120 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

JohnnyBeGud
post May 19 2011, 07:51 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ May 11 2011, 01:34 PM)
Got mushkin 2x4GB for RM246 yesterday. Unfortunately the shop give me 1333Mhz.  It's actually a simple mistake. Told them I need ram for mbp 2010 and straight away the seller said need to use 1066Mhz. So I said OK. Unfortunately he take 1333Mhz. I also don't realize.

After install, my mbp will not boot. Mixed 1 old 2gb and 1 new 4gb it boot fine. Dunno why the mbp 2010 really can't run on 1333Mhz. When I mixed it will auto underclock the 1333Mhz so it's will run fine.

After searching around, I use thaipoon burner (windows - need to install windows for this.) software to change the memory data from 1333 to 1066. Just need to change 1 stick. Fortunately the mushkin memory allow write access to memory data.

Now running 8GB.
I would like to express my utmost gratitude to aneip for his above post. I bought 2X4GB 1333Mhz Corsair rams so that I could install them on my 2010 13'' MBP. To my horror the were not working. I even send one back for replacement. aneip's post really shed some light and I finally managed to run on 8GB smile.gif

zXJaMeSXz
post May 19 2011, 11:04 PM

670 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ May 15 2011, 01:43 PM)
Do you know the timing of the ram?
No idea...
Anyway I could check it?
mememe12
post May 25 2011, 12:15 AM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

just change my MBP 2010 ram from
2x2GB
to
2x4GB Kingston KVR1333 D3S9.. 1pc assembled in taiwan and the other one is assembled in China... so far looks good.. biggrin.gif

and i bought at RM125 per piece..
Ricky Ling
post May 25 2011, 01:57 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(mememe12 @ May 25 2011, 12:15 AM)
just change my MBP 2010 ram from
2x2GB
to
2x4GB Kingston KVR1333 D3S9.. 1pc assembled in taiwan and the other one is assembled in China... so far looks good.. biggrin.gif

and i bought at RM125 per piece..
May I know U MBP2010 is 13" or 15" cause mine one is MacBook White with Core2Duo...

mememe12
post May 25 2011, 08:10 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(Ricky Ling @ May 25 2011, 01:57 PM)
May I know U MBP2010 is 13" or 15" cause mine one is MacBook White with Core2Duo...
mine is MacBookPro 15inch.. not very sure with MBwhite wor.. sorry yea..
b48753
post May 27 2011, 02:51 PM

Ya ke?
1,352 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by b48753: May 28 2011, 02:33 PM
JohnnyBeGud
post May 28 2011, 09:54 PM

290 posts

Guys, when Lion comes out, I'm thinking of splashing the cash and buy a SSD for my MBP. But I currently know little about SSDs apart from how the perform much faster than HDDs. Any recommendation on what SSD I should buy for a budget between RM 600-700? And does installing them is as easy as installing a normal HDD? does they require additional softwares?
dvlzplayground
post May 28 2011, 11:50 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ May 28 2011, 09:54 PM)
Guys, when Lion comes out, I'm thinking of splashing the cash and buy a SSD for my MBP. But I currently know little about SSDs apart from how the perform much faster than HDDs. Any recommendation on what SSD I should buy for a budget between RM 600-700? And does installing them is as easy as installing a normal HDD? does they require additional softwares?
u shud be able to get a 90gb corsair SSD for ~rm650

installlation is exactly the same as HDD, no softwares required

speaking about this, is Lion's TRIM support only for apple-installed SSD or any SSD?
Jing-leBelle
post May 29 2011, 12:39 PM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

Just change my hdd to Seagate 5400rpm 500GB. OMG i didn't realized the 4 mounting screws is different with normal one until i unplug it. Ended up use some force to unscrew it using 'playar'~~ >.< Working fine now..huhu
ferr
post Jun 2 2011, 04:49 AM

30 posts

i suppose, mounting screw is tork t6..

uniquexme
post Jun 3 2011, 06:33 AM

839 posts

guys, my mbp is 2.53GHz Intel core 2 Duo with 4GB 1067MHz DDR3.

previously i ask about HDD replacement, but few shops are not sure if it will fit my mbp, so ended up i put on hold. Coz as per this forum, i noted that the thickness cannot be more than 9.5mm rite? and seems like there isn't any 1TB yet hor.

another question is regarding the RAM. how much would it turn out faster if i were to upgrade to 8GB? is there any noticeable difference? thanks. and what do i have to look out for when purchasing RAM?
cyril85
post Jun 3 2011, 11:26 AM

136 posts

hi, i am using mac pro 1.1 and wanted to upgrade ram.
want to ask where can I buy the ram as I see it is different from normal ram.

Mac pro 1.1 ram is FB DDR2 667 right? need to purchase it from MAC shop? or low yat got sell also? the price range from?
dvlzplayground
post Jun 3 2011, 11:50 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Jun 3 2011, 06:33 AM)
guys, my mbp is 2.53GHz Intel core 2 Duo with 4GB 1067MHz DDR3.

previously i ask about HDD replacement, but few shops are not sure if it will fit my mbp, so ended up i put on hold. Coz as per this forum, i noted that the thickness cannot be more than 9.5mm rite? and seems like there isn't any 1TB yet hor.

another question is regarding the RAM. how much would it turn out faster if i were to upgrade to 8GB? is there any noticeable difference? thanks. and what do i have to look out for when purchasing RAM?
unibody MBP can fit 12.5mm hdd. so no problem there smile.gif go install ur 1TB hehe

about the RAM, well if u dont use more than 4gb, then upgrading to 8gb wont bring much difference, if at all. open Activity Monitor, go to the System Memory tab and look at Page Outs. do whatever heavy task u normally do, then look at page outs again. if it's still 0 or juz a few kilobytes, upgrading to 8gb wont help

u simply need DDR3 1066Mhz SODIMM. if cannot find 1066mhz, 1333Mhz or higher will work too cuz it would be underclocked to 1066mhz anyway.
alexng2208
post Jun 3 2011, 12:15 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

i'm so tempted to upgrade my 15 mbp 2010 optical drive to one with a hdd.. any experts around here?
KennethYM
post Jun 5 2011, 10:45 PM

ok guys, i think this is the right thread.

Can anyone tell me how would the performance be like for an 15inch 2010 mbp with 8gb ram???

plus a 512 gb ssd toshiba.

I saw someone selling, and was quite interested.

Plus, can i know is stock apple ram better or about the same as other ram brands???

This post has been edited by KennethYM: Jun 5 2011, 10:45 PM
cRazYee
post Jun 6 2011, 07:59 AM

2,642 posts

guys, anyone try to chuck in 8GB of ram into late 08 macbook pro?
i'm thinking to go for that option, any suggestion?
Kassie
post Jun 6 2011, 05:01 PM

QUOTE(KennethYM @ Jun 5 2011, 10:45 PM)
ok guys, i think this is the right thread.

Can anyone tell me how would the performance be like for an 15inch 2010 mbp with 8gb ram???

plus a 512 gb ssd toshiba.

I saw someone selling, and was quite interested.

Plus, can i know is stock apple ram better or about the same as other ram brands???
For me i feel no difference, i'm using Corsair RAM on my Macbook.
elainor
post Jun 7 2011, 02:09 AM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

anyone using arctic mx4 paste in their mbp or mb? need some review about it cheers!
allskoolguru
post Jun 7 2011, 08:25 PM

39 posts

Hello brothers of LYN, anyone here knows where i can get Samsung RAM for my MBP 2011 2.0ghz i7? Wanna max out 2x4gb 1333mhz.

Thank you
kaer83
post Jun 14 2011, 10:16 PM

hi there.. just wanna some opinion... i'm aiming for 12gb of ram.. I just upgrade my imac 2010 with 2x 4gb ram from kingston.. when i install the with the original 2x2gb samsung ram, my system will hang... all the specs is the same.. original ram also clocked at 1333mhz and same as the kingston.. But if i just install the new ram, everything run smoothly... now stuck with 8gb only.. can someone explain what happen..?

120 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:08 PM