Mar 13 2009, 07:54 PM
8,788 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Well, the Exora can do 180 km/h but we also need to take into account of the comfort level. You can get a Wira doing 180 km/h and it feels a lot horrible compared to an Altis/Civic doing at the same speed (if you get what I mean)
Mar 16 2009, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Mar 16 2009, 12:04 AM) Because Proton cars are terrible in quality and almost everything but priced unreasonably just because government are protecting them by imposing higher taxes for other car makers. This is a daylight robbery to all Malaysians and look how much a crap Waja costs in the UK compared to other similar cars. |
Mar 16 2009, 05:54 PM
If you notice correctly, the point is about why "Proton sucks" so in my response, I'm quoting other Proton models, not directly the Exora. Even if we want to compare the new Proton MPV, the price tag of RM70K+ for this MPV is again daylight robbery. IF they play a fair game by taxing a Toyota Wish of the same rate, how many would still go for the Proton?
The moment we speak about Proton cars, it doesn't give people confidence and there's no excuse because Proton has been here for close to 3 decades and that's 30 years!! People buy Proton because they don't have a choice and I believe majority don't mind paying RM10K more for a Japanese make. If you insist that we shouldn't "prejudge any cars before it is even out and released to the showroom" then sure, let's review things again in another 2-3 months. I would be surprised if it's really that good because in the history of Proton, every model would be filled an unacceptable amount of complaints. |
Mar 16 2009, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Mar 16 2009, 06:01 PM) Proton has real lack of volume, thus the Exora unit price is higher compared to other MPV in other markets, even if you have a volume of 1 million vehicles perannum, chances are, you are still struggling... There's a difference between a reason and an excuse. Hyundai starts making cars about the same time as Proton and look at them now, they are far more successful than Proton. Everyone starts with zero and BMW doesn't make cars back then and sell 10 million units the first year. Seriously, there's no point to give lame excuses like lack of volume, etc. That's what Malaysia do best - giving EXCUSE. We'll never get anywhere if we continue to have such attitude so my suggestion is that Proton should work harder and spend more effort in ensuring their cars are of better quality and all other important aspects that a car should have. If we continue to carry these "excuse" method then even 50 years from now, we'll get no where.QUOTE(xshiro @ Mar 16 2009, 06:11 PM) its quite pricey thinking that its local Thanks bro and I'm just speaking a very fair view of how most Malaysians feel about Proton.as you said ...i agreed many part of it..but why proton are not reliable? why cant it be as good as other car |
Mar 16 2009, 09:07 PM
I read Paul Tan's test drive and apparently the Exora would be really underpowered carrying full load. Well, almost all Proton models are Campro CPS (even for the MPV now).
Mar 17 2009, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Mar 16 2009, 10:16 PM) can i just say on the bolded line, they are what they are now because of the same protection the korean government gave them in the earliest of days/ years. then of course the government took out the protection and they gone big. AND... there is an AND... As I've mentioned earlier, Malaysians enjoy giving EXCUSES instead of getting things done. The same applies to Proton and government so if everyone thinks doing things this way works (after 51 years of Independence) then go on like that for another 50 years but we'll end up NO WHERE. Every time we fail on something we are blaming and pushing things elsewhere. What's the point? the attitude of the koreans. just look at the korean people. they buy KOREAN product FIRST. the same goes to hyundai/ kia/ etc. etc. i dont know what they call it, could be 'partiotism' but for their people, its all buy korean first. but us? rather buy 10 years old foreign brand than a first hand proton. Seriously, Proton should get a life and start making better engine and cars. What's with all these stupid Proton Chancellor or Juara models (for example). They should understand what type of cars people wants, not design something they feel they enjoy doing. What's next? A lorry running a 1.6 Campro CPS engine? Back to the MPV, we're talking about a 7 seater using the same engine as a Waja or Satria uses so I seriously can't imagine how it feels driving uphill with full load. Worse still is the price of the MPV which is a daylight robbery to all Malaysians. |
Mar 17 2009, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 17 2009, 01:25 PM) ^ What makes you think I drive a Proton? why dont u earn more money and buy a better car? To quote your "Malaysians enjoy giving EXCUSES instead of getting things done" QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Mar 17 2009, 01:29 PM) They making an MPV cause they understand that what malaysian wants. They build a sedan saga cause they know what malaysians want for a sedan less than 40k. The persona is developed cause they know malaysia wants an affordable C segment sedan. You're very lost on this Spot on |
Mar 17 2009, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 17 2009, 03:31 PM) i dun care what car you are driving or if u own a car or if you are still a kid. You are unable to debate constructively and you certainly don't see a point of positive criticism could help even IF you got a bmw, a better car will still be there.... when it comes to this nation sorry car industry, everyone always hide behind "criticizing with a goodwill with hopes that our national car industry would grow further" excuse, no? what will hiding behind that line above make the commentor looks like? saying the grape is sour because they could not get a piece of it? and easily 90% of youngsters now is exactly that QUOTE(trashtalker @ Mar 17 2009, 03:55 PM) Hey Clawhammer.... WHAT THE HECK YOU CRAPPING HERE? That's none of your business. This is not your forum nor mine and if you dislike then don't read what I posted This topic is regarding review/preview of Proton Exora, not Proton bashing. If you wanna screw Proton kau kau, go else where. If you have seen/drive an Exora before, then feel free to give your comment. |
Mar 17 2009, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(trashtalker @ Mar 17 2009, 04:37 PM) wow wow wow... who is being immature here. HEY, OPEN YOUR EYES AND LOOK AT WHAT SUBFORUM IS THIS! If you wanna debate on things like Proton being protected by the government, Proton unable to advance after all this years... go ahead and debate to your heart's content at the "Real Word Issue" subforum, but not here. HERE, WE TALK ABOUT CARS... Seriously from the way you posted, do you think people would think I'm immature and not you? and who is ranting here? YOU! ranting non-stop about how bad Proton is, how crap Proton cars are. In fact, you start ranting about our leaders, Dr.M, etc.... are you out of your mind? and yes... since this is not your forum too... I can comment whatever I want on your posting.... |
Mar 17 2009, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 17 2009, 05:39 PM) ah another high and mighty personality we have here eh? What matters is the reality. I don't mind if you say I'm a loser or whatever as long as you're happy with but it doesn't change who you are or who am I in the reality. Certainly there needs to be a bunch of morons to balance up smart people thinking that only you can debate constructively and not others while being blind to what is in your context, it is indeed your lost. i feel sad for you to hide behind "criticizing with a goodwill with hopes that our national car industry would grow further" group. IF you feel you can make a difference, go and make a difference. Don't be another what you put it, "malaysians". indeed i really cannot expect anything from a mere forumer like you too. QUOTE(trashtalker @ Mar 17 2009, 05:48 PM) just forget about that bugger. He should be posting all his "constructive criticism" at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/334826, instead of spoiling this thread. I mean, people click into this thread because they want to know how good/bad is Proton Exora, not about our incompetent leaders and all that stuff. He just spoils the topic. I think people with terrible English like you would spoil the overall forum quality and not just this topic. As I've said, if you don't like it then don't read or shut up QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Mar 17 2009, 08:14 PM) dude i think the pretext ' you tak suka you keluar dari malaysia' is applied here to you. You have to understand that everyone is free to say what they want. If I have a choice then I'll definitely leave Malaysia, no doubts about it Yes we live in a country where a honda city is almost twise its original price etc. So since no one here want to stand up and revolt, just shut your mouth and accept things as it is. Your courage and determination and the fact u think its daylight robbery is only as good as the person hiding behind the computer in cyberspace. To me, if i can afford a better car..why not? but 70k for a 7 seater is quite a good price considering ( And realising u are in malaysia and not in another cuntry) and 10k more for japanase make..which one are u talking about? And every new batch of cars have problems..even japanese but for me, if i have such a big family and i need a simple budget weekend car..i'l take the proton exora anytime...70k, can carry 7 people....full load also can hit 160kmh....apa lagi lu mau If you think it's worth it then go ahead and get the car. You don't have to convince or reason to me what makes you buy it because I couldn't care less. The reason why Malaysia is difficult to develop is because many of their citizens are still backwards in mentality. Well, go ahead because it's your life QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Mar 17 2009, 08:24 PM) clawhammer jaz wanted a perfect no need service and repair for 100 years car. haha.. gundam is good for u. if u still need tyre, u can try the one at Devastator. they are all big machine too. maybe can fit gundam Another person that has poor command of English. In what sense do you conclude that's what I meant? This post has been edited by clawhammer: Mar 17 2009, 08:37 PM |
Mar 17 2009, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Mar 17 2009, 08:47 PM) i think majority thinks this car is a good buy. As I say, everyone is entitled for their own opinion. Why am I here is just the same reason why you're here. We are participants of this forum and we come to share our views. I don't slam you for sharing what you believe is a good buy and its nothing i want to convince you off. Just that remember, you are stuck here as well anyway if you could not care less, why are u in this thread again? LOL! i think you are just confusing yourself bro. Btw, i'm still not sure which jap car are u talking about by adding 10k more? gran livina? You can see for yourself how many individuals in this thread that has replied would have the following issues: (a) Does not have common sense and unable to understand the need for free and open expression of what someone thinks about something. (b) Terrible command of English and low education level. They defend Proton is good but sometimes you see them posting otherwise or curse their own Proton cars |
Mar 17 2009, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Mar 17 2009, 09:02 PM) what english got to do with Exora anyway? lol. totally out of the topic. yeah i know mine is too, but at least i'm not so serious. n seriously dude, why u keep on posting english is bad n bla bla bla while this is Proton Exora thread? Because you're being the nut to wrongly imply what I'm trying to say are u nuts? This post has been edited by clawhammer: Mar 17 2009, 09:06 PM |
Mar 17 2009, 09:16 PM
That's precisely what I'm trying to say
I'm trying to send the message that despite being lower taxed, Proton should sell their cars are a much reasonable price tag to Malaysians. Do you not agree at this point? If they want to sell at RM70K+ then make sure they are making quality cars (MPV). What are we having now? The MPV is not feature packed and can the engine really carry 7 people around? There are easily a few main concerns but people are not getting the point apparently. Let's face the fact and if Proton is not good enough for now then they are not good enough. There's no need to defend or give excuses. Don't try to be a hero when we're not because we won't save the day but just making ourselves look stupid. Added on March 17, 2009, 9:18 pm QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Mar 17 2009, 09:11 PM) I'm not an egoistic person and I only do so to morons This post has been edited by clawhammer: Mar 17 2009, 09:23 PM |
Mar 17 2009, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Mar 17 2009, 09:22 PM) dude, i've been thinking. are u pro perodua? lol. Ok, now you're saying everyone agrees Proton sucks yeah, evyone agree proton sux. but there are too that still put hope in proton. no one is trying to be a hero here. they jaz believe someday it might happen.Someday Proton will be recognize by others. n Proton is still the most affordable product in its range. Proton Exora is a bit expensive, but if its good, then i'll be happy about it too. U too say Proton is not that good for now, meaning u too believe some day it will. Right? |
Mar 17 2009, 09:32 PM
Maybe that's just a perception issue because these are all text with no facial expression
I hope I am wrong too |
Mar 17 2009, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Mar 17 2009, 09:41 PM) dude, I am being neutral here to tell you that you know I know everybody knows that it is impossible to fairly taxed over the cars. It is totally against their will. I'm not complaining but sharing my views. I don't mind because I wouldn't buy their cars anymore as I've had one before. I still think Proton should price their car fairly and I will continue my stand that the MPV is overpriced and the quality is crap. I will have to agree on you that we should just sit down and watch so I hope I'm wrong about the quality issue So as a conclusion, if Proton stands, your dream will never come true dude. You are giving me a feeling of no matter how hard Proton work to come out with a better car, you will assume it is a piece of overpriced local made junk. Proton really improve not say very much overall but at least there are some improvements if you compare to the Wira and Waja era. You will accept the fact that no matter how hard you complaint. You are not in the position to change this situation. If I were you, I will stand aside to see how they progress instead of bashing them in the forum. No point of doing that, success or failure in the future might just prove your comment. Chill. I was mumbling like you last time but I don't think that is the solution. Since you hate them so much, I guess you wouldn't buy their car. So, give them a chance and sit down just watch. To you, no lost right? QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Mar 17 2009, 09:44 PM) i bet he still gonna fight with superb English that we never even heard before or understand. oopps. Again, your post is of no value Added on March 17, 2009, 10:28 pm QUOTE(kcng @ Mar 17 2009, 10:17 PM) is there anywhere in my post where i am stating that i am defending a particular brand? As I say, there needs to be morons to balance things up so you've made it again - congratulations. I am just as lazy to correct you and I don't gain anything for making you smarter either its just your assumption, no? for a supposedly "smart" person like you, jumping to a conclusion that fast make u look like, shall i say a fool? so where does that put you, in the moron part of the population or the smart part of the population? earlier u say u dont drive a proton, but lets face it, this is the internet, i can have 10 ferarris in my house, no? and again, where in my initial post that shows i am defending this brand? all i did mention was, please look back, i am lazy to reply the same thing again and again. This post has been edited by clawhammer: Mar 17 2009, 10:36 PM |
Mar 17 2009, 11:06 PM
I'm just trying to show that you have no credibility and constructive posts
Back to the topic, anyone else have comments on the Exora? This post has been edited by clawhammer: Mar 17 2009, 11:11 PM |
Mar 17 2009, 11:18 PM
Quote from Paultan.org:
AA surveys show that child seats that are fitted with the adult seatbelts are typically 70% to 80% misfitted with around 30% being seriously misfitted. So what happens during an accident or harsh braking? Your child might just fly together with the misfixed seat! When even the Satria Neo has ISOFIX points, why not in the Exora? if you say lack of regulation requirements - then why are they in the Neo? Cost, how much can ISOFIX points cost! RM50 to RM100 per point? A maximum of RM500 per car, with overly inflated costs for 2 ISOFIX-equipped seats in the 2nd row? Couldn’t scrapping some of your Corporate Social Responsibility programs cover the cost of proper ISOFIX points in your Exora? Spend the money on your real customers instead of others! Why wait for the government to enforce something? Proton should be proactive in taking this step. Malaysians are not educated on such safety features. Do your part in educating them. Perhaps in your focus group studies for the Exora, none of the potential customers asked for ISOFIX points because they don’t even know what ISOFIX is. That is no reason for you to omit them. Put them in and educate them. Don’t be penny-wise pound-foolish. The good PR from this will be valuable, more than the cost of the points themselves. Really good child seats with ISOFIX support can be expensive. Package them together with your hire purchase loans for families to be able to afford them. For RM70K+ and we're not getting security features |
Mar 17 2009, 11:40 PM
I think we should start emphasizing on security just like having rear seat belts put on compulsory.
Mar 18 2009, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(watonk @ Mar 18 2009, 12:47 AM) I expect to read some worthy input and views from lowyat forum regarding Exora but ended up reading a lot of your crappy so-called good command lousy annoying words.... Your reply isn't a lot better either You're nowhere more credible and constructive than the rest of us. And since when having a good command in English makes someone a better person? And i believe Lowyat didnt put that as pre-req to post here right? You're the case of an empty can for me. Exora; I'm still wondering if Proton still have something up their sleeves. Their MOU with Mitsubishi last December should results on something promising, in the form of a GDI or MIVEC perhaps? Then again, looking at how all those pre-prod pictures of Exoras leaks through the internet, if there were any better engine, somebody from Proton should've leak the news My guesstimate from details scattered around the net, the Exora will be as sluggish as Innova, if you call that sluggish. And 3 out of 4 review claims that the Exora NVH is great. One review even suggest that its quieter than a french car they drove two weeks earlier. 308? facelifted 407? I've been following most reviews related to mpv's especially those available locally. I'm very familiar with Avanza 1.5 (the nervous car) and last facelift Odyssey CBU (just as crappy as local assemble - hint; suspension noise), driven G. Livina on a few occasion and test driven the latest Wish and Stream. I cant clearly rate Paultan or CBT or Motortrader but comparing their previous reports on other cars and this Exora, i can safely say that it is something. It might sell well.... If you cannot accept some other people's opinion then you shouldn't be posting here. For the same reason I don't hit down at your all ridiculous assumption of reading up reviews and comparing them as if you're a scientist. When all of us are trying to get back to the topic, please try not to start unnecessary things again QUOTE(watonk @ Mar 18 2009, 12:57 AM) You're right This post has been edited by clawhammer: Mar 18 2009, 01:12 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0340sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:55 PM |