iPhone 3G/3GS after warranty-repair where?, Warranty/Repair [Discussion]
May 11 2009, 12:48 AM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
51 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
I asked maxis they told me Machines will be repairing Iphone 3g after the warranty ends. If under warranty its a 1 to 1 exchange for the phone. So i walked to machines and enquire about the price to repair the phone, they tell me maxis is responsible for repair and they will not repair the iphone. PENING! who is repairing the phones after the warramty ends? I signed up for 2 year plan.. and warranty is 1 year..aiyoyoyoy.. |
May 11 2009, 12:55 AM
744 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Android World |
might be sum misunderstanding...i thought machines could repair the phone...but u gotta pay for it aite? (since ur warranty is over)
May 11 2009, 01:04 AM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
spot on, mruzian!
anyway once the warranty has lapsed, you are not bound in any way to preserve your iPhone's "condition" as stipulated in the agreement. furthermore, there are so many "specialists" in this forum itself. i can already name you, two at the snap of my fingers. |
May 11 2009, 01:11 AM
specialist to repair the iphone3g?
lets say some ic inside hangus how much would it cost to repair it? |
May 11 2009, 07:29 AM
1,540 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Your Dream |
LCD alone will cost around RM 700 ~ 800
May 11 2009, 10:11 AM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
IINM,
after the warranty period, the iPhone can still be repaired, and we do still need to request for a replacement set / replacement parts via the authorised carrier (here, that's Maxis) |
May 14 2009, 07:15 PM
so u guys order the parts for the iphone and repair locally? so far how many iphones have u repaired?
May 14 2009, 07:47 PM
65 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
i was wondering if its possible to change the SHELL of my iPhone 3g, since my chrome bezel is kinda scratched and the back part of my phone is scratched too. :3
if its possible to change, how much will it cost? anyone any idea? thanks. |
May 14 2009, 09:10 PM
8,788 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
May 15 2009, 05:20 PM
@sneakerlogist
sorry, can't share numbers here currently, all Maxis iPhones are repaired @ Maxis centres |
May 25 2009, 12:30 AM
142 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Diamond Bay, A Galaxy Far Far Away |
My iPhone(Maxis set) have a tiny crack INSIDE the glass screen. I have no idea how this happen maybe i drop it.
I wonder can send in to warranty? pls help TQ |
May 25 2009, 01:04 AM
309 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
how about iPhone 2G?
where can i get repair? |
May 25 2009, 01:43 AM
367 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
May 25 2009, 01:48 AM
4,903 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(synchun @ May 25 2009, 01:04 AM) Read this thread: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/868281Section 'D' : Troubleshooting Common Problems: 2. iPhone HARDWARE Service Provider |
May 25 2009, 12:14 PM
petergoh
drop by your nearest Maxis Centre (NOT Maxis Partner) request a repair. they'll check it out... if its damage, then you'll need to pay for the repair. Maxis Locations here Please ask for iPhone 3G repairs ONLY at Maxis Centre, not Maxis Exclusive Partner. This post has been edited by xaw5126: May 25 2009, 12:14 PM |
May 26 2009, 11:57 AM
204 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Klang |
Yes recently my iphone developed some hairline cracks after 2 months. Just got an acceptance to replace my iphone 3g white. Damn Im just so happy!!!! Of course still under warranty but if lets say they do after warranty like what petergoh (xaw 5126) mentioned then that will be awesome!
Jul 10 2009, 01:54 PM
328 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
I've bought a Iphone 3G maxis set from one of lowyat user and he bought with maxis contract so my question now is can i claim warranty without any problem(if my iphone spoil) or i need to bring him along??TQ
Jul 10 2009, 02:29 PM
65 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(MohdFarid1994 @ Jul 10 2009, 01:54 PM) I've bought a Iphone 3G maxis set from one of lowyat user and he bought with maxis contract so my question now is can i claim warranty without any problem(if my iphone spoil) or i need to bring him along??TQ i think u need to bring him along. im a digi user and when i bought mine from maxis, my bro is required to use his ic to register because he is a maxis user. and the next time i bring my phone for repair, the ppl there ask me to leave my bro's ic and the warranty card and will not repair without his ic |
Jul 10 2009, 03:01 PM
328 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
lol..but that guy called maxis and said he gonna sell it to me..so if maxis try to act funny see what im gonna do then..!!
Jul 11 2009, 12:55 AM
57 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(patience18 @ May 26 2009, 11:57 AM) Yes recently my iphone developed some hairline cracks after 2 months. Just got an acceptance to replace my iphone 3g white. Damn Im just so happy!!!! Of course still under warranty but if lets say they do after warranty like what petergoh (xaw 5126) mentioned then that will be awesome! How long will it take for a 1 to 1 exchange during warranty period?My iPhone 3g battery won't fully charge, always until 80%. Wonder if I should request for a replacement.. |
Jul 12 2009, 01:35 AM
2,377 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Biggest IT Warehouse in Malaysia |
QUOTE(TeK_KeN @ May 11 2009, 07:29 AM) wah.. really? denggg!!! i thought rm300-rm400 only..Added on July 12, 2009, 1:35 am QUOTE(TeK_KeN @ May 11 2009, 07:29 AM) wah.. really? denggg!!! i thought rm300-rm400 only..This post has been edited by ayil: Jul 12 2009, 01:35 AM |
Jul 12 2009, 01:02 PM
187 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
I bought Maxis iPhone 3G from LYN forumer... but I dont have the maxis receipt. can I get the replacement from maxis.?
we must bring the box and charger and earphone to 1 to 1 exchange? or just bring the phone? |
Jul 12 2009, 02:11 PM
3,612 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Jul 12 2009, 01:02 PM) I bought Maxis iPhone 3G from LYN forumer... but I dont have the maxis receipt. can I get the replacement from maxis.? Not sure whether you need to bring those stuff you mentioned but from information gathered, you must bring along the original owner with the warranty card to initially lodge the warranty claim.we must bring the box and charger and earphone to 1 to 1 exchange? or just bring the phone? |
Jul 12 2009, 10:14 PM
131 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Setiawangsa |
i bought my iphone from maxis a month ago and my power button seems to be hard to press can i replace it??
Jul 12 2009, 11:11 PM
1,020 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Lake Titicaca |
Jul 13 2009, 08:00 AM
131 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Setiawangsa |
QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jul 13 2009, 12:11 AM) if it is under warranty, give maxis a call and consult them. if not bring your iphone to maxis centre and let them test it. can i get a 1-to-1 exchange?iPhone Generation :3G Unlocked? (or Part Number): Unlocked Maxis Current Firmware :3.0 iTunes Version :8.2 PC/MAC Jailbreaking software :NO Problem Encountered :Hard to press power button Steps Taken So Far :... Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) :nOPE Other Information/Remarks :my software also have some bugging issues |
Jul 13 2009, 08:21 AM
Sep 27 2009, 09:21 PM
18 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Jul 13 2009, 08:21 AM) im sure they do not give 1 to 1 exchange... they will try to repair 1st. if cannot they replace with refurbish. it takes 15 days to get ur iphone fix. I will gonna send my iphone today. Hi, anyone has claim warranty for Maxis Iphone before? What's the outcome? I understand that they give a 1 to 1 exchange.If so, do they give brand new in box or refurbished set? Hope someone can share their experience. I just send in my Iphone for warranty claim. Was told to wait at least 2 weeks to a month. |
Sep 27 2009, 10:08 PM
587 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
I claimed my i3G at Maxis around August. The sim card slot faulty and cannot be inserted properly. According to Maxis's staff, the set they given is a brand new but just a phone with the plastic cover the phone just like new one.
Sep 28 2009, 01:50 AM
18 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(audiocool @ Sep 27 2009, 10:08 PM) I claimed my i3G at Maxis around August. The sim card slot faulty and cannot be inserted properly. According to Maxis's staff, the set they given is a brand new but just a phone with the plastic cover the phone just like new one. audiocool,How long do you need to wait for the new phone? Is the phone properly wrapped in a plastic bag? Or its just a screen protector on it? This post has been edited by mightyguy1970: Sep 28 2009, 01:53 AM |
Sep 28 2009, 03:43 AM
12 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
if wifi greyed.. & seem lik the wifi rosak... how much going to cost for repair it?
Sep 28 2009, 01:05 PM
587 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(mightyguy1970 @ Sep 28 2009, 01:50 AM) audiocool, The phone is wrap with the screen + body protector like new iphone from the box and it is put inside a transparent plastic bag.How long do you need to wait for the new phone? Is the phone properly wrapped in a plastic bag? Or its just a screen protector on it? According to maxis staff, you can get the phone on the spot if they got stock on hand. But the time i went there, there got no stock for 8GB so they ask me to take back the phone or else i have no phone to use and they will inform me once the stock is arrive. Waiting time is around 3 days. |
Sep 28 2009, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(audiocool @ Sep 27 2009, 10:08 PM) I claimed my i3G at Maxis around August. The sim card slot faulty and cannot be inserted properly. According to Maxis's staff, the set they given is a brand new but just a phone with the plastic cover the phone just like new one. I doubt very much anyone will get a brand new set in replacement. So far, from all the cases I know, all are refurbished units adn they are in most instances US sets. Just check the Part/Model No. and you will know. |
Sep 28 2009, 03:03 PM
2,139 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
You will get a refurbished set. No doubts.
Sep 28 2009, 03:33 PM
1,432 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Oct 24 2009, 06:44 AM
25 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
hi ,
i bought 32gb phone yesterday and wrranty is only for one year. Is there any extended warranty by paying additional cost in malaysia?( bought the set in maxis pavillion with 2 year contract with maxis) |
Oct 24 2009, 09:55 AM
1,357 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
If under warranty.. It is a 1 to 1 exchange.. They won't repair for you.. This service u can't find in any others phone...BUT only Iphone..
I just did a 1 to 1 exchange on the spot from Singtel due to screen problem.. 2 more weeks b4 the warranty expired.. Luckly me.. |
Oct 24 2009, 10:36 AM
495 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
i just claim my i3g 10days ago due to small dot on my touch screen.but i get the replacement set is fr US. model no is MB046LL.
mine is maxis set. |
Oct 26 2009, 10:22 AM
478 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
i bought my iphone 3g 16gb maxis set from a chinese guy in mudah on may this year. he said, he just bought it. then i deal with him, COD. few days back, i hv a problem with my iphone, it cant detect wifi. i did restore to 3.1 and upgrade to 3.1.2 etc. in order to verify either this is a hardware problem or fw. so i conculde, it is hardware problem.
yesterday, i went to maxis centre at sunway pyramid, asking about warranty. maxis guy said, it gonna be replace and take 1 month or more for replacement. i agree for it. at the end, he ask, this phone is reg under what name. i said, i dun know. since a guy who i bought from also i didnt know his name. then i ask the guy to check it, it turn out, my iphone was reg under a malay name. so i conclude that, da 1st guy who i bought from is cheat on me. maxis guy refused to claim the warranty for me for security reason. he afraid dat this iphone was stolen bla3. i did send a msg/call to da guy who i bought my iphone, didnt reply. now it give me a big headache. cuz i need to claim the warranty or else, my iphone will be dull without wifi. Any suggestion on my case? Thanks in advance. |
Oct 26 2009, 10:28 AM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
since u cant repair under maxis, why dont u try from local shops or maybe to our lowyat's iphone technicial cxcr for a check?
either that or u can call the ur seller and ask him to fix the problem... |
Oct 26 2009, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Oct 26 2009, 10:28 AM) since u cant repair under maxis, why dont u try from local shops or maybe to our lowyat's iphone technicial cxcr for a check? yah. if i cant claim the warranty, then find cxcr was my last solution. but i hope, i can get claim warranty from mxs. since i dun know how much it will cost. either that or u can call the ur seller and ask him to fix the problem... the seller didnt pickup my call or reply my msg. sigh |
Oct 26 2009, 10:42 AM
5,124 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Mummy's tummy |
Didn't the guy you bought it from gv u the Maxis service card? If you hv it then most prob they will repair it for u.
Oct 26 2009, 10:57 AM
Yes, i have it. but still, the maxis guy dun want to repair for me. any suggestion?
Oct 27 2009, 01:23 AM
1,022 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: I Don't Know! |
QUOTE(saksoba @ Oct 26 2009, 10:57 AM) Hmm, if you have the Service Card, it shouldn't be a problem. Can anyone confirm this?edit: Perhaps you might wanna try other Maxis branches? This post has been edited by DFlo: Oct 27 2009, 01:24 AM |
Oct 27 2009, 08:18 AM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Oct 27 2009, 01:23 AM) Hmm, if you have the Service Card, it shouldn't be a problem. Can anyone confirm this? Yeah. By logic, it should be no problem. If it is a problem, then no point of buying from ppl thru forum who can't claim the warranty for you if anything happen. Maxis guy said, i need the owner authorization 1st before proceed. edit: Perhaps you might wanna try other Maxis branches? Anyone know which Maxis branches which can easily claim the warranty cuz i hv the warranty card? |
Oct 27 2009, 08:44 AM
136 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Whatever your reason is, if you want a warranty then do it quickly. Just did mine early this month, I went back for enquiry after 2 weeks as told, for I did not receive any feedbacks.
And so they're showing me a bunch of iphones from august and september warranties. They're clearing the phones, I was told. They didn't call up customers to pick up the phones. You gotta looooveee the attitude... So I'm forced to wait for another 2-4 weeks? Don't you just love 1Malysia spirit? I don't want your retarded slogan, I just need 1 good fxxking service. If you're 21 of age, vote for opposition in 2012, change we can believe. |
Oct 27 2009, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(kayzie @ Oct 27 2009, 08:44 AM) Whatever your reason is, if you want a warranty then do it quickly. Just did mine early this month, I went back for enquiry after 2 weeks as told, for I did not receive any feedbacks. and why on earth would you bring political issues into this thread, when it is clearly not related at all.And so they're showing me a bunch of iphones from august and september warranties. They're clearing the phones, I was told. They didn't call up customers to pick up the phones. You gotta looooveee the attitude... So I'm forced to wait for another 2-4 weeks? Don't you just love 1Malysia spirit? I don't want your retarded slogan, I just need 1 good fxxking service. If you're 21 of age, vote for opposition in 2012, change we can believe. are you even sure that you are older than 21? geez... |
Oct 27 2009, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(kayzie @ Oct 27 2009, 08:44 AM) Whatever your reason is, if you want a warranty then do it quickly. Just did mine early this month, I went back for enquiry after 2 weeks as told, for I did not receive any feedbacks. I'm not sure bout ur case. But, the mxs guy i met, he told me if claim warranty, gonna be 1month or more as need to send to singapore. And, once done, they gonna call u. But,yah, i cant claim the warranty either. And so they're showing me a bunch of iphones from august and september warranties. They're clearing the phones, I was told. They didn't call up customers to pick up the phones. You gotta looooveee the attitude... So I'm forced to wait for another 2-4 weeks? Don't you just love 1Malysia spirit? I don't want your retarded slogan, I just need 1 good fxxking service. If you're 21 of age, vote for opposition in 2012, change we can believe. I'm not sure bout politic stuff bro, but thanks for the warranty advice |
Oct 27 2009, 09:16 AM
197 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
I just walk in to Sunway Carnival's Switch yesterday,my iphone button flat compare to other iphone then u take my srevice card to indentify that i bought from maxis few monthe ago then the worker from switch said we can't repair this,u need to bring to maxis to claim the warranty
i was like .......,guys any idea? |
Oct 27 2009, 11:04 AM
beside maxis, who else we can refer to in order to repair/claim warranty?
Oct 27 2009, 07:43 PM
136 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 27 2009, 08:46 AM) and why on earth would you bring political issues into this thread, when it is clearly not related at all. Clearly I am, I'm too lazy to enlighten you. Read newspaper daily for more ideas. If you don't get my meaning, that's ok, because most ppl don't. Period.are you even sure that you are older than 21? geez... |
Oct 27 2009, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(kayzie @ Oct 27 2009, 07:43 PM) Clearly I am, I'm too lazy to enlighten you. Read newspaper daily for more ideas. If you don't get my meaning, that's ok, because most ppl don't. Period. I generally do not get caught up with issues currently being toyed with. However, not necessarily in defence of Nokia, we are saying that this here is no place to bring in the political environment. And if you are over 21, shouldn't you have enough grey matters in your brain not to do that in the first place?Do you even know you can be detained under ISA for making that statement? I suggest you don't even reply this lest the MIB come knocking on your door. Trust me, I know. Added on October 27, 2009, 10:01 pm QUOTE(saksoba @ Oct 27 2009, 11:04 AM) If it is within warranty period, Maxis is the only place you can go to. However, if the warranty has expired, take it to any place you desire and fancy. But make sure you go to someone reliable.This post has been edited by PeeEl: Oct 27 2009, 10:01 PM |
Oct 27 2009, 10:10 PM
1,903 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: ipohmali |
LOL someone wanna get into politics eh?
on a slightly related note, my friend is having his phone warranty handled by maxis, just slightly two months of usage, the phone would just not wake up from its sleep, he's still waiting for like 2 months |
Oct 27 2009, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(kayzie @ Oct 27 2009, 07:43 PM) Clearly I am, I'm too lazy to enlighten you. Read newspaper daily for more ideas. If you don't get my meaning, that's ok, because most ppl don't. Period. oh boy, now i'm really embarrassed. if you could be so kind to enlighten me because i have to admit that i don't really read the news.because my life resolves purely around iPhone related issues. hence, if you could explain it to me, i would be most appreciative. thanks a lot in advance man. This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 27 2009, 10:19 PM |
Oct 27 2009, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Oct 27 2009, 10:10 PM) LOL someone wanna get into politics eh? Not really mate. Just that I, like most of us here, do not want to see people going off tangent.on a slightly related note, my friend is having his phone warranty handled by maxis, just slightly two months of usage, the phone would just not wake up from its sleep, he's still waiting for like 2 months Your friend was probably unlucky time-wise. It has been reported that some people here have got their replacements in a couple of weeks. I suppose it is the timing vis-a-vis availability of the replacement units that dictates how fast you get back one. |
Oct 28 2009, 02:15 AM
Guys, I don't think there's a definite answer to the question of whether or not the Service Card itself is sufficient for us to make a warranty claim from Maxis.
Can anyone give an insight to this? |
Oct 28 2009, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Oct 28 2009, 02:15 AM) Guys, I don't think there's a definite answer to the question of whether or not the Service Card itself is sufficient for us to make a warranty claim from Maxis. In my case, nope. If u wanna claim warranty, u must seek the initial owner authorisation 1st before can proceed to Maxis. If not, they refuse. Authorisation mean, copy of IC or, the owner need to help u to claim the warranty.Can anyone give an insight to this? So,what is the purpose of Service card? Therefore, for those buying maxis set here will have a problem if the seller is not willing to help u. Thats what i think la. |
Oct 28 2009, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Oct 28 2009, 08:43 AM) In my case, nope. If u wanna claim warranty, u must seek the initial owner authorisation 1st before can proceed to Maxis. If not, they refuse. Authorisation mean, copy of IC or, the owner need to help u to claim the warranty. Can anyone else who have got their iPhones through a third-party tell us their warranty claims experience? It would also be good if someone who is working in Maxis right now, and have an idea on how the iPhone warranty works, can brief us on how can this be done.So,what is the purpose of Service card? Therefore, for those buying maxis set here will have a problem if the seller is not willing to help u. Thats what i think la. |
Oct 28 2009, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Oct 28 2009, 11:09 AM) Can anyone else who have got their iPhones through a third-party tell us their warranty claims experience? It would also be good if someone who is working in Maxis right now, and have an idea on how the iPhone warranty works, can brief us on how can this be done. From day 1, there have always been 2 versions. It has also been reported here that the Service Card will suffice for warranty claims and people have successfully made them. However, like many things, not just with Maxis, it is the human beings who play God. This means, if you are lucky enough to consult a 'good' CS personnel in the right centre, you will have no hassle.However, from the legal standpoint unless it is stated in the agreement otherwise, which I didn't read, Maxis must honour any warranty claims so long as you have the Service Card and the account under which the iPhone was bought has no arrears. If they refuse, you can challenge them by going to the Tribunal for consumers. |
Oct 28 2009, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Oct 28 2009, 11:36 AM) However, from the legal standpoint unless it is stated in the agreement otherwise, which I didn't read, Maxis must honour any warranty claims so long as you have the Service Card and the account under which the iPhone was bought has no arrears. If they refuse, you can challenge them by going to the Tribunal for consumers. what do u mean by this bro? can u explain?maxis just call me about my case. i will ask this Service Card issue to them n update u guys later. |
Oct 28 2009, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Oct 28 2009, 11:48 AM) what do u mean by this bro? can u explain? This simply means that if the original owner has signed up a plan to obtain the iPhone and has been paying his monthly expenses without outstanding/overdue amount.maxis just call me about my case. i will ask this Service Card issue to them n update u guys later. |
Oct 28 2009, 12:49 PM
Which mean, if i have the Service card, and the initial owner of my iphone doesnt have any outstanding payment, then i have the right to claim the warranty?
is that so? |
Oct 28 2009, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Oct 28 2009, 11:36 AM) From day 1, there have always been 2 versions. It has also been reported here that the Service Card will suffice for warranty claims and people have successfully made them. However, like many things, not just with Maxis, it is the human beings who play God. This means, if you are lucky enough to consult a 'good' CS personnel in the right centre, you will have no hassle. Thank you for the detailed explanation! While I may not have any knowledge in Law, I do think that the whole point of the Service Card is to provide the necessary verification for warranty claims. If they insists on having the owners particulars, etc. then they might as well stop bundling the Service Cards together with the iPhones. I would have to agree that certain Maxis individuals are playing God, for saksoba's case. However, from the legal standpoint unless it is stated in the agreement otherwise, which I didn't read, Maxis must honour any warranty claims so long as you have the Service Card and the account under which the iPhone was bought has no arrears. If they refuse, you can challenge them by going to the Tribunal for consumers. QUOTE(saksoba @ Oct 28 2009, 11:48 AM) what do u mean by this bro? can u explain? Great, keep us updated on this!maxis just call me about my case. i will ask this Service Card issue to them n update u guys later. |
Oct 28 2009, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Oct 28 2009, 12:49 PM) Which mean, if i have the Service card, and the initial owner of my iphone doesnt have any outstanding payment, then i have the right to claim the warranty? My good fellow, I have stated earlier that there are 2 stands here on this issue. Even went further to elaborate that it depends on which centre you go to and the people manning it.is that so? You have the right to claim but whether the other side wants to entertain your right is a question that can only be found out by you. |
Oct 28 2009, 01:24 PM
Oh. Right. Thanks for the explanation. Right now I'm still waiting maxis to clarify my case. Either my iphone valid for warranty or not.
Oct 29 2009, 02:42 AM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Oct 28 2009, 01:16 PM) My good fellow, I have stated earlier that there are 2 stands here on this issue. Even went further to elaborate that it depends on which centre you go to and the people manning it. You have the right to claim but whether the other side wants to entertain your right is a question that can only be found out by you. QUOTE(saksoba @ Oct 28 2009, 01:24 PM) Oh. Right. Thanks for the explanation. Right now I'm still waiting maxis to clarify my case. Either my iphone valid for warranty or not. Guys, I went to Maxis KLCC today to ask them what documents do I need to provide in order to claim for a warranty on the iPhone. The customer service consultant says that I only have to bring the box (not sure why) together with the Service Card. saksoba, did you try Maxis KLCC? |
Oct 29 2009, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Oct 29 2009, 02:42 AM) Guys, I went to Maxis KLCC today to ask them what documents do I need to provide in order to claim for a warranty on the iPhone. The customer service consultant says that I only have to bring the box (not sure why) together with the Service Card. Box stand for proof of purchase ke? saksoba, did you try Maxis KLCC? I will go to Maxis KLCC if Maxis still did not call me. She (operator) promise to call back after she take my IMEI number. Thanks for the info bro. |
Oct 29 2009, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Oct 28 2009, 01:24 PM) Oh. Right. Thanks for the explanation. Right now I'm still waiting maxis to clarify my case. Either my iphone valid for warranty or not. In the strictest sense, your iPhone is valid for warranty since it is a Maxis set and within warranty period. It is the process requirements that are now in contention.That is why I stated earlier that legally anyone can claim under warranty unless in the agreement it is stated that the original owner must be the one presenting it for that purpose. But that can also be challenged on a macro basis.......but that's another story. Added on October 29, 2009, 1:16 pm QUOTE(DFlo @ Oct 29 2009, 02:42 AM) Guys, I went to Maxis KLCC today to ask them what documents do I need to provide in order to claim for a warranty on the iPhone. The customer service consultant says that I only have to bring the box (not sure why) together with the Service Card. Before anyone jumps for joy, did you specifically state that you are not the original owner of the unit? Otherwise, the CS staff could assume you are and thus gave you that answer which is a no brainer.saksoba, did you try Maxis KLCC? This post has been edited by PeeEl: Oct 29 2009, 01:16 PM |
Oct 30 2009, 02:57 AM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Oct 29 2009, 01:13 PM) In the strictest sense, your iPhone is valid for warranty since it is a Maxis set and within warranty period. It is the process requirements that are now in contention. I repeatedly ask what are the documents that I would need to present. I did not ask what if I am not the original owner of the iPhone, as I think that question/statement would only make it easy for them to say that I am not eligible for any sort of warranty for it. Don't you think so?That is why I stated earlier that legally anyone can claim under warranty unless in the agreement it is stated that the original owner must be the one presenting it for that purpose. But that can also be challenged on a macro basis.......but that's another story. Added on October 29, 2009, 1:16 pm Before anyone jumps for joy, did you specifically state that you are not the original owner of the unit? Otherwise, the CS staff could assume you are and thus gave you that answer which is a no brainer. |
Oct 30 2009, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Oct 30 2009, 02:57 AM) I repeatedly ask what are the documents that I would need to present. I did not ask what if I am not the original owner of the iPhone, as I think that question/statement would only make it easy for them to say that I am not eligible for any sort of warranty for it. Don't you think so? But that's the main point of contention! Let's say after asking that, you present an iPhone of which you are not the original owner and they turn you down for the warrnty claim saying that the former is required to turn in the phone himself/herself. Would you therefore hold him to the reply he gave you earlier about what are the required documents? You can but he can just say that you did not mention that you are not the original owner and by asking the question the way you did, he was giving you a straight answer which was not incorrect. Therefore, asking the right questions in the right manner will save a lot of hassle and even heartaches. |
Oct 30 2009, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Oct 30 2009, 12:03 PM) But that's the main point of contention! I totally understand your whole point of view, but I still think it would make it very convenient for them (especially the small fishes) to say "No, you're not eligible for the warranty, then." Then again, I could be wrong for being a paranoid.Let's say after asking that, you present an iPhone of which you are not the original owner and they turn you down for the warrnty claim saying that the former is required to turn in the phone himself/herself. Would you therefore hold him to the reply he gave you earlier about what are the required documents? You can but he can just say that you did not mention that you are not the original owner and by asking the question the way you did, he was giving you a straight answer which was not incorrect. Therefore, asking the right questions in the right manner will save a lot of hassle and even heartaches. If you think your method would yield the optimum result, then I would love it if you can spend some time to ask them that, and let us know the feedback that you have received. :-] |
Oct 30 2009, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Oct 30 2009, 06:17 PM) I totally understand your whole point of view, but I still think it would make it very convenient for them (especially the small fishes) to say "No, you're not eligible for the warranty, then." Then again, I could be wrong for being a paranoid. I don't like to engage in protracted discussions but for the sake of fellow forummers, what we are trying to establish is whether warranty claims can be made by non-original owners of iPhones. And there you are stating what you have stated which could mislead and even confuse them further and I was merely pointing that out.If you think your method would yield the optimum result, then I would love it if you can spend some time to ask them that, and let us know the feedback that you have received. :-] It is not what you not want to hear as an answer that dictates a question but what you need to find out/establish. You are now justifying your statement to satisfy your own action which is of no help. I am here endeavouring to get to the bottom of this issue so that others would know the position if they are confronted with this dilemma. This would be my last take on this. In any event, those who read this discussion would know where this is going but sadly not the actual situation of this uncertainty of warranty claims with Maxis. |
Oct 31 2009, 05:52 AM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Oct 30 2009, 10:44 PM) I don't like to engage in protracted discussions but for the sake of fellow forummers, what we are trying to establish is whether warranty claims can be made by non-original owners of iPhones. And there you are stating what you have stated which could mislead and even confuse them further and I was merely pointing that out. Convenient, isn't it? :-]It is not what you not want to hear as an answer that dictates a question but what you need to find out/establish. You are now justifying your statement to satisfy your own action which is of no help. I am here endeavouring to get to the bottom of this issue so that others would know the position if they are confronted with this dilemma. This would be my last take on this. In any event, those who read this discussion would know where this is going but sadly not the actual situation of this uncertainty of warranty claims with Maxis. |
Oct 31 2009, 05:55 AM
saksoba, I would recommend that you try other Maxis outlets to get your iPhone fixed. And let us know of the result! :-]
Nov 2 2009, 01:47 PM
Maxis just called me. Conclusion from the conversation:
Maxis does not encourage customer to buy from 3rd party. For the claim warranty issues, the initial owner must claim for us. Sigh. so buying a iphone from 3rd party is really a big issue since there are lots of buy/sell activities going on on net. i doubt the seller will assist u for future issues as most of them just come and go. this is a drawback. replacement for wifi chip with crxcr will cost me RM400 |
Nov 2 2009, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Nov 2 2009, 01:47 PM) Maxis just called me. Conclusion from the conversation: For RM400, isn't it worth to take it further , as suggested by me earlier. The only caveat is that it must not be stated anywhere in the agreement that the original owner must be the one submitting any warranty claims.Maxis does not encourage customer to buy from 3rd party. For the claim warranty issues, the initial owner must claim for us. Sigh. so buying a iphone from 3rd party is really a big issue since there are lots of buy/sell activities going on on net. i doubt the seller will assist u for future issues as most of them just come and go. this is a drawback. replacement for wifi chip with crxcr will cost me RM400 |
Nov 3 2009, 09:03 AM
Where can i find the agreement? I might try other Maxis centre and state this agreement flaw for warranty claim..
Nov 3 2009, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Nov 2 2009, 01:47 PM) Maxis just called me. Conclusion from the conversation: Wow this is truly disappointing. May I know which Maxis outlet did you talk to?Maxis does not encourage customer to buy from 3rd party. For the claim warranty issues, the initial owner must claim for us. Sigh. so buying a iphone from 3rd party is really a big issue since there are lots of buy/sell activities going on on net. i doubt the seller will assist u for future issues as most of them just come and go. this is a drawback. replacement for wifi chip with crxcr will cost me RM400 |
Nov 3 2009, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(DFlo @ Nov 3 2009, 11:20 AM) I visit Maxis Centre at Sunway Pyramid.I dun think mentioning about agreement of initial owner needed in order to claim is worth mouth arguing. Need to consult lyn service repair la ni. adoih. |
Nov 4 2009, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Nov 3 2009, 12:32 PM) I visit Maxis Centre at Sunway Pyramid. Since you are willing to pay RM400, PM me and perhaps I could save you some money. I have already set things in motion by presenting 'your' case. If whatever I am planning to do works, then I can reduce your cost.I dun think mentioning about agreement of initial owner needed in order to claim is worth mouth arguing. Need to consult lyn service repair la ni. adoih. Like I said, for that kind of money, it is worth a try. Added on November 4, 2009, 12:15 am QUOTE(saksoba @ Nov 3 2009, 09:03 AM) Where can i find the agreement? I might try other Maxis centre and state this agreement flaw for warranty claim.. You probably missed my point. If it is stated in the agreement that the original owner must be the one submitting for warranty claims, flawed or not, you are screwed, no, all those who bought from third party are.This post has been edited by PeeEl: Nov 4 2009, 12:15 AM |
Nov 4 2009, 09:21 AM
UGPM bro.
I wonder, how bout those sell and buy going on here? I suspect, less people who notice about this type of case. They might attracted to WTS Maxis set etc, but once this type of case happen, pening kepala. |
Nov 4 2009, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Nov 4 2009, 09:21 AM) UGPM bro. That is why forums like this are good. We read and gather informative news and advices before forking out our dough and not get ourselves entangled in predicament like yours currently. Of course this is, if you take the time to read. Most just don't bother and 'live to regret it', just to borrow a cliche.......I wonder, how bout those sell and buy going on here? I suspect, less people who notice about this type of case. They might attracted to WTS Maxis set etc, but once this type of case happen, pening kepala. |
Nov 6 2009, 04:05 PM
4,038 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Earth |
if i bought the phone outside can i still send to machines for repaired?
Nov 7 2009, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Nov 4 2009, 09:21 AM) UGPM bro. Yup, when I bought my iPhone, I look for Maxis set bcoz i want the warranty... after bought it, then i only knew claim warranty must be by original owner only....I wonder, how bout those sell and buy going on here? I suspect, less people who notice about this type of case. They might attracted to WTS Maxis set etc, but once this type of case happen, pening kepala. no point buy 2nd hand iphone Maxis Set... |
Nov 7 2009, 05:19 PM
488 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: earth/japan/shibuya Warn: (92%) |
http://www.chinaontrade.com/iphone-3g-spare-parts-c-22.html
buy from the link. ask some pro here to repair. |
Nov 8 2009, 12:44 AM
220 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
This would be an interesting thread to follow 'claim warranty must be by original owner' as it would help many others in the future who face this predicament. Consumer tribunal would be a good last resort if all else fails because it is worth to go through the process (although troublesome) which is why it was created in the first place to protect consumer rights.
On another note, I wish there was an iPhone extended warranty in Malaysia... This post has been edited by Euthenics: Nov 8 2009, 12:45 AM |
Nov 10 2009, 02:41 PM
197 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
i got my phone when i was in australia, im wondering if i can service my phone here at machines? anyone knows?
Nov 10 2009, 03:11 PM
3,239 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Sydney, NSW |
QUOTE(simsim @ Nov 10 2009, 02:41 PM) i got my phone when i was in australia, im wondering if i can service my phone here at machines? anyone knows? no, as iPhone is not eligible under Apple's International Warranty.3. Can I get my iPhone serviced outside the country of purchase? No, service for eligible repairs is only available in the country where your iPhone was purchased. http://support.apple.com/kb/index?page=ser...&product=iphone This post has been edited by teikwing: Nov 10 2009, 03:12 PM |
Nov 11 2009, 07:18 PM
4,038 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Earth |
I have sent my iPhone 3Gs that bricked to this forumer
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1048886 Hopefully his magic hand can revive it Waiting good news from him Learn the lesson must buy maxis unit otherwise will be fakap like this This post has been edited by MX510: Nov 11 2009, 07:18 PM |
Nov 11 2009, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(MX510 @ Nov 11 2009, 07:18 PM) I have sent my iPhone 3Gs that bricked to this forumer Not saying anything as the guy you sent your i3GS could be just as proficient but there are a few others here in LYN who specialize in repairing iPhones which could be better.http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1048886 Hopefully his magic hand can revive it Waiting good news from him Learn the lesson must buy maxis unit otherwise will be fakap like this |
Nov 13 2009, 02:49 PM
after warranty end, is there is any authorized personnel/blog to send for repair? beside all those LYN person.
Nov 13 2009, 03:04 PM
1,067 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
That is why I buy Singtel officially unlocked units only. Warranty claims also is still possible and the LYN seller can send for warranty.
Nov 13 2009, 03:25 PM
Nov 13 2009, 11:00 PM
Nov 16 2009, 07:08 AM
1,188 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(saksoba @ Nov 13 2009, 03:25 PM) I think, what he mean is. There are forumer which is iphone dealer here selling singtel set also provide after selling service, mean the seller can send warranty to the singtel without any charge. That one better than buy from one time seller which can't be trace after that.This post has been edited by cafuheva: Nov 16 2009, 07:09 AM |
Nov 16 2009, 08:42 AM
4,457 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Nov 7 2009, 05:13 PM) Yup, when I bought my iPhone, I look for Maxis set bcoz i want the warranty... after bought it, then i only knew claim warranty must be by original owner only.... this really a marketing ... only 1st hand owner can claim warranty, make the resale value drop ... so all people will go for maxis new set ...no point buy 2nd hand iphone Maxis Set... |
Nov 16 2009, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(cafuheva @ Nov 16 2009, 07:08 AM) I think, what he mean is. There are forumer which is iphone dealer here selling singtel set also provide after selling service, mean the seller can send warranty to the singtel without any charge. That one better than buy from one time seller which can't be trace after that. Oh. Thanks for the explaination. Does singtel also provide service after warranty end? QUOTE(Ken @ Nov 16 2009, 08:42 AM) this really a marketing ... only 1st hand owner can claim warranty, make the resale value drop ... so all people will go for maxis new set ... Ya la. I think so. People buy from 3rd party to avoid contract but still want to have a valid warranty. But, once having problem/issue, kinda problem to claim the warranty. Except, the initial owner help u.Does Maxis win in this case? Added on November 24, 2009, 12:20 pmafter 2 weeks send to maxis centre, only today "Apple" will pick up according to the maxis ppl. sigh. so slow. This post has been edited by saksoba: Nov 24 2009, 12:20 PM |
Nov 24 2009, 12:48 PM
166 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
My phone got bricked last week due to my jailbreaking activity. Sadly it still freeze during the restoration. No choice but to send to Maxis as the phone is still under warranty with Maxis.
I am using iPhone 3G 16GB white with Celcom sim but the phone is registered under my wife name and maxis 012 number of my daughter. Went to Maxis Sunway Pyramid and told them about my problem. At this stage the CS just try to fix it and don't even ask whether my phone is under warranty or no. After confirmed that it can't be fixed, she told me that they will request for a replacement from Apple (as there is no stock for this model available there). May take 2 weeks to 1 mth replacement). Only during that period she asked me for the warranty card, which i gave to her and the Maxis phone number that the iphone is registered to. I did mentioned the phone number and told her that is my daughter phone (no IC photocopy or full details of my daughter nor my wife mentioned). Then she proceed with the replacement process, and on the service form, I filled up all my details (name, IC, Celcom contact number). As such, I believe they only need your warranty card and the phone details of the one that bind to the iphone contract. |
Nov 26 2009, 12:27 AM
4 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(bobmali @ Nov 24 2009, 06:48 AM) My phone got bricked last week due to my jailbreaking activity. Sadly it still freeze during the restoration. No choice but to send to Maxis as the phone is still under warranty with Maxis. i hope it will be that~i iPhone3gs is get to warranty = =the problem is cannot restore "An unknown error occurred(9)" sad= =I am using iPhone 3G 16GB white with Celcom sim but the phone is registered under my wife name and maxis 012 number of my daughter. Went to Maxis Sunway Pyramid and told them about my problem. At this stage the CS just try to fix it and don't even ask whether my phone is under warranty or no. After confirmed that it can't be fixed, she told me that they will request for a replacement from Apple (as there is no stock for this model available there). May take 2 weeks to 1 mth replacement). Only during that period she asked me for the warranty card, which i gave to her and the Maxis phone number that the iphone is registered to. I did mentioned the phone number and told her that is my daughter phone (no IC photocopy or full details of my daughter nor my wife mentioned). Then she proceed with the replacement process, and on the service form, I filled up all my details (name, IC, Celcom contact number). As such, I believe they only need your warranty card and the phone details of the one that bind to the iphone contract. |
Nov 27 2009, 05:49 PM
1,107 posts Joined: May 2008 |
why dont you try searching for iphone specialist at garage sales/ mobile phones? there are a few good ones and i've tried one of them.
Dec 3 2009, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(bobmali @ Nov 24 2009, 12:48 PM) My phone got bricked last week due to my jailbreaking activity. Sadly it still freeze during the restoration. No choice but to send to Maxis as the phone is still under warranty with Maxis. I think, it all depends on who serve you. As for from Maxis Customer Service, they need all those details, else, they will not entertain you. maybe need luck. I am using iPhone 3G 16GB white with Celcom sim but the phone is registered under my wife name and maxis 012 number of my daughter. Went to Maxis Sunway Pyramid and told them about my problem. At this stage the CS just try to fix it and don't even ask whether my phone is under warranty or no. After confirmed that it can't be fixed, she told me that they will request for a replacement from Apple (as there is no stock for this model available there). May take 2 weeks to 1 mth replacement). Only during that period she asked me for the warranty card, which i gave to her and the Maxis phone number that the iphone is registered to. I did mentioned the phone number and told her that is my daughter phone (no IC photocopy or full details of my daughter nor my wife mentioned). Then she proceed with the replacement process, and on the service form, I filled up all my details (name, IC, Celcom contact number). As such, I believe they only need your warranty card and the phone details of the one that bind to the iphone contract. |
Dec 9 2009, 03:14 PM
2,677 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malacca<-->Johore |
anybody knows where to update the latest firmware for i3g?
Dec 10 2009, 10:56 AM
221 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Dec 16 2009, 05:35 PM
up to day : 1 months n 5 days after send to maxis. still dun have any news. sigh
Dec 16 2009, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Dec 16 2009, 05:35 PM) Have you contacted them? If not, I suggest you do so, then follow up. If there is still no development, put your complaint to them in writing perhaps even 'threatening' to approach the authorities if they do not let you have the replacement unit by a certain date. |
Dec 16 2009, 06:54 PM
@PeeEl
Yeah. That girl said, she will ask the "i-forget-the-name",who handle the warranty for iphone, as she busy with customer at the maxis centre. according to her initial statement, next week was the expected date to get back my iphone. but, i dun think so. if need replacement, y it took so long. "maxis doesn't have iphone 3g stock as they focus more on 3gs". aiya. but then, still, there are lots of people who wait for their 3gs. This post has been edited by saksoba: Dec 16 2009, 06:55 PM |
Dec 16 2009, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Dec 16 2009, 06:54 PM) @PeeEl Well, like I said, follow up with them diligently. But it would do you no harm to write them a complaint mail now to hopefully speed things up for you.Yeah. That girl said, she will ask the "i-forget-the-name",who handle the warranty for iphone, as she busy with customer at the maxis centre. according to her initial statement, next week was the expected date to get back my iphone. but, i dun think so. if need replacement, y it took so long. "maxis doesn't have iphone 3g stock as they focus more on 3gs". aiya. but then, still, there are lots of people who wait for their 3gs. |
Dec 17 2009, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Dec 16 2009, 08:42 PM) Well, like I said, follow up with them diligently. But it would do you no harm to write them a complaint mail now to hopefully speed things up for you. Thanks for the advice. I will wait for another week and go bug them at maxis centre if they keep delaying my iphone. better i send to repair then wait so long. plus, i hate my current phone. lol.Added on December 19, 2009, 11:34 pmMy fren face the same problem with me.. but he bought in japan. softbank just replace his set.. only take 2 hours. y maxis take more than 1 month? isk3 This post has been edited by saksoba: Dec 19 2009, 11:34 PM |
Dec 21 2009, 10:26 AM
199 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL-Singapore |
Does anybody know if Maxis offers to replace void warranty sets for an amount of money ? Like Singtel, if your set warranty void , you can pay SGD 350 and they'll replace it with a repaired/refurbished set.
Previously i did exchange mine because they found out my set water sensor on the earphone port was red. So it failed the water test and its out of warranty. Does Maxis have that? And, why does Maxis takes a long time to replace.. Singtel you can do it on the spot and get the unit . |
Dec 21 2009, 01:55 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@pikaphebat,
I haven't heard of such replacing services but it won't hurt U to ask. Also, replacement units are probably slower on Maxis is because there's still a shortage? *shrugs* |
Dec 22 2009, 12:12 PM
Me too took along time for replacement (yes replacement not repaired ....
I send my iPhone to Maxis for replacement on 19 November 2009. and to-date have yet to get the replacement set. During repair time, the CS said it will take 2 week to 1 month for replacment as my white 3G 16 Gb stock is quite limited (the same excuse Since last week I have been chasing her for the status and she was not very helpful either. Called her on the phone and she said she will check and get back to me. As I heard nothing from her till the next day, I called again and she said she can only check my status after work as she was busy with a customer at that time (what a system and process flow ????). I wait until the next day but still there was no news. I shot an email to her and she replied "will check and revert to you asap". That's was last Thursday. Yesterday, I shot another email and reminding her that the "asap" already become ASAP aka smoke. Called her in teh afternoon, and she said that normally for white 16GB iPhone, it will take 2 months for replacement (@##$%). I really get annoyed as I believed she just said without checking in details with the respective iphone dept. I asked her to forward me the manager in-charge number for me to lodge complain but as usual no reply from her as promised. So this morning, I decided to call the Maxis' 1-800 number to highlight about this issue. The CS at 1-800 promised to get the person in charge of iPhone warranty to call me. I will wait and see what happen next. I believe need a lot of improvement on its repair service - They should have better system for us to check the repair status. Believe it or n ot, my repair receipt don't evene have a reference number. In fact MAxis Sunway service center detail was only stamped on it (without the phone and fax number). The numbers were also missing from the Maxis website. Only Maxis know the reason for this exclusion. - They should follow Singapore and Japan (as our forummers highlighted), where replacement is done on the spot. I did own a palm unit before, where the service center is in Singapore but somehow I manage to get immediate replacement right here in Malaysia (through agent). |
Dec 23 2009, 12:49 AM
Y my case totally same with u ar?
QUOTE I send my iPhone to Maxis for replacement on 19 November 2009. and to-date have yet to get the replacement set. During repair time, the CS said it will take 2 week to 1 month for replacment as my white 3G 16 Gb stock is quite limited Same. I send my iPhone on 10-Nov-09. CS said to me replacement gonna be 1 month as stock for 3G 16Gb is limited due to new release of 3GS. QUOTE Since last week I have been chasing her for the status and she was not very helpful either. Called her on the phone and she said she will check and get back to me. As I heard nothing from her till the next day, I called again and she said she can only check my status after work as she was busy with a customer at that time (what a system and process flow ????). I wait until the next day but still there was no news. Same. Does she use "reply to all" excuse meh? Same excuse, busy with customer and gonna check for me later. But no news at all. QUOTE They should have better system for us to check the repair status. Believe it or n ot, my repair receipt don't evene have a reference number. In fact MAxis Sunway service center detail was only stamped on it Does she wrote on paper? and tell you the system was down so this is not the usual practise. She said to me like dat one lor. QUOTE They should follow Singapore and Japan (as our forummers highlighted), where replacement is done on the spot. Believe or not, due to wifi problem, Japan carrier just took 2 hours to replace my fren unit. Maxis They do heavy promotion, but, after sale service sucks. What are they expect of this warranty claim? aiya. Soon, I will continue my study at Perak. It's hard for me come to CS Sunway just to take the iPhone. |
Dec 23 2009, 09:04 AM
What a coincidence. But I believe my luck is better than yours
After the complained to 1-800 CS yesterday, I got a SMS from the Sunway CS giving me the e-mail of the Sunway's PIC for iPhone replacement. I immediately send him a nasty mail highlighted my disappointment aver the delay of replacement. An guess what, within 2 hours, I got a call from him that my iPhone my replacement phone was ready for collection. Now I am bz with my iphone again and it's brand new (not refurbish unit - IMHO) This post has been edited by bobmali: Dec 23 2009, 09:05 AM |
Dec 23 2009, 11:24 AM
2,169 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: PJ | Seoul |
hw do u kno ur phone is nt a refurbish unit? may i kno hw do we check it?? thx
QUOTE(bobmali @ Dec 23 2009, 09:04 AM) What a coincidence. But I believe my luck is better than yours After the complained to 1-800 CS yesterday, I got a SMS from the Sunway CS giving me the e-mail of the Sunway's PIC for iPhone replacement. I immediately send him a nasty mail highlighted my disappointment aver the delay of replacement. An guess what, within 2 hours, I got a call from him that my iPhone my replacement phone was ready for collection. Now I am bz with my iphone again and it's brand new (not refurbish unit - IMHO) |
Dec 23 2009, 08:23 PM
2,269 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Dec 24 2009, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 23 2009, 11:24 AM) Don't ask me how la Based n the observation of the sparkling new replacement unit, tightly wrapped in a plastic, no scratch even a minute one, screen laminated with plastic...... Maybe yes and maybe no...whatever it is I am a happily using my iPhone now.... Just jailbreaking it again yesterday night. This time I need to be extra carefully not to mess up with firmware or ROM files (the reason why my iPhone dead last time). Anyway if it happen again, I will ask for another replacement |
Dec 24 2009, 11:57 AM
5,859 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: KL in JB/SG : |
Dec 24 2009, 12:09 PM
Just call Maxis CS and Sunway Pyramid Maxis CS..
A Maxis Pyramid CS guy ask me to wait until 1st or 2nd week of new year for my replacement set.. grrrr.. by dat day, it almost 2 month since my claim.. y y y y y.. Patiently waiting |
Dec 25 2009, 02:42 AM
i sent my phone for warranty as well .. in Gardens.. CS totally bad service plus lazy.. i guess they r quite lazy to do the replacement warranty. took me around 2 hrs in total including waiting..to complete my warranty procedure.
in d first place, jz c n inspect my phone n straight away say tat maxis won't take tis phone for warranty due to only slight defect.. n the CS dunno hw to make a decision. keep on asking another colleague opinion n etc..i was like gosh.. feel like wanna slap n scold the CS. trying to push it back to me n blame me didn't check properly the phone n i might be the culprit tat cause the phone defect.. i was so piss off n told them tat i haf checked the phone n it's normal. after few weeks, the defect arise. is tis counted as my probs?? guess wat the CS reply? it's impossible tat such case will happen n they didn't encounter it b4. darn!! doesn't happen b4 doesn't mean won't happen nw wat.. talk to them i feel so tension. suppose we speak nicely, then started to argue. cz can't stand d way they talk.. after sales service is totally bad in the end, i insist to go for the warranty n they impatiently say tat they won't guarantee tat Apple itself will allow for the replacement. thn i say nvm.. at least i gif it a try.. thn the CS slowly do the necessary procedure for my phone replacement. hate such service. if i kno warranty such a hassle n hard, i won't buy iphone. no point get a phone but when come to warranty issue is such a trouble.. somemore mention tat haf to wait. MIN 2 weeks of working day.. max 3 mths.. really out of the mood..grrr This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 25 2009, 09:58 AM |
Dec 25 2009, 04:25 AM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 25 2009, 02:42 AM) i sent my phone for warranty as well .. in Gardens.. CS totally bad service plus lazy.. i guess they r quite lazy to do the replacement warranty. took me around 2 hrs in total including waiting..to complete my warranty procedure. Guess so. In this case, Maxis CS regarding iPhone is really bad. They don't have definite answer.in d first place, jz c n inspect my phone n straight away say tat maxis won't take tis phone for warranty due to only slight defect.. n the CS dunno hw to make a decision. keep on asking another colleague opinion n etc..i was like gosh.. feel like wanna slap n scold the CS. trying to push it back to me n blame me didn't check properly the phone n i might be the culprit tat cause the phone defect.. i was so piss off n told them tat i haf checked the phone n it's normal. after few weeks, the defect arise. is tis counted as my probs?? guess wat the CS reply? it's impossible tat such case will happen n they didn't encounter it b4. darn!! doesn't happen b4 doesn't mean won't happen nw wat.. talk to them i feel so tension. suppose we speak nicely, then started to argue. cz can't stand d way they talk.. after sales service is totally bad in the end, i insist to go for the warranty n they impatiently say tat they won't guarantee tat Apple itself will allow for the replacement. thn i say nvm.. at least i gif it a try.. thn the CS slowly do the necessary procedure for my phone replacement. hate such service. if i kno warranty such a hassle n hard, i won't buy iphone. no point get a phone but when come to warranty issue is such a trouble.. somemore mention tat haf to wait. MIN 2 working days.. max 3 mths.. really out of the mood..grrr Me : Where is my iPhone rite now? 1 monts 10 days d.. CS : With vendor.. Me : When can I get my iPhone? It's okay if u can't repair it, I demand u return my iPhone since this kinda stuff such wasting my time waiting for it. CS : Probably new year. 1st week of new year. We will try very hard to get the replacement set for u.. Me : Are you sure? CS : Maybe 2nd week. (wtf?). We will call you. Although they assume u are the culprit, however they MUST check it first before any assumption. Is the correct business ethic to put such a blame to customer? Hell no. As the case never happened to them, well, there are lot of cases in Apple forum regarding hardware problem. They should prepare for the worst. Plus, Maxis are the exclusive telco for iPhone in Malaysia. I d read the ToS of iPhone warranty, the highlight of it is, which I can assume, as long as u don't DIY stuff, open it etc, probably Apple will fix the broken part, replace ur set or give u the new set/ refurb. For the max 3 months, I called Maxis this morning, they said, the maximum they took for repair/service is 1 month only. By 1 month, they should call you and inform u about ur unit. Things to ponder is, we know, our Maxis iPhone is under 1 year warranty. After 1 year, does Maxis allow such warranty claim or repair the iPhone? I think, SingTel provide Apple Care which extend the warranty, m not sure about Maxis. As for me, I will wait until new year then gonna meet them again later on. This post has been edited by saksoba: Dec 25 2009, 04:27 AM |
Dec 25 2009, 10:12 AM
after since so many cases.. i'm prepared dy. worst come to worst, haf to wait for max 3 mths.. since Maxis CS service bad to d max!!
ya.. i hate it when they didn't even send to Apple for warranty n straight away ignore my case saying tat Apple won't gif u a replacement set. darn!!.. (in end, d big picture is i think they shoo away customer due to they lazy to do the warranty procedure n etc..) they mention tat my phone is ok in terms of in good condition n working properly. wth!! i told them tat at tis moment perhaps no probs. hw bout in the future? we won't kno wat will happen to the phone. as time passes by, i might encounter LCD probs.. thn on tat time warranty dy over.. who shuld i look for?? assumption is nt a solution.. keep compare my case wif another customer case as well. saying tat there r customer send in their phone for warranty due to their screen gt a tiny dot or hairline crack, n Apple straight away reject for the warranty due to tis is nt a big case. |
Dec 28 2009, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Dec 25 2009, 04:25 AM) For the max 3 months, I called Maxis this morning, they said, the maximum they took for repair/service is 1 month only. By 1 month, they should call you and inform u about ur unit. Things to ponder is, we know, our Maxis iPhone is under 1 year warranty. After 1 year, does Maxis allow such warranty claim or repair the iPhone? I think, SingTel provide Apple Care which extend the warranty, m not sure about Maxis. As for me, I will wait until new year then gonna meet them again later on. I believe the root caus of this issue is Maxis' unreadiness when it come to do after sales support for mobile phone (I was told by the CS that Blackberry repair/replacement is even worst). Earlier their after sales services are limited to data and communication. Maxis..oh..maxis - They don't even have a dedicated number or online portal for you to check your repair status - To handle the iphone 2G/3G shortage (as what they claimed), they should have a proper inventory for replacement stock. Alternatively they, can also come up with alternative upgrade plan to 3GS for replacement. - They claimed it is worldwide shortage |
Dec 29 2009, 08:21 AM
Received my new iPhone set yesterday.
I do ask them about after 1 year warranty, they said, the provide the repair/service, but they will charge for it. Fee depends on the damage. But, the guy told me, "u repair outside lagi murah" |
Dec 29 2009, 10:32 PM
Dec 29 2009, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Dec 29 2009, 08:21 AM) Received my new iPhone set yesterday. Finally you got yours! Are you able to tell if it is really new? Or is it a refurbished unit? One other thing is the warranty. Does it continue from your 'old' set or do you get a fresh duration? By right, it should be the former but somehow my SingTel 3G replacement came with a totally fresh 12 months warranty from the date I got it.I do ask them about after 1 year warranty, they said, the provide the repair/service, but they will charge for it. Fee depends on the damage. But, the guy told me, "u repair outside lagi murah" |
Dec 29 2009, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 29 2009, 10:32 PM) they send me a msg to pickup my unit. i straight away go there n queue. 2 hours i think QUOTE(PeeEl @ Dec 29 2009, 11:00 PM) Finally you got yours! Are you able to tell if it is really new? Or is it a refurbished unit? One other thing is the warranty. Does it continue from your 'old' set or do you get a fresh duration? By right, it should be the former but somehow my SingTel 3G replacement came with a totally fresh 12 months warranty from the date I got it. It is new. As I can see physically lah. I did ask them, is it new or refurbished.With shocking face, he answer "It is new." Not sure about the warranty, but I receive new maxis service card. i think, fresh 12 months kot. did u get new service card for singtel set? |
Dec 30 2009, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Dec 29 2009, 11:26 PM) they send me a msg to pickup my unit. i straight away go there n queue. 2 hours i think SingTel does not give Service/Warranty Cards like Maxis. I checked online and it shows a full 12 months warranty from the date I got the replacement.It is new. As I can see physically lah. I did ask them, is it new or refurbished. With shocking face, he answer "It is new." Not sure about the warranty, but I receive new maxis service card. i think, fresh 12 months kot. did u get new service card for singtel set? Good that you got a new unit. Cheers. |
Dec 30 2009, 01:39 PM
I see. I will check later on. Thanks for the help.
@yvonnesoo CS told me, maximum only 1 month. They said up to 3 months, I think, just a safe answer for them. I can bug them after 1 month. |
Dec 30 2009, 02:33 PM
443 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
anyone nkow where to get battery replacement..?
n how much is the cost |
Dec 30 2009, 03:10 PM
Dec 30 2009, 05:30 PM
I did asked the CS about the 12 months warranty. According to him, the 12 moths warranty is based on the old set. However, when i connect my replacement set, it did asked for registration (which I assume another 12-mth extended warranty).
Anyone can further confirm on this matter? |
Dec 31 2009, 05:33 PM
222 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
guys...can i purchases extended warranty from maxis ?i mean it's by apple coz i c apple web got extrended warranty
Dec 31 2009, 05:36 PM
Jan 1 2010, 04:13 AM
i guess it have... http://www.apple.com/support/products/applecareiphone.html ..js not from maxis i think...
Jan 2 2010, 07:27 AM
SingTel do mention about apple care bout our iphone. But, Maxis don't. I d asked CS bout warranty, what to do after 1 year, they said, they can repair it for u, but with certain amount of fee.
anyway, can consult CS regarding iphone apple care plan. To extend our iphone warranty by apple care plan is awesome. i bet, everyone want to extend the warranty |
Jan 4 2010, 01:39 PM
AFAIK, AppleCare for iPhone only covers (in SE Asia at least) Singapore-purchased sets.
yes, Apple has a database that shows where your iPhone was originally sold, so even though I tried |
Jan 4 2010, 11:34 PM
64 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
simple... warranty card is registed to I-mei no. for each iphone.
bring the phone n bring ur warranty card along. as long both match then can d why so susah... Added on January 4, 2010, 11:36 pmif extended warranty ... where u wanna send ur i phone? to apple dealers ? how long would it take? where they send to repair? just take good care of ur i phone laa This post has been edited by rynstar: Jan 4 2010, 11:36 PM |
Jan 5 2010, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(rynstar @ Jan 4 2010, 11:34 PM) simple... warranty card is registed to I-mei no. for each iphone. Easier said than done bring the phone n bring ur warranty card along. as long both match then can d why so susah... Added on January 4, 2010, 11:36 pmif extended warranty ... where u wanna send ur i phone? to apple dealers ? how long would it take? where they send to repair? just take good care of ur i phone laa Yes the replacement has a new one-year warranty period with Apple (but not with Maxis I believe). And we have to remember that iPhone is not international warranty. All warranty claims have to be made at the country of purchase. Thus, when you want to claim warranty from Maxis on the replacement set, they will simply ignore it as they will claim that replacement set has to follow orinthe original warranty period (as what I was told by the CS). As they are the only claim channel inthis country, we can't do much. |
Jan 5 2010, 09:15 AM
i think,singtel set, for extended warranty, we can send it back to singtel since singtel offer the extended warranty.. maxis do not offer the extended warranty..
apple dealers, any *mac store* will refer to maxis since we purchase it from maxis.. if malaysia have Genius bar, we might able send to them, but we dont.. ur advise of take care of our phone is very wise.. but, worst case can happen.. broken there and there.. faulty here n there.. in apple forum. about 50k user ( someone mention it somewhere over there ) of unhappy customer about wifi problem.. i prefer send to authorized ppl then to other who have the ability to repair.. cautious ma.. maybe maxis should provide the extended warranty.. or, maybe they dont want to entertain us after 1 year warranty.. lol BTW, CS told me, maxis oso send to singapore for repair/replacment.. This post has been edited by saksoba: Jan 5 2010, 09:16 AM |
Jan 5 2010, 09:54 AM
why would Maxis offer an extended warranty? more to the point, where would they get the parts and technical info, since Apple is just replacing iPhone sets, here in Malaysia?
personally, having known people like wei & some others who do 3rd party repairs, I'll trust them with my iPhone... they really do know what they're doing, which is more than I can say about Maxis. |
Jan 5 2010, 12:06 PM
no point send to maxis either.. i doubt they will entertain much on u after u bought their phone.. like my case, still haf warranty oredi being treated badly by their CS, i can' t imagine after the warranty period, they will care much
Jan 5 2010, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jan 5 2010, 12:06 PM) no point send to maxis either.. i doubt they will entertain much on u after u bought their phone.. like my case, still haf warranty oredi being treated badly by their CS, i can' t imagine after the warranty period, they will care much There is no love lost between Maxis and myself but then in fairness and I have said this before, it is the people that make the organization. So, it depends who attends to you. If you happen to be dealing with a jerk, your experience needless to say will be unforgettable in a negative way. But, again I have said this before also, it depends on how you handle those sorts. You must know your rights and put forth your case correctly.It is the reversed of CS learning how to deal with difficult customers. You must know how to handle difficult CS personnel. But don't ever think for one moment the old adage, customers are always right, holds true. Just know your rights and that the case you have is concrete. This post has been edited by PeeEl: Jan 5 2010, 07:01 PM |
Jan 5 2010, 07:55 PM
402 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
guys... my 3gs will occasionally shows "no service" and I have to switch to airplane mode and off it to regain signal. Can I send back for warranty?
Jan 6 2010, 03:29 AM
well...1st....can we take k of the wireless problem?batt problem?or any problem tat out of sudden come out? and i ask did maxis provide the extended warranty coz i heard ppl say is now maxis is the supplier iphone for malaysia so i guess anything related to iphone should b go to maxis...if the iphone not nice to use i think i don't even care did it have warranty or not ...i js feel tis phone quite good so js hope can extend it's lifespan to use....and i read alot forum saying tat normally the iphone batt wil got problem ....and in the worst case...some ppl say iphone batt usage is normally 400 charges...average 1 day charge 1 times then after 1 year then need change hp d?
Jan 6 2010, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(hellson @ Jan 6 2010, 03:29 AM) well...1st....can we take k of the wireless problem?batt problem?or any problem tat out of sudden come out? and i ask did maxis provide the extended warranty coz i heard ppl say is now maxis is the supplier iphone for malaysia so i guess anything related to iphone should b go to maxis...if the iphone not nice to use i think i don't even care did it have warranty or not ...i js feel tis phone quite good so js hope can extend it's lifespan to use....and i read alot forum saying tat normally the iphone batt wil got problem ....and in the worst case...some ppl say iphone batt usage is normally 400 charges...average 1 day charge 1 times then after 1 year then need change hp d? Since Maxis the exclusive carrier for iPhone, hell yes anything related to iPhone should refer to them..As for lifespan, its totally depends on the user.. how u use ur iphone.. how long.. etc.. For charge cycle, the statement u give is kinda wrong. QUOTE A charge cycle means using all of the battery’s power, but that doesn’t necessarily mean a single charge. For instance, you could listen to your iPod for a few hours one day, using half its power, and then recharge it fully. If you did the same thing the next day, it would count as one charge cycle, not two, so you may take several days to complete a cycle Ref : http://www.apple.com/batteries/ This post has been edited by saksoba: Jan 6 2010, 12:29 PM |
Jan 6 2010, 12:49 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
maxis should provide extended warranty service cause they are exclusive distributor for iphone in malaysia. When I check apple iphone's online site, they have option to pay for extended warranty. But when select Malaysia, they say refer to maxis.
Waiting for maxis to do something or else, I will setup iphone warranty/repair center... |
Jan 7 2010, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 6 2010, 12:49 PM) maxis should provide extended warranty service cause they are exclusive distributor for iphone in malaysia. When I check apple iphone's online site, they have option to pay for extended warranty. But when select Malaysia, they say refer to maxis. then i guess u should setup a repair center for us .... if can u provide us some iphone package tat offer better deals then maxis...waiting for yr good news... Waiting for maxis to do something or else, I will setup iphone warranty/repair center... |
Jan 7 2010, 01:27 PM
367 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Ipoh |
ops sorry. got the answer already.
This post has been edited by victor131490: Jan 7 2010, 01:28 PM |
Jan 7 2010, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 5 2010, 07:01 PM) There is no love lost between Maxis and myself but then in fairness and I have said this before, it is the people that make the organization. So, it depends who attends to you. If you happen to be dealing with a jerk, your experience needless to say will be unforgettable in a negative way. But, again I have said this before also, it depends on how you handle those sorts. You must know your rights and put forth your case correctly. actually i'm not bias or think negative..i did try on other CS, still the same.. even on CS call centre n email them as well. they were nt very helpful. for my case, after send in for 2 weeks.. the CS call me regarding the warranty issue n need to haf more time to check on the status. when i ask do they send my phone for warranty.. the answer is NO. cz still on pending for warranty issue. OMG!! i was like.. out of a sudden burn up wif fire.. i ask her, what takes so long for them to check? she reply me tat due to they can't manage to check the owner registration no and ask me to gif them some time to investigate. It is the reversed of CS learning how to deal with difficult customers. You must know how to handle difficult CS personnel. But don't ever think for one moment the old adage, customers are always right, holds true. Just know your rights and that the case you have is concrete. i told and repeat to the CS so many times, my phone is a gift n no contract attached. hw do i kno the owner registration no as it's a sponsor gift from a company.. |
Jan 8 2010, 09:16 AM
Jan 8 2010, 09:29 AM
they send it to singapore.. from there, they will check ur set.. mostly, they will give you a new set..
for my case, after 2 weeks send to Maxis CS, they said "Apple just pick up today".. it took them 2 weeks just to pick up the set.. |
Jan 8 2010, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Jan 8 2010, 09:29 AM) they send it to singapore.. from there, they will check ur set.. mostly, they will give you a new set.. This is what I gathered when I 'chatted' with a CS personnel the last time I was at Maxis, Sunway Pyramid. But like everything spoken with anyone of them, take all with a pinch of salt.for my case, after 2 weeks send to Maxis CS, they said "Apple just pick up today".. it took them 2 weeks just to pick up the set.. She said iPhones for warranty claims, unlike Singapore are taken by a 'vendor' who actually acts as the go-between for them and Apple. The vendor will then process the claims after probably checking and making sure the phones are not repairable. Telcos in other countries deal directly with Apple which probably supplies them with stock of refurbished units for replacement and in view of the arrangement here, we do not have that 'luxury'. And she said, they do not get their units from Singapore. I told her maybe not for the 3GS but for 3G I asked her how come we share the same Part/Model No. and she became dumbfounded with gave the the classic shrug of the shoulders. There you go.....that's Malaysia but we still have hope as 2020 is not too near yet!!! |
Jan 8 2010, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(saksoba @ Jan 8 2010, 09:29 AM) they send it to singapore.. from there, they will check ur set.. mostly, they will give you a new set.. urs better.. at least in SG.. mine they told me is will send to California cz wanna claim for warranty unless repair.. thn go to SG. my case, is they hold my phone on pending status. until they investigate the phone is ori set and registered under the owner name or nt as they can't manage to find the owner registered no in their record for my case, after 2 weeks send to Maxis CS, they said "Apple just pick up today".. it took them 2 weeks just to pick up the set.. |
Jan 8 2010, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jan 8 2010, 03:36 PM) urs better.. at least in SG.. mine they told me is will send to California cz wanna claim for warranty unless repair.. thn go to SG. my case, is they hold my phone on pending status. until they investigate the phone is ori set and registered under the owner name or nt as they can't manage to find the owner registered no in their record You are being 'bullied' and please let me say you are allowing them to. They have all the records/data in their system to confirm/ratify their own sets which means no delays in verification at all.If I were you, I will go and demand an answer as to when you get get the replacement unit and nothing else should be dwelled on. If not, tell them you will immediately approach the consumer tribunal. But of course, do and say all that diplomatically and if possible, with a smile on your face. Good luck. |
Jan 9 2010, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 8 2010, 11:57 PM) You are being 'bullied' and please let me say you are allowing them to. They have all the records/data in their system to confirm/ratify their own sets which means no delays in verification at all. nt to say bullied or nt.. watever i need to say n do, all is done.. they still clarify tat they still need to investigate. wat can i say? i even mention will approach consumer bureau.. they say no probs go ahead. so? pointless argue wif them cz i'm getting bored wif all those silly explanation tat they gave me. in the end i decided to take bek my phone n perhaps try my luck at another maxis centre instead. i call whether my phone still at the gardens centre or nt bt they can't ratify n in return ask my imei no from my warranty card. i feel it's ridiculous cz they should kno warranty card is attached wif my phone for warranty. If I were you, I will go and demand an answer as to when you get get the replacement unit and nothing else should be dwelled on. If not, tell them you will immediately approach the consumer tribunal. But of course, do and say all that diplomatically and if possible, with a smile on your face. Good luck. the worst part is they can't find my phone!!! show n mention to me no record in their system. omigosh.. i really speechless.. they ask whether iszit i send in my phone in this centre or nt. gosh.. of cz i send in to tis centre, else where come the receipt of acknowledgment?? i so piss off n demand, i dun care where my phone is.. i insist i wan bek my phone else i will report it to the consumer bureau.. to me tis is serious..is like a fraud case dy.. i told them they can check bek their cctv in their centre whether i did came b4 or nt. if u r in my situation, i dun think u can even smile n say in diplomatically way... in d end, they assure me tat they will found out where my phone is n get bek to me next week. thn tis morning i jz receive a call from the CS complain dept (as i make my complain b4) asking my phone imei to clarify on my warranty issue.. i mention my case tat after all tis probs i decided not to send in my phone for warranty.. n wanna take bek my phone instead. i told the CS the probs seems like my phone lost in the space n she can even told me tat perhaps they send out for warranty oredi.. gosh i can't tolerate tis anymore... n i do really hope they settle tis asap. else i will approach to the consumer bureau n mention tis to the media.. |
Jan 9 2010, 06:24 PM
@yvonne
do contact Apple directly 1800 803 638 and get them involved. if that fails, call Maxis CS and give them a deadline (maybe 24 hours) after which you will go to the police and report them for negligence (lost your property) that's what I would do if any company can't tell me exactly where my stuff is, after I claimed warranty. |
Jan 9 2010, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jan 9 2010, 06:24 PM) @yvonne ok thx.. i will gif them the time to find.. will take the action if i can't get bek my stuff after 24 hrsdo contact Apple directly 1800 803 638 and get them involved. if that fails, call Maxis CS and give them a deadline (maybe 24 hours) after which you will go to the police and report them for negligence (lost your property) that's what I would do if any company can't tell me exactly where my stuff is, after I claimed warranty. |
Jan 9 2010, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jan 9 2010, 06:24 PM) @yvonne @yvonnesoodo contact Apple directly 1800 803 638 and get them involved. if that fails, call Maxis CS and give them a deadline (maybe 24 hours) after which you will go to the police and report them for negligence (lost your property) that's what I would do if any company can't tell me exactly where my stuff is, after I claimed warranty. Though it may not be a bad idea to report to the police, I think it would be futile. The best authority to bring the matter to is still the consumer tribunal. But it's your call as to what drastic action you want to take. However, I agree with xaw5126 that a deadline must be given to them to get your phone back. |
Jan 9 2010, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 9 2010, 06:43 PM) @yvonnesoo thx for ur advise.. i definitely will gif them the time n won't jump to the conclusion yet.. if after tat, they still gif me those silly or nonsense answer again, i will do the necessary action.. Though it may not be a bad idea to report to the police, I think it would be futile. The best authority to bring the matter to is still the consumer tribunal. But it's your call as to what drastic action you want to take. However, I agree with xaw5126 that a deadline must be given to them to get your phone back. i will update u guys on tis.. haihz.. really tension.. 1st time encounter such a warranty issue tat end up phone run no where.. bt luckily i demand to get bek my phone.. else i won't kno tat my phone is nt there.. wat more thinking of they will send in for warranty? ewww.. only 2 weeks ler.. else if after a mth or more, i can't imagine wat will happen.. really unlucky of me |
Jan 9 2010, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jan 9 2010, 06:55 PM) thx for ur advise.. i definitely will gif them the time n won't jump to the conclusion yet.. if after tat, they still gif me those silly or nonsense answer again, i will do the necessary action.. For what it's worth, if I were you, I will pray that they lose the set. In that manner, thay have no choice but to give you a replacement unit so long as you have documentary evidence to show that they have taken in your phone. When the time frame is up, go demand for the phone.i will update u guys on tis.. haihz.. really tension.. 1st time encounter such a warranty issue tat end up phone run no where.. bt luckily i demand to get bek my phone.. else i won't kno tat my phone is nt there.. wat more thinking of they will send in for warranty? ewww.. only 2 weeks ler.. else if after a mth or more, i can't imagine wat will happen.. really unlucky of me The other thing you can perhaps do is threaten to raise your issue to the press. Again, good luck. |
Jan 9 2010, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 9 2010, 11:42 PM) For what it's worth, if I were you, I will pray that they lose the set. In that manner, thay have no choice but to give you a replacement unit so long as you have documentary evidence to show that they have taken in your phone. When the time frame is up, go demand for the phone. haha.. ya.. tat is wat i think of.. bt i doubt they will be so good.. no matter wat oso will find out where my phone is.. they won't be so generous of giving out a new phone The other thing you can perhaps do is threaten to raise your issue to the press. Again, good luck. |
Jan 10 2010, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jan 9 2010, 11:51 PM) haha.. ya.. tat is wat i think of.. bt i doubt they will be so good.. no matter wat oso will find out where my phone is.. they won't be so generous of giving out a new phone Well, that's when the time frame comes in. Give them a certain period to locate your phone and tell them that after which you would want a replacement immediately, no two ways about it. Threaten that otherwise you will report to the whole 'world'. |
Jan 10 2010, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 10 2010, 01:59 PM) Well, that's when the time frame comes in. Give them a certain period to locate your phone and tell them that after which you would want a replacement immediately, no two ways about it. Threaten that otherwise you will report to the whole 'world'. as if they care |
Jan 10 2010, 09:05 PM
138 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Malaysia + Singapore |
Is maxis warranty claim for iphone 3gs exchange another set on the spot like what sg telco do?
Jan 10 2010, 10:15 PM
Jan 10 2010, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(xfree @ Jan 10 2010, 09:05 PM) definitely nope.. maxis CS told me, 1 to 1 exchange is only applicable if u spot something faulty when u take the phone. bt i heard from others within 7 days still can get 1 to 1 exchange.. bt i gt doubt la.. Added on January 10, 2010, 10:56 pm QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 10 2010, 07:48 PM) yea true.. tis is wat i feel darn pissed off. btw, tomolo is the due date. they assure will call me n settle tis case max time given till mon. i will c hw they gonna settle my case.. they better call me, else i will shoot them a call n straight go to the centre n demand my phone immediately.. either i get my phone or a new replacement set or refund me the $$.. i dunwan to hear anymore story telling again!!!This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Jan 10 2010, 10:56 PM |
Jan 11 2010, 02:50 AM
Ic. Wonder why dont offer exchange as like singtel offered when customer claim warranty. Seems like claim maxis iphone warranty not as easy as compare to sg telco. If unlucky need to wait up to few months just to claim a warranty. The after sales support is quite bad.
This post has been edited by xfree: Jan 11 2010, 03:02 AM |
Jan 11 2010, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(xfree @ Jan 11 2010, 02:50 AM) Ic. Wonder why dont offer exchange as like singtel offered when customer claim warranty. Seems like claim maxis iphone warranty not as easy as compare to sg telco. If unlucky need to wait up to few months just to claim a warranty. The after sales support is quite bad. what after sales support ? there is NONE ! |
Jan 11 2010, 09:03 AM
Jan 11 2010, 12:03 PM
Jan 11 2010, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(xfree @ Jan 11 2010, 12:03 PM) gt tis kind of feeling when i send my phone over for warranty.. eventho i gt the warranty card from maxis.. they still wan to investigate n etc.. so troublesome.. so i suggest others tat wan to buy iphone, better buy SG set.. n dun buy from 3rd party eventho they claim their set is from maxis n gt the maxis warranty card. cz when come to warranty issue.. u will be headache!! |
Jan 11 2010, 05:05 PM
Maybe you should talk to the Manager in charge of the service center too. In my replacement phone case, I got my replacement just after 3 hours I send send out the complaint mail to the higher upervisor of the service centre.
Do also inform SKMM on this matter as Maxis is regulated by them. Normally ISPs will take a swift action, when SKMM is part of the complaint loop. |
Jan 11 2010, 05:14 PM
wat is SKMM?? btw, i dun haf their higher management email or phone no. they dun allow me to take the no. darn lah..
as wat predicted!! they din even call me. so i decided to call them back.. as wat expected, keep asking me imei no, receipt no n etc.. wat the use??? i so piss off n mention i wan to talk to the manager.. keep delay the call n say engage.. keep me waiting for at least 30 mins n in return told me tat the manager line is busy.. will ask the supervisor in charge call me back.. WTH!! i told them.. i will file a complaint to the consumer tribunal.. they seems like selamba n act nothing oso.. so i dun care anymore.. time frame given but still act like nothing happen. btw, i oredi file my probs to the tribunal n c hw it goes.. i plan to go straight to the centre again n make noise.. so piss off.. feel like wanna let everyone know bout their suxxxxxx service |
Jan 11 2010, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jan 11 2010, 05:14 PM) wat is SKMM?? btw, i dun haf their higher management email or phone no. they dun allow me to take the no. darn lah.. It will be cumbersome not to mention troublesome but for matters like this, it's best to confront the manager in charge in person. Calling over the phone will only add to your exasperation. Putting things in writing/mails is to create the paper trail for reference by the authority that you may need to refer to later, which you have now done so.as wat predicted!! they din even call me. so i decided to call them back.. as wat expected, keep asking me imei no, receipt no n etc.. wat the use??? i so piss off n mention i wan to talk to the manager.. keep delay the call n say engage.. keep me waiting for at least 30 mins n in return told me tat the manager line is busy.. will ask the supervisor in charge call me back.. WTH!! i told them.. i will file a complaint to the consumer tribunal.. they seems like selamba n act nothing oso.. so i dun care anymore.. time frame given but still act like nothing happen. btw, i oredi file my probs to the tribunal n c hw it goes.. i plan to go straight to the centre again n make noise.. so piss off.. feel like wanna let everyone know bout their suxxxxxx service Yes, do go and raise your case and if I were you, make a scene if necessary. |
Jan 12 2010, 10:49 AM
jz after i file my complaint to the consumer tribunal, i got a call from maxis CS. finally they manage to find my phone. it was at their Garden centre. apologize to me saying tat their system on tat day is haywire so everything on that day (i dunno hw many days tho) din recorded into the system.. luckily i demand for my phone else i won't kno this thing happen. will be buta buta waited for nothing.
after that they assure me tat new replacement phone will be available after 2 weeks n suggest me to wait for the warranty instead. to be sure, i ask again whether my phone haf to send over to california n haf to wait for 2-3 mths? the CS say won't be sending over the phone. will replace wif a new set. i'm not sure whether hw true is this but since i oredi waited for 2 weeks, i gif them a second chance again.. wait for another 2 weeks n c the outcome.. else i will raise my complaint issue again.. btw, the tribunal officer did call regarding my issue. i would say tat tis time, the gov really did a good job.. hehe.. he suggest to cancel & close the case at the moment since maxis allowed for replacement. and file again if the replacement is not settle after 2 weeks.. |
Jan 12 2010, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jan 12 2010, 10:49 AM) jz after i file my complaint to the consumer tribunal, i got a call from maxis CS. finally they manage to find my phone. it was at their Garden centre. apologize to me saying tat their system on tat day is haywire so everything on that day (i dunno hw many days tho) din recorded into the system.. luckily i demand for my phone else i won't kno this thing happen. will be buta buta waited for nothing. It would not be in my place to say 'I told you so' but I would still say it. The consumer tribunal is somehow more reactive than the other government departments.after that they assure me tat new replacement phone will be available after 2 weeks n suggest me to wait for the warranty instead. to be sure, i ask again whether my phone haf to send over to california n haf to wait for 2-3 mths? the CS say won't be sending over the phone. will replace wif a new set. i'm not sure whether hw true is this but since i oredi waited for 2 weeks, i gif them a second chance again.. wait for another 2 weeks n c the outcome.. else i will raise my complaint issue again.. btw, the tribunal officer did call regarding my issue. i would say tat tis time, the gov really did a good job.. hehe.. he suggest to cancel & close the case at the moment since maxis allowed for replacement. and file again if the replacement is not settle after 2 weeks.. Nevertheless, I would suggest you do not close the case until after the deadline and Maxis has actually given you a replacement unit. To close and make a report will cost you additional money albeit a small amount but you may not get that quick a response even though I did mention earlier that they are more responsive but if the case goes to an officer who is not efficient enough, your case may be stuck. However, it's your decision. And keep hounding Maxis for your replacement. |
Jan 12 2010, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 12 2010, 07:41 PM) It would not be in my place to say 'I told you so' but I would still say it. The consumer tribunal is somehow more reactive than the other government departments. k.. thx 4 ur advise.. currently my file case is still on pending.. i haven't close my case yet. i think the same way as u, will leave the case open till i get my replacement phone after 2 weeks. will update my status after 2 weeks Nevertheless, I would suggest you do not close the case until after the deadline and Maxis has actually given you a replacement unit. To close and make a report will cost you additional money albeit a small amount but you may not get that quick a response even though I did mention earlier that they are more responsive but if the case goes to an officer who is not efficient enough, your case may be stuck. However, it's your decision. And keep hounding Maxis for your replacement. |
Jan 23 2010, 04:45 PM
11,308 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
I've decided to take my iPhone in for warranty claims at Maxis Sunway. My battery was depleting faster than normal.
Maxis CS took a look at it and indeed it was dropping as we speak. He says he will send to Singapore and I will get a new phone back. All warranty claims are 1 to 1 exchange according to him. He did say it will take a month. No fuss or problems. |
Jan 23 2010, 09:13 PM
805 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Normally take how to send the iphone warranty ??
Jan 24 2010, 11:01 PM
128 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: PeeJay |
i think send to normal shop to repair since the warranty is already oevr
Jan 25 2010, 12:06 AM
1,231 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Nilai---KL |
Jan 25 2010, 03:38 PM
1,029 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jan 12 2010, 10:49 AM) jz after i file my complaint to the consumer tribunal, i got a call from maxis CS. finally they manage to find my phone. it was at their Garden centre. apologize to me saying tat their system on tat day is haywire so everything on that day (i dunno hw many days tho) din recorded into the system.. luckily i demand for my phone else i won't kno this thing happen. will be buta buta waited for nothing. Fully agree, I receive 3 SMS over a month period asking me to go collect my 3GS, even though I have already collected it when the 1st SMS arrived.after that they assure me tat new replacement phone will be available after 2 weeks n suggest me to wait for the warranty instead. to be sure, i ask again whether my phone haf to send over to california n haf to wait for 2-3 mths? the CS say won't be sending over the phone. will replace wif a new set. i'm not sure whether hw true is this but since i oredi waited for 2 weeks, i gif them a second chance again.. wait for another 2 weeks n c the outcome.. else i will raise my complaint issue again.. btw, the tribunal officer did call regarding my issue. i would say tat tis time, the gov really did a good job.. hehe.. he suggest to cancel & close the case at the moment since maxis allowed for replacement. and file again if the replacement is not settle after 2 weeks.. They even called me up and force me to collect, then I have no choice but to give a nice hair-dryer treatment to the agent. |
Jan 25 2010, 06:29 PM
after 2 weeks.. i ask for my phone since no news yet. as expected, the answer is my replacement phone haven't arrive. asked when? ASAP.. nw more worst.. phone oredi at the vendor there.. they can gif excuse saying tat vendor haven't send the phone bek n bla bla bla.. >_<
i dunwan care dy.. will keep making noise until my replacement is done.. they assure me tat 2 weeks.. when i ask for it, they say "oh sorry.. i oso dunno this will happen" suxx.. i dunwan to hear anymore story tale again |
Jan 25 2010, 10:35 PM
2,587 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Malysia |
that is normal.. maxis always given excuse for this kind of reason.. i think u need to wait a few more week for it lo
Jan 27 2010, 04:13 AM
114 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
is there a possible if lets say you claim the warranty successfully... they gave you a new unit but came with a new bootroom? (which is an ass to jailbreaking)
but seems like even if i really wanna claim warranty will take so much time just like when i book my 3gs ==" |
Jan 27 2010, 02:21 PM
doesn't means is a new unit replacement tho.. can be refurbished set or repair set..
This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Jan 27 2010, 02:21 PM |
Jan 28 2010, 10:52 AM
125 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
For last year Nov 09 batch, they said replacement will arrive this week. I chase Maxis every week and {fingercross}, hope to get mine replaced next week.
One more thing, Maxis said it's Apple policy not repair any 3GS phone, they are given 1-1 replacement. I wonder how true can it be... |
Jan 30 2010, 02:48 PM
Normally it take how long to get the replacement set after send to MAXIS warranty ???? can someone tell me ?
Jan 30 2010, 02:49 PM
Jan 30 2010, 02:56 PM
Mine is minor problem mean dead pixel ... SO how long was it ?
Jan 30 2010, 02:59 PM
Jan 30 2010, 04:33 PM
that would be nicer =)
Jan 31 2010, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(ckming21 @ Jan 30 2010, 02:56 PM) min : two weeksmax : 1 month by 1 month u still didnt receive ur set, do complain. I dun think either its minor or major problem, they still send to Singapore to check the problem and replace the set. So far, as per my experience with wifi problem, 1 month n 12 days. |
Feb 1 2010, 06:22 PM
last question i would like to ask . After the warranty done by maxis they will call u to pick up the phone or I must call them to ask that my phone is ok or not ?
Feb 1 2010, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(ckming21 @ Feb 1 2010, 06:22 PM) last question i would like to ask . After the warranty done by maxis they will call u to pick up the phone or I must call them to ask that my phone is ok or not ? If you want something back bad enough and they didn't call you within a certain period of time, would you call them? That's your answer! |
Feb 1 2010, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(ckming21 @ Feb 1 2010, 06:22 PM) last question i would like to ask . After the warranty done by maxis they will call u to pick up the phone or I must call them to ask that my phone is ok or not ? They will call and text u when ur iPhone ready for pickup. After 1 month no news, call them. The CS said, the max for repair/service is 1month. |
Feb 3 2010, 01:19 AM
1,048 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Your Neighbour |
After reading so many bad comment about maxis, im in doubt whether to send my phone in for warranty.
Im using Maxis set 3Gs and currently have problem with the microphone. While making calls, people complaint that the volume is soo soft and could not hear for 1-2 seconds sometimes. Anyone of u have this problem and what will maxis do with this? |
Feb 3 2010, 07:33 AM
1,009 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Shah Alam |
Hm..I also have a problem with my 3Gs battery. Cannot last more than 3 hours... Really doubt whether I should send to maxis or not and whether they will cover my problem...
Feb 4 2010, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(ckming21 @ Jan 30 2010, 02:56 PM) mine took 1 mth 11 days.. still no news yet.. call every fortnight still the same.. n they can answer me tat "we kno u complaint alot due to they haf my record in the system" |
Feb 5 2010, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Feb 3 2010, 07:33 AM) Hm..I also have a problem with my 3Gs battery. Cannot last more than 3 hours... Really doubt whether I should send to maxis or not and whether they will cover my problem... why not? 3 hours is like mine. i send mine in now waiting for a new replacement. only problem is the waiting period is killing.... |
Feb 5 2010, 11:29 AM
114 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
what about software problem?? my 3gs facing random crashes during running application or sometimes even opening application or just flipping pages around springboard and typing.... i can claim warranty?
Feb 5 2010, 11:33 AM
Feb 5 2010, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(ffmichael @ Feb 5 2010, 11:29 AM) what about software problem?? my 3gs facing random crashes during running application or sometimes even opening application or just flipping pages around springboard and typing.... i can claim warranty? When a device you pay so much for goes cranky and there is recourse, you should take it. But I suggest you do a restore first and see whether your problems get eradicated. If they do, then it is ok. But if not, head on to Maxis but make sure your unit is restored to its original state if you have jailbroken earlier. |
Feb 5 2010, 04:10 PM
62 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Seri Kembangan, Selangor. |
hi, I have ask couples of maxis centre for 3GS, but all said need to wait more than a month, would you please tell which centre have stock now? thank you!
Feb 5 2010, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(cyclop20 @ Feb 5 2010, 04:10 PM) hi, I have ask couples of maxis centre for 3GS, but all said need to wait more than a month, would you please tell which centre have stock now? thank you! Firstly, why are you posting in this particular thread which has no relevance to your query?And a matter of fact, your question has been broached quite extensively in the relevant threads here. So, please go through and you will know where to head to, to get your iPhone on the spot. |
Feb 7 2010, 12:07 PM
13,313 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(ffmichael @ Feb 5 2010, 11:29 AM) what about software problem?? my 3gs facing random crashes during running application or sometimes even opening application or just flipping pages around springboard and typing.... i can claim warranty? just uninstall the application those not stable.. that is very normal case.. |
Feb 12 2010, 10:02 AM
13 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
To all friend,
My Iphone can't be swift on , please anyone can tell me where i can repare it and how much will cost. thanks you |
Feb 12 2010, 05:07 PM
155 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
if u buy Maxis iphone from Machines, can u claim warranty from any maxis centre instead of machines? tq :/
Feb 12 2010, 07:38 PM
1,079 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Feb 12 2010, 09:15 PM
134 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Subang/Sunway |
Feb 12 2010, 11:22 PM
155 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Feb 16 2010, 02:48 PM
1,741 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
my friend drop his iphone and the lcd break at taiwan vacation today. his iphone is from maxis package, just used for 2 month, can he claim warranty / have to pay for repair because he drop it?
*iphone so fragile =.=! |
Feb 16 2010, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(shoduken @ Feb 16 2010, 02:48 PM) my friend drop his iphone and the lcd break at taiwan vacation today. his iphone is from maxis package, just used for 2 month, can he claim warranty / have to pay for repair because he drop it? Damages sustained in a drop do not come under the ambit of warranty.*iphone so fragile =.=! And are you saying that if other phones dropped, there would be no damages? This post has been edited by PeeEl: Feb 16 2010, 03:16 PM |
Feb 21 2010, 09:09 AM
1,138 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
any idea which maxis ctr is the fastest to claim warranty if there is a one to one exchange for the iphone?
some say KLCC and some pavillion, but anyone out here experienced it before? from where can get the replacement unit asap... thanks |
Feb 21 2010, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ Feb 21 2010, 09:09 AM) any idea which maxis ctr is the fastest to claim warranty if there is a one to one exchange for the iphone? they will give you a refurbished set for the one to one exchange. there is no ASAP, everyone gotta wait. it'll take at least 2 months for replacement from Maxis, if you are lucky some say KLCC and some pavillion, but anyone out here experienced it before? from where can get the replacement unit asap... thanks |
Feb 21 2010, 03:21 PM
41 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Hi guys, I've spoilt my overseas iPhone set. No local warranty. Who can I send it to fix?
Feb 21 2010, 04:35 PM
Feb 21 2010, 10:09 PM
41 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Feb 22 2010, 02:23 AM
QUOTE(theseller @ Feb 21 2010, 03:21 PM) http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=920182&hl=great guy with great service with great price. |
Feb 22 2010, 12:12 PM
Feb 24 2010, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Feb 22 2010, 12:12 PM) My friend iPhone just spoilt a few days back. Sent back to Starhub, 1 to 1 swap with refurbished set, no questions ask. I believed they maintain a pool of refurbished set for swapping with damaged one. Wondering why Maxis cant do thatThis post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 24 2010, 10:18 AM |
Feb 24 2010, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 24 2010, 10:16 AM) My friend iPhone just spoilt a few days back. Sent back to Starhub, 1 to 1 swap with refurbished set, no questions ask. I believed they maintain a pool of refurbished set for swapping with damaged one. Wondering why Maxis cant do that thats true bro..there have such ridiculous procedure for 4 to 8 weeks(are they nuts)...one of friend email to apple regarding this..they said that is not the way..the max time is only 1-2 days...not weeks( they told that they would look into the matter)..imagine you have 12 month warranty and now you loose 2 months just waiting for your phone to be back... |
Feb 24 2010, 12:20 PM
3 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
is that can send warrenty without warrenty card?
Feb 24 2010, 12:27 PM
Feb 24 2010, 01:40 PM
Feb 24 2010, 04:04 PM
Feb 25 2010, 04:50 PM
I hate the ipoh CS . I send my phone due to dust under the glass. He reject it because it is a minor problem . I buy the phone for sure i wan it perfect right ? Any solution what should i do now ?
This post has been edited by ckming21: Feb 25 2010, 06:25 PM |
Feb 26 2010, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(ckming21 @ Feb 25 2010, 04:50 PM) I hate the ipoh CS . I send my phone due to dust under the glass. He reject it because it is a minor problem . I buy the phone for sure i wan it perfect right ? Any solution what should i do now ? If I were you, I will try at another Maxis Centre. Like I said sometime ago, sometimes some CROs will play 'God' and make decisions they deem fit and not logically and/or legally. If that fails, pay a visit to the Consumer Tribunal in your state and lodge a case against Maxis. |
Feb 26 2010, 04:06 AM
QUOTE(ckming21 @ Feb 25 2010, 04:50 PM) I hate the ipoh CS . I send my phone due to dust under the glass. He reject it because it is a minor problem . I buy the phone for sure i wan it perfect right ? Any solution what should i do now ? thats not good....well if you pls do lodge a complain against them...this is over the limit coz your phone is in warranty they have no right to say that is minor or major problem... |
Feb 26 2010, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Feb 26 2010, 04:06 AM) thats not good....well if you pls do lodge a complain against them...this is over the limit coz your phone is in warranty they have no right to say that is minor or major problem... I was at there for 1 hour they even look like ignoring me . They even serve other customer as i sit there like nerd . |
Mar 2 2010, 02:18 PM
mine sent in almost 5 weeks now, still no calls
Mar 2 2010, 03:38 PM
Mar 2 2010, 03:49 PM
call who? There is no number on the receipt. Pyramid centre got no phone
6 weeks coming this weekend This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 3 2010, 10:23 PM |
Mar 2 2010, 04:57 PM
916 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Hmm soon i need to give my 3gs in for warranty as well, as once in a while i have noticed that it says no sim card..and it gets frustrating.
The other problem is the home button. Its getting less and less sensitive and pretty much really irritating me... I never knew the iphone could have this many problems for such and expensive device.... |
Mar 2 2010, 05:00 PM
pls be prepared to wait at least 2 mth or more.. unless u keep calling them n make noise.. bt still haf to wait ler
Mar 2 2010, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Mar 2 2010, 04:57 PM) Hmm soon i need to give my 3gs in for warranty as well, as once in a while i have noticed that it says no sim card..and it gets frustrating. Does your sime card has some rust on it? Maybe theres some malfunction going on.The other problem is the home button. Its getting less and less sensitive and pretty much really irritating me... I never knew the iphone could have this many problems for such and expensive device.... About your Home button, did you jailbreak your phone.? Jailbreakin can cause your iPhone to reponse slower than usual. |
Mar 3 2010, 11:42 AM
4 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 2 2010, 03:49 PM) I had to deal with Sunway Pyramid maxis centre and i can tell you for a fact that if you don't go there and demand to see their manager to settle the problem, they will not bother to call you. They never called me back for over a month and i had to call up maxis call centre twice to get things moving and then when it was supposed to be settled, i had to wait for over an hour with a clueless exec trying to fool me, but i put my foot down and insisted on speaking to the manager and made him give me a written promise on when i would get an exchange - miraculously, i got my phone a few days later! Dun believe anything they say and the best way to deal with them is to tell them off to their faces! Being nice gets you nowhere with maxis, demand to see the manager and tell him off would be my advise. If you need the number for the manager i dealt with, let me know, i should still have his HP number somewhere... =) |
Mar 3 2010, 04:11 PM
saffronlotus - UGPM
mine is pyramid outlet too thanks |
Mar 3 2010, 07:12 PM
1,527 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Heaven |
Hello. Anyone know where can I get the on/off button for I3G? Mine went off and I couldn't find it. Thanks.
Mar 3 2010, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(arshad @ Mar 3 2010, 07:12 PM) Hello. Anyone know where can I get the on/off button for I3G? Mine went off and I couldn't find it. Thanks. what off button bro???the lock button is up..and to off and onthe phone you can press and hold the up button for few seconds...if the phone jam...try press the lock button with the home button for few seconds... |
Mar 3 2010, 10:17 PM
I think he's trying to say 3G on/off button in settings
Mar 4 2010, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(denzel88 @ Mar 3 2010, 10:17 PM) I hope I am not as baffled as you and yuvanesh.... What he is saying, if I digested correctly is that his on/off button came out and he lost it and wants to know where to get it replaced.To TS, please look up Hanxz at GS(Garage Sales). He is into hardware repairs also and may be able to help you. |
Mar 4 2010, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Mar 4 2010, 10:07 AM) I hope I am not as baffled as you and yuvanesh.... What he is saying, if I digested correctly is that his on/off button came out and he lost it and wants to know where to get it replaced. wah..ya you were right...i didnt thought off that.. To TS, please look up Hanxz at GS(Garage Sales). He is into hardware repairs also and may be able to help you. |
Mar 4 2010, 02:01 PM
569 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
i can't find a suitable area to ask the following question.
pardon me if i ask at wrong topic. owned a 3G phone and apparently found out, when i calling people, my call will end at 6 to 7 seconds after calling. i dont know whether is software problem or hardware. mine is 3.1.3 and JB... i found out if i using Edge and didnt turn ON the 3G button, my call guarantee will end at 6 to 7 seconds. But if i turn ON 3G, my call went through without problem. i tried to find all the website about these problem, some say must turn ON 3G to call. is it so? confused. |
Mar 5 2010, 02:52 PM
hmm a quick question to any of you fellows, I want to send my 3gs maxis for warranty, would they just repair the phone or will the change it to the new bootroom edition. I would prefer if they would just repair it
hmm a quick question to any of you fellows, I want to send my 3gs maxis for warranty, would they just repair the phone or will the change it to the new bootroom edition. I would prefer if they would just repair it Moderator's Note: DO NOT DOUBLE POST PLEASE!!!!!!! |
Mar 5 2010, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Mar 5 2010, 02:52 PM) hmm a quick question to any of you fellows, I want to send my 3gs maxis for warranty, would they just repair the phone or will the change it to the new bootroom edition. I would prefer if they would just repair it well bro..they will never repair for you....you have send it to them..most frequently they replace a new set or refurbish set...first you give them the phone...then make a fake story telling them you need it fast...try talking to the manager....dont waste your time with the maxis cs...the will give 1001 bullshit reason...dont trust them...hmm a quick question to any of you fellows, I want to send my 3gs maxis for warranty, would they just repair the phone or will the change it to the new bootroom edition. I would prefer if they would just repair it Moderator's Note: DO NOT DOUBLE POST PLEASE!!!!!!! |
Mar 6 2010, 01:09 AM
1,527 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Heaven |
Thanks for the answers bro. Yes, it's the button that came out because accidently dropped it. Hehe.
Mar 6 2010, 01:16 PM
i am really pissed!
I sent my phone in on jan for battery drain problem. Just before cny i went back to pyramid to see whether my phone is back but thiS Joshua says no without even checking. Today i went pyramid again to check. Guess what? The phone came back just before cny just sitting there. Nobody called. Wait. Thats not the worst part yet. They say there is nothing wrong with my phone! So now i waited 6 weeks and they sent back my problem phone. Ok but another guy that attended to me just now noticed a new problem. That my wifi also not stable and draining the battery. He asked to give him one more week to find a solution for me. Ok la better wait one more week than get my old phone back. |
Mar 6 2010, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 6 2010, 01:16 PM) i am really pissed! well if you have chance go and see the manager and complain about this matter..make them know the mistake...you just lost your 6weeks warranty...I sent my phone in on jan for battery drain problem. Just before cny i went back to pyramid to see whether my phone is back but thiS Joshua says no without even checking. Today i went pyramid again to check. Guess what? The phone came back just before cny just sitting there. Nobody called. Wait. Thats not the worst part yet. They say there is nothing wrong with my phone! So now i waited 6 weeks and they sent back my problem phone. Ok but another guy that attended to me just now noticed a new problem. That my wifi also not stable and draining the battery. He asked to give him one more week to find a solution for me. Ok la better wait one more week than get my old phone back. |
Mar 6 2010, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 6 2010, 01:16 PM) i am really pissed! I sent my phone in on jan for battery drain problem. Just before cny i went back to pyramid to see whether my phone is back but thiS Joshua says no without even checking. Today i went pyramid again to check. Guess what? The phone came back just before cny just sitting there. Nobody called. Wait. Thats not the worst part yet. They say there is nothing wrong with my phone! So now i waited 6 weeks and they sent back my problem phone. Ok but another guy that attended to me just now noticed a new problem. That my wifi also not stable and draining the battery. He asked to give him one more week to find a solution for me. Ok la better wait one more week than get my old phone back. i think they never even check your phone in the 1st place. |
Mar 6 2010, 04:59 PM
1,903 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: ipohmali |
@idoblu
do insist on talking to the branch manager, tell him politely but authoritatively your situation and tell him what do you expect from their services. if they are not to par, threaten to go menara maxis and do a big hoo haa or even worst, report to MCMC or the consumer's tribunal. i suggested these steps to a friend, and yes he got his phone replaced right on the spot. this was at gardens btw. |
Mar 6 2010, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Mar 6 2010, 04:59 PM) @idoblu Hi Han, good of you to share your friend's experience.do insist on talking to the branch manager, tell him politely but authoritatively your situation and tell him what do you expect from their services. if they are not to par, threaten to go menara maxis and do a big hoo haa or even worst, report to MCMC or the consumer's tribunal. i suggested these steps to a friend, and yes he got his phone replaced right on the spot. this was at gardens btw. If those who care to read the posts in this thread I have actually time and again, philosophized that to get proper action and attendance to one's complaints, he/she has to report to the 'correct' authorities. Why are so many not resorting to those steps to get their beloved, not to mention expensive but flawed gadget replaced, is beyond me. I have also categorically stated that we as consumers must know our rights. Since there have been so much complaints, if enough people lodge official complaints, Maxis will have to buck up. In any event, with Digi coming into the fray, I think(hope) they will pull up their socks. This post has been edited by PeeEl: Mar 6 2010, 07:18 PM |
Mar 6 2010, 08:01 PM
well we cant just go banging on tables without first following the rma procedures. We cant just ask to speak to the manger every instance our phone go bad. And We wont know till shit happens. I will give it one more week.
Added on March 6, 2010, 8:09 pmone more thing. If we want to write in a written complain whom can we address to? Its amazing to me how they can over look this. I asked about how many phones usually on rma. Only 20. I would have thought maybe 2000 broken phones thats why the mess but 20 phones sounds like they are sleeping. This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 6 2010, 08:09 PM |
Mar 8 2010, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 6 2010, 08:01 PM) well we cant just go banging on tables without first following the rma procedures. We cant just ask to speak to the manger every instance our phone go bad. And We wont know till shit happens. I will give it one more week. Maxis Centre and Maxis CS claims that it takes 4 to 6 weeks to get the phone repaired/replaced. Reason? they said need to get vendor come and collect, send singapore, bring back, sirim approval, custom, then only can get the phone. Added on March 6, 2010, 8:09 pmone more thing. If we want to write in a written complain whom can we address to? Its amazing to me how they can over look this. I asked about how many phones usually on rma. Only 20. I would have thought maybe 2000 broken phones thats why the mess but 20 phones sounds like they are sleeping. Bullsh*t. First of all, there is no need of sirim approval for an item that has already got approval earlier. and if there are really sending to singapore, how long it takes to go and come back? the truth is..... the phone does not goes anywhere out of Klang Valley. yes, that is the truth. the centre will do basic troubleshooting, and then send to their distributor, who will do the same thing again. the phone will be lying in their office for weeks and when they feel like doing it, they will do it. it is just 15 minutes to an hour job to the max for them do the the troubleshoot and if cant be repaired, they give 1 to one exchange. and if you just sit and wait for them to call you to come and collect your phone, well you can wait for your entire life and they wont call you. make up a story and keep bugging them, and yeah, i got my phone in a week.(with good story and some lubang). |
Mar 8 2010, 04:18 PM
will they actually replace with a new phone or refurbished unit? will they just give u the phone or the entire set plus charger, earphones, etc?
Mar 8 2010, 04:35 PM
Mar 8 2010, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 8 2010, 04:18 PM) will they actually replace with a new phone or refurbished unit? will they just give u the phone or the entire set plus charger, earphones, etc? refurbished set. check on the lifetime counter. a good way to tell if it's a refurbished set and since it's not new, it's totally unacceptable for Maxis to takes months for a replacement. |
Mar 12 2010, 11:00 AM
one week had passed. The person that says will settle also never even call. So i went to sunway to check. All not around. Want to talk to manager say busy.
Mar 12 2010, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 12 2010, 11:00 AM) one week had passed. The person that says will settle also never even call. So i went to sunway to check. All not around. Want to talk to manager say busy. and you never bang table ? best if you talk in a loud manner and attract the attention of surrounding ppl. if not, they just don't bother to entertain you. |
Mar 12 2010, 12:58 PM
after posting my last message, i beh tahan, so go back again and demand to see the manager. He was supposed to be in some conference call....bla bla bla. I told the CS, if your manager wont see me, I will escalate this thing up.
CS went in, after awhile came out with an iphone in his hand. Proceeded to register the phone. After that let me check. Luckily the CS asked if mine is 3GS, i said yes. And the one he brought out was a 3G. So back in he went and came out with another phone. This time 3GS. So kau tim. During registration I told the CS the full story. After that I said sorry that i was angry with him just now. He said he understand.....OK everything cool down The phone seems new on the outside. Chrome part seems new so dunno if this is refurbish set or new set. Came with a new warranty card. Now back home charging it up keeping my fingers crossed. This set is probably meant for some other fella. I guess someone else will have to wait a bit longer. After 7 weeks of waiting, I also forgot how to use this phone already.... This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 12 2010, 01:01 PM |
Mar 19 2010, 08:44 AM
55 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
After 7 weeks of waiting, I also forgot how to use this phone already.... sweat.gif
lol.. how come be like that bro? haha new user like me.. @@ |
Mar 19 2010, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(raventah @ Mar 19 2010, 08:44 AM) After 7 weeks of waiting, I also forgot how to use this phone already.... sweat.gif you waited 7 week s for warranty claim....!!!!!!crazy..why didnt push maxis to get it earlier..you got a new set or the old one...lol.. how come be like that bro? haha new user like me.. @@ |
Mar 19 2010, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 12 2010, 12:58 PM) after posting my last message, i beh tahan, so go back again and demand to see the manager. He was supposed to be in some conference call....bla bla bla. I told the CS, if your manager wont see me, I will escalate this thing up. So bro, any idea if its a new 3GS with the new bootrom, an old 3gs with the old bootrom? Sorry for the questions as I need to send mine in to Maxis KLCC CS went in, after awhile came out with an iphone in his hand. Proceeded to register the phone. After that let me check. Luckily the CS asked if mine is 3GS, i said yes. And the one he brought out was a 3G. So back in he went and came out with another phone. This time 3GS. So kau tim. During registration I told the CS the full story. After that I said sorry that i was angry with him just now. He said he understand.....OK everything cool down The phone seems new on the outside. Chrome part seems new so dunno if this is refurbish set or new set. Came with a new warranty card. Now back home charging it up keeping my fingers crossed. This set is probably meant for some other fella. I guess someone else will have to wait a bit longer. After 7 weeks of waiting, I also forgot how to use this phone already.... |
Mar 23 2010, 12:18 PM
784 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Rice Bowl of Msia |
Any1 knows any good & reliable iPhone repairer in Alor Star? May need one in future...who knows?
Mar 23 2010, 04:07 PM
121 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: 1 Msia Rasuah!! - '' I help You, You help Me” |
howdy..
i intend to send my i3gs to maxis klcc this week, my i3gs Home Button getting less and less sensitive,push 5-6 time still no respond and hv to push harder then ok,is pretty much annoyed me... base on u all story and experience,i hope is through easy to me p/s: 1st thing 1st,i hv no choice and need to restore my i3gs to 3.13,currently on 3.1.2+JB |
Mar 23 2010, 04:33 PM
Fr wat I've read arnd here, seems iPhone buttons very prone to failure...
iPhones are assembled in China...with China parts? QC bad? Can Mods pls clarify? TQ in adv. |
Mar 23 2010, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(zeone @ Mar 23 2010, 04:33 PM) Fr wat I've read arnd here, seems iPhone buttons very prone to failure... well you see most of the phone buttons give problem if you use it frequently...samething goes for iphone..the home button is the olny one button to be used everytime...in thats case it is normal...unless the button completely spoil and not functioning then we can give in for a warranty claim..most of handphone..and technolgy part is made in china and manufacture in china..but with the advise of the company...like apple product the total manufacturing is in china..but qc is in california...they have the standard whether to sell or rejected...iPhones are assembled in China...with China parts? QC bad? Can Mods pls clarify? TQ in adv. |
Mar 24 2010, 10:01 AM
121 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: 1 Msia Rasuah!! - '' I help You, You help Me” |
im thinking either send my i3gs to maxis klcc or not, worried they take time to check and repair. [or keep in drawer
and im not sure they goin to replace with new 1 .. |
Mar 24 2010, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(fans187 @ Mar 24 2010, 10:01 AM) im thinking either send my i3gs to maxis klcc or not, worried they take time to check and repair. [or keep in drawer bro if you are planning to send...try sending to sunway..and make sure you pressure them by calling 123...saying that you need the phone early and stuff..maybe the longest would be 10 days...and im not sure they goin to replace with new 1 .. |
Mar 24 2010, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Mar 24 2010, 11:21 AM) bro if you are planning to send...try sending to sunway..and make sure you pressure them by calling 123...saying that you need the phone early and stuff..maybe the longest would be 10 days... r u sure bro?but sunway look so far for me since im just staying at Tmn Setiawangsa and is only take 15min to KLCC by LRT i just doubt,how long maxis will do this Hanky Panky if i send my iphone for repair Added on March 24, 2010, 11:35 ambtw , i heard from some1,after maxis replace with new iphone they will give another 1 year warranty.. is it true? [correct me if i was wrong This post has been edited by fans187: Mar 24 2010, 11:35 AM |
Mar 24 2010, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(fans187 @ Mar 24 2010, 11:29 AM) r u sure bro? well then you can try going to KLCC..but make sure you pressure them to get the phone fast...give some reason that you are going oversea....and stuff like that..about the warranty im not sure...but you will get a new set so the warranty card is also the new one..so there are possibility you r getting extra warranty months...but sunway look so far for me since im just staying at Tmn Setiawangsa and is only take 15min to KLCC by LRT i just doubt,how long maxis will do this Hanky Panky if i send my iphone for repair Added on March 24, 2010, 11:35 ambtw , i heard from some1,after maxis replace with new iphone they will give another 1 year warranty.. is it true? [correct me if i was wrong |
Mar 24 2010, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Mar 24 2010, 11:43 AM) well then you can try going to KLCC..but make sure you pressure them to get the phone fast...give some reason that you are going oversea....and stuff like that..about the warranty im not sure...but you will get a new set so the warranty card is also the new one..so there are possibility you r getting extra warranty months... good to hear is - get new set.. !!r u sure bro? btw i just restore my i3gs to 3.1.3 [i got my phone since 1st day maxis launching,is 1st batch with old bootroom |
Mar 24 2010, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(fans187 @ Mar 24 2010, 11:51 AM) good to hear is - get new set.. !! well bro they said its refurbish...but my friend early got a new set..because the the warranty card is new..its all depend on your luck..new set...or maybe old bootroom...r u sure bro? btw i just restore my i3gs to 3.1.3 [i got my phone since 1st day maxis launching,is 1st batch with old bootroom |
Mar 24 2010, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Mar 24 2010, 11:56 AM) well bro they said its refurbish...but my friend early got a new set..because the the warranty card is new..its all depend on your luck..new set...or maybe old bootroom... ok Bro,Thx for ya reply and don't forget to wish me Good Luck' ahahakz and hope not so long to get back my iphone. |
Mar 24 2010, 12:13 PM
Mar 24 2010, 12:14 PM
Tks a meg, yuvanesh, 4yr prompt response!
Guess it goes back to LUCK again since QC is a very subjective process... |
Mar 24 2010, 12:17 PM
Mar 24 2010, 03:45 PM
Does anyone repair the bezel scratches?
Mar 25 2010, 11:45 AM
Update
is only take 12 day for maxis to replace my iphone 32gs. thumbup.gif replace with new set but old stock,i means come with 3.1.2/old boothroom and i straight away jb yesterday huhuhu.. thumbup.gif wink.gif thumbup.gif HELP. my i3gs 32 model is - MB717LL [ Maxis Service Card - ZP661-5261 Iphone 3GS 32GB Black ] this MB717LL mana country set mari ya? if i not mistake my previous 32gb model is MC133MY and my i3gs 16gb model is MC132MY.. This post has been edited by fans187: Apr 3 2010, 07:57 PM |
Apr 5 2010, 10:46 PM
63 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
i may going to buy the maxis set iphone 3gs from a forumer here
but i most concern bout the warranty issue, can i claim it myself in case got any problem ? i been searching for this question quite long , some say can , some say cannot , most of them say cannot it's really confusing me , anyone can give me exact answer ?? |
Apr 6 2010, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Mar 24 2010, 11:56 AM) well bro they said its refurbish...but my friend early got a new set..because the the warranty card is new..its all depend on your luck..new set...or maybe old bootroom... warranty card is new doesn't mean new set. my friend got back his phone and have to do all the activation once again but it's still a refurbish set. best is to check the life timer to confirm. |
Apr 6 2010, 01:21 PM
11 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Selangor |
can i know where can i get to repaid iphone?
i broke mine and don't know where to send to |
Apr 6 2010, 06:02 PM
Apr 6 2010, 10:27 PM
Apr 7 2010, 09:51 AM
check www.maccores.com for some good repair options.
life timer is at Settings > General > Usage |
Apr 7 2010, 01:35 PM
11 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Selangor |
my set is from maxis but it is iphone 3g and i think the warranty is over
Apr 8 2010, 07:45 AM
Apr 8 2010, 05:51 PM
Apr 8 2010, 05:55 PM
1,460 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Shah Alam |
Where can i find a place that can fix the landscape mode .... the warranty still got but i dont have the warranty card and the guy i bought from said he bought from the other guy sealed [original maxis sealed set]
Apr 9 2010, 08:12 AM
Apr 9 2010, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(fans187 @ Apr 9 2010, 08:12 AM) yup...looks like a refurbished setlife time and current period should be the same if you never reset it if your life time is not '0' when you received the phone, means it's a refurbished set This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 9 2010, 09:24 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Apr 9 2010, 11:07 AM
1,451 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
yo guys..
anybody can recommend me the most trustworthy and cheapest repair shop in lowyat? i know there are few phone repair shops in lowyat but do they fix iphones? |
Apr 9 2010, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 9 2010, 09:15 AM) yup...looks like a refurbished set ayooo...life time and current period should be the same if you never reset it if your life time is not '0' when you received the phone, means it's a refurbished set this figure, base on my 13gs 16gb, i means the day i got my i13gs 32gb replacement set,i straight away `Restore from back up- [ my 16gb i3gs ] which means from zero counter to current figure. my point is, the life time it self, can be reset/restore base on other unit!! Added on April 9, 2010, 11:22 am QUOTE(chenster @ Apr 9 2010, 11:07 AM) yo guys.. bro,try to PM =Hanxz=anybody can recommend me the most trustworthy and cheapest repair shop in lowyat? i know there are few phone repair shops in lowyat but do they fix iphones? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=826183&hl= This post has been edited by fans187: Apr 9 2010, 11:24 AM |
Apr 9 2010, 11:40 AM
ok thanks bro
Apr 9 2010, 11:48 AM
Apr 9 2010, 11:56 AM
1,460 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Shah Alam |
^that guy only so software... if theres any other shop that can fix hardwares that can be trusted? and maybe cheap?
having landscape mode problem here... restored it and it still have the same problem... so anyone could recommend anyone? Thanks in advance |
Apr 9 2010, 12:14 PM
ayaaaa,sorry bro ahakz
Apr 9 2010, 12:14 PM
ah? he only do on software?
i pm him but no reply yet.. |
Apr 9 2010, 12:18 PM
Apr 9 2010, 12:49 PM
tarak reply leh..
im gonna go to lowyat at lunch time later.. which existing shop in lowyat provide repair for iphone ? |
Apr 10 2010, 12:58 AM
QUOTE(fans187 @ Apr 9 2010, 11:14 AM) ayooo... even when u do a restore, the lifetime will not change. the lifetime is actually the duration you make/received calls, not how old your phone is this figure, base on my 13gs 16gb, i means the day i got my i13gs 32gb replacement set,i straight away `Restore from back up- [ my 16gb i3gs ] which means from zero counter to current figure. my point is, the life time it self, can be reset/restore base on other unit!! Added on April 9, 2010, 11:22 am bro,try to PM =Hanxz= http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=826183&hl= |
Apr 10 2010, 07:22 AM
Apr 13 2010, 10:38 PM
43 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
guys where can i repair my iphone ? i've just got a brandnew iphone 32gb from maxis on mon
its in a pretty bad shape.. =( maxis doesnt want to repair it... even if i were to pay for it.. pls advise !! |
Apr 13 2010, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(darkaxx @ Apr 13 2010, 10:38 PM) guys where can i repair my iphone ? i've just got a brandnew iphone 32gb from maxis on mon The way you put it, I take it that you have damaged the phone yourself, since you didn't expound, right? If so, look up Hanxz at GS here. He does repairs for iPhone as well.its in a pretty bad shape.. =( maxis doesnt want to repair it... even if i were to pay for it.. pls advise !! |
Apr 14 2010, 12:15 AM
if not can look for crxr that repair iphone as well.. good luck dude
Apr 14 2010, 03:33 AM
43 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
thanks bro... pm-ed him.. hopefully he replies =)
Apr 23 2010, 09:00 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « just received an email above asking me to take a survey after having my iphone service i took this opportunity to complaint about my experience with Maxis. I hope those that received this survey to go ahead and fill it out and make your comments hopefully it will change things with Maxis if enouugh ppl complain |
Apr 23 2010, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 23 2010, 09:00 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « just received an email above asking me to take a survey after having my iphone service i took this opportunity to complaint about my experience with Maxis. I hope those that received this survey to go ahead and fill it out and make your comments hopefully it will change things with Maxis if enouugh ppl complain |
Jun 20 2010, 12:49 AM
13 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
sorry but i would like to ask .. im not sure if i have the warranty anot .. but wat does the warranty looks like ?? a maxis receipt of the purchased iphone ??
Jun 20 2010, 12:29 PM
1,036 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Moon |
Most probably maxis had registered your phone serial number into their system so you could try to request warranty information from their personnel.
Jun 20 2010, 01:44 PM
oh .. because 1 of side of my iphone speaker is not working .. dont noe why .. so i would like to fix it and i would like to ask .. will the warranty still work after i jailbreaked my iphone ??
Jun 20 2010, 02:52 PM
712 posts Joined: May 2010 From: T128 3rd Floor Bangsar Shopping Centre KL |
Maxis called me and offer rm 1350 for the Iphone. Is it a good deal?
4G is coming soon |
Jun 20 2010, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(rocket_jet @ Jun 20 2010, 02:52 PM) which model of the iphone?QUOTE(oscarlai @ Jun 20 2010, 01:44 PM) oh .. because 1 of side of my iphone speaker is not working .. dont noe why .. so i would like to fix it and i would like to ask .. will the warranty still work after i jailbreaked my iphone ?? iphone got 2 speaker?This post has been edited by monked: Jun 20 2010, 03:09 PM |
Jun 20 2010, 09:34 PM
my left 1 working and my right 1 is not .. =( or does iphone only have 1 speaker ?
Jun 20 2010, 09:40 PM
Jun 20 2010, 09:45 PM
OMG ! THANK YOU SO MUCH ... i was so freaking worried about it !!
Jun 20 2010, 09:52 PM
1,036 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Moon |
Check hardware description on manual or apple website next time =)
Jun 20 2010, 10:07 PM
ok moon flown thx xD .. sorry still a noob ..
Jun 21 2010, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(oscarlai @ Jun 20 2010, 10:07 PM) Before you freak out again, suggest you download the manual and read up. Would also do you a whole world of good if you were to take time to read the threads here. You will learn more about the expensive gadget you have and be able to speak intelligently to anyone about it. |
Jun 23 2010, 10:32 PM
3,135 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taman Megah Kepong, Kuala Lumpur |
Got A Question Here.
If iPhone Still Within Warranty, Sent To Maxis For Services? Will They Give Refurnished Set Or ? Let Said, They Phone Can't Be Repair. Mine Iphone Keep Shutting Down |
Jun 24 2010, 07:56 AM
88 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Planet Kyori.Aeolia |
QUOTE(teckhooi @ Jun 23 2010, 10:32 PM) Got A Question Here. if ur phone is under Maxis set and still under warranty if the phone cant be repair you got new 1 lor! If iPhone Still Within Warranty, Sent To Maxis For Services? Will They Give Refurnished Set Or ? Let Said, They Phone Can't Be Repair. Mine Iphone Keep Shutting Down last time i buy my 3g Singapore set.the phone actually from sum1 and it rosak cant be repair then she send for the warranty and she buy new phone meanwhile waiting for the warranty.and i buy from her when the warranty replace the new1 for me This post has been edited by kyoriam: Jun 24 2010, 07:58 AM |
Jun 27 2010, 05:29 PM
Yeah Maxis usually will replace the phone for you. They will usually say it will take 8 weeks, but there is a trick, I called them and said that I got the message that my phone had arrived and they asked me to come and collect it
Jul 6 2010, 02:01 PM
111 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
one of my fren more unlucky, he bought the phone from a 3rd party of a fren. claims to be maxis set. then suddenly stuck in itunes screen. brought back there and maxis told him that is not maxis set .. more jia lat .. kena con putih putih
Jul 6 2010, 02:42 PM
apadaa... why trust random strangers?
Jul 6 2010, 03:38 PM
111 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jul 6 2010, 02:42 PM) not happens on me ... its my neighbour, desperately needs an iphone then bought them from a his frens 3rd party frens .. which means so far to get related.. lol now he is starting to surf here in lyn and get more info b4 doing any further moves |
Jul 10 2010, 07:00 PM
hey guys i've got a question .. if i have jailbreaked my iphone can i still update to the new OIS 4 update ??
Jul 10 2010, 07:06 PM
2,574 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Puchong |
Jul 10 2010, 07:10 PM
1,557 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: -KL- |
Want to share with you guys..i just repaired my iphone 3g 16gb wifi chip for only rm280 at Lowyat plaza.. +unlock n jailbreak. cheap ar??
Jul 10 2010, 07:16 PM
Jul 10 2010, 07:52 PM
Jul 10 2010, 08:21 PM
Jul 10 2010, 09:25 PM
Jul 22 2010, 03:08 PM
6 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 14 2009, 09:10 PM) Sent my post warranty iPhone with a faulty LCD to Maxis and they tell me it'll be around RM700 to repair and they will need 3 weeks and no replacement phone is given during this period. Imagine that! I finally got the LCD screen replaced in one of the handphone dealers at Sunway Pyramid for less than RM300. |
Jul 26 2010, 09:28 PM
14 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
where to repair LCD screen iphone 2g and how much?
Jul 27 2010, 12:53 AM
173 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Shah Alam |
Anybody know where got repair iphone 3g home button?..
The button need press really hard only detect... Also back cover can change?.. Any shop do that service?.. Also if got price guide is better... Thx... |
Jul 27 2010, 02:31 PM
please PM wei or crxr and get their pricing.
Jul 28 2010, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(BarrettWong @ Jul 6 2010, 02:01 PM) one of my fren more unlucky, he bought the phone from a 3rd party of a fren. claims to be maxis set. then suddenly stuck in itunes screen. brought back there and maxis told him that is not maxis set .. more jia lat .. kena con putih putih Like this picture is it? ![]() Have your friend try to kick out the iPhone from itunes screen into normal one by using Recboot? Try : http://www.sebby.net/443-recboot-final-release/ I'm stuck at iTunes screen when I try to downgrade iOS4 to 3.1.3. After Recboot, I'm able to use 3.1.3 again. |
Jul 28 2010, 12:43 PM
3,567 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Paradise |
guys, i have an iphone 3gs 32gb NEW to let go, it is a gift. Any interest please pm or sms me. 016-2389538. thank you.
Jul 28 2010, 01:03 PM
440 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kepong/PJ |
I got my 3GS from maxis like 1 month++. the moment I got it I forgot to check. It appears my home button actually sunken half but I got no problem in getting it press. Its just a button without a click sound n no difficulty in using it.. Some more for the whole month I was abusing the how button a lot but it still doesnt fail me.
So my question is shud I get a replacement for it?? Or shud I just look for someone to just fix the button? Honestly I scare maxis will not accept the problem or they replac wif model/refurbished. Still my home button is usable. This post has been edited by evoangel: Jul 28 2010, 01:06 PM |
Jul 28 2010, 01:14 PM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: In Front Of My PC |
better repair with third party since it just a small problem.. n u did mention d button is working..
im also scared of d problem.. but mine still got da click.. hopefully it will last long enough till i got money to buy d new one.. by dat time it would be iphone 6 or seven |
Jul 28 2010, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(boblp @ Jul 28 2010, 01:14 PM) better repair with third party since it just a small problem.. n u did mention d button is working.. I was thinking bout it oso.. Scare have to wait if it was fix by maxis.. But anyway I luv my phone so much.. Shud no be a problem for me.. im also scared of d problem.. but mine still got da click.. hopefully it will last long enough till i got money to buy d new one.. by dat time it would be iphone 6 or seven Btw waitin. For iPhone 4 now.. Will be getting it for myself.. |
Jul 28 2010, 01:29 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@evoangel,
If it's still under warranty go get a refurbished unit lah |
Jul 28 2010, 03:19 PM
Jul 29 2010, 05:59 PM
196 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
I wonder mine can claim warranty.
My iPhone 3gs corner touch is not tat responsive. Others all ok. Kindly help pls |
Jul 29 2010, 06:03 PM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: In Front Of My PC |
try your luck bro.. maybe can.. maybe not.. haha.. they will give some excuses for not giving you the warranty claim.. its all depends of your skill to 'putar belit' till they satisfy.. maybe im wrong but who knows.. just try la.. |
Jul 30 2010, 06:59 AM
243 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
hi guys.. this is my former thread .. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1505177&hl=
1-wanna ask if any of u had this prob like me before? 2-anyne had experience dealing with maxis taman univ skudai regarding warranty claim? thanks guys for your replies.. appreciate it! This post has been edited by likkylooq: Jul 30 2010, 07:00 AM |
Aug 14 2010, 09:57 AM
68 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Sunway |
hey guys, i bought my iphone 3g 8gb in LYN. Its is 2nd hand maxis set, so the warranty expired.
But now i'm having a problem, but i don't know what it is. For example, my credit have RM5, suddenly my credit will become RM0, if i top up, the RM5 will appear again. It only happen when my credit left RM2 or 3 something. Can fix this problem? |
Aug 16 2010, 04:04 PM
713 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur. Malaysia |
i oso 2nd iphone 3G 8GB. i want to ask. my HOME button is something wrong. need to press very hard only can sense. it make me difficulty.
Can any 1 tell me how much to solve this problem, make the home button smooth back. Me at KL area. |
Aug 16 2010, 09:00 PM
184 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(ahmai2332 @ Aug 16 2010, 04:04 PM) i oso 2nd iphone 3G 8GB. i want to ask. my HOME button is something wrong. need to press very hard only can sense. it make me difficulty. u can buy the home button part...if you need it i can order from oversea and post it to you...Can any 1 tell me how much to solve this problem, make the home button smooth back. Me at KL area. |
Aug 16 2010, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(JayZ6405 @ Aug 14 2010, 09:57 AM) hey guys, i bought my iphone 3g 8gb in LYN. Its is 2nd hand maxis set, so the warranty expired. Are you using 4.0 os..? If yes, in Photos dont use Places... it will load map and it will use 3G connection and sux your credit.... or maybe you use some application that connect to the internet via 3G connection...But now i'm having a problem, but i don't know what it is. For example, my credit have RM5, suddenly my credit will become RM0, if i top up, the RM5 will appear again. It only happen when my credit left RM2 or 3 something. Can fix this problem? |
Aug 26 2010, 08:21 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Guys, my 3G home button sudah rosak. Warranty sudah habis, and anyway it's an SG set. Where is best place to repair? Random 3rd party shop in lowyat or something? Any recommendations?
Aug 26 2010, 08:32 AM
For me basically if its out of warranty, I would suggest going to lowyat and checking out which gives your the best offer to repair. But if it was me, I think I would be buying a new phone. But it all depends on how much they charge..
Aug 26 2010, 09:21 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Well, I'm getting my 4 this weekend. But in the meantime 3G still can use mah, so planning on repairing that and passing it down to my mum or sister or something ... haha. Okok thanks.
Aug 26 2010, 10:27 AM
@deodorant
I asked wei to modify it for me... contact him for more details |
Sep 8 2010, 10:14 PM
36 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
my iphone just over warranty for 6 days...then got problem...check at klcc maxis...maxis say need to send back to apple...the price for sending back 3gs 16gb is RM1050...WTH!!!
Oct 9 2010, 12:54 PM
5 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Klang Valley |
Does anyone who whether there is any place in digimall section 14 to fix iphone? any recommendations?
Oct 15 2010, 03:51 PM
14 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
how much the cost for 3gs screen? dead pixels problem . .
Oct 16 2010, 12:48 AM
1,542 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Sent my iPhone to Maxis for warranty, NO BACKLIGHT
Oct 16 2010, 07:26 PM
23 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
my iphone 3gs got a problem
now cant turn on power already any1 know johor where got iphone center ? |
Oct 22 2010, 03:17 PM
433 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
I guess I'm in no luck. My white 3GS has that famous hairline crack at the audio jack. Anyone has claimed warranty for that before?
Oct 24 2010, 12:41 AM
255 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: Perak , IPOH |
why don't you hit back to switch outlet or any apple outlet and ask them . see what they can do
Oct 24 2010, 12:48 AM
since they already stop selling 3GS 16gb and 32gb, how are them gonna handle the warranty for those machines which haven't reach a year old yet? no choice but to let them fix it? no more 1 on 1 exchange liao?
Oct 25 2010, 11:21 PM
1,097 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
i dropped my iphone and my screen is now CRACKED!!! anyone can repair here?
Nov 12 2010, 10:08 AM
1 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
This is an awesome community where we discuss about iphone with others. I am happy to be a part of this community. Regards
iphone case |
Nov 24 2010, 12:00 AM
1 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
hi,i'm new ot the forum....anyone has any idea of what damage could it possibly be when my charger was burnt at the point of starting charging ? i used the 2-pin charger which i think can't stand the excessive/unstable power supply in my hoouse.....
Dec 22 2010, 04:58 PM
252 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: from an iPhone..how's that? |
just got back from Maxis KLCC..the guy told me that a cracked glass panel will cost u MYR700..and say if got water mark will cost me MYR1400...i was like..."HUH?"..wasnt apple cancel the void watermark..try to cheat me huh? later go to this kedai he recommend..MYR300 for glass panel..hurmm that quit ok..
but need to confirm with Maxis Manager first..shud i claim the warranty or not...mine just expired 11 days..sigh.. |
Feb 21 2011, 10:44 PM
4,470 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
fix iphone 3gs de speak how much...
Feb 24 2011, 05:11 AM
2,550 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: Petaling Jaya, Selangor |
QUOTE(andcorps @ Dec 22 2010, 04:58 PM) just got back from Maxis KLCC..the guy told me that a cracked glass panel will cost u MYR700..and say if got water mark will cost me MYR1400...i was like..."HUH?"..wasnt apple cancel the void watermark..try to cheat me huh? later go to this kedai he recommend..MYR300 for glass panel..hurmm that quit ok.. bro vr sorry to say bt my friend had problem to claim back warranty for his 3gs after the warranty period over even after a few days.in the end he couldn do anything juz take to shop for repair.but need to confirm with Maxis Manager first..shud i claim the warranty or not...mine just expired 11 days..sigh.. |
Feb 24 2011, 05:22 AM
1,600 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Shah Alam |
i sent my iphone claim for warranty at maxis centre yesterday
problem : home button less responsive better claim nw cuz warranty near expired,april 2011,hehe that maxis guy accept it and told me i need to wait around 2weeks-1month now counting days .. |
Dec 25 2011, 11:06 PM
1,680 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cyberjaya |
My 3Gs already expired long ago...
the symptom of the issue is not jz battery deterioration... if u hav some extensive app running (say: GPS, FB, Game) it could suddenly goes off in sudden, n would be difficult to start again... it will turn on...then u ll see the logo loading...then its either off again... or it will get into home screen if u lucky enof after few tries... if it can't start...i need to get a cable to connect it to power up...(i call it jump-start phone =.=") should i send back to maxis for refurbish unit? i do intend to repair it then use it for 2nd phone or my family if they want it... |
Jan 20 2012, 04:29 PM
186 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: JB, Johor |
i just wanna ask, anyone here know whr to repair iphone 3gs around wangsa maju or genting klang area? prefer nearby area from wangsa maju, lowyat plaza will cost me around 1 hour to reach as i'm using public transport.
Feb 16 2012, 11:00 AM
942 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
hi all
which shop at SGWANG or LOWYAT offer good service and cheap with 100% authentic brand for iphone battery replacement? |
Feb 16 2012, 11:41 AM
337 posts Joined: Sep 2011 From: Christmas Island |
QUOTE(dinozilla @ Dec 25 2011, 11:06 PM) My 3Gs already expired long ago... they will not entertain you even if your warranty is over by a day, unless you willing to pay for the repair.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « should i send back to maxis for refurbish unit? i do intend to repair it then use it for 2nd phone or my family if they want it... Added on February 16, 2012, 11:42 am QUOTE(holoman @ Feb 24 2011, 05:22 AM) i sent my iphone claim for warranty at maxis centre yesterday i changed my 4S a week before expiry and sold the refurbished set immediately problem : home button less responsive better claim nw cuz warranty near expired,april 2011,hehe that maxis guy accept it and told me i need to wait around 2weeks-1month now counting days .. Added on February 16, 2012, 11:43 am QUOTE(andcorps @ Dec 22 2010, 04:58 PM) just got back from Maxis KLCC..the guy told me that a cracked glass panel will cost u MYR700..and say if got water mark will cost me MYR1400...i was like..."HUH?"..wasnt apple cancel the void watermark..try to cheat me huh? later go to this kedai he recommend..MYR300 for glass panel..hurmm that quit ok.. nope Apple didn't. Warranty still void if the paper indicator turn pink (water damaged)but need to confirm with Maxis Manager first..shud i claim the warranty or not...mine just expired 11 days..sigh.. This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Feb 16 2012, 11:43 AM |
Jul 16 2012, 02:28 PM
1 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
I published about this quite a bit when 3.0 came out. 3.0 ballsed it up. If I convert off wireless it balances but I would still say the iPhone's wireless party is partially less interval now with 3.0 (and wireless disabled). If I try to use the Distant app with wireless on it simply drops wireless completely. wireless use in common is shaky at best with wireless allowed...best iphone 4 bumper case
Aug 24 2013, 02:03 PM
1 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
The iPhone is one stylish smartphone. It has been the handset of choice for the “hipper” in our midst for some time, but there is something to give one pause about buying one. Namely, they are fragile, a fussbudget, and costly to fix, as one study estimates upward of $5.9 billion has been spent on iPhone repairs since the phone was released in 2007.
Aug 30 2013, 05:46 PM
41 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Have iPhone 3Gs, year Jan 2010. Jailbroken before, dec 2012 change phone, put this hp aside. last month found its battery swelled. manage to pay to fix it, but den I forgot its jailbroken and went to select upgrade software!
Who wants? *sell used iPhone 3Gs parts* |
| Change to: | 0.2187sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:51 PM |