Credit Card Thread V7, Everything about the world of plastic

winner
post Aug 3 2009, 12:37 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 3 2009, 12:15 PM)
Did they target for 1000 cards?
During the launching time in May'09, they always advertised that 1st 1000 approved cards will be given a free RM50 rebate. I presume they have hit the target last month. And now, I notice that SCB has even removed Just1 cc from their website.
GHz
post Aug 3 2009, 01:25 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 3 2009, 12:37 PM)
During the launching time in May'09, they always advertised that 1st 1000 approved cards will be given a free RM50 rebate. I presume they have hit the target last month. And now, I notice that SCB has even removed Just1 cc from their website.
The page is still at their website but they remove the top main link to this card
talfred
post Aug 3 2009, 04:13 PM

81 posts

Hmmm I wonder why it got put on hold. Thank god my card just arrived today!

I hope not because of technical reasons with the card... Anyone experienced any technical issues with it?
hye
post Aug 3 2009, 04:31 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(talfred @ Aug 3 2009, 04:13 PM)

I hope not because of technical reasons with the card... Anyone experienced any technical issues with it?
Card is popular that's all. No technical issues except that you need to tel the cashier to press/select the Credit function. Normally any other card will auto default to either credit or debit mode. This is the first product that has both so if the cashier insert the card into the machine, a menu will ask either credit or debit.

Y ... you asked coz you use the card and got technical issues ? If you have then share it here.
winner
post Aug 3 2009, 04:57 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(talfred @ Aug 3 2009, 04:13 PM)

Congrats. You must be one of the last few batches of approved applicants.
Gen-X
post Aug 3 2009, 05:20 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 3 2009, 12:37 PM)
Maybe SCB had decided to stop Just1 because of people like you who have max out the rebate of RM600 within couple months and then stop using it. Assuming that 50% of the 1000 applicants managed to max out the RM600 within 6 monhts, that would mean a "loss" of RM300,000 in 2 quaters.
hye
post Aug 3 2009, 06:15 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 3 2009, 05:20 PM)
Maybe SCB had decided to stop Just1 because of people like you who have max out the rebate of RM600 within couple months and then stop using it. Assuming that 50% of the 1000 applicants managed to max out the RM600 within 6 monhts, that would mean a "loss" of RM300,000 in 2 quaters.
Yup ... I agree this is likely the scenario. That's why I say it will be interesting to see whether SCB will continue this product or not next year. Problem is ... if they discontinue or change the T&C, it could be a disasterous move for SCB. They are likely to lose the huge chunk of customers built under the JustOne product.
jack2
post Aug 3 2009, 06:33 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 3 2009, 06:15 PM)
Yup ... I agree this is likely the scenario. That's why I say it will be interesting to see whether SCB will continue this product or not next year. Problem is ... if they discontinue or change the T&C, it could be a disasterous move for SCB. They are likely to lose the huge chunk of customers built under the JustOne product.
May be they prefer to lost the cust other than having loss of RM300k on rebate.
winner
post Aug 3 2009, 07:12 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 3 2009, 05:20 PM)
I must agree that I won't allow banks having any chances of charging me interest and late payment charges. I also don't entertain calls from banks pertaining to PL, BT, refinance and insurance. I guess banks don't like a cardholder like me. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by winner: Aug 3 2009, 07:14 PM
Cloudx
post Aug 3 2009, 11:24 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Anyone here is a HLB Credit card agent or know any reliable agent? Im having problem to terminate my credit card and waive its annual fee.

The problem started when i receive a statement with annual fee charged into my 2 months old un-active credit card. I was shock and quickly go to a nearest HLB to cancel my card and get my waiver. Then the bank's finance personel contacted me and confirm my cancelation and do the waiver for me and till now its been 3 month and in this 3 months i still keep receive their statement together with the annual fee increasing every month vmad.gif and everytime i call them up they say they will have it done but nothing has been done.

Anyone facing this problem, i cancel my maybank card b4.. and they will send a letter of confirmation that i've cancel the account but HLB didnt send me anything.

I am about to go to their head office and demand they cancel it immediately, but im in penang and its quite inconvenient for me to do that.

Any suggestion ? icon_question.gif
Shinichi
post Aug 3 2009, 11:48 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Aug 3 2009, 11:24 PM)
Anyone here is a HLB Credit card agent or know any reliable agent? Im having problem to terminate my credit card and waive its annual fee.

The problem started when i receive a statement with annual fee charged into my 2 months old un-active credit card. I was shock and quickly go to a nearest HLB to cancel my card and get my waiver. Then the bank's finance personel contacted me and confirm my cancelation and do the waiver for me and till now its been 3 month and in this 3 months i still keep receive their statement together with the annual fee increasing every month vmad.gif and everytime i call them up they say they will have it done but nothing has been done.

Anyone facing this problem, i cancel my maybank card b4.. and they will send a letter of confirmation that i've cancel the account but HLB didnt send me anything.

I am about to go to their head office and demand they cancel it immediately, but im in penang and its quite inconvenient for me to do that.

Any suggestion ? icon_question.gif
I face the same thing as you before... my inactve 4 months old card are being charged annual fee. I immediately called the CS and they say i need to swipe the cards 2 times in order for them to waive. I do accordingly and cancelled my cards as soon as the fees are waived.

However I still receive statement from HLB everymonth. I think this is because I have -5 cents balance in my card.

Where is your location in Penang? I believe there are few branches in Penang.
Remember to request them give you photocopy of cancelled card statement for reference purposes.

HLB, i will not touch their card ever again. Its like they are forcing us to use their card.
jack2
post Aug 4 2009, 10:54 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

Any maybank AMEX agent here.. Wanna apply Amex Gold credit card
khlee
post Aug 4 2009, 11:22 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 4 2009, 10:54 AM)
Any maybank AMEX agent here.. Wanna apply Amex Gold credit card
found 1 here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1098390

I've not tried his service so no comments. I applied directly to maybank before he advertise his service.
winner
post Aug 4 2009, 01:09 PM

2,221 posts

An update on admin charge on forex for retail transaction in overseas. I used both SCB MC and Alliance MC to pay hotel bill on the same day in Middle East. I purposely split the bill into 2 so that I can monitor the disparity for purchase made on the same item and same day. To my surprise, SCB MC charged 3.7% higher than my Alliance MC for the conversion! Assuming Alliance didn't charge admin fee on currency conversion, SCB charged 3.7% for its admin fee. It's much higher than the 1% as indicated in its T&Cs. Fortunately I'll get reimbursement from my company.
alexwsk
post Aug 4 2009, 01:54 PM

4,094 posts

has anyone receive the cc applied during Treat Fair?

Added on August 4, 2009, 1:56 pm
QUOTE(winner @ Aug 4 2009, 01:09 PM)
An update on admin charge on forex for retail transaction in overseas. I used both SCB MC and Alliance MC to pay hotel bill on the same day in Middle East. I purposely split the bill into 2 so that I can monitor the disparity for purchase made on the same item and same day. To my surprise, SCB MC charged 3.7% higher than my Alliance MC for the conversion! Assuming Alliance didn't charge admin fee on currency conversion, SCB charged 3.7% for its admin fee. It's much higher than the 1% as indicated in its T&Cs. Fortunately I'll get reimbursement from my company.
hmm.gif , interesting
maybe BNM shud force them to indicate how they charge in the bill

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Aug 4 2009, 01:56 PM
tinkerbel
post Aug 4 2009, 03:03 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Gosh.. this is SoOooO ridiculous! It's the first time I'm trying to contact SCB's CS and I'm totally aghast with the CS's response - she wasn't impolite perse but heck! I expect someone who wouldn't put me on hold with every question I ask.

If she's new then put her lah somewhere else for training - Y me?!!! *ish*

@alexwsk,
I believe mine's been delivered except again I have to go to the damn post office to make the collection; not in the mood so muAhah I didn't go pick it up! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Aug 4 2009, 03:03 PM
winner
post Aug 4 2009, 03:16 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 4 2009, 03:03 PM)
Gosh.. this is SoOooO ridiculous! It's the first time I'm trying to contact SCB's CS and I'm totally aghast with the CS's response - she wasn't impolite perse but heck! I expect someone who wouldn't put me on hold with every question I ask.

If she's new then put her lah somewhere else for training - Y me?!!! *ish*
I guess you questions were too tricky for a fresh graduate who works as a CS officer to handle. biggrin.gif

Added on August 4, 2009, 3:22 pm
QUOTE(alexwsk @ Aug 4 2009, 01:54 PM)
hmm.gif , interesting
maybe BNM shud force them to indicate how they charge in the bill
Luckily I made the payment on Friday (5% rebate). Or else I would have suffered loss as 2% rebate couldn't cover the 3.7% conversion fee.

This post has been edited by winner: Aug 4 2009, 03:22 PM
alexwsk
post Aug 4 2009, 05:17 PM

4,094 posts

@tinkerbel
urs is SCB VI rite? no special number to call meh?
i'm still waiting for my card to get to my office unsure.gif

@winner
no wonder u can maximised ur rebate so fast laugh.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Aug 4 2009, 05:18 PM
winner
post Aug 4 2009, 06:52 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Aug 4 2009, 05:17 PM)
@winner
no wonder u can maximised ur rebate so fast laugh.gif
Yes. I paid about RM9k in one receipt using SCB Just1 and I've so far spent >RM15k on this card. Good enough for auto waiver of AF next year. tongue.gif

Added on August 5, 2009, 11:10 am
QUOTE(winner @ Aug 4 2009, 01:09 PM)
Correction:
I have received the final statement from Alliance. The final rate it charged is different from what the CS officer told me before they issued the statement last week. Also, I have compiled the currency conversion on the SAME ITEM purchased (hotel bills) made on the SAME DAY and SAME TIME. I used Alliance MC and SCB MC while my colleague used CIMB MC and HSBC VISA. On the assumption that Alliance did not charge admin fee on overseas transactions, the results are as follows:

Alliance MC = 0%
SCB MC = 2.76% higher than Alliance MC
CIMB MC = 1.80% higher than Alliance MC
HSBC VISA = 2.01% higher than Alliance MC

Conclusion: Alliance is the clear winner for overseas transactions.

This post has been edited by winner: Aug 5 2009, 11:10 AM
he-sham
post Aug 5 2009, 11:18 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

currently i have issue with eonbank..... during last march or april pc fair, their cc agent approached me & persuaded me to apply for pavilion cc....i said i'm not interested since i already have matta...but he promised me to give separate limit..then ok la...applied with him...

when got the card, it's combined limit with my existing card...so i planned to cancel it straight away....but in the starter pack of the pavlion card that i received got one promotion leaflet about cash rebate using the pavilion card... for gold rm100 (for minimum rm300 spending) & platinum rm200 (for minimum rm500 spending)... so i decided to keep the card since it got the promotion...i checked the T&C, it mention only for newly approved eonbank pavilion credit card...so ok la.....i used the card the the required amount as mentioned in the leaflet for me to be eligible to get the cash rebate....i used it within the promotion period....but till now no cash rebate....i went to their card center for complain last monday....i bring together the leaflet & my statement...their customer service counter representative also not know about the promotion (which ended already)...her superior said its is because the promotion only valid for new to bank customer....i said it never mention in T&C plus they send the leaflet together with the starter pack of my pavilion card...if i'm not eligible to the promotion why sent me the leaflet together with the starter pack ?? i insisted to see their manager.....but their manager was having meeting all day...so they said will contact me later.....today they called me, saying the same thing....no cash rebate since i'm not new to bank customer....but they offered me a gift which is a document bag they claimed worth rm200.... i said i still not satisfy since i want cash rebate, not bag....then i said i will proceed to make a formal complain to consumer body..& then she said ok la ...

its getting interesting haaa...currently i'm in between jobs..so got nothing to do....wanna bash some inefficiency of banking services....give them a run for my money...only after settle this dispute, i'll cancel my card...haha....

This post has been edited by he-sham: Aug 5 2009, 11:20 AM

125 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:23 PM