm99 + ValuePlus 80 = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm1990 + Monthly rm179 |
Jul 15 2009, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(djkeoni @ Jul 15 2009, 06:09 PM) Thanks teikwing! Well I suppose you're right. I broke down the details if it helps anyone in my shoes: you're welcome. appreciate the break-down you did. other forummers might find it helpful.Prepaid + ValuePlus 80 + Unlimited 3G = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm2490 + Monthly rm179 iValue 2 = 667 minutes + 1GB data = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm1990 + Monthly 155 iData 2 = 500MB data @ rm50 + ValuePlus 80 = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm2090 + Monthly rm130 iData 3 = 3GB data @ rm99 + ValuePlus 80 = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm1990 + Monthly rm179 i've updated the CAQ of this thread, which includes all the common information new subscribers need to know. cheers! |
Jul 15 2009, 06:32 PM
1,853 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(djkeoni @ Jul 15 2009, 06:09 PM) Thanks teikwing! Well I suppose you're right. I broke down the details if it helps anyone in my shoes: Why prepaid must plus 179 ???. This can mislead people.Prepaid + ValuePlus 80 + Unlimited 3G = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm2490 + Monthly rm179 iValue 2 = 667 minutes + 1GB data = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm1990 + Monthly 155 iData 2 = 500MB data @ rm50 + ValuePlus 80 = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm2090 + Monthly rm130 iData 3 = 3GB data @ rm99 + ValuePlus 80 = iPhone 3GS 16GB rm1990 + Monthly rm179 |
Jul 15 2009, 06:35 PM
436 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
i am a loyal celcom user but have a thing for apple products. so far i have resisted the temptation to get the iphone. seeing that the price of the non-contracted 3G 8GB is now RM 1990 i am very keen. my question is; am i short changing myself if i avoid the 3Gs totally and go for the lower end model?
does anyone think that the 3G 8GB is available in the apple retail stores immediately with the new price? This post has been edited by hellfried: Jul 15 2009, 06:38 PM |
Jul 15 2009, 06:42 PM
382 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
What's the RM179 per month for prepaid plans?
I'm only paying RM2990 for the 32GB model and nothing more than that. |
Jul 15 2009, 06:46 PM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
launch date apparently is 24th July. Stock would be available immediately... as usual, PLEASE pre-order, otherwise it will be first-come-first-serve.
As we saw in Singapore, if its totally sold out on launch date... |
Jul 15 2009, 06:54 PM
94 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 15 2009, 06:46 PM) launch date apparently is 24th July. Stock would be available immediately... as usual, PLEASE pre-order, otherwise it will be first-come-first-serve. thats mean those who booked can get the phone on 24? instead of the date selected (31/7) when checking out.As we saw in Singapore, if its totally sold out on launch date... |
Jul 15 2009, 06:57 PM
4,398 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(baretta @ Jul 15 2009, 06:32 PM) QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Jul 15 2009, 06:42 PM) What's the RM179 per month for prepaid plans? Simple.What he meant is. I'm only paying RM2990 for the 32GB model and nothing more than that. BUY the RM179 = RM80 for value plus80 plan + unlimited 3G usage add on RM99. GET IT? What is the advantage? No contract. UNLIMITED 3G usage. This post has been edited by ed0gawa: Jul 15 2009, 07:02 PM |
Jul 15 2009, 07:08 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 15 2009, 06:46 PM) launch date apparently is 24th July. Stock would be available immediately... as usual, PLEASE pre-order, otherwise it will be first-come-first-serve. Wouldn't that short-change those who booked online and the earliest pickup date on the drop-down list is 31/7?As we saw in Singapore, if its totally sold out on launch date... |
Jul 15 2009, 07:15 PM
1,853 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Jul 15 2009, 06:57 PM) Simple.What he meant is. I know la what he meant, but when other noob read, so they think , they must plus 179 ....BUY the RM179 = RM80 for value plus80 plan + unlimited 3G usage add on RM99. GET IT? What is the advantage? No contract. UNLIMITED 3G usage. Prepaid, just prepaid la.... any plan want to use it is up to user la. So dont just simply put 179.... |
Jul 15 2009, 07:48 PM
472 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Jul 15 2009, 06:57 PM) Simple.What he meant is. I still don't get it, y would a prepaid sign up for VP80??? might as well sign up for postpaid!!! At least can enjoy some RM400 discount on phone.BUY the RM179 = RM80 for value plus80 plan + unlimited 3G usage add on RM99. GET IT? What is the advantage? No contract. UNLIMITED 3G usage. Anyway, paid my deposits at Maxis centre (under prepaid) w/o registering online. Later on, Maxis centre staff called up asking me wether got receive sms or not? NOPE. The lady said she will help me to re-register but till now still no SMS. Tried to re-register but can't get tru. Is this just me or every1 having the same problem? Hopefully, they don't have any problem on collection day!!! Btw, I'm using Valu Plan50 and I intend to sign up 12mths contract under iData50. RM2090+RM600 (12mths iData) = RM2690, so it's extra RM200, i get to use 500mb data / mth thou I seldom use it. But is 500mb enuff for occassional surfing + email + misc? Thnaks |
Jul 15 2009, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(jonest @ Jul 15 2009, 07:48 PM) I still don't get it, y would a prepaid sign up for VP80??? might as well sign up for postpaid!!! At least can enjoy some RM400 discount on phone. think this issue has been discussed in the old 3G thread but IINM 500MB is pretty enough for casual surfing (IM, email etc.) and apps download. YouTube take up most data usage.Anyway, paid my deposits at Maxis centre (under prepaid) w/o registering online. Later on, Maxis centre staff called up asking me wether got receive sms or not? NOPE. The lady said she will help me to re-register but till now still no SMS. Tried to re-register but can't get tru. Is this just me or every1 having the same problem? Hopefully, they don't have any problem on collection day!!! Btw, I'm using Valu Plan50 and I intend to sign up 12mths contract under iData50. RM2090+RM600 (12mths iData) = RM2690, so it's extra RM200, i get to use 500mb data / mth thou I seldom use it. But is 500mb enuff for occassional surfing + email + misc? Thnaks |
Jul 15 2009, 08:18 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
Hi All,
I'd been missing for 24hours and voila the amount of messages to catch up with. Anyhow, am glad Maxis' announcement is good for everyone. Just a note of precaution (since loads was asking about the plans), the iPhone plans are separate from the ValuePlus plans and it cannot be merged. Also, ask urself if you really want to sign up on the iValue Plans because in that plan, data is data, voice is voice and they're separate. |
Jul 15 2009, 08:27 PM
1,252 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Planet Earth |
guys, i'm on suplimentary line..if i opt for the ivalue 1, can i keep my number?
Jul 15 2009, 08:41 PM
Jul 15 2009, 08:55 PM
680 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang, Malaysia |
Dear all, for iValue plan, does it mean...
Let say I choose the RM100 package, i can call to any local network for free 333 mins, and up to 500MB free data. But SMS to any network will be charged RM0.10 each on top of the RM100 and can opt for RM8 for 500 sms to same network (maxis) users. This means unless we don't sms other local network, else we surely got to pay more than RM100++? That sounds... bad? This post has been edited by kiawin: Jul 15 2009, 08:55 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0177sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:32 PM |