Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

charymsylyn
post Jun 20 2009, 12:57 AM

500 posts

Anyone received statement from DA recently? Mine came with leaflet of DA Smart Flexi-pay plan. Until end of the year, you can convert any purchase to 10 monthly instalments. No upfront charges to convert unlike last time.
charymsylyn
post Jun 24 2009, 11:48 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jun 24 2009, 10:28 PM)
gsc e-payment sucks!!!!

can't even make any payment with all my credit card. Did anyone here encounter same problem?
Yes, they have some issues with their CC system. But with only one time not being able to buy tickets in the past 2 years, I'm pretty OK with it. Did not have experience in being actually charged for failed purchases before with them.
charymsylyn
post Jun 25 2009, 11:56 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 25 2009, 11:46 PM)
What is this?

Maybankard Credit Care Plan

URL: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

My guess is not FOC. Am I right?
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...qId=CRD01.16.06
charymsylyn
post Jul 7 2009, 01:13 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 7 2009, 07:03 AM)
Don't have to be huge amount. Slightly different situation. A friend had MBB Gold Card and he is a millionaire. He went overseas and his wife used her supplementary card to buy RM300 stuff. The bank called up once to verify and he told the bank not to do that again because it is such small amount and he is paying expensive roaming charges. When the wife used her card again the next day to make a 2nd purchase, the bank called him up again. He returned all his cards soon afterward.
This is a good reason why to call your bank and tell them the dates you'll be in and out of the country. smile.gif

Added on July 7, 2009, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 7 2009, 12:19 PM)
This could happen if you pay by cheque using the cheque deposit machine, even if it is a local cheque. I encountered this problem with CIMB a few times although the local cheques were deposited 1 week earlier than the due dates. So now, I seldom pay by cheque and if I wanna settle the cc balance via cheque, I'll make it soon after I receive the statement. This however, makes me lose the benefit of 20-day interest free period. sad.gif
According to the current rules, banks will not accept any post-dated cheques. The date on the cheque must be either the same day or earlier before being accepted for processing. And say if you put e.g. the next days date, odds are good that your cheque will be put aside and not processed and you are not informed of the non-acceptance.

This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Jul 7 2009, 01:16 PM
charymsylyn
post Aug 16 2009, 11:35 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 16 2009, 09:39 AM)
One major flaw about sending PAC/TAC to your mobile phone is that the system can be easily hacked. For example, once some @#$% stole your login id and password, they will need a PAC/TAC whenever they want to transfer the money out. And every time they managed to hack into the system and divert the sms from the bank containing the PAC/TAC number  sad.gif

So far Maybank and CIMB online banking are the two most vulnerable and prone to being hacked. Never heard anything about HSBC so far "touch wood"  laugh.gif
This never happens to me. And hopefully it will stay this way  sweat.gif
With MBB at least, you can only change the phone number the TAC is sent to at the ATM. TAC is needed for all money transfers and bill payments except to own accounts and favourite accounts. If the person already has your internet banking password, ATM card and PIN number, you are probably in more immediate danger with regards to your life than the money you have in the bank.

The only reason why you hear more bad news is because many people don't seem to mind logging in to internet banking either at public computers (cybercafe, at work) or the security of their own computers is already compromised (password stealing malware). It's always easier to hack the user than hack the bank system, not to say that our local bank system is really that safe in the first place. smile.gif
charymsylyn
post Aug 22 2009, 12:30 PM

500 posts

I went to MBB card centre at 1U on Thursday to cancel my old Sonycard and Mastercard classic (AF due end of the year). The lady said that my Sonycard will be replaced by the new free for life version, so I might as well keep it, ans since I've not used the Mastercard for more than 6 months, it will not be renewed end of the year.

I then applied for the Amex Gold CC and exchange some points for Petronas vouchers. The centre called me yesterday (about 25 hours later) saying that my application has been approved and card is ready for collection. I asked and she said it was shared limit, but I didn't expect that they'll also increase my CL to RM6K, since I asked twice for RM6K and was rejected last year.

Colour me impressed with MBB service for the first time ever!

Added on August 22, 2009, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(btr999 @ Aug 22 2009, 10:50 AM)
sorry for loads of questions. heres another one, i've reviewed both citibank cashback cc and clear cc, it seems that the former one has a better cashback rewards if im using cc for groceries purchases every month. but can cashback cc use widely like common cc? is there any function limited to cashback cc? just in case i have emergency use of cash in the future i need to make sure this.
and can cashback cc and classic cc of the same bank link together?
It makes no difference to the merchant side whatever normal or cashback card that you have as long as it goes through and there's no chargeback, haha. All the differences are with you and the bank and you just need to decide which card to use to get the best benefits you want.

This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Aug 22 2009, 12:38 PM
charymsylyn
post Aug 24 2009, 10:31 PM

500 posts

When picking up my card, I asked why my friend who applied a week before Treatsfair has not gotten his card, the guy said that applications through branches are normally slower as MBB Cardcentre applications have higher priority in the system.

For those who are convenient with any MBB Cardcentres, it doesn't hurt to drop by and resubmit. Existing MBB CC customers do not need to submit any documents, just filling up about half the form is enough.

Added on August 24, 2009, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(daijoubu @ Aug 24 2009, 10:30 PM)
Guys, may i ask, what is the difference between

1) American Express® Gold Credit Card
2) Maybankard American Express Classic
3) Maybankard American Express Gold

All are by Maybank =.=. Very confusing.

Correct me if im wrong, the first one is in Membership Rewards points by AMEX, while the other 2 are in Treatpoints? And, the first one cannot do EzyPayment?

Thanks in advance :)
Your understanding of the points system used is correct. Both are not interchangeable, however during Treatsfair you can use either system to redeem items. Amex has their own easy payment scheme while in theory MBB Amex does allow EzyPayment, I've not seen any merchant offer it, they only accept MBB Visa/Master for it.

This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Aug 24 2009, 10:35 PM
charymsylyn
post Aug 29 2009, 01:35 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Aug 28 2009, 07:50 PM)
how come RON95 increased price from 1.62 to 1.75 ?
The price of RON92 petrol is currently RM1.70 and will be replaced by RON95 petrol priced at RM1.75 on 1 September. I've noticed that practically no stations which used to sell both RON92 and RON97 has stopped selling RON92 since mid-August while only a very small number of stations are selling RON95.
charymsylyn
post Sep 4 2009, 04:37 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(donpapachino @ Sep 3 2009, 04:10 PM)
the maybank islamic visa petronas, 1 of the feature is non compounding charges. does that means the finance charges is 17.5% per annum only for 1 month & the following month no finance charge for the carry forward outstanding?
Non-compounding charges (or interest, same function) simply means that the interest and charges do not compound, unlike conventional cards. With conventional cards, all interest and charges are subject to daily compound interest until full settlement.

Refer to Wikipedia for further information:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compound_interest

Added on September 4, 2009, 4:43 am
QUOTE(m3red1th @ Sep 4 2009, 01:25 AM)
Guys,

I have a CIMB CC. I need cash urgently (around RM 1k) and considering of doing Cash Advance.

Read from CIMB website and found out that the charge is 5%.
The charge is  5% only as long as I pay in full before my statement due date, right? No other hidden charges like Citibank who charges 18% p.a. daily interests?
Cash advances from all credit cards in Malaysia is subject to 18% daily interest starting immediately from the withdrawal date until full settlement, excluding the cash advance fee paid for the facility (the fee is also subject to compound interest). This is not considered a hidden charge, it is nearly always mentioned in the interest information in the brochures and the back of your CC statement.

This post has been edited by charymsylyn: Sep 4 2009, 04:44 AM
charymsylyn
post Sep 4 2009, 06:33 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(m3red1th @ Sep 4 2009, 05:21 AM)
18% interest daily?  :shock:

Meaning every day they will add in another 18% to my cash advance total? Or it's 18% per annum (1.5% per month) daily charge?  :unsure:
Interest for CC here is nearly always quoted per annum basis, same like nearly any other banking product. Keep in mind that the APR is usually higher than the quoted rate.
charymsylyn
post Sep 4 2009, 07:57 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 4 2009, 07:14 AM)
If you don't believe it, you can always try it out for yourself and then let us know whether they charge you interest or not. But ... don't say that we didn't warn ya. FYI, the interest rate is not 18% but only 17.5% per annum and calculated on a daily basis. (On top of your cash advance fees)

Ask lah bro WhiteWing ... he will tell ya the same thing.
There was no reduction in interest charges for cash advances, recheck the back of your CC statement.
charymsylyn
post Sep 5 2009, 09:46 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(namh @ Sep 4 2009, 09:25 PM)
just want to get the clear information..

I now owned Maybank Ikhwan Mastercard.. recently, Maybank launched the Maybank Ikhwan PETRONAS Mastercard.. I think, it is much better if i change my card to the PETRONAS card.. because the normal card can not get any TP if you fill petrol at PETRONAS, but the new card can help you accumulate 5x TP, right?

if yes, I want to change my card to the new Maybank Ikhwan PETRONAS Mastercard..
MBB Petronas cards are all Visas. smile.gif But if you pump mostly Petronas, getting the Ikhwan Petronas is a good idea since you get more points. Some Petronas stations used to accept Amex at the pump but now if they accept (not all do), must pay at counter.

0.1010sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:40 AM