I tried 3.0 on iTouch 2G,
The safari is NOT 3 times faster!!
What about your iPhone 3G(s)?
iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!
Jun 19 2009, 06:15 PM
1,193 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
I tried 3.0 on iTouch 2G,
The safari is NOT 3 times faster!! What about your iPhone 3G(s)? |
Jun 19 2009, 06:16 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Holy shit the thread is moving like a bullet train. I'm brushing my eyes to check whether I am really on the iPhone section or if the thread had been moved to Kopitiam.
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jun 19 2009, 02:48 PM) Sure can. Then later gimme good price for the 2.13Ghz MBA can aa?DG bro, it is futile I know. Your efforts are always appreciated bro, never forget that. Slot is taken for the 3G[S]. I'm proceeding with the procuring prep, see which Voda/TIM store in Italy has it. That has to happen as we inch closer towards 29th. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 19 2009, 06:17 PM |
Jun 19 2009, 06:17 PM
2,012 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
DG having hard time delete, merge and sort out all important notes ><
Jun 19 2009, 06:27 PM
4,903 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
@string and coolethings
I'm not sure if is worth purging threads as it is taking a toll on me while i'm trying to help to keep things clean.. All i can do is to ask you guys to do is to furnish me with infos on the current 3.0 issues so i can place them in the pinned thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1061070 to help others. Some resort to say oneliner is fine to post..maybe we should revoke post count in this forum. What say you guys? This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 19 2009, 06:29 PM |
Jun 19 2009, 06:29 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I've done my part on the working settings for Celcom 3G Postpaid MMS + Tethering on Mac OS X 10.5.7. Others who have your setting/setup differently, please submit your working settings to DG, so he can compile these into the pinned thread.
Jun 19 2009, 06:37 PM
686 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jun 19 2009, 06:27 PM) @string and coolethings david bro u might want to add a notice to those unable to use mms if they had change their carrier logo change b4 . they will nid to restore their phone to factory setting in order to use mms for example maxis to 4.0I'm not sure if is worth purging threads as it is taking a toll on me while i'm trying to help to keep things clean.. All i can do is to ask you guys to do is to furnish me with infos on the current 3.0 issues so i can place them in the pinned thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1061070 to help others. Some resort to say oneliner is fine to post..maybe we should revoke post count in this forum. What say you guys? |
Jun 19 2009, 06:49 PM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
@davidgary73
there's no limit to applications in 3.0... just use Spotlight to find the 'hidden' ones |
Jun 19 2009, 06:51 PM
25 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: kayelle-peejay |
QUOTE(thaisxs @ Jun 19 2009, 06:37 PM) david bro u might want to add a notice to those unable to use mms if they had change their carrier logo change b4 . they will nid to restore their phone to factory setting in order to use mms for example maxis to 4.0 what do you mean by restore to factory settings? going to update mine pretty soon and my current carrier is Maxis 5.0. so what i should do is:1. restore factory settings on current 2.2.1, then 2. restore/update to OS 3.0? thanks in advance. |
Jun 19 2009, 06:51 PM
4,903 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(thaisxs @ Jun 19 2009, 06:37 PM) david bro u might want to add a notice to those unable to use mms if they had change their carrier logo change b4 . they will nid to restore their phone to factory setting in order to use mms for example maxis to 4.0 Thanks mate. I need more info as noobs will not know/understand what is this all about. I reckon what you're saying is for those who updated from iTunes or uploaded custom carrier logos/ipcc previously, they will not be able to use MMS unless they restore back to factory settings with Fw 2.2.1 or iPhone 3.0 thus erasing the custom carrier? If this is the case, i need to place it with the right information. @xaw5126 Yes..updated with the info earlier. Thanks mate. This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 19 2009, 07:02 PM |
Jun 19 2009, 06:55 PM
16 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE @CooLeRthings, oOps.. paiseh! @fliz, hMm... it shouldn't be the case but perhaps U could check with some other forumers who's on the Celcom network. Sorry I jumped the gun *shoots herself* @Tinkerbel I was using fw 3.0 (GM) for a few days last week and i am convinced that the APN trick is not working on fw 3.0 (at least on Celcom). I took the trouble of getting back to 2.2.1 just because of this issue. Unless others using Celcom can prove otherwise, i'll wait for the JB then. |
Jun 19 2009, 06:55 PM
3,749 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Sydney, AU |
QUOTE(mONSTers @ Jun 19 2009, 06:09 PM) as I said before in the early early post, I do feel the 3.0 is bit sluggish compare to the older fw. Funny, my experience is entirely the opposite. The transition of 'from app going back to home screen' is smoother. On the previous software 2.2.1, every time I wake the phone up and try to swipe screens to access my applications the transition is jerky at first before smoothing as things settled down. This is not noticeable from 3.0 anymore except trying to swipe to spotlight. Sliding up and down is also very smooth as always. However, on Facebook its as jerky as ever especially if a particular post has a lot of responses.Btw, it's still a great update with tons of features (although those features that makes huu haa (mms, copy cut paste) shd be there in every common phones. Starting apps is not really fast, in fact there's no difference. Anyway its not really slow to begin with. UI wise, things are pretty consistent. No surprises there. QUOTE(fuiyo @ Jun 19 2009, 06:15 PM) Yup, its not really fast. I think that remark is for the iPhone 3G[S]. In fact, I was hoping that this update would fix the 'slow Youtube streaming' and 'slow app download' via WIFI. There has been reports that this 2 operations are very slow on WIFI but otherwise normal on cellular radio. I hope this is nothing to do with hardware limitations. Lets hope iPhone 3G[S] will not have this problem. |
Jun 19 2009, 07:02 PM
437 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
@tinkerbell
Thx so much for your help! will be getting one soon. might need more of your help then! haha..i'll do my research 1st of coz |
Jun 19 2009, 07:03 PM
4,553 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Shah Alam |
last nite i tried to copy the mms settings from inside safari. not sure if its a bug but the copy feature does not work when i tried to copy the proxy ip address. the phone keeps asking to call or sms to that number.
Jun 19 2009, 07:16 PM
686 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jun 19 2009, 06:51 PM) Thanks mate. I need more info as noobs will not know/understand what is this all about. Yes for MAXIS user to use MMS your carrier version must be MAXIS 4.0 I reckon what you're saying is for those who updated from iTunes or uploaded custom carrier logos/ipcc previously, they will not be able to use MMS unless they restore back to factory settings with iPhone 3.0 thus erasing the custom carrier? If this is the case, i need to place it with the right information. @xaw5126 Yes..updated with the info earlier. Thanks mate. to check this go to Setting>General>About> Carrier ? if your carrier version is Maxis 5.0 then you will need to restore your phone back to factory setting How to restore to Factory setting ? Warning !! BACK UP 1ST Open your itunes. Go to your iphone section. You can see the restore option on the Summary page. Once u restore to factory setting everything will be gone. YES EVERYTHING. Don't worry itunes will prompt n ask u to sync back your previous back up. For digi n celcom users if you have custom carrier logo n ur mms is not working even with the working setting posted by forumers here u may want to try out this method. Hope this will help n have fun MMS ~ |
Jun 19 2009, 07:19 PM
245 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PG |
QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 19 2009, 06:55 PM) Funny, my experience is entirely the opposite. The transition of 'from app going back to home screen' is smoother. On the previous software 2.2.1, every time I wake the phone up and try to swipe screens to access my applications the transition is jerky at first before smoothing as things settled down. This is not noticeable from 3.0 anymore except trying to swipe to spotlight. Sliding up and down is also very smooth as always. However, on Facebook its as jerky as ever especially if a particular post has a lot of responses. Hmm, i'm been on OS 3.0 since the released of GM seed on the first day.Starting apps is not really fast, in fact there's no difference. Anyway its not really slow to begin with. UI wise, things are pretty consistent. No surprises there. Yup, its not really fast. I think that remark is for the iPhone 3G[S]. In fact, I was hoping that this update would fix the 'slow Youtube streaming' and 'slow app download' via WIFI. There has been reports that this 2 operations are very slow on WIFI but otherwise normal on cellular radio. I hope this is nothing to do with hardware limitations. Lets hope iPhone 3G[S] will not have this problem. Yes, the most noticeable sluggish is the swiping from home screen to Spotlight. And, also if u guys notice that sometimes there's serious lag in keyboard typing. (U can try doing this: fire up Notes, add new notes, start typing once the keyboard appear. This is just 1 particular example and i'm excluding the 3rd party apps as it might be coding efficiency. Besides, the GPS on google map is not as responsive as before, as i'm travelling from one location to another, the blue dot is not able to catch up, not even in near-real time. I cant make conclusion on this yet as i just try it for few times. Hope someone can clarify on this. Perhaps, the new OS 3.0 is running smoothly on the 3GS, due to higher processor speed and ram. |
Jun 19 2009, 07:19 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@mrRighthand,
Np. Just come back here when u need info. There are bunch of helpful ppl around |
Jun 19 2009, 07:23 PM
1,291 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -= Earth =- |
it's really like bullet-train... even i'm here just to read up.
It's kinda weird.... I upgraded to OS 3.0, and restored by last backup. But, that's nothing except for those native Apps. Anything goes wrong ? Hmm.... perhaps need to redo again |
Jun 19 2009, 07:29 PM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
QUOTE(mONSTers @ Jun 19 2009, 07:19 PM) Hmm, i'm been on OS 3.0 since the released of GM seed on the first day. i have to refute that underlined statement.Yes, the most noticeable sluggish is the swiping from home screen to Spotlight. And, also if u guys notice that sometimes there's serious lag in keyboard typing. (U can try doing this: fire up Notes, add new notes, start typing once the keyboard appear. This is just 1 particular example and i'm excluding the 3rd party apps as it might be coding efficiency. Besides, the GPS on google map is not as responsive as before, as i'm travelling from one location to another, the blue dot is not able to catch up, not even in near-real time. I cant make conclusion on this yet as i just try it for few times. Hope someone can clarify on this. Perhaps, the new OS 3.0 is running smoothly on the 3GS, due to higher processor speed and ram. currently, i'm sitting in my favourite spot, in the library and prior to 3.0, GPS wasn't able to triangulate my position (the blue dot and not the range scope, induced by the cell towers) and the same in another library. so that's two spots to my surprise, i'm able to triangulate my position (in these two prior spots) now. technical mayhem or sheer fluke? |
Jun 19 2009, 07:29 PM
7,214 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kamino |
i forgot whether i have updated this info or not...
For DiGi users. This is wat i did to get the tethering and MMS working although not simultaneously. I have an email containing the .mobileconfig file. So when i need tethering i'll just run the file. When i m done, i re-set the MMS settings. NO DO NOT RESTART YOUR PHONE! Ull lose the Tethering option... Juz change the MMS setting...and ur mms will be up and running already. Then when the next tethering session comes up, juz open ur email and reload the .mobileconfig. A dumb way, indeed. But it works well, nonetheless. Also while tethering, bluetooth works on Vista. Pair the iphone. setup bluetooth PAN. then voila! (Credits to tinkerbel for this) With Mac OS X, pair the iphone. then connect to it. it's easier done than said actually. I'll update if i manage to find anything interesting for DiGi users. |
Jun 19 2009, 07:31 PM
221 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
HELP NEEDED.
Here's the case. (happens to one of my friend) iPhone Generation : iphone 3G 8GB Unlocked? (or Part Number): Unlock using software (i think, because this fella bought his iphone from china, come ready unlock with cydia installed, but after upgraded to 3.0 the phone locked! - only can do emergency call, seriously this is officially locked iphone and he didnt know it) Current Firmware : 3.0 (prev 2.2) iTunes Version : 8.2 Model Number : sorry i cant provide this as the phone already locked when i get it (i'm only try to recover) PC/MAC : PC Jailbreaking software : Problem Encountered : 1. Upgrade from 2.2 to OS 3. 2. At last stage, error at itunes said that "Sim is not support by carrier" (something like that) 3. When remove iphone and try to detect it again at iTunes, below error popup: "iTunes cannot connect to the iphone because it is lock with a passcode. You must enter the passcode on the iphone before it can be used with iTunes" 4. The user previously lock his iphone with sim passcode, but now after upgrade, the phone itself also have been locked! (only for emergency call). So now, stuck at phone passcode lock + iphone lock! Steps Taken So Far : - I Plan to try downgrade to 2.2.1 : 1. install iTunes 8.1.1 at new PC 2. Connect iphone to the new itunes, but the above error still popup. Try to change another sim also wont work. 3. Try to get the phone into DFU mode, also not success. (using the right sleep + home combination) Other Information/Remarks : Tried connect the iphone to iTunes(either 8.2 or 8.1.1), the above error popup, and the worst case is, the iphone is not listed at the right panel of iTunes. (means that i dont have the "Upgrade" or "Restore" button) What should i do to help him! This post has been edited by shiniraz: Jun 19 2009, 08:07 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0282sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:21 AM |