V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

ahwee1987
post Feb 19 2010, 09:42 PM

80 posts

hi..i am new to this swiflet farming..i just do a survey by reading V1 swiftlet keeping..if i wan to build a BH..which government department i should go to apply for the licensed?..i wan to build a BH at my father's hometown Limbang, Sarawak where there are many trees..anyone running any BH at limbang sarawak?mine to share? thanks
ahwee1987
post Feb 22 2010, 12:04 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Feb 8 2010, 11:48 PM)
ahchard,
Items for my DIY kit
1)Any box to fit all in a nice portable package (some folks use document case u get from stationary shop)
2)12V Amplifier (I had to buy cos' my car stereo still run on cassette tapes) (RM120)
3)tweeters - (RM3-4 each)
4)speaker wire (RM6/metre)
5)power cable (dun use the speaker wire!!!!, though speaker wires are supposed to have less resistance, the ones you get frm J Pasar sort of just heat up, so I use the cheapo ones frm electrical shop (very cheap, a few RM per roll , enuff to fly kite with)).
Just remember if you are putting yr amplifier in the box, they get hot after half hr, so keep it slightly open to ventilate.
6)thumb drive for bird call

Good luck
hi cergau,
the bird call tester u test success to lure the bird?u connect to your car battery is it??so the total cost for the DIY kit is around rm 150 is it??
i am planning to build a DIY kit like yours. hopefully u can give me some guidance

This post has been edited by ahwee1987: Feb 22 2010, 12:05 AM
ahwee1987
post Feb 22 2010, 03:02 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Feb 22 2010, 12:57 AM)
ahwee1987,
What I did was to ask the sales chap exactly how I was to wire the speakers to the amplifier.
I made him test each and every tweeter for me though they cost less than RM3 each.
(I am no expert by any measure.) Bought all the material, yes for less than RM150.
Fitted and tested fine all wired up (without soldering).
Found the box, cut out to fit the tweeters, solder the wires to the tweeters permanently.
Screw everything firmly into the box so nothing moves during transportation.
No I do not use the battery off the car, I carry a separate 12V battery in the car for the purpose.
I notice the amplifier gets hot with use, so the draw must be BIG.
I wouldnt want to be stranded in far off places with a flat car battery.
It may be safe to do the testing with the car running but I chose not to.

As for the testing, I would suggest you bring along a GPS so that you can mark out where you were.
For a better sense of the place , you manually or download thru serial cable to Google Earth.
Then you will be able to see the topo, existence of of big water, vegetation and so forth from satellite photos.
If you had also the waypoint (GPS speak) of the nearby successful BHs then you will be able to gauge whcih way the birds fly.
cergau,

dude..thanks so much for your info...
i will try to build the DIY kit similar like yours..hopefully it can lure some bird..haha.
by the way..this evening.the time i test is around 5.15pm to 6pm..i did a testing on top of my roof using my house amplifier and a speaker playing the external sound where i download from http://swiftlethacks.blogspot.com/2008/11/...from-kb.html..i tested both external but seem like not successful..
i try to open as loud as possible..but seem like no bird ..i can see some swiftlet passing around..but it wont circle around.and i also notice that if i didnt open the sound..the swiftlet also will pass through...is it something wrong with my speaker or the external i play the bird doesnt like is it? i can confirm my amplifier is working vry fine..i did try using this 2 speaker as i attach below..but both of them can't lure and swiftlet..=.=..or i need to go buy a tweeter like the one selling at jalan pasar to test?..

ahwee1987
post Feb 27 2010, 07:15 PM

80 posts

hi everyone.

i am new to this swiftlet farming..currently doing research on how to setup my own farm at my grandparent agricultural land at sarawak..
so, Before i build up a standalone farm at my grandparent land i need to apply for the license right.
since there i can get a form from

http://www.forestry.sarawak.gov.my/forweb/swiftlet/npwl1.pdf

but i did heard someone said u need to register a company then u can apply for this license ? is tat possible i apply personally under my name? ?anyone of here got any experience in applying swifflet farming in sarawak?hope u can share some of your experience here..thanks!

ahwee1987
post Feb 27 2010, 09:20 PM

80 posts

hi cergao

thanks for your guide for your diy kit set.
now i have i my own DIY kit set
tongue.gif

here is the totally price for the diy kit set

1)amplifier 12vdc -rm150
2)motorola tweeter- rm4.50/perpcs
3)1 meter audio wire - rm2

total is rm170 only.

i did do a bird test at melaka here..i am really impress with the respond of the bird here
almost 200 birds flying on top of me when i do the bird call at melaka,batu berendam here..

ahwee1987
post Mar 6 2010, 07:21 PM

80 posts

to all sifu..

please comment the design for my BH

i want to build this BH at my grandparent agricul land.

i have few question about my design..

is the roving area too small?? i read forum saying tat minimum size is 12ftx12ft for roving area
is my entrance hole 11ftx10ft above the roof too big?
do i need to build a dog kennel entrance for the BH?

please give me comment..thanks

ahwee1987
post Mar 6 2010, 11:32 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 6 2010, 09:46 PM)
How come 12' x 12' ? Accordding to your building width  it should be 12' x 22' right ? If I were u, I'll make it 15'x22'. Rule # 1, let the birds feels at home.

Both entrance holes are very BIG !!

If nearby BHs all using DK then follow them lor... but open roof is definitely license compliance in the future.
hi aeiou228

thanks for your comment..
i am the only standalone farm at tat area.
the entrance hole too big??
how big the entrance hole would u recommend??

This post has been edited by ahwee1987: Mar 6 2010, 11:38 PM
ahwee1987
post Mar 7 2010, 12:07 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 7 2010, 12:01 AM)
Based on your draft plan, I think your BH will be very very bright.

What is the direction and sunrise and sunset ?
The nesting room entrance hole can be 2'x4' first then slowly seal up accordingly to situations.
For 12'x22' roving area, my opinion is that it is not suitable for a center hole to the nesting room. Anyway, you can always open 3 holes first left, centre and right then seal up the less frequently used one.
sunrise on east and sunset on west...the left side of my drawing will face the west..
so the open roof i should open 3 hole first?how big the hole should be? 4x4ft??is it ok? for 3 hole? left ,center, and right??
ahwee1987
post Mar 7 2010, 12:25 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 7 2010, 12:15 AM)
sunrise on east and sunset on west...the left side of my drawing will face the west..
Then no worry of direct sun light shining down the the ground floor. But your side wall will be very hot in the late evening. Better use insulation materials or light weight bricks on this side of the wall.

so the open roof i should open 3 hole first?how big the hole should be? 4x4ft??is it ok? for 3 hole? left ,center, and right??
No, not the open roof, I'm referring to nesting room opening.
yeah..i plan to make a roof with insulation with it..but i donno how to draw using the google sketch.haha..

so the open roof size to the roving area the hole is ok right??or i need to reduce the size?

then i should have 3 holes of 2x4ft at the nesting room there right??

thanks dude..any more to critique?hehe..

This post has been edited by ahwee1987: Mar 7 2010, 12:27 AM
ahwee1987
post Mar 7 2010, 12:36 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 7 2010, 12:33 AM)
so the open roof size to the roving area the hole is ok right??or i need to reduce the size?
To me, I will reduce. Reducing the size can cut down the volume of rain water, brightness, air turbulence in the nesting room, lower humidity, etc etc

then i should have 3 holes of 2x4ft at the nesting room there right??
Well, no harm having more holes right ?  whistling.gif
if i reduce the hole to 5x5ft is ok?? will it too small for the bird to enter the hole??

then i will follow ur opinion have 3 holes there~tongue.gif..thanks ya..

dude how about the LAL? 10x10ft should be ok for the bird to fly down to the lower floor right?

ahwee1987
post Mar 7 2010, 08:53 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 7 2010, 05:46 PM)
My open roof is 6'x9' purposely shaped in rectangle to avoid sun lights. You need to consider this point before deciding the final size and shape.
I would count the distance of the opening from the ceiling rather than from the floor because BHs don't have standard height for instant Cergau's BH is 15' high. I would take 40cm from the nesting room ceiling to the top edge of the hole as a idea distance.
bro..do mind to tell me how big is ur farm???thanks..cause i wan to compare with mine 22x50ft for the open roof entrance..now i decide to opent the entrance at 5x7ft smile.gif
ahwee1987
post Mar 8 2010, 11:22 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Mar 8 2010, 10:58 AM)
As I see it:

Let me tell you why just one entrance, just like wife, the more, the more difficult to manage,,,hahahaha

1. 2 holes, sini masuk, sana keluar and air turbulence and other disturbances are bad for new BH as there is not safety feeling. If you make more than one hole in case you fail with the one hole you make, sealed off on ehole first and if that hole is not suitable due to reason like light, wind or conditions, then close it up and open the other one.

2. Case history, I have been to a failed BH with 3 openings and the only nests found were in the utmost  interior of the BH after the 3 holes meaning that the 3 holes are just for the birds to play in and out and do not serve the purpose for the bird to breed which what we are aiming for. So, I told him to use only the best one and close up the rest. Now, all the rest of the building is used by the birds to nest.

Sometime, because we are not contractor so we make more than we required as back up like back up entrance openings in case of failure without having to endure more financial payment and time plus nowaday, it's impossible to get workers to do little job.  My little believe in the art and science of BH's building.
bro..usually we open 3 hole to test the bird like which hole right?for example this 3 holes is located at left ,center and right.
the bird enter the entrace hole of the 3 hole is it depend on the flying pattern at the roving area??
ahwee1987
post Mar 9 2010, 03:21 PM

80 posts

i got few question..

does anyone consider a dual entries for their BH?
meaning to say having an Open Roof and Dog kernel entrance for the swiflet??

ahwee1987
post Mar 18 2010, 04:31 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Feb 28 2010, 10:56 AM)
u r welcome.
1)I take it that u didnt test right next to an existing BH? biggrin.gif
2)200 birds is indeed impressive ... over a period of less than an hr?
3)Did the birds circle or just flew past you? They shd circle.
Even if they were not reacting to yr sound you hv found a good spot
If you have got the pooling sound, they shd be chasing each other.
If you have the piyit sound (sounds like a chick being tortured!!) , they shd come very close to the speakers but not chasing each other.
Oh! dun ask me for my sound as I paid good money and also not fair to the seller also-lah!

In essence the magic is in the sound.
After you are satisfied that you have a good test sound and h/w, u shd go test at yr grandad's place.
See if you get similar results.
If not you can always find the land owner at Batu Berendam and promise to marry his spinster daughter for the use of the land. biggrin.gif
(not advisable if he's a blood relative and also forbidden by law)

Sifus pls jump if u feel otherwise on my 2 bit (except for the last bit-lah).
hi cergao

i just turn if on for 10minutes like tat..i got take a video
they keep circleing around..
link as below..http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfuEy9CoTgg
haha..how to find land at there o..can as tenant around there? i think it's an agrilcultural land if not mistaken..
i gonna bring it bak to sarawak to have a test at granddad place..hopefully i will get a better result than this~tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ahwee1987: Mar 18 2010, 04:37 PM
ahwee1987
post Mar 19 2010, 01:27 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 18 2010, 07:26 PM)
ahwee1987,
That's alot of birds. u sure that wasnt next to a BH?
Thought I saw a roof at some point.
Anyway I have never seen that many in all my testing, but then I dont test at areas I cannot afford anyway.
Like some sifus oredy lamented, these choice coastal land has gone up 300% in price attributed to BHs demand.
Dont ever say it's for BH when looking for land.
Good luck at yr grandad's place and hope u turn the sky into black mass when u turn on the chirp.
i am sure there is no birdhouse there..
cause i went up to this 3storey abandone building an look over the whole area...
tat is a row of abandone shophouse ..i think got 10lot of 3storey shophouse ..70% complete..i think the constructor bankrupt..so stop the job d..abandone for many years d..i think got 5 -10years..so they just leave the building there..if wan buy the the building to convert to swiftlet house also a good idea..but i am just a student currently in final year now..where to get so much money to build?.haiz..but tat area is best for farming cause got river nearby got fish farm i think ..and i ever see a hornbill at that area too...
by the way..who got any idea how to check the abandone building belong to who and how to buy the building from??

This post has been edited by ahwee1987: Mar 19 2010, 01:31 AM
ahwee1987
post Mar 19 2010, 11:19 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 19 2010, 09:28 AM)
There must be very successful BH(s) around for that nos to be around.
To find the owners?
Various ways depending..you have to play detective a little
1)There shd be a sign board on site with info on developer, engineer, etc....you trace frm these info      ELSE
2)Get the rough location and a lot of your verbal description to a real estate agent and ask for a title search...charges varies RM50-RM150 depending on travelling cost. I think if u DIY u pay RM30 to the local land office, but how to get the LOT nos and so on? Real estate agents have stakes of plans to identify and narrow down the place.    ELSE
3)This is the fun way....
a)Get a GPS or the the ones that are packaged into yr hp also can
b)Mark the spot (waypoint in GPS speak) - required for step (d)
c)Start GoogleEarth,
d)Add Placemark
edit the lat and long with values frm step (b)
OK and close
see the placemark (a thumbtack) automaticaly go to the spot u made the waypoint
now eyeball the place on GoogleEarth and get a bearing of the place
Show to the real estate agent the location.

PS There is a way which I stumbled on accidentally in a certain govt department online where u can get to the lot nos.
I do not wish to disclose the way as I found out later its a source of info to a group of local enthusiast whose hobby is to locate all the surveyors markers in the country. I wouldnt wanna to be the cause of stoppage to their hobby if the govr dept closes that gap.
There markers are all over the place, mountain tops, in jungles, in towns, along roads, hiways, next to old buildings etc...a lot were laid down by the colonials. An interesting hobby for adventurous folks with a GPS. You get bragging rights with pics of the markers.
i tried to find the sign board..but cant look for it..if i cant walk further way inside..cause all is jungle already..the grass as tall like 3/4 of my height d..don dare...haha..i think i will try to use a gps to track it..
ahwee1987
post Apr 5 2010, 12:02 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(ahkui86 @ Apr 4 2010, 11:26 PM)
my swiflet house is 20feet X 60 feet. wat is the minimum size of my roving rum? PLz teach me
it should be 12.5ft x 12.5ft minimum..is is advisable to make it biggeR~
ahwee1987
post May 5 2010, 01:38 PM

80 posts

to all sifu, can u give me some of your comment about the LAL location of the BH design i have attached?The first or the second design of the postion of LAL is betteR?..thanks you~..

ahwee1987
post May 5 2010, 03:24 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ May 5 2010, 03:20 PM)
There is a Chinese saying: your money is in the bank, but you are in the Heaven. My friend, try your best to avoid having LAL between floors. There are far too many mishaps and accidents from this type of design which led to many permanently maimed or disabled with fatal cases caused to the owners and consultants for the past years. Almost every year, we hear such misfortunes. Most of them are filthy rich. Such type of design is a booby-trap to the owners. So, do be careful and to reconsider.
thanks bro..how about adding a 2-3 ft safety wall at around the LAL?? preventing from dropping the LAL?
ahwee1987
post May 5 2010, 06:21 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(htc @ May 5 2010, 05:17 PM)
a low wall would interfere with the natural flying of the swiftlets.
dude..how about building like this?.does it interfere with thhe flying of the swiftlets?

0.0878sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:49 AM