Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

WhiteWing
post Aug 28 2009, 02:08 PM

2,854 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 27 2009, 08:34 PM)
I think you've been advised against the idea to withdraw cash advance using your credit card a few weeks ago, right ?  sweat.gif
Yeah .. hehe .. thanks biggrin.gif !

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 27 2009, 10:31 PM)
Dear all DA card user

please take note, petrol ROM 97 will be revised to RM2.00 on 12.00am 1st Sept 09. (asked BHP petrol station staff yesterday)

so forget about 5% cash rebate, pump full tank of ur last cheap RM1.80 RON97 before 1st Sept 09.

thanks you.
Thank vin_ann,I gonna go pump my last cheap of v-power also on 31st August xD
vin_ann
post Aug 28 2009, 04:19 PM

10,912 posts

todau just collected my MBB CC and just now got the AIG ppl calling and offering the insurance!

sweat.gif
DarReNz
post Aug 28 2009, 07:50 PM

7,496 posts

how come RON95 increased price from 1.62 to 1.75 ?

Added on August 28, 2009, 7:54 pm
QUOTE(winner @ Aug 27 2009, 04:18 PM)

Were you referring to cash withdrawal from ATM machine? I’ve never experienced any problem when withdrawing cash from my current acc via Just1 card at ATM.
yes my justone card has been retained by the atm 3 times ..... whether it is to check the current account or change the pin number etc and they did tell me that management told them to advise customer to close the current account for justone because of this issue so it means I am not the only one experiencing the issue

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Aug 28 2009, 07:54 PM
charymsylyn
post Aug 29 2009, 01:35 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Aug 28 2009, 07:50 PM)
how come RON95 increased price from 1.62 to 1.75 ?
The price of RON92 petrol is currently RM1.70 and will be replaced by RON95 petrol priced at RM1.75 on 1 September. I've noticed that practically no stations which used to sell both RON92 and RON97 has stopped selling RON92 since mid-August while only a very small number of stations are selling RON95.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 29 2009, 01:46 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Aug 29 2009, 01:35 AM)
The price of RON92 petrol is currently RM1.70 and will be replaced by RON95 petrol priced at RM1.75 on 1 September. I've noticed that practically no stations which used to sell both RON92 and RON97 has stopped selling RON92 since mid-August while only a very small number of stations are selling RON95.
Not that i know what is RON92 or RON95 but certain SHELL stations i frequent have 2 choices of unleaded petrols now. One with the green handle and another one with yellow handle. The red one's gone.

winner
post Aug 29 2009, 05:53 AM

2,221 posts

An update on admin fee and foreign currency conversion, for transactions made in S'pore recently. I used my Alliance Plat Visa to pay hotel bill, and Citi Plat Visa for payment in a shopping mall. While my colleague used HLB Plat MC to settle hotel bill. All transactions were done within the same day. The results are as follows:

ALLIANCE VISA - SGD1 = RM2.4769
CITIBANK VISA - SGD1 = RM2.4887
HLB MC - SGD1 = RM2.4879

Using Alliance as a base, the above conversion rates for Citi and HLB represent a higher admin fee of around 0.44%-0.48%. It is not so bad as compared with SCB and HSBC for my previous analysis made 3-4 weeks ago.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 29 2009, 08:52 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 29 2009, 05:53 AM)
An update on admin fee and foreign currency conversion, for transactions made in S'pore recently. I used my Alliance Plat Visa to pay hotel bill, and Citi Plat Visa for payment in a shopping mall. While my colleague used HLB Plat MC to settle hotel bill. All transactions were done within the same day. The results are as follows:

ALLIANCE VISA - SGD1 = RM2.4769
CITIBANK VISA - SGD1 = RM2.4887
HLB MC - SGD1 = RM2.4879

Using Alliance as a base, the above conversion rates for Citi and HLB represent a higher admin fee of around 0.44%-0.48%. It is not so bad as compared with SCB and HSBC for my previous analysis made 3-4 weeks ago.
I called Alliance a few days ago and was told there are NO overseas administrative charges for their card.

IMO, the biggest possible cause for those variation you posted is currency fluctuation that can change by the minutes.

Did you check what was the bank normal TT or bank draft rate for that day? Are they higher or lower? You can check what was the official Bank Negara indicative rate for the day you used the cards.

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=12&pg=629

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 29 2009, 08:58 AM
winner
post Aug 29 2009, 09:16 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 29 2009, 08:52 AM)
I called Alliance a few days ago and was told there are NO overseas administrative charges for their card.

IMO, the biggest possible cause for those variation you posted is currency fluctuation that can change by the minutes.

Did you check what was the bank normal TT or bank draft rate for that day? Are they higher or lower? You can check what was the official Bank Negara indicative rate for the day you used the cards.

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=12&pg=629
1. The hotel bills were paid on the same day and same time. So there won't be difference in time.
2. Although you know the TT rate by BNM, it won't help. It's because banks WILL NOT reveal the details of conversion.
3. FYI, I wrote to SCB previously to inquire about the high conversion rate they charged as opposed to other banks. They replied without giving a proper answer and refused to show the breakdown of conversion rate, admin fee by SCB and charges by MC.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 29 2009, 10:06 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 29 2009, 09:16 AM)
1. The hotel bills were paid on the same day and same time. So there won't be difference in time.
2. Although you know the TT rate by BNM, it won't help. It's because banks WILL NOT reveal the details of conversion.
3. FYI, I wrote to SCB previously to inquire about the high conversion rate they charged as opposed to other banks. They replied without giving a proper answer and refused to show the breakdown of conversion rate, admin fee by SCB and charges by MC.
Can you please give me the date? From my previous experience, I found in majority of the cases, the MC credit card conversion rate is better than the bank Telex Transfer, Bank Draft and BN posted rate. And it is even better than those online quotation rate on some website or those displayed on Vista Widget.

From what I understand, for overseas transaction, it is MC or VISA doing the conversion and then pass the bill to your bank. And the bank will then add an extra 1 or 2% as administrative charge.

MC or VISA will only use the conversion rate of THE DAY THEY POSTING instead of THE DAY OF TRANSACTION. So there will be differences again. For example, you paid the hotel bill at the same time using 2 different card, Card A & B on 28-Aug.

Card A & B Day of Transaction: 28-Aug
Card A Day of Posting: 28-Aug
Card B Day of Posting: 31-Aug

My 2 sen.
santaclaus
post Aug 29 2009, 10:16 AM

310 posts

winner thx again for the comparison

as wat i knew , all cc stated the conversion rate is determine by visa / master then the issuer bank only add in their charges ... however my fren said he always use citibank compare to hsbc because the rate are lower .... thts y im asking how is this calculated

based on my fren's n winner's comparison i guess using citibank gif the lowest conversion rate as i dun own alliance nor hlb cards blush.gif ... hsbc always charge higher ... might consider scb since their 2% rebate might write-off the extra charges
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 29 2009, 10:25 AM

12,696 posts

Here's a few example. DA MC. GBP

Date 23-Sep-08. MC conversion rate 6.249. BN rate 6.3054
Date 30-Sep-08. MC conversion rate 6.359. BN rate 6.225
Date 28-Oct-08. MC conversion rate 5.56. BN rate 5.5856
Date 17-Oct-08. MC rate 6.102. BN rate 6.1108
Date 27-Oct-08. MC rate 5.621. BN rate 5.6031
Date 30-Nov-08. MC rate 5.56. BN rate 5.5684
Date 3-Dec-08. MC rate 5.42. BN rate 5.5423
Date 12-Dec-08. MC rate 5.38. BN rate 5.3594
After DA started charging 1% administrative fee, I stop using it.

From my queries, bank will always add at least 100 base point on top of BN rate. For example, if BN rate is 6.3054, bank will quote me at least 6.3154 or higher.

So my conclusion is, using CC is often (not always) cheaper than using bank draft. The ONLY problem is, you don't know which day will they do the posting.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 29 2009, 10:26 AM
Gen-X
post Aug 29 2009, 11:31 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 29 2009, 10:06 AM)
From my previous experience, I found in majority of the cases, the MC credit card conversion rate is better than the bank Telex Transfer, Bank Draft and BN posted rate.
This is true especially for Alliance Bank. However if buying RM30K and above, banks do give better rates. I did comparison recently and the lowest rate I got for USD is at EON Bank. The best rate is at money changer.

Using CC also have its benefits as we get rewards points whereas bank draft or TT we get nothing extra.
winner
post Aug 29 2009, 02:23 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 29 2009, 10:06 AM)
Can you please give me the date? From my previous experience, I found in majority of the cases, the MC credit card conversion rate is better than the bank Telex Transfer, Bank Draft and BN posted rate. And it is even better than those online quotation rate on some website or those displayed on Vista Widget.

From what I understand, for overseas transaction, it is MC or VISA doing the conversion and then pass the bill to your bank. And the bank will then add an extra 1 or 2% as administrative charge.

MC or VISA will only use the conversion rate of THE DAY THEY POSTING instead of THE DAY OF TRANSACTION. So there will be differences again. For example, you paid the hotel bill at the same time using 2 different card, Card A & B on 28-Aug.

Card A & B Day of Transaction: 28-Aug
Card A Day of Posting: 28-Aug
Card B Day of Posting: 31-Aug

My 2 sen.
ALL the 3 transactions have the same transaction date (25/8/09) and posting date (27/8/09).

Besides that, I went to a money changer to change RM => SGD on 24/8/09. The rate was SGD1 = RM2.475.

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Aug 29 2009, 10:16 AM)
winner thx again for the comparison

as wat i knew , all cc stated the conversion rate is determine by visa / master then the issuer bank only add in their charges ... however my fren said he always use citibank compare to hsbc because the rate are lower .... thts y im asking how is this calculated

based on my fren's n winner's comparison i guess using citibank gif the lowest conversion rate as i dun own alliance nor hlb cards  blush.gif  ... hsbc always charge higher ... might consider scb since their 2% rebate might write-off the extra charges
SCB doesn't have a good rate, refering to one of my previous posts below. Alliance has been known giving the BEST rate for overseas transactions.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1069190/+1680

vin_ann
post Aug 30 2009, 10:18 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 29 2009, 01:46 AM)
Not that i know what is RON92 or RON95 but certain SHELL stations i frequent have 2 choices of unleaded petrols now. One with the green handle and another one with yellow handle. The red one's gone.
V-power is blue 1 right?

btw, im just notice, just now login to Maybank2u and pay my bills, i notice M2U now can use credit card to pay bills instead of from saving account.

Too bad, only for credit card Visa ( i dun have MBB Master card - so cant tell) can choice from.

now, got more reason to use M2U and credit card to pay bill online... more points!!!

Too bad again, no AMEX...
arsenal
post Aug 30 2009, 12:24 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 30 2009, 10:18 AM)
V-power is blue 1 right?
btw, im just notice, just now login to Maybank2u and pay my bills, i notice M2U now can use credit card to pay bills instead of from saving account.

Too bad, only for credit card Visa ( i dun have MBB Master card - so cant tell) can choice from.

now, got more reason to use M2U and credit card to pay bill online... more points!!!

Too bad again, no AMEX...
Mastercard also can
MilesAndMore
post Aug 30 2009, 03:22 PM

9,301 posts

V-power is blue 1 right?

I don't know. Because i do not pump at ESSO/Mobil sweat.gif

It's been a while since M2U accept bill payment using either Maybank credit card or credit card(s) issued by other local banks (foreign banks such as SCB, Citi, HSBC, UOB & OCBC all included). I've been helping my mom to pay Jabatan Air Sabah bill since June 2008 and Sabah Electricity (SESB) bill since March this year.

By the way, you can only add up to 4 different credit cards into your M2U account. It will need to be verified by Maybank first before you can start using it to pay for bills that do accept credit card via M2U.

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 30 2009, 12:24 PM)
Mastercard also can
For TM you can only use VISA.

vin_ann
post Aug 30 2009, 03:55 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 30 2009, 03:22 PM)
I don't know. Because i do not pump at ESSO/Mobil  sweat.gif
It's been a while since M2U accept bill payment using either Maybank credit card or credit card(s) issued by other local banks (foreign banks such as SCB, Citi, HSBC, UOB & OCBC all included). I've been helping my mom to pay Jabatan Air Sabah bill since June 2008 and Sabah Electricity (SESB) bill since March this year.

By the way, you can only add up to 4 different credit cards into your M2U account. It will need to be verified by Maybank first before you can start using it to pay for bills that do accept credit card via M2U.
For TM you can only use VISA.
no..

i was meaning using M2U and pay bills (other bank credit card bills) but bill like TNB, Telekom...

last time, M2U did not offer pay bills using credit card. now they have this features.

u can opt to pay bills via ur saving account or credit card (MBB's CC)

anyways, btw Any 1 got visited the CIMB Perfect Living??

no 1 mentioned about CIMB perfect living while MBB Treatfair every 1 is mentioned about it.

CIMB really got nothing tht special compared to MBB?

mat_xtreme89
post Aug 30 2009, 04:09 PM

13 posts

hi..juz wanna ask..

can i pay MBF-AmBank Line of Credit (LOC) Credit card through cimbclicks??
i mean pay by cimbclicks to MBF card sdn bhd?
hye
post Aug 30 2009, 04:24 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(mat_xtreme89 @ Aug 30 2009, 04:09 PM)
hi..juz wanna ask..

can i pay MBF-AmBank Line of Credit (LOC) Credit card through cimbclicks??
i mean pay by cimbclicks to MBF card sdn bhd?
Yes ... I'm not mistaken you can. In CIMBClicks look for payee MBF Cards Sdn Bhd.
Whether your LOC is provided by MBF or AMBank, you can use the same payment channel to pay your MBF card bill.
mat_xtreme89
post Aug 30 2009, 04:37 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 30 2009, 04:24 PM)
Yes ... I'm not mistaken you can. In CIMBClicks look for payee MBF Cards Sdn Bhd.
Whether your LOC is provided by MBF or AMBank, you can use the same payment channel to pay your MBF card bill.
thanks..
i try to pay with cimbclicks cause ambank is little bit far from my home..
otherwise i didnt hve ambnk acc...
im just nervous cause this is my frst time trial...

0.0208sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:37 PM