13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Money vs Marriage, Money ruin everything...

SUSwankongyew
post May 12 2009, 02:59 PM

1,177 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 12 2009, 02:26 PM)
What I know about women is that while they all plan to get married one day, they constantly think about their dream wedding. Yes it may only be a symbolic gesture of holy matrimony but it matters. Unlike men, women start planning their weddings early on in life. Yes marriage is more important but that doesn't make the wedding itself any less important if that makes sense. It may not make sense to most men but heck, it does to women and we have to respect that.

I doubt any woman would disagree with me.
Heh, my wife would disagree with you. In fact, I had to talk her into having a wedding dinner together with my mother-in-law. My own parents don't care much about the formalities. They're the very Western-educated type. My wife's parents are mostly okay too, but still feel like it was necessary to put on a show for the other relatives on my wife's side of the family. Personally, I don't care much for the tradition or being put on display but I was willing to put up with it for one night. Even so, neither of us put any effort into it whatsoever because we just couldn't be bothered. No speeches, no fancy music, no wedding car and decorations, no alcohol and toastings. We wanted to greet everyone, let them eat and send them on their way as soon as possible. I am proud to say that we were very poor hosts and it was a very, very bad wedding dinner.

Even to this day, 3 years later, my wife sometimes expresses regret that I managed to talk her into agreeing to have a wedding dinner at all. She thinks that it's a vain, meaningless and unenjoyable event held just to please others and not the two of us. She thinks that we should just have spent the money on increasing our honeymoon budget instead. Hehe. In general, both of us are not very sociable people and we hate doing things just for the sake of satisfying social conventions and showing off. We felt that it was much more meaningful to do different things for different sets of relatives and acquaintances together. For example, having lunch with our old school mates around a table, taking some of the younger members of the family to a karaoke etc.

This is also why the two of us get along very well.

Just a post to show that not all girls are like that, or enjoy the same things or think the same way and that it is not necessary to do things just because it is "expected" or "customary".
SUSSPS

1,127 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ May 12 2009, 02:56 PM)
I think in his gfs opinion, 12k is not really a big grand wedding, 12k inc of photo, dowry and reception all in wor, I would say is a very economical wedding lor. His gf is sad that TS took no initiative to even save 12k.

And some of the smartalec here (not you) maybe really expect a roti canai and teh tarik reception doh.gif
Is that your problem if some couples have a roti canai reception or even just sign a marriage of certificiate and have no wedding receptions whatsoever?

barista

I want to retire
883 posts

Ehh... what about the number of times TS slept with the future wife?
The girl already lose some value by being with him over the years.

What is 12K? Some more want to complaint here.

This post has been edited by barista: May 12 2009, 03:01 PM
Gr3yL3gion
post May 12 2009, 03:02 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 12 2009, 02:59 PM)

Girls is just meat, I support your view. thumbup.gif
SUSjoe_star
post May 12 2009, 03:02 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ May 12 2009, 02:56 PM)
I think in his gfs opinion, 12k is not really a big grand wedding, 12k inc of photo, dowry and reception all in wor, I would say is a very economical wedding lor. His gf is sad that TS took no initiative to even save 12k.

And some of the smartalec here (not you) maybe really expect a roti canai and teh tarik reception doh.gif
I'd have to agree with you on this though, cos iirc from the previous thread, TS salary is around RM3K+. With that kinda budget, its probably possible to save up in a year, unless TS got lots of overheads. Best thing would be to compromise I guess, perhaps discuss with your fiance to have a smaller reception for close family?
cutiepooh
post May 12 2009, 03:03 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ May 12 2009, 02:57 PM)
Who doesn't want to be grand in everything? The question is at what cost. wink.gif
Support Darwinist, marriage is unnatural. Guys should have the right to procreate with any women they want.  thumbup.gif
Ya.. so i wonder sometimes, those fixed salary earning in every month hardly can save penny... unless guys are from soso background.. i mean doesn't really need to be as rich as YTL or Uncle lim family.. Personally , my friends they don't work with those big company or what, they rather work for themselve... but when the $$$ is sufficient , timing is right, I think marry that time also ok... sweat.gif
SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 03:04 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 12 2009, 02:59 PM)

You are equating love and marriage to the number of times he has humped his fiancee.

To me, that reads like prostitution.

What lunacy....
n00b13
post May 12 2009, 03:06 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ May 12 2009, 02:54 PM)
All TS ask for is  his bride to be is some understanding, is that too much to ask? We can all dispute whether the cost of wedding is high or not but that's relative. The fact is that he might not be able to afford it while his gf is unwilling to share the burden is the point.
+1

Guy A: "Don't worry darling, we'll have the wedding of your dreams. I've been saving up especially for this."
Girl A: "I love you, my sweet honeybunny wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif "

Guy B: "Uh, darling, this wedding is turning out to be more expensive than I'd thought... would you consider chipping in a bit? After all, it's our weddi--
Girl B: "What?? Cannot afford?? What kind of husband are you? Man are supposed to pay for the wedding, how can you ask woman to pay?? All my life I dream of the perfect wedding, and now you want to ruin it?? I don't care you beg, borrow or steal, you PAY FOR EVERYTHING!!!!11"

You do not want to marry Girl B. And ladies, you do not want to be Girl B.

barista
post May 12 2009, 03:10 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 03:04 PM)
You are equating love and marriage to the number of times he has humped his fiancee.

To me, that reads like prostitution.

What lunacy....
Because TS is being calculative first.
If you love your girl, you will give her the best and don't complaint.
SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 03:11 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ May 12 2009, 02:57 PM)
Are you disputing the fact that women would have thought out their weddings from an early age? Ok so 5 may be a stretch but at least when they are old enough to understand the concept of being in a relationship. While I do not have studies to back up this claim I can safely say that if one were to conduct a test and ask 10 women, 9 out of the 10 would say they did.

The point is that while most men view weddings as mere a symbolic gesture and something they have to do to appease the family, women see it as a physical manisfestation of marriage. Men are known to forget birthdays, anniversaries and such but do most women? Like it or not we are different by design.

Ah yes, fall back to physcological studies, biological, culture, tradition or whatever to justify spending beyond one's means on a single event.

It makes as much sense as saying men should sow their seeds with as many fertile women as possible because it's hard-coded in their DNA.

Ever heard of personal choice?

Gr3yL3gion
post May 12 2009, 03:11 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 12 2009, 03:10 PM)
Girls, if you love your guy, you'll give him the best and don't complain.

Now spread your legs and enjoy the humping please.
SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 03:12 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 12 2009, 03:10 PM)
What does that have to do with how many times he humped (or not) his fiancee?

You are off your rocker!
SUSb3rnard7
post May 12 2009, 03:13 PM

kanpeki na CHEONGSTER yo!
1,023 posts

NO MONEY....

NO MARRIAGE

NO LOVE

Only left is sadness,pity,sorrow!
barista
post May 12 2009, 03:17 PM

I want to retire
883 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 03:12 PM)
What does that have to do with how many times he humped (or not) his fiancee?

You are off your rocker!
It's just a figure of speech duh.
A girl who had devoted herself to you deserves more.

If TS tells us he is a guy who always buy her stuff, treat her to nice dinner, holidays... a reasonable girl will not mind him spending less on or chip in for a wedding.

Sometimes a girl can only be a princess once in her lifetime you know? Naturally she looks forward to it.

This post has been edited by barista: May 12 2009, 03:18 PM
moorish
post May 12 2009, 03:17 PM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ May 12 2009, 03:11 PM)
Ah yes, fall back to physcological studies, biological, culture, tradition or whatever to justify spending beyond one's means on a single event.

It makes as much sense as saying men should sow their seeds with as many fertile women as possible because it's hard-coded in their DNA.

Ever heard of personal choice?
A 12k wedding pau dowry, pau reception, pau photoshoot for a man with 3k salary. I think the girl is not asking for too much, I consider her a very super understanding girl.
n00b13
post May 12 2009, 03:22 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ May 12 2009, 02:59 PM)
Even to this day, 3 years later, my wife sometimes expresses regret that I managed to talk her into agreeing to have a wedding dinner at all. She thinks that it's a vain, meaningless and unenjoyable event held just to please others and not the two of us. She thinks that we should just have spent the money on increasing our honeymoon budget instead. Hehe.
Does your wife have any single and available sisters? laugh.gif

QUOTE(wankongyew @ May 12 2009, 02:59 PM)
Just a post to show that not all girls are like that, or enjoy the same things or think the same way and that it is not necessary to do things just because it is "expected" or "customary".
It's been my experience that Malaysians tend to present their opinions with the justification that "people are like that", "men/women are like that", "that's the norm in society", etc. That says a lot about their mentality. Not only are they conformists, they're shirking personal responsibility for their own views.

If you're a money-minded person who thinks money is more important than love, admit that you're a money-minded person who thinks money is more important than love. That's your opinion, your point of view, your outlook on life. Don't try to say "everyone is like that", as if this "everyone" is some dialectic shield that protects you from people challenging your views. If people challenge your views, defend them - and if you can't defend them, you might just have to reconsider them.

This post has been edited by n00b13: May 12 2009, 03:24 PM
cutiepooh
post May 12 2009, 03:23 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(b3rnard7 @ May 12 2009, 03:13 PM)
NO MONEY....

NO MARRIAGE

NO LOVE

Only left is sadness,pity,sorrow!
ops. bernard i think u also save alot jor right.. been single for some times tongue.gif time to get marry jor. i knew u got a lot of bullets...
SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 03:25 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(barista @ May 12 2009, 03:17 PM)
It's just a figure of speech duh.
A girl who had devoted herself to you deserves more.

If TS tells us he is a guy who always buy her stuff, treat her to nice dinner, holidays... a reasonable girl will not mind him spending less on or chip in for a wedding.

Sometimes a girl can only be a princess once in her lifetime you know? Naturally she looks forward to it.
The point here is affordability and the woman's compromise on that matter if he or both of them cannot afford the extravagance.

Love and marriage is not racked up by how many dinner or holidays he or she buy for each other. Such shallowness have no place in a good marriage and it's perfectly obvious you do not know what one is.
SUSmonashguy
post May 12 2009, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ May 12 2009, 02:48 PM)
12k not alot? 12k go cheong in Thailand you can be a king! Hell, it's even enough to buy a Vietnamese bride!
Then go vietnam and have the wedding dinner there, if you want to say cheapest, africa is cheapest. RM200-300 per month live as a king, why don't you marry a black girl and live in africa, if you like to talk like that, then walk the talk, don't be NATO= No Action Talk Only, the fact the girl is Malaysian then act like the prices is Malaysian also!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on May 12, 2009, 3:26 pmNot to mention if you bring back the girl to Malaysia, the living expenses is back in Malaysia and it's square one, can't afford to pay for wedding, you surely cannot afford to maintain her.

Added on May 12, 2009, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ May 12 2009, 03:11 PM)
Girls, if you love your guy, you'll give him the best and don't complain.

Now spread your legs and enjoy the humping please.
are you male or female?? Your nick says female but female won't talk like that!! icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by monashguy: May 12 2009, 03:29 PM
SUSSPS
post May 12 2009, 03:29 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 12 2009, 03:22 PM)
It's been my experience that Malaysians tend to present their opinions with the justification that "people are like that", "men/women are like that", "that's the norm in society", etc. That says a lot about their mentality. Not only are they conformists, they're shirking personal responsibility for their own views.

If you're a money-minded person who thinks money is more important than love, admit that you're a money-minded person who thinks money is more important than love. That's your opinion, your point of view, your outlook on life. Don't try to say "everyone is like that", as if this "everyone" is some dialectic shield that protects you from people challenging your views. If people challenge your views, defend them - and if you can't defend them, you might just have to reconsider them.
The "norm in society" stance is only trumpeted by these so-called conformists when it is to their advantage.

One could state that it is a "norm" for wealthy men to have mistresses and one will hear a huge earful from these very same conformists.

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0151sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:02 AM