127 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Games Street Fighter 4 Tournament Malaysia 2009, ARE YOU STILL A STREET FIGHTER?

rawfish
post Jun 14 2009, 03:29 AM

30 posts

The judges did not reveal the accumulated points for each player so far, in order to keep everyone in suspense and/or ensure everyone plays their best the next day.

The marathon format is definitely interesting - as long a player perseveres, even after a lost he can still catch up. This is a different take to getting sent to the losers' bracket. I've personally been sent to the back of the queue countless times without a single win smile.gif.

The decision-makers were not able to provision requested queue stands, tables and arcade sticks, at last minute. This is out of the organizers' control. As SF4 is meant to be played on a stick, others loaned their sticks. All were arcade-quality, with full Sanwa parts.

I was hoping both arcade sticks and pads are to be used but it's been decided sticks would be THE way to go. After much after-thought I see the rationale behind this unpopular decision (to some):

QUOTE(InkySliwinky @ Jun 13 2009, 09:29 PM)
doesnt matter la .. so much for fair fight .. meh wasted rm14 ... they think every1 can afford arcade sticks meh .. my god .. not to mention 1 round .. lol facepalm sia ...
QUOTE(brastel @ Jun 14 2009, 02:33 AM)
Eh I didnt know about the 1 round thing. Thats kinda retarded LOL but hey this is an event of its own. SF4 Marathon w00t

Anyway yeah i might sound a lil bit harsh up there, of course its also a matter of preference. But I still believe that you cant get to get to your max potential playing on a pad and that a pro stick player can beat a pro pad player more often than the other way around. (no disrespect to leongteng n other pad users)
The idea of 1 round was tried, some like it and some didn't. The queue moved fast. I didn't like it, but played my best as if it's the finals to winning something. As I said, I didn't like it and many others didn't too. When they voiced it, after the lunch break it was switched to 3 rounds. You did not stay that long enough to find out?

QUOTE(InkySliwinky @ Jun 13 2009, 02:29 PM)
Lol just came back from there ... we were Forced to use arcade sticks la ... after 3 losses i got tired alrdy bcuz i was a complete sitting duck .. found it difficult to even pull out special moves let alone super and ultra...
Based on the first Cineleisure Sony tourney, and monthly mini-ones at Outpost, the constant need to change pads/sticks between games SIGNIFICANTLY IMPACTS the smooth flow of the event. Players have to reach out to the cabinet to unplug their sticks as they walked off, then the new player needs to reconfigure their controller number at the Accessories menu, then go back to title screen, then reconfig the buttons to ensure them working. All this, plus a restart to a match where at times lasts shorter than the config session.

Based on the above, imagine this still being practised in a marathon-themed session. Speed-gaming comes to mind here, and to ensure the queue moves faster than the participants losing patience. This is the best interest of the crowd.

I believe at a certain point, this evolution is needed - in order to ensure the standardization of how tourneys should be played. I personally met many DS3 players who accustomed themselves to the sticks and in fact witnessed very well-played games. Imagine if any major or national tournament is held, with the champion being able to represent Malaysia in any HK, Korean, SG, or Japanese tournament, and the winner uses a pad only - how would they fare? Would you ask international tourney officials if you can pair a DS3 with an XB360, or Vewlix cabinet?

And do share how you pull out Ultras on a pad? QCF x2 then SQUARE+TRIANGLE+L1? Or with CIRCLE+R1+R2? OR, QCF x2 + R2? Personally, on a stick I found it a lot easier to do it on 3 buttons sitting in a row to each other. But to each his own. No shortcuts allowed in tournaments as this constitutes to receiving input aids.

QUOTE(InkySliwinky @ Jun 14 2009, 01:21 AM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2o20QNMRcHU lol this video tends to say otherwise... in any case.. dont the arcade versions have less characters ?.. might save up for a TE later... dunno yet
The video is not really impressive, or proves any point - if this is your objective. And I do not see myself causing blistered fingers if I were to have any long sessions doing that. Would you like me to post videos of the advanced stick techniques mentioned by other posters here?

Honestly, a stick is not expensive if you know where to find and more importantly when to get it. Unless you are genuinely broke, inherited it or won it in some lucky draw, how did you manage to afford your PS3/360? I saved RM50 to RM100 for 4 months to get mine. It's not a must-own but will definitely come in handy to enhance your gameplay. Just like playing Rock Band II on instrument controllers, instead of strumming your shoulder buttons.

This post has been edited by rawfish: Jun 14 2009, 03:35 AM
brastel
post Jun 14 2009, 03:38 AM

Dude, I wasnt there. I cant be participating in the marathon AND Nakano TRF at the same time can i? biggrin.gif

Other than that, I agree with what you said above.
firedauz
post Jun 14 2009, 04:14 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(brastel @ Jun 14 2009, 01:18 AM)
Any idea who's the current top winner then?

IMHO, I might not make it to the top, but I did take home consolation prize...

Darkstalker
post Jun 14 2009, 06:04 AM

214 posts

Yeah, Alan changed it to 3 rounds later on.

So we FINALLY saw the occassional Gief player then. tongue.gif

EDIT: I'm not sure the exact rankings, but Tristan just said he got about 30 wins, I'm about 30 wins too, Vega and Viper specialists both had many 5 win streaks and I think they've both got more than 30. Not too sure about the others.

These are just estimates of course. I've no idea of the exact numbers. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Darkstalker: Jun 14 2009, 06:23 AM
pmg
post Jun 14 2009, 09:53 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(brastel @ Jun 14 2009, 01:18 AM)
Any idea who's the current top winner then? And is he maining a sagat? biggrin.gif

Yeah, SF is meant to be played on a joystick, you'll never reach your full potential playing on DS3.

Malaysia(especially KL) needs SF4 machines, like now. LOL somebody plz revive the arcade scene in Malaysia.
Hi Brastel,

I figured from your posts that you're in Japan ATM ?

If true, do the SF4 arcade machines there only have 6 buttons instead of 8 ?

Went to play SF4 @ Arcades in Singapore recently and all machines strangely have 6 and not 8 buttons.

Plus, the recent tournament @ Mid Valley organised by Allan Mu ( sorry if I mispelled that) only allows 6 buttons too.

Darkstalker
post Jun 14 2009, 10:21 AM

214 posts

^ 6 buttons have always been default actually.

It's been this way since SF2 (maybe SF1? I wasn't around for that generation).

Those 2 extra buttons (L2/R2 in PS3's case) are assigned shortcut buttons, which are just one buttons that do PPP or KKK in one, so those playing "pure" 6 buttons would have a disadvantage.

You were there yesterday pmg?

Btw, here's a pic of the arcade cabinet looking down specifically at the buttons: http://blog.capcom.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/11.jpg

I dunno how to embed, sorry.
shinjite
post Jun 14 2009, 10:46 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,306 posts

SF1 already has 6 buttons smile.gif
MasterAlvin
post Jun 14 2009, 11:36 AM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!
1,677 posts

well said Desmond.
i dun think those that stayed less than a few hours should throw negative comments at the event.

you should understand how much effort Alan and others have put in to make this happen.
boogalogist
post Jun 14 2009, 11:48 AM

Arcades only have 6 buttons all the while. Console arcade stick has 8 buttons because: -

1. since long time ago, playstation has 8 buttons. It's to cater to people who plays other games with the arcade stick as well. I recommend not putting shortcut buttons when you play SF4. It's a very bad habit cause tourneys always disallow shortcut buttons as well as turbo.

2. look at the tournament edition button placement. The six buttons on the left is the layout for Japan arcade machine button placement. The six buttons on the right is the layout for US arcade machine button placement.
Gahleon
post Jun 14 2009, 02:01 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 14 2009, 01:08 AM)
Marathon continues tomorrow. There is no finalists. I think top winners will get prizes.

Nice if it was like that back in the SC4 marathon last year.... I already got a PSP lol.
twwong
post Jun 14 2009, 03:21 PM

220 posts

GREAT games yesterday fellow fighters smile.gif! Thanks for the games Darkstalker lol. I didn't have the chance to play with TristanX in the competition, hopefully I'll get to play with him next time :]..
pmg
post Jun 14 2009, 08:05 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Jun 14 2009, 10:21 AM)
You were there yesterday pmg?

Btw, here's a pic of the arcade cabinet looking down specifically at the buttons: http://blog.capcom.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/11.jpg
Yes I was there on Saturday but didn't join as I would not like to get raped in public biggrin.gif

Didn't stayed long as had to be elsewhere at 2 PM which means I missed those matches with 3 rounds.

Yup, those buttons looked like the ones I saw at Virtualand outlets in Singapore last week i.e. 6 instead of 8.

Playing on 6 buttons made my scrubby gameplay even worse than usual, not to mentioned the fact that there was a Zangief player there who thrashed everyone. You see, once you insert a token, the connected arcade machines will automatically duel you - you can't choose whether to play against the AI or a human. Unfortunately I got to play that Zangief dude EVERY TIME I slot a token in.

I was hoping to fight the other casts in SF4 there but in the end, 10 SGD was wasted on fighting Zangief alone ( that's 20 plays in Virtualand arcades). The funny bit is the reaction on other players when they too were automatically matched - then subsequently raped - by that Zangief. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pmg: Jun 14 2009, 08:06 PM
TristanX
post Jun 14 2009, 08:30 PM

Where is my stars?
24,327 posts

QUOTE(twwong @ Jun 14 2009, 03:21 PM)
GREAT games yesterday fellow fighters smile.gif! Thanks for the games Darkstalker lol. I didn't have the chance to play with TristanX in the competition, hopefully I'll get to play with him next time :]..
Heh, I didn't know which one is you.
Darkstalker
post Jun 14 2009, 08:51 PM

214 posts

Good games to everyone.

Except TristanX and WhatWhatInMyButt. tongue.gif

(third place)

___

TristanX, twwong's the Akuma yesterday. smile.gif
TristanX
post Jun 14 2009, 09:21 PM

Where is my stars?
24,327 posts

Can't do much when you are rusty. sad.gif

Oh, that Akuma. cool

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jun 14 2009, 09:22 PM
TSalanmukkl
post Jun 14 2009, 09:31 PM

Dear all,

Wow...after just few hours...many has been written and I just got back and wanted to see some feedbacks. So please give me a chance to hear me out ok?

First thing first - I would apologize to those who feels that the Marathon sucks or in any situation we couldnt please yyou guys..

The Marathon was a last minute plan from sponsors who want to spice things up in the Exhibition. And in a week for us to prep something PERFECT is nearly impossible. I hope you guys who are not satisfy with the event forgive us...

1) Street Fighter was born in ARCADE and for any tournament it is good to use arcade sticks. Some how in Cineleisure Tournament. we as organiser felt many issue on controllers. Changing from pads to sticks really made us tired and waste many time. You guys have to understand that 100 people took part. Each have to fight 9 other contestant. Approx 400 matches was held on the first day and trust me, I got SICK of SF4 for a while.

2) Although the game was released on a console and yes we understood that not many have the budget to get the sticks. Also, please try to understand that at the end of the day, we as organiser cannot please everyone. It is near impossible that we can please both side.

3) The only way we can please both side is to have 2 categories. Pads and Sticks. However, how would the title be named? How can there be only one champion? In final - pad VS Stick? I assure you the higher chancesto win will be the stick player and if the pad guy wins, will it be fair that you only require 1 button to unleash your ULTRA? Arcade stick was designed for fighting games. Same as Shooting games...it plays better on Mouse.

4) Regarding the Marathon...we wanted to use pads. As it is a SONY event and using pads is the right way. However, only 3 guys out of 30 people disagree with sticks. We cannot allow the show not to go on because of 3 people. Majority wins and I have asked every contestant and we voted it. So I think thats fair for us organiser to provide to the majority. We want a GREAT show and a great experience and at any event...it will not be successful without people like you all.

5) Regarding 1 round - SORRY. After the cineleisure event, we get many feedback that they waited too long. So we are afraid that you guys waited again. We also cannot provide chairs and cordons as the event people itself cannot provide to us. SUCKS. I did asked for you guys. Eventually, the table did managed to be there on the second day...THANKS to SONY for providing for us. We heard your request and we did our best ...

6) Also, we agreed to get STICKS for the tournament - ASK RAWFISH...we at Outpost has prep the money to provide sticks for the tourney. Unfortunately ...no stocks.

7) Today, we brought some dessert for you guys and unfortunately no one seems to take some. We have bought some food but no one seems to appreciate that. Dont get me wrong that we are sad about it. But I just want you guys to know that, we appreciate all your time and energy during the first day and wanted something little extra for you all. We managed to gave all dessert out.

8) YES, will provide DRINKS or water next time around.

Will promise that we will do a GOOD TOURNEY like Cineleisure soon. This time around, maybe we do it a every weekend. League like EPL. and then FInal 8 goes for knock out stage. Will improve...

Hope you all understand...and thanks for those who came and supported us all the time...Congrats to winners and keep it up for almost winnners...

I will do what I can and what WE can for you all as we are SF fans too...

Oh beside that....sorry to bring this up - There is this guy...ANDREW if I am not mistaken...If you are reading this...HONESTLY you make me no choice to BLOG about you.

STOP being a pain in the ARSE- you are not a photographer...everyone hates you and stop irritating me and the rest of my cosplayers. If you want tyo take your pics then take. STOP asking my girls to pose what ever pose you want. Stop trying to find out whats my girls Cosplayers Facebook address is - YOU DONT PAY US ... One more time I see you doing that, I will have no choice but you have security to escort you out from the event.

Other than that...I hope the rest of you all enjoyed the event. Great to have a few rounds with you all !!!

Love

Alan
MasterAlvin
post Jun 14 2009, 10:04 PM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!
1,677 posts

HAHAHHAHAHA

OH damn the Andrew part amused me.

and Alan, the event didnt suck. we loved it, though it was quite tiring, it was not as tiring as CS tourneys. it does have room for improvement, but i think you did a marvelous job.

me and my brother didnt come on the second day becoz we have activities today.

looking forward for your next event. cheers!
Darkstalker
post Jun 14 2009, 10:38 PM

214 posts

Who was Andrew? Was he that dude that was giving us all free wins?
leongteng5
post Jun 15 2009, 12:31 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(alanmukkl @ Jun 14 2009, 10:31 PM)

Oh beside that....sorry to bring this up - There is this guy...ANDREW if I am not mistaken...If you are reading this...HONESTLY you make me no choice to BLOG about you.

STOP being a pain in the ARSE- you are not a photographer...everyone hates you and stop irritating me and the rest of my cosplayers. If you want tyo take your pics then take. STOP asking my girls to pose what ever pose you want. Stop trying to find out whats my girls Cosplayers Facebook address is - YOU DONT PAY US ... One more time I see you doing that, I will have no choice but you have security to escort you out from the event.

Other than that...I hope the rest of you all enjoyed the event. Great to have a few rounds with you all !!!

Love

Alan
Wow shit this makes me wished I stayed longer. What is this about?

I think it's about time I took up a fighting stick. I can't stay out of events like this forever, I feel like I'm missing out. Anyone got a spare one to sell me cheap? tongue.gif
brastel
post Jun 15 2009, 12:37 AM

lol save money lerr biggrin.gif

127 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:50 PM