Hi. What credit card gives this:
1. Free for life
2. Give rebates instead of points or give rebates for petrol.
Excluding DA or CIMB cards.
Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic
Jul 1 2009, 08:13 AM
12,696 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Hi. What credit card gives this:
1. Free for life 2. Give rebates instead of points or give rebates for petrol. Excluding DA or CIMB cards. Thanks. |
Jul 4 2009, 07:25 AM
http://www.alliancebank.com.my/ccard_youni...bates_card.html
Alliance Bank You:nique Has anyone got any experience with this card? It attracts me because: 1. It gives rebate continuously all year around without time limit (instead of for certain promotional period only for other cards) of up to 2% 2. Free annual fee if used 12 times. 3. Same for supplementary cards and can have different preset limit for each individual supplementary cards (good to give to children or free spending spouse) 4. No overseas transaction charges. So I applied for one and last night, when I called their center to make some inquiries, they do not take calls after 8pm except for lost card report. I thought all cards' phone service is 24/7. And no weekends and holiday. So now I am having doubt about their customer service. Anybody having any 1st hand experience with them and care to share? This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 4 2009, 09:37 AM |
Jul 4 2009, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(winner @ Jul 4 2009, 09:08 AM) Cash rebate is based on tier system, subject to a max cash back of RM68.25 or 1.365% per month. It is not 2% as what people normally think. I called and this is what they told me:0 - 500 0.5% 501 - 1350 0.7% 1351 - 2550 0.9% 2551 - 5000 2% Hasn't used my card yet but so far, the only thing I don't like is this no working after 8pm and weekend/holidays. Added on July 4, 2009, 9:46 am QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 4 2009, 09:12 AM) Yah, Alliance Bank's benefits are not too bad but thier claim of 24/7 CS is misleading. Once I also made a call (to so called Platinum CS number) after 8pm to make an enquiry on cash back and was told the same thing. In my limited experience, the best CS is from DA Platinum. Call were answered very fast. And you get to IMMEDIATELY talk to a REAL person instead of some answering machine with layers upon layers of menu. Press this, press that. Hold etc.And they are available 24/7. 365 days a year. This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 4 2009, 09:46 AM |
Jul 4 2009, 03:06 PM
Come on fellows, you people are complaining about such trivial thing. I am a male and Alliance gave me a pink colored CC (never given me an option to choose) and I have to pay RM38 to have the picture changed.
Now can you imagine......a PINK credit card for a male!!!! I don't know whether to laugh or to cry. This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 4 2009, 03:07 PM |
Jul 4 2009, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(arsenal @ Jul 4 2009, 03:15 PM) i believe you selected wrongly for younique one...in my case, i got pink color while i actually selected beach view...they changed for FOC!!!.. Now you mentioned it.....may be I will keep the pink card and only use it when I am with lady friends. They will probably think I am a very sensitive and 'safe' person to be with My friends thought i am gay when i swiped my card....LOL But for the life of me, I aren't going to use it around my male friends. |
Jul 5 2009, 07:35 AM
I have a platinum and deliberately also get a Classic card with lowest limit possible. I asked for RM1K limit but they say lowest is RM3K.
I use the classic card more often. Online purchase. Restaurant swiping behind counter whereby I can't see them doing it. Peace of mind because I reckon no criminal would want to defraud a low limit card. |
Jul 6 2009, 04:34 PM
I doubt a member reward point from Bank A has the same value as from Bank B. So I think comparison of reward point from different bank is meaningless.
Jul 6 2009, 10:48 PM
Jul 7 2009, 07:03 AM
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jul 6 2009, 11:47 PM) Most of the time if the transaction is huge they will call you when the transaction is in progress....well i don't deny that calling them will save you all the hassle Don't have to be huge amount. Slightly different situation. A friend had MBB Gold Card and he is a millionaire. He went overseas and his wife used her supplementary card to buy RM300 stuff. The bank called up once to verify and he told the bank not to do that again because it is such small amount and he is paying expensive roaming charges. When the wife used her card again the next day to make a 2nd purchase, the bank called him up again. He returned all his cards soon afterward. |
Jul 7 2009, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 7 2009, 08:40 AM) Part of article in The Star Today I am not surprised citibank has the largest receivables. Even if you paid them full within due date, they still list it as unpaid (and hence receivable). They do that so they can charge you late payment fee. Heard too many such cases, mine included."Citibank, which has over a million cardholders, is currently one of the local market leaders in the card segment with a market share of almost 20%. According to RAM Ratings, Citibank, Maybank and CIMB Bank were ranked first, second and third respectively in terms of the amount of credit card receivables as at Sept 30, 2008. Credit card receivables are outstanding loans. Citibank’s credit card receivables amounted to RM4.4bil, followed by Maybank’s RM3.32bil and CIMB Bank’s RM2.57bil in that period." |
Jul 7 2009, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(zazaza2009 @ Jul 7 2009, 02:39 PM) Anyone one of you guys ever go to Disco and Ah Long agents approach you to change 1k swipe of CC into RM950 cash? Mathematically speaking, that is not Ah Long.Even if you go to bank to withdraw cash money using credit card, the bank will also charge you the same RM50 charges. So where got any difference? |
Jul 9 2009, 08:26 AM
A recently court decision has ruled, in cases like yours, the limit is RM250. This is the law of Malaysia and override any contract the card company may impose on you.
Jul 9 2009, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(creed @ Jul 9 2009, 08:28 AM) Thanks for the head-up, but its back in 2008 and moreover i already settled the payment, what could I do now? Print out the newspaper court ruling and show it to the bank. Tell them how upset you are and you will tell everybody how you are being treated. Drag their name through the mud and since you are telling the truth, they can't sue you.May or may not work but you still have some sense of satisfaction. No harm trying. Give me your email address and I send a copy of that newspaper to you. Or try to google for that report yourself. |
Jul 9 2009, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 9 2009, 11:59 AM) Please understand, a Court Decision is only precedent setting but not retrospective binding. Further, to use the above ruling without knowing or understanding fully the judgement rationale is very misleading as circumstances may differ Clause 13.2 of Bank Negara's Credit Card Guideline:"The cardholder's maximum liability for unauthorised transactions as a consequence of a lost or stolen credit card shall be confined to a limit specified by the issuer of credit cards, which shall not exceed RM250 provided the cardholder has not acted fraudulently or has not failed to inform the issuer of credit cards as soon as reasonably practicable after having found that his credit card is lost or stolen." Pretty clear to me the bank is breaking AN EXISTING law when they asked you to pay. It does not matter whether the bank break the law tomorrow or last year. It is still breaking the law so go tell the bank that. Tell them, to refund your money or else you go report them to Bank Negara or sue them. It is an offense for the bank to knowingly break the law. This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 9 2009, 12:34 PM |
Jul 9 2009, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 9 2009, 12:32 PM) The statement "provided the cardholder has not acted fraudulently or has not failed to inform the issuer of credit cards as soon as reasonably practicable after having found that his credit card is lost or stolen" depending on how its proven or interpreted leaves a lot to the imagination. Go to Court and listen to some hearing will give you a better idea on what I am talking about Isn't it "ignorance unless proven guilty"? So in this case, it is up to the card company to prove your guilt. |
Jul 10 2009, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 10 2009, 09:38 AM) All my card is amex and visa la, no mastercard yet. That is funny. Free Visa card are harder to get than Mastercard. I wanted Visa but they always give me MC. |
Jul 10 2009, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 10:22 AM) @*devilelle*, The problem is, every CC has their advantages. For example:A fellow forummer here recently reported he's got 14 cards and counting... Another has 3 name card boxes filled with CCs. Conclusion: I don't think the 3 card per person rule is applicable but in my opinion, it's pretty good to curb over spending - not like it's gonna help if each card gives CL of RM200k! 1. DA gave free for life with NO condition plus 2% fuel rebate. 2. SCB gave me purchase protection so good for buying those electronic goods. 3. RHB once gave me 5% fuel rebate. 4. Alliance gave me 1+% rebate on everything I buy. |
Jul 10 2009, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 10:32 AM) @Optiplex330, I was in your position once, i.e., I only hold 1 card and that was Amex. But I gave it up when Dell computer do not accept Amex and this is ridiculous. A top US computer company not accepting an American card?Hence people accumulate CCs over the years because their needs changes. I prefer to remain loyal to one cause of the reward points and my pick for now is Amex *smiles* Citibank sux in my opinion and I'd been with them for 10 years! After that episode, it is free for all. |
Jul 10 2009, 10:39 AM
Can someone tell me which CC gives you access to Plaza Premium Lounge at LCCT?
AFAIK, EON Matta does but subjected to 300 person quota. Any others? Of course, must be free annual fee one lah. http://www.lcct.com.my/plaza_premium_lounge_at_lcct.php Added on July 10, 2009, 10:40 am QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 10 2009, 10:38 AM) Many years ago when I first bought Dell, they don't. Been there. Done that. Gave up.This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 10 2009, 10:40 AM |
Jul 10 2009, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jul 10 2009, 01:39 PM) According to Priority Pass, it should be no problem http://www.prioritypass.com/Lounges/Kuala-...port-Lounge.cfm ie. they accept Priority Pass card, so if you have it, they should not be denying you entry This may be the cause of confusion. SCB Platinum only entitles you to enter KLIA lounge, nothing about LCCT.http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...-mastercard/en/ But the SCB Visa Infinite says "Unlimited Airport Lounge Access Worldwide". http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...sa-infinite/en/ |
| Change to: | 0.0637sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:32 AM |