Credit Card Thread V6

hye
post Mar 16 2009, 10:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(RockIron @ Mar 16 2009, 10:06 PM)
Why not u apply an Amex gold charge card and keep big spending on it.
They will offer u to upgrde to Amex plat charge card if they track ur spending record, then I think u will be able to apply any cc in the market with it by pledge application.
Thanks for the suggestion but I'm very comfortable with SCB & Alliance Bank's (upcoming) rebate based cards (they also give me access to the Premium Lounge @ KLIA & LCCT) at the moment. Making a shift to AMEX Gold and hoping to get the Amex Plat is a long shot. Let me think about it ... once my Aliiance & SIA's AMEX arrive then make further analysis on my next strategy.
Reventon
post Mar 16 2009, 10:57 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Mar 16 2009, 10:25 PM)
how to get a platinum card?
I got 18k CL. But only classic/gold.
i know some bank give ridiculously low limit plat. With 18k CL i think you can try Scb , uob , eon , or mbf. This is confirmed info as few of my friend get 15k limit on their plat. 20k CL you can try Citibank , Mbb , Cimb , Hong Leong , Pbb or Rhb. For 30k you can get Hsbc.
Hope this helps. Source is from real life experience from few of my friend. But it's really low limit and inconvenience if using it overseas.

JamesPond
post Mar 16 2009, 11:03 PM

4,526 posts

How you guys can get a card with 50k CL?
You all are business man?
As I know the bank would always giving CL based on their income.
The calculation would be something like:-
50/3 = 17k mo
Reventon
post Mar 16 2009, 11:32 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Mar 16 2009, 11:03 PM)
50/3 = 17k mo
Mostly bank determine CL by your income , but CL will increase gradually by time with your credit scoring, which capture thru your spending and payment pattern. If your usage is heavy enough and payment at least 50% above for total outstanding, they would glad to increase your CL often or by your request.
Some good way is consolidate your spending on one cc. Prompt card application is another way to increase your CL, often bank will give higher CL than your existing card. But the best is to prove your income increment to bank when request for a CL increase.
Here got a few sifu may have better way , just my 2 cents. smile.gif

JamesPond
post Mar 16 2009, 11:36 PM

4,526 posts

All Sifu, please share any other way to increase your CL besides you really earn a lots of money.....
MilesAndMore
post Mar 16 2009, 11:39 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Mar 16 2009, 11:03 PM)
50/3 = 17k mo
Not really just based on income. If you have a fat bank account you'll be given a huge CL too.

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Mar 16 2009, 11:36 PM)
All Sifu, please share any other way to increase your CL besides you really earn a lots of money.....
Yes, big fat bank account with the bank you are going to apply for their credit card.

GHz
post Mar 16 2009, 11:47 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 16 2009, 11:39 PM)
Not really just based on income. If you have a fat bank account you'll be given a huge CL too.
Yes, big fat bank account with the bank you are going to apply for their credit card.
Let say I want to increase my credit limit, and I deposit big amount, do you think they will approve? What account normally to deposit? FD? If I have 50k FD can I ask for 50k credit limit?
JamesPond
post Mar 16 2009, 11:55 PM

4,526 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Mar 16 2009, 11:47 PM)
Let say I want to increase my credit limit, and I deposit big amount, do you think they will approve? What account normally to deposit? FD? If I have 50k FD can I ask for 50k credit limit?
I dont think so ler....unless every month you spend 20-30k......prompt payment for near a year...maybe the bank can consider......
MilesAndMore
post Mar 17 2009, 01:50 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Mar 16 2009, 11:47 PM)
So you think that if you have RM50k worth of FD with the respective bank they will approve you a Platinum credit card with RM50k of CL ? That's a definite no-no. The minimum requirement to become HSBC Premier customer is to have RM200k of deposit with them and they will approve you a "Premier Mastercard" with only RM40k of CL. Say that you have RM1 Million of FD with HSBC, yes, of course you can request to them to increase you CL. Just don't expect to get 1:1.

Reventon
post Mar 17 2009, 03:26 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 17 2009, 01:50 AM)
So you think that if you have RM50k worth of FD with the respective bank they will approve you a Platinum credit card with RM50k of CL ? That's a definite no-no. The minimum requirement to become HSBC Premier customer is to have RM200k of deposit with them and they will approve you a "Premier Mastercard" with only RM40k of CL. Say that you have RM1 Million of FD with HSBC, yes, of course you can request to them to increase you CL. Just don't expect to get 1:1.
I remember one of the forummer mention before about the 1:1 FD tied Credit Card CL, not really sure about that because none of my card are FD tied. Anyone here can confirm this myth ?
GHz
post Mar 17 2009, 07:54 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 17 2009, 01:50 AM)
QUOTE(Reventon @ Mar 17 2009, 03:26 AM)
I remember one of the forummer mention before about the 1:1 FD tied Credit Card CL, not really sure about that because none of my card are FD tied. Anyone here can confirm this myth ?
The quote below taken from Public Bank Website. They can do 1:1 based on FD for platinum cards. biggrin.gif

For Public Bank Fixed Deposit (FD) customers who opt to apply PB Credit Card secured by FD, the credit line assigned will be based on the FD Pledged amount at a ratio of 1:1. To apply, please personally submit your application at your FD account holding branch and bring along your FD certificate for verification and photostat copy of your NRIC (both sides).

This post has been edited by GHz: Mar 17 2009, 07:54 AM
RockIron
post Mar 17 2009, 10:52 AM

128 posts

I m not sifu but can share my experiance with u.
Other than u hav high income(but this is the fastest way to increase CL bcoz issuer always want u to proof ur income if u apply for increasing CL),huge spending,good repayment record and membership vintage might help u to get auto increase of cc CL.
Focus ur spending in single issuer and hold the cc for longer time(show them ur loyalty). I think u should get CL increase nearly every year.
When I was age of 21 few years back,my 1st cc CL only RM2k.... doh.gif Today my lowest cc CL was RM45k and highest already 6 digits.
tgeoklin
post Mar 17 2009, 12:00 PM

1,230 posts

Look at it this way, CL is besides the point as you will get it once you are ready. But if you are concern about it cramping your spending style, just get a charge card, which in theory has no fixed limit but based on your resources.
WhiteWing
post Mar 17 2009, 12:09 PM

2,854 posts

Another few more days I try go RHB Bank & Cimb Bank ~
virgel87
post Mar 17 2009, 12:16 PM

43 posts

hi, i just fresh grad. I just worked for 4 months. If i wan to apply a CC MUST show degree cert ah?? diploma cannot ah?? bcoz i only got diploma cert. hahaa

as i know...PETRONAS Maybankard Platinum Visa is FOC, if i use it for petronas only can get the points. then what can rewards from the points??

CIMB petronas master card rebate is 2%...in a month bum my car is RM120 then is 120 - 2% = 2.4. very months can very RM2.4...

any suggestion i want to apply for CIMB petronas master card or maybank visa?? of course that must FOC la..hehe

WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 17 2009, 12:38 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(virgel87 @ Mar 17 2009, 12:16 PM)
hi, i just fresh grad. I just worked for 4 months. If i wan to apply a CC MUST show degree cert ah??  diploma cannot ah?? bcoz i only got diploma cert. hahaa

as i know...PETRONAS Maybankard Platinum Visa is FOC, if i use it for petronas only can get the points. then what can rewards from the points??

CIMB petronas master card rebate is 2%...in a month bum my car is RM120 then is 120 - 2% = 2.4. very months can very RM2.4...

any suggestion i want to apply for CIMB petronas master card or maybank visa?? of course that must FOC la..hehe
U just need your latest 3 months salary slip and EPF statement.
Platinum? how much is your annual income?

Im currently using UOB for 2% rebate, but now thinking to switch to Maybank Amex for double points to centralise my rewards as im using Maybank Visa too..

UOB rebate can only be use at limited places like GSC or BHPetrol station mart.
Im still wondering which either UOB or Maybank points are more worth it.
tinkerbel
post Mar 17 2009, 12:47 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@tgeoklin,
I sort off made sure I would be the 1st 100 customers to spend RM3000 in the month of December *grins* Am glad I got it though and the letter came soon enough smile.gif

@JamesPond,
If U've been with the bank long enough and have had a good 'relationship' with them all these years plus with good credit ratings, u should have no problems getting an increase in CL. I do however hear banks are getting more stringent with their credit cardholders due to the credit crunch! *shrugs*
tgeoklin
post Mar 17 2009, 01:09 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Mar 17 2009, 12:47 PM)
@tgeoklin,
I sort off made sure I would be the 1st 100 customers to spend RM3000 in the month of December *grins*  Am glad I got it though and the letter came soon enough smile.gif
I try and make sure too but alas, guess luck was not with me sad.gif
tinkerbel
post Mar 17 2009, 01:13 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@WaCKy-Angel,
Amex Membership Reward (MR) points are different from that of MBB's Treat Points (TP) hence U probably will not be able to centralise the 2 points from the 2 different cards smile.gif

@tgeoklin,
Initially, I thought the RM3k was based on trasaction date hence I got the merchant to swipe my card at 12.05AM on 1st December 2008. It was only later that I realised Amex doesn't base it on trasaction date but posting date. Thankfully, I had swiped a RM3.5k bill 3 days before and it was posted on 1st December smile.gif I guess that did the trick kua *shrugs* Or maybe lady luck was just on my side smile.gif
MilesAndMore
post Mar 17 2009, 01:25 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Mar 17 2009, 03:26 AM)
Oh, now that you mention it. I think i have read about it too. If my memory serves me correctly it's AMBank.

QUOTE(GHz @ Mar 17 2009, 07:54 AM)
The quote below taken from Public Bank Website. They can do 1:1 based on FD for platinum cards. biggrin.gif
I stand corrected.

Public Bank is probably the best local bank in Malaysia, very professional and super efficient. But their credit card is a shame sad.gif

QUOTE(RockIron @ Mar 17 2009, 10:52 AM)
I m not sifu but can share my experiance with u.
Today my lowest cc CL was RM45k and highest already 6 digits.
I can see CIMB World Mastercard and Standard Chartered VISA Infinite right around the corner drool.gif

hi, i just fresh grad. I just worked for 4 months. If i wan to apply a CC MUST show degree cert ah??  diploma cannot ah?? bcoz i only got diploma cert. hahaa

Only if you want to apply for Direct Access or Citibank Clear credit card.

To exchange for gifts. And sometimes Maybank has some discount with some merchants as well.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Mar 17 2009, 01:26 PM

127 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:14 AM