128 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Maxis iPhone Discussion Thread | V1, Strictly Rates/Plans Discussion ONLY

swee5420
post Jul 19 2009, 12:07 PM

120 posts

[QUOTE]Youth Club pack should be RM 8.80 if not mistaken...

the downside of Youth Club pack is that u buy a new pack with a new phone number, even u are an currently a Hotlink users.... if not i would have change to it...

anyway is good for ppl who wishing to use prepaid to purchase iPhone...
[/QUOTE]

no, you can change your plan to youth club with your existing number. Just call the hotlink CS, they will help you.

Just did mine on friday, coz maxis center and dealer wont be able to do it, since i have tried when paying my RM200 deposit[/QUOTE]

This post has been edited by swee5420: Jul 19 2009, 12:10 PM
LaiN87
post Jul 19 2009, 12:22 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,318 posts

QUOTE(eekwan7 @ Jul 19 2009, 11:44 AM)
can i purchase the i3GS by cheque or bank in?i mean on the day i receive my i3GS icon_question.gif
Cheque?? I donno.. But Machines do accept ccard.

I think I got the most ideal plan ever.. Hotlink Youth Club + 500mb data free per month + iphone prepaid.. =D All I'm waiting now is the iphone. Hotlink Youth Club even give lower rates than postpaid =/ (In sms sense)
acronyx
post Jul 19 2009, 01:48 PM

155 posts

what if u can't collect the phone on the chosen date due to last minute emergency? would u still be able to arrange for a new date? >.<
Cyrus2k
post Jul 19 2009, 02:01 PM

474 posts

err, wasn't the free 500MB data usage that comes with Prepaid plan only valid for the first 12 months?

Wasn't it kinda pointless to get the Youth Club Pack? (although you pay less to extend the validity comparing to Hotlink 365... but come on, I doubt you will be only reloading that little of money for the whole year?)

@acronyx,
Please read the FAQ provided in the first page; Maxis will hold up the unit for you for 14-days after the launch day. (not really sure the "launch day" means 31/7/09 or the date that you set to collect though)

This post has been edited by Cyrus2k: Jul 19 2009, 02:03 PM
wayne78
post Jul 19 2009, 02:07 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(jackhammer84 @ Jul 19 2009, 11:21 AM)
hi wayne78,

just curious, how were you charged extra to almost RM300 just for data usage? coz the T&C and the FAQ both state that "The maximum charge for local usage is up to RM250. "
1st i check my bill, like say on monday is about RM130, on thursday i check the outstanding again it almost about RM370.... so i call up to maxis but no result.... i wait till my bill statement came and i check the data count was massive....extra data is about RM 269+, luckily i subcribe RM8 for 5mb or not it really hit RM300.....
raptar_eric
post Jul 19 2009, 02:17 PM

Live life to the fullest!
1,367 posts

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Jul 19 2009, 02:01 PM)
err, wasn't the free 500MB data usage that comes with Prepaid plan only valid for the first 12 months?

Wasn't it kinda pointless to get the Youth Club Pack? (although you pay less to extend the validity comparing to Hotlink 365... but come on, I doubt you will be only reloading that little of money for the whole year?)

@acronyx,
Please read the FAQ provided in the first page; Maxis will hold up the unit for you for 14-days after the launch day. (not really sure the "launch day" means 31/7/09 or the date that you set to collect though)
Launching date: 28th of july, asked the rep in maxis centre...

Woot, my dad registered the outright prepaid 16gb for me, for my 21st bday biggrin.gif he got himself a 32gb one as well, under the iValue 4 plan....
TSteikwing
post Jul 19 2009, 02:49 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

@raptar_eric:
i'll update the launch date to 28th July then. thanks for the info. smile.gif

again, a reminder, this thread is solely for discussion on rate plans, guys. for any post/discussions on registrations, booking, deposits, colors of iPhone, please proceed to this thread.

keep this thread clean from discussions concerning registrations and chit-chat. our fellow moderator, davidgary73 has been moving all of your posts every single day. please be considerate. would appreciate your cooperation.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jul 19 2009, 02:53 PM
davidgary73
post Jul 19 2009, 02:54 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Thanks teikwing..

Anymore chichatty post in this thread, i will start deleting your post given that warning was given out numerous times and also on the first post of this thread.

If you wanna be heard, please post constructively to help others here. Wanna chitchat, go to kopitiam, not here.

Read the Rules: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/968830

Thank you

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jul 19 2009, 02:56 PM
cksia
post Jul 19 2009, 05:29 PM

62 posts

Hi guys, i have analysed the rates quite thoroughly and i have concluded that the prepaid plan may not be as attractive as it may seem.

First, i am a light phone users who makes very few voice calls. Although i am currently a non maxis user, i have calculated that my monthly call charges under the hotlink prepaid fee structure is around the region of RM 30 per month.

Thus,
iphone 32G (prepaid) + (RM30x12)= RM2990 + RM360 = RM 3350
iphone 32G (ivalue 1) + (RM100 x12) = RM2290 + RM1200= RM RM3490

So, the difference as u can see is RM 3490 - RM 3350 = RM 140= only 4%!!, which isn't particularly attractive when you consider the massive 333 minutes of call minutes that comes with ivalue 1.

What do you think?

TSteikwing
post Jul 19 2009, 05:53 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(cksia @ Jul 19 2009, 05:29 PM)
Hi guys, i have analysed the rates quite thoroughly and i have concluded that the prepaid plan may not be as attractive as it may seem.

First, i am a light phone users who makes very few voice calls. Although i am currently a non maxis user, i have calculated that my monthly call charges under the hotlink prepaid fee structure is around the region of RM 30 per month.

Thus,
iphone 32G (prepaid) + (RM30x12)= RM2990 + RM360 = RM 3350
iphone 32G (ivalue 1) + (RM100 x12) = RM2290 + RM1200= RM RM3490

So, the difference as u can see is RM 3490 - RM 3350 = RM 140= only 4%!!, which isn't particularly attractive when you consider the massive 333 minutes of call minutes that comes with ivalue 1.

What do you think?
well, that's in money terms. i think the main reason maxis offering this prepaid plan is to cater to those who wanted to get an iPhone but not willing to switch to postpaid or for those who just wanted to buy it outright (w/o contracts).

and for those where their calls usage is less and SMS a lot, prepaid is definitely a better go. smile.gif
eekwan7
post Jul 19 2009, 05:58 PM

129 posts

hey guys,i wanna ask my sis who is 19 this year to buy i3GS for me sweat.gif
so now,i just need to buy a prepaid card which is registered under my sis name,then i can go to maxis center to book the i3GS via prepaid plan and ask my sis to sign every form,this method can work or not? icon_question.gif
LaiN87
post Jul 19 2009, 06:12 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,318 posts

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Jul 19 2009, 02:01 PM)

@acronyx,
What's so pointless about getting a plan which allows you to get cheaper rates, cheaper maintainance for validity? Anyway both prepaid should be the same price.

QUOTE(eekwan7 @ Jul 19 2009, 05:58 PM)
hey guys,i wanna ask my sis who is 19 this year to buy i3GS for me sweat.gif
so now,i just need to buy a prepaid card which is registered under my sis name,then i can go to maxis center to book the i3GS via prepaid plan and ask my sis to sign every form,this method can work or not? icon_question.gif
Why not? Your sis will be doing all the work. Even collecting the iPhone.

This post has been edited by LaiN87: Jul 19 2009, 06:13 PM
eekwan7
post Jul 19 2009, 06:17 PM

129 posts

ok^^ rclxm9.gif izit each outlets gt limited units for i3GS?

QUOTE(Cyrus2k @ Jul 19 2009, 06:31 PM)
Indeed, I'm just trying to point out the validity period since thats one of the main point to help us enjoy the free 500MB, right? (Not everyone is eligible to get the Youth Club Pack anyway)

@eekwan7,
In a common sense, yes, by right each outlets will carry certain amount of iPhones. But then, how are we suppose to know how many units each outlet will carry? (unless some reseller can come and clarify this point)
so if i don't get my i3GS on the day i book,how?
Cyrus2k
post Jul 19 2009, 06:31 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Jul 19 2009, 06:12 PM)
What's so pointless about getting a plan which allows you to get cheaper rates, cheaper maintainance for validity? Anyway both prepaid should be the same price.
Indeed, I'm just trying to point out the validity period since thats one of the main point to help us enjoy the free 500MB, right? (Not everyone is eligible to get the Youth Club Pack anyway)

@eekwan7,
In a common sense, yes, by right each outlets will carry certain amount of iPhones. But then, how are we suppose to know how many units each outlet will carry? (unless some reseller can come and clarify this point)
azim61
post Jul 19 2009, 07:01 PM

480 posts

hey guys wanna ask
someone pls clarify this
im now using my hotlink no.
so if i want to book and choose the prepaid plan
can i use my existing hotlink no.
or do i still have to buy the new hotlink no.?
im still under 18
g3n0c1d3
post Jul 19 2009, 07:12 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(azim61 @ Jul 19 2009, 07:01 PM)
hey guys wanna ask
someone pls clarify this
im now using my hotlink no.
so if i want to book and choose the prepaid plan
can i use my existing hotlink no.
or do i still have to buy the new hotlink no.?
im still under 18
ive talk to the maxis personnel yesterday and i found out that the u can use the existing prepaid number without have to buy a new prepaid card or any sort of payment... just pay the amount and then over there just choose ur plan (of course like myself im going for the prepaid plan.)

and after chit chat with him, he told me that the shipping of the iphone 3gs will arrive today (on 19th july) and will be distribute to all the participant outlet. hope he's telling me the truth thou.....

and just want to share some information with u guys... the bookings only valid until 24th july 2009, and after that no more bookings and what i heard is u'll be given some goodies? (thats what ive been told, so cross ur fingers)

just wanted to share with my fellow friends who's still in the dark about the maxis offer...

thnks...
zc_squash
post Jul 19 2009, 07:25 PM

1,149 posts

If everything goes well (read: I am able to offload my AU iPhone 3GS) I will be making my pre-booking for Maxis' iPhone prepaid package. I will also be converting my postpaid to prepaid to be eligible to receive the free 500mb data for 12 months. Since I am a very light mobile phone user (calling, sms, etc.), I guess this could be a good deal for me.

The only thing I am worry of now is that the collection date for 31st July is full sad.gif I may be leaving the country on 1st August, leaving 31st July the only time I could collect the phone. I really hope they have enough phones for all of us on the 31st.
Cyrus2k
post Jul 19 2009, 07:53 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Jul 19 2009, 07:25 PM)
If everything goes well (read: I am able to offload my AU iPhone 3GS) I will be making my pre-booking for Maxis' iPhone prepaid package. I will also be converting my postpaid to prepaid to be eligible to receive the free 500mb data for 12 months. Since I am a very light mobile phone user (calling, sms, etc.), I guess this could be a good deal for me.

The only thing I am worry of now is that the collection date for 31st July is full sad.gif I may be leaving the country on 1st August, leaving 31st July the only time I could collect the phone. I really hope they have enough phones for all of us on the 31st.
Yeah, since we don't really know how is Maxis distributing the units to the outlets; its impossible for one single or few hot outlets receive all the booking orders at the same date. My guess will be that nearing the collection date (maybe one week or few days earlier) Maxis will probably confirm the details of collection with those booking buyers (in case there is any changes on date, locations, etc)

EDIT: We need to stop the discussion on booking in this thread and continue at this thread.

This post has been edited by Cyrus2k: Jul 19 2009, 07:57 PM
tinkerbel
post Jul 19 2009, 08:14 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@teikwing,
Yes but ah well.. what to do? I couldn't help myself so I decided to check in here every now and then though replying was a pain because I absolutely need a proper keyboard; the one on the iPhone isn't good enough for me sad.gif

@wayne78,
I'm not sure what your phone usage is but here's a recommendation for U to consider:-

1) Keep corporate plan
2) Use prepaid to purchase the i3GS - forgo the 500MB data services that comes FOC with the prepaid plan
3) Ask yourself if U need to continue using the iValue150+30 plan since U oredi have the corp plan, if U do then keep it if not U can also cancel it
4) U haf a choice to use the i3GS with ur corporate plan SIM or the iValue150+30 SIM - if ur office doesn't mind, I suggest u use it with your corporate SIM and make it your primary line; that way you even save on the RM99 Unlimited Data Package (assuming your corp plan comes with the Unlimited Data Services package)

The savings is really not RM300 nett because U still need to pay the RM99 i3GS and if U sign the plan, u will need to commit to Maxis this RM99 for the next 24 months. The RM300 savings is not worth you binding urself with Maxis because who knows if U (in future) think U don't need this plan and wish to downgrade; U won't b able to do so at least for the next 2 years hence I feel to save RM300, NOT worth the $ biggrin.gif

Of course, the final decision is urs biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jul 19 2009, 08:27 PM
azim61
post Jul 19 2009, 08:25 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Jul 19 2009, 07:12 PM)
ive talk to the maxis personnel yesterday and i found out that the u can use the existing prepaid number without have to buy a new prepaid card or any sort of payment... just pay the amount and then over there just choose ur plan (of course like myself im going for the prepaid plan.)

and after chit chat with him, he told me that the shipping of the iphone 3gs will arrive today (on 19th july) and will be distribute to all the participant outlet. hope he's telling me the truth thou.....

and just want to share some information with u guys... the bookings only valid until 24th july 2009, and after that no more bookings and what i heard is u'll be given some goodies? (thats what ive been told, so cross ur fingers)

just wanted to share with my fellow friends who's still in the dark about the maxis offer...

thnks...
k thx for the info bro

128 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:41 PM