First review of the Proton Exora

clawhammer
post Mar 16 2009, 05:37 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Mar 16 2009, 12:04 AM)
Reason?  hmm.gif
Because Proton cars are terrible in quality and almost everything but priced unreasonably just because government are protecting them by imposing higher taxes for other car makers. This is a daylight robbery to all Malaysians and look how much a crap Waja costs in the UK compared to other similar cars.
Kampung2005
post Mar 16 2009, 05:44 PM

Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.
3,028 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 16 2009, 05:37 PM)
Because Proton cars are terrible in quality and almost everything but priced unreasonably just because government are protecting them by imposing higher taxes for other car makers. This is a daylight robbery to all Malaysians and look how much a crap Waja costs in the UK compared to other similar cars.
I actually no problem with the complains, because previous Protons like Gen2 and Waja really have serious quality issues...

For Waja back when i was launched there were problems like glovebox and windows (big one!), out of 4 windows, 3 of them failed...

For Gen2, if you noticed closely, the door handle had its colour peeled off even in showroom, not to mention lack of headroom, funky looking handbrake, no glovebox, no rear boot opener on the outside and cheap interior quality...

Even in 1990's, we had Wira and it gave lots of problem, and we have to sold it after 2 years of ownership...

But my point is just that, do not prejudge any cars before it is even out and released to the showroom...just that wink.gif
clawhammer
post Mar 16 2009, 05:54 PM

///M
8,788 posts

If you notice correctly, the point is about why "Proton sucks" so in my response, I'm quoting other Proton models, not directly the Exora. Even if we want to compare the new Proton MPV, the price tag of RM70K+ for this MPV is again daylight robbery. IF they play a fair game by taxing a Toyota Wish of the same rate, how many would still go for the Proton?

The moment we speak about Proton cars, it doesn't give people confidence and there's no excuse because Proton has been here for close to 3 decades and that's 30 years!! People buy Proton because they don't have a choice and I believe majority don't mind paying RM10K more for a Japanese make.

If you insist that we shouldn't "prejudge any cars before it is even out and released to the showroom" then sure, let's review things again in another 2-3 months. I would be surprised if it's really that good because in the history of Proton, every model would be filled an unacceptable amount of complaints.
Kampung2005
post Mar 16 2009, 06:01 PM

3,028 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 16 2009, 05:54 PM)
If you notice correctly, the point is about why "Proton sucks" so in my response, I'm quoting other Proton models, not directly the Exora. Even if we want to compare the new Proton MPV, the price tag of RM70K+ for this MPV is again daylight robbery. IF they play a fair game by taxing a Toyota Wish of the same rate, how many would still go for the Proton?

The moment we speak about Proton cars, it doesn't give people confidence and there's no excuse because Proton has been here for close to 3 decades and that's 30 years!! People buy Proton because they don't have a choice and I believe majority don't mind paying RM10K more for a Japanese make.

If you insist that we shouldn't "prejudge any cars before it is even out and released to the showroom" then sure, let's review things again in another 2-3 months. I would be surprised if it's really that good because in the history of Proton, every model would be filled an unacceptable amount of complaints.
Proton has real lack of volume, thus the Exora unit price is higher compared to other MPV in other markets, even if you have a volume of 1 million vehicles perannum, chances are, you are still struggling...

On the bolded part, fair explanation wink.gif

After the Proton Wira, we never owned any Proton since then, we always buy Toyota (Hilux), and it is understandable that reputation does the marketing job well enough...for example, the reputation of Toyota cars being reliable is undisputed, thus, whenever there is Toyota model being launched, for sure, they can chalked up massive pre-launch bookings...because they have absolutely no doubt on Toyota reliability because of decades of reputation...

This post has been edited by Kampung2005: Mar 16 2009, 06:04 PM
izuddine
post Mar 16 2009, 06:06 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Mar 15 2009, 10:18 PM)
uhm...torque of 150 nm...not enough to overtake and full 7 adults...engine sure work hard...
it may struggle a bit to move from standstill, but once it has the momentum, it wont be hard to maintain that as CPS engine was built for high rev......it work hard when it trying to gain momentum.......hopefully they will come up with 2.0 engine (which was said on its way q4 2010).......but this mpv, i can say, "just enough/ok" for its performance.

Kampung2005
post Mar 16 2009, 06:10 PM

3,028 posts

QUOTE(izuddine @ Mar 16 2009, 06:06 PM)
it may struggle a bit to move from standstill, but once it has the momentum, it wont be hard to maintain that as CPS engine was built for high rev......it work hard when it trying to gain momentum.......hopefully they will come up with 2.0 engine (which was said on its way q4 2010).......but this mpv, i can say, "just enough/ok" for its performance.
I never heard Campro 2.0 litre, although the SENG project covered from 1 litre up to 2.4 litre...

However, there is something from rumour mill that there might be Campro turbo, but i doubt it will be launch that soon...

I prefer to see Exora in diesel wink.gif

Makes sense for East Malaysian buyers...
xshiro
post Mar 16 2009, 06:11 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 16 2009, 05:54 PM)

its quite pricey thinking that its local

as you said ...i agreed many part of it..but why proton are not reliable? why cant it be as good as other car

This post has been edited by xshiro: Mar 16 2009, 06:15 PM
izuddine
post Mar 16 2009, 06:30 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Mar 16 2009, 06:10 PM)
I never heard Campro 2.0 litre, although the SENG project covered from 1 litre up to 2.4 litre...

However, there is something from rumour mill that there might be Campro turbo, but i doubt it will be launch that soon...

yup, earliest should be around end 2010 or q1/q2 2011....and yup, might be campro turbo.....

clawhammer
post Mar 16 2009, 07:17 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Mar 16 2009, 06:01 PM)
Proton has real lack of volume, thus the Exora unit price is higher compared to other MPV in other markets, even if you have a volume of 1 million vehicles perannum, chances are, you are still struggling...
There's a difference between a reason and an excuse. Hyundai starts making cars about the same time as Proton and look at them now, they are far more successful than Proton. Everyone starts with zero and BMW doesn't make cars back then and sell 10 million units the first year. Seriously, there's no point to give lame excuses like lack of volume, etc. That's what Malaysia do best - giving EXCUSE. We'll never get anywhere if we continue to have such attitude so my suggestion is that Proton should work harder and spend more effort in ensuring their cars are of better quality and all other important aspects that a car should have. If we continue to carry these "excuse" method then even 50 years from now, we'll get no where.

QUOTE(xshiro @ Mar 16 2009, 06:11 PM)
its quite pricey thinking that its local

as you said ...i agreed many part of it..but why proton are not reliable? why cant it be as good as other car
Thanks bro and I'm just speaking a very fair view of how most Malaysians feel about Proton.
Kampung2005
post Mar 16 2009, 07:37 PM

3,028 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 16 2009, 07:17 PM)
There's a difference between a reason and an excuse. Hyundai starts making cars about the same time as Proton and look at them now, they are far more successful than Proton. Everyone starts with zero and BMW doesn't make cars back then and sell 10 million units the first year. Seriously, there's no point to give lame excuses like lack of volume, etc. That's what Malaysia do best - giving EXCUSE. We'll never get anywhere if we continue to have such attitude so my suggestion is that Proton should work harder and spend more effort in ensuring their cars are of better quality and all other important aspects that a car should have. If we continue to carry these "excuse" method then even 50 years from now, we'll get no where.
Thanks bro and I'm just speaking a very fair view of how most Malaysians feel about Proton.

Back to the issue of Exora, i think buying HDI engines from PSA will do the job of solving the "underpowered" issue of Exora....

The extra torque of 1.6 litre diesel engine from PSA, at about 240 N·m, will be good...

Advantages are that East Malaysian buyers will be delighted at such option and indirectly, help biodiesel industry...

Disadvanges are, fuel quality of diesel in Malaysia...

This post has been edited by Kampung2005: Mar 16 2009, 08:02 PM
clawhammer
post Mar 16 2009, 09:07 PM

///M
8,788 posts

I read Paul Tan's test drive and apparently the Exora would be really underpowered carrying full load. Well, almost all Proton models are Campro CPS (even for the MPV now).
mokhzaini
post Mar 16 2009, 10:16 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 16 2009, 07:17 PM)
can i just say on the bolded line, they are what they are now because of the same protection the korean government gave them in the earliest of days/ years. then of course the government took out the protection and they gone big. AND... there is an AND...

the attitude of the koreans. just look at the korean people. they buy KOREAN product FIRST. the same goes to hyundai/ kia/ etc. etc. i dont know what they call it, could be 'partiotism' but for their people, its all buy korean first. but us?

rather buy 10 years old foreign brand than a first hand proton.

i am no interest to dwell on these politics things. but since some of us like to chop here chop there, cut this that to make proton looks bad without mentioning the whole thing, then i decide to question our people's 'patriotism'. i dont like the word on deciding what car should i buy, i myself booking a japanese brand because i believe in freedom to buy whatever my money permits, but the lack of support by our people should be mention as one of the big reasons of why proton is not looking shoulder to shoulder with Hyundai.

i believe the koreans way of support is WE SUPPORT FIRST (then u have much capital/ money), THEN KOREAN PRODUCTS CAN GROW INTERNATIONAL. not, like our malaysians attitude - u do first, then we decide to support or not. even worse, some would say dont care. i'm sorry man, i just feel that its easy to start the blame game, but when the finger are pointing at the opposite direction and question our attitude, most of us feel to not bring up the subject.

done with the attitude and proton vs hyundai thing. back to mpv.

all the reports returned with the bad impression on the auto. some reviews also mention the good thing about the driver NOT TO BE in complete stop, meaning keep some momentum going on just to 'help' the auto tranny move the mpv. technology wise, quite good and i think its safe to compare it to..lets say a grand livina. or an innova. but grandis is too much gap.

keep it up proton altho a bit late. all the big branded cars/ mpv got their not-so-impressive starts. even caldina also last time was rubbish. now? wallah~

mockv1per
post Mar 16 2009, 11:26 PM

ܝܘܚܢܢ ܒܝܬ ܐܦܪܝܡ
4,010 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Mar 16 2009, 07:37 PM)
Back to the issue of Exora, i think buying HDI engines from PSA will do the job of solving the "underpowered" issue of Exora....

The extra torque of 1.6 litre diesel engine from PSA, at about 240 N·m, will be good...

Advantages are that East Malaysian buyers will be delighted at such option and indirectly, help biodiesel industry...

Disadvanges are, fuel quality of diesel in Malaysia...

I just hope that Proton and Petronas came up with a good 2L engine for Exora. E01 family engine (1.8L to 2.2L) as they signed MOI back in 2006.
sonic_cd
post Mar 17 2009, 02:21 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Mar 16 2009, 06:10 PM)

maybe the diesel won`t sell well. the wira 2.0 diesel was never well recevied for some reason
imperialrealcs
post Mar 17 2009, 02:41 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Mar 15 2009, 10:18 PM)
uhm...torque of 150 nm...not enough to overtake and full 7 adults...engine sure work hard...
compared to avanza 1.3 k3-ve 116Nm, i think this will do much better nod.gif
anyway, fetched 7 people to genting with avanza, underpower yes but it still able to get the job done nod.gif
and fetching 7 people is never an easy work to do.. anyway, the underpower is based on paultan experience on 'underpower' which is highly subjective as it cant be expressed in term of percentage/figure for comparison.. just like when i said wira 1.5 has good power while some will said it will underpower
clawhammer
post Mar 17 2009, 12:59 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Mar 16 2009, 10:16 PM)
can i just say on the bolded line, they are what they are now because of the same protection the korean government gave them in the earliest of days/ years. then of course the government took out the protection and they gone big. AND... there is an AND...

the attitude of the koreans. just look at the korean people. they buy KOREAN product FIRST. the same goes to hyundai/ kia/ etc. etc. i dont know what they call it, could be 'partiotism' but for their people, its all buy korean first. but us?

rather buy 10 years old foreign brand than a first hand proton.
As I've mentioned earlier, Malaysians enjoy giving EXCUSES instead of getting things done. The same applies to Proton and government so if everyone thinks doing things this way works (after 51 years of Independence) then go on like that for another 50 years but we'll end up NO WHERE. Every time we fail on something we are blaming and pushing things elsewhere. What's the point? smile.gif

Seriously, Proton should get a life and start making better engine and cars. What's with all these stupid Proton Chancellor or Juara models (for example). They should understand what type of cars people wants, not design something they feel they enjoy doing. What's next? A lorry running a 1.6 Campro CPS engine?

Back to the MPV, we're talking about a 7 seater using the same engine as a Waja or Satria uses so I seriously can't imagine how it feels driving uphill with full load. Worse still is the price of the MPV which is a daylight robbery to all Malaysians.
kcng
post Mar 17 2009, 01:25 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

^
why dont u earn more money and buy a better car?

To quote your
"Malaysians enjoy giving EXCUSES instead of getting things done"

travis_ckf
post Mar 17 2009, 01:29 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 17 2009, 12:59 PM)
As I've mentioned earlier, Malaysians enjoy giving EXCUSES instead of getting things done. The same applies to Proton and government so if everyone thinks doing things this way works (after 51 years of Independence) then go on like that for another 50 years but we'll end up NO WHERE. Every time we fail on something we are blaming and pushing things elsewhere. What's the point? smile.gif

Seriously, Proton should get a life and start making better engine and cars. What's with all these stupid Proton Chancellor or Juara models (for example). They should understand what type of cars people wants, not design something they feel they enjoy doing. What's next? A lorry running a 1.6 Campro CPS engine?

Back to the MPV, we're talking about a 7 seater using the same engine as a Waja or Satria uses so I seriously can't imagine how it feels driving uphill with full load. Worse still is the price of the MPV which is a daylight robbery to all Malaysians.
They making an MPV cause they understand that what malaysian wants. They build a sedan saga cause they know what malaysians want for a sedan less than 40k. The persona is developed cause they know malaysia wants an affordable C segment sedan.

Spot on wink.gif Dont like it? Work harder buy a better japanese/korean marque. There always choices. wink.gif
mokhzaini
post Mar 17 2009, 02:13 PM

278 posts

nevermind. everyones free to speak their mind. theres a total truth in his statement. for example, a 20 year old car manufacturer should have start its RnD division sooner rather than later. and its also worth to note that the new administration succesfully emphasis on the quality part.

the ride now are all smooth and tuned well. lotus aquisition by the previous management maybe the reason of all this. imagine if we are able to use augusta's technology? gulp. dont. dont go there. this is a thread on the mpv.

now please start the SENG thing. and i want a turbo charged engine for my soon to be facelifted waja replacement model!
V12Kompressor
post Mar 17 2009, 02:26 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Mar 17 2009, 02:21 AM)
maybe the diesel won`t sell well. the wira 2.0 diesel was never well recevied for some reason
It is dirty, underpowered and noisy. Not to mention the driving experience is awful because of the vibrations and the understeer generated (diesel engine weights more than petrol engine). Furthermore road tax for diesel cars are taxed higher than its equivalent capacity petrol engined back in those days.

Bad driving experience + hefty road tax = shunned people away from diesel cars.

Now that the gomen has amended the rate of diesel engine the same with petrol, a diesel engine is worth to be researched by proton. Diesels are Europe (especially UK) main selling point. More malaysians are more "diesel cautious" now, just look at the amount of pick up trucks, Rextons and Merc CDIs and BMW 530d/525ds running around.

As for this proton MPV, the only flaw I've found so far is the lack of ISOFIX. As Paul mentioned in his blog, that is just robbing us just because most if not all of us didn't have any idea what's an ISOFIX.

33 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:25 AM