120 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

JohnnyBeGud
post Jun 26 2011, 02:08 AM

290 posts

QUOTE(ShuUemura @ Jun 26 2011, 02:00 AM)
what is TRIM? o.0
Google is our best friend: TRIM smile.gif
wei
post Jun 26 2011, 09:10 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

You can enable TRIM yourself. I'm using 2x Apple SSD, by default the TRIM wasn't enable. I have to manually enable it. Neither I get TRIM on my other older Apple SSD. Strangely, maybe only on newer model you'll get TRIM enable by itself.
kuekwee
post Jun 27 2011, 01:06 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

Sorry bro got a silly question. I'm using OCZ Vertex 2, is it illusion or the SSD is getting slower compare with the time i bought. When i boot up it take more than 30 sec sad.gif.
wei
post Jun 27 2011, 04:19 PM

6,496 posts

Never use OCZ Vertex series, maybe other owner can share their input?
forger
post Jun 27 2011, 05:14 PM

734 posts

Hi guys, my superdrive is getting wonky. And i'm thinkin of removing it alltogether and add another hard disk at its place. My question is;

1.where can i find the data doubler in malaysia?

2. If were to repair it. How much would it cost?

Brw im using the late 2009 mpb 13"

Regars
xaw5126
post Jun 27 2011, 06:02 PM

3,488 posts

@ forger
1. IINM, OWC doesn't have resellers. so please get it directly smile.gif
2. last time I asked, they wanted RM900 to replace the drive, cos it was out of warranty. at that price i'd disable the drive n use an external USB drive smile.gif
BRY7
post Jun 27 2011, 06:05 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jun 27 2011, 06:02 PM)
@ forger
1. IINM, OWC doesn't have resellers. so please get it directly smile.gif
2. last time I asked, they wanted RM900 to replace the drive, cos it was out of warranty. at that price i'd disable the drive n use an external USB drive smile.gif
is that possible?
i tried using mba superdrive but it wouldnt work
wei
post Jun 27 2011, 06:47 PM

6,496 posts

External USB drive doesn't necessary be Apple flavor. Most USB external DVD burner works in OSX. I personally tested Buffalo, Asus, Samsung.
xaw5126
post Jun 28 2011, 09:14 AM

3,488 posts

@ BRY7 of course MBA Superdrive doesn't work, its mentioned on the website that it only works with certain newer Macs.

I've used 3rd party drives... no problems so far, USB & FW both.
RaplaJingga
post Jun 28 2011, 11:43 AM

308 posts

ehhh. can i upgrade ram for MBA by myself?
which model u recommended?
JohnnyBeGud
post Jun 28 2011, 12:29 PM

290 posts

@RaplaJingga IIRC MBA's ram are not self-upgradable. Check your user manual and see if there is a section on upgrading rams..
dvlzplayground
post Jun 28 2011, 01:48 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(RaplaJingga @ Jun 28 2011, 11:43 AM)
ehhh. can i upgrade ram for MBA by myself?
which model u recommended?
the RAM is soldered to the motherboard, so no. if u want 4gb u have to opt for it when purchasing online. if u already bought it, then the only way is to sell ur MBA n buy a new one with 4gb
RaplaJingga
post Jun 28 2011, 02:04 PM

308 posts

Thanks for the great info ya. smile.gif

Eithanius
post Jun 28 2011, 03:34 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Jun 27 2011, 01:06 PM)
Sorry bro got a silly question. I'm using OCZ Vertex 2, is it illusion or the SSD is getting slower compare with the time i bought.  When i boot up it take more than 30 sec sad.gif.
How long have you been using the Vertex 2...?

I've got mine for 4 months already, 240GB , more than half filled, heavy downloading, just updated to 10.6.8...

and i've tested it, 13 seconds from startup chime to desktop...

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jun 28 2011, 03:40 PM
mfitri77
post Jun 28 2011, 03:49 PM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Jun 27 2011, 01:06 PM)
Sorry bro got a silly question. I'm using OCZ Vertex 2, is it illusion or the SSD is getting slower compare with the time i bought.  When i boot up it take more than 30 sec sad.gif.
Or most likely you have something eating up processor time during boot. Just check if you have installed anything else after that may affect your speed, such as the Steam client and telling it to load at startup.

kuekwee
post Jun 29 2011, 01:22 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 28 2011, 03:34 PM)
How long have you been using the Vertex 2...?

I've got mine for 4 months already, 240GB , more than half filled, heavy downloading, just updated to 10.6.8...

and i've tested it, 13 seconds from startup chime to desktop...
i've been using 6 months ++. WHere to update? how to check the version?

Added on June 29, 2011, 1:43 amWhy SSD manufacturer don't offer firware update tool for MAC ? sad.gif

This post has been edited by kuekwee: Jun 29 2011, 01:43 AM
wei
post Jun 29 2011, 09:38 AM

6,496 posts

Bring it to the reseller and get them do it for u.
PaeseSono
post Jun 30 2011, 05:54 PM

51 posts

Hi there, i needed to upgrade my mbp 15 with 2 x18 ssd
Is there anyway to upgrade without voiding warranty?
And what kind of adapter i needed for this ssd to compatible with my mbp?
After upgrading do i need to do anything? Like installing driver and do some tweak?
Kernkraft400
post Jul 1 2011, 02:22 PM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

I'm sorry but what's the best 500GB hard drive for the MBP 13" 09' currently ? And cheap also.
BRY7
post Jul 1 2011, 03:12 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Jul 1 2011, 02:22 PM)
I'm sorry but what's the best 500GB hard drive for the MBP 13" 09' currently ? And cheap also.
they are all he same bro, but i think WD and Samsung is the cheapest

120 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:12 AM