7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Games Street Fighter 4 Tournament Malaysia 2009, ARE YOU STILL A STREET FIGHTER?

rawfish
post Feb 16 2009, 09:06 PM

30 posts

Guys! It's really a good deal:

1) You can play casual matches there too
2) You can see how good players bring the best out of the character
3) You can witness different styles of play, from the most cheap, to the most tactical
4) You get to share / receive tips on how to improve your game
5) You get 2 tickets for the new movie to boot, and many more

You don't have to win to have fun!

(I'm talking as if I'm organizing it myself.. hoho!!)
rawfish
post Feb 22 2009, 02:29 PM

30 posts

Hi Alan,

Anyone from Singapore, Ipoh, Penang or Johore joining in?
rawfish
post Mar 1 2009, 11:48 PM

30 posts

My report (from the cheapo Dictator with Tekken 4 stick):

First and foremost to Alan and team:
WELL DONE! For a TWO-day tournament of this scale and media attention you have done an EXCELLENT job! People may share their first-day (Saturday) experience as being somewhat draggy but you guys were being very fair by using a more preferred points system (winner = 2 points, loser = still get 1 point, top 4 from each group with the most points at the end of the day will progress to Sunday's elimination system). As the saying goes, "you can't please everyone", you took a bold step to ensure everyone had a fighting chance even when they lost their first few matches. Overall I believe Saturday's agenda went smoothly and according to schedule. Kudos!

Your flexibility to accommodate both pad and stick players are commendable, as with your ever-entertaining crowd-pleasing commentating. At the end, you and team made everyone a winner and brought the fighting game community closer together. Also, good cosplay with appearances from Ken, Chun Li and Sakura - to match your Ryu. Tournaments of these types has been long-desired and thanks to you it has materialized. Please bring in more of these in future, and as spoken you don't need to be ambitious to make it a regional event - let's start off with building the local scene first!

To FatCatLim and GameAxis:
Good MC-ing and coverage - and thanks for bringing news of this event to us as well. You absolutely got the right words out whenever something spectacular happened during the elimination rounds today! Good to have a fellow gamer being The Voice.

To Sony Malaysia:
More please! As from the turnout you can see there IS a community!

The Experience:
I witnessed many people playing their best today, some being tenured arcade veterans, some being more casual-like players who showed remarkable sportsmanship, and some of the "armchair champions" - good players who don't need to bother with a stick to become good, as evident in their flawless execution on a pad. I managed to put a face to some of the PSN friends whom I play almost every night with, and made friends with many more who share the same passion.

Taking 1st place was Kenneth (Ryu, non-forumer and friend), which played his best IMHO today and his religious daily sparring with our gang since the game came out paid off, in the form of a PS3 set with SF4. He earlier eliminated my Dictator and I readily admit he was the better man as he played extra safe unlike my carefree rush down and by now predictable game play. Could his win be attributed to widely-discussed character tier-rankings as on professional SF forums e.g. SRK, NeoGAF and Capcom-Unity?

1st runner up by a very close and tension-filled match was the amazing TristanX which gave his best with Ken. He was very patient and made the most of his given opportunities, which did not come by much due to the carefulness of both players. It was truly a classic battle to the finish between the series' two main protagonists - the crowd went wild at every comeback and life-bar depletion. Wow! In my many years of knowing him, he has shown great consistency in high-level matches and he carved his way to the finals with extreme surgical precision!

Freddy (Blanka, non-forumer and friend) took 3rd place with a very skilled Blanka. He took advantage of every opening, wow-ing the crowd when he took the first round with an ex-ball through Ken's fireball. He was on equal par with our long-time friend TristanX and both played very careful matches against each other but it was Ken who had better advantage via keep-away and Blanka's missed Ultras. It was very tension-filled and really gave atmosphere to the eventual finals.

Darkstalker (Boxer) was good too and secured 4th placing. He didn't had many openings against Kenneth (Ken) and Freddy (Blanka) but managed to hold up well. This is a player who plays on a pad and has only FOUR days' worth of experience at Outpost Cafe - with given time who knows he could have climbed higher in ranking! No chance for any Ultras after a Buffalo Headbutt in the last few deciding matches, as seen through his road to the semi-finals, punishing his opponents with this move!

In the end, EVERYONE wins - it was truly a good move forward for the SF scene - and a good comeback from its dormant years a decade ago. WE WANT MORE!

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 2 2009, 12:04 AM
rawfish
post Mar 2 2009, 07:24 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 2 2009, 03:52 AM)
I know. Hopefully there are more tourneys for this in the future so other characters could shine. I know a C Viper player who is very good.

It was the best tournament for me compare to previous ones. Thanks for organizing such a great tournament. Keep it up.
Thanks. Yeah, my DP is quite accurate. Used to be around 90% though. I heard from my friend that you practiced jump positionings against Ken's DP. I don't how much that will affect my game if I play you again but I know when not to use it most of the time. Hope we meet again some other time. I'm sure you can be a very good player. The amount of time you practiced just to get to this level is just amazing. On top of that, you are using DS3.

I lost my concetration on the final. I used too much of it fighting my friend's Blanka. He's really a more of a headache than any other friends cause his Blanka is my Ryu/Ken's bogeyman.
Well said! Your match against Blanka was my favourite and the one I was looking forward to the entire tournament. Tense all the way to the final round! Freddy also placed his focus on you the most too hence his game play was thrown off a bit in the end, agreed? Nevertheless he fared well over Boxer later on though I expected he (Boxer) to have a 50%-50% equally good chance of winning.

Best tournament? Agreed - in terms or organizing and overall experience. I'd like to fight Aiman too - I can see he did plenty of research for his character e.g. d+lp/lk links to Buffalo Headbutt > Ultra (KPKKK/KKPKK variants to see which hits best?) for best hitting percentage. And he doesn't lose his focus easily.

As I said earlier - EVERYONE WINS. Plus did anyone mentioned the champ and TristanX fought again on the big screen before the movie? But was for fun only on the DS3 pad - both plays on sticks only smile.gif

Added on March 2, 2009, 7:26 am
QUOTE(carloz28 @ Mar 2 2009, 04:28 AM)
Agreed. It's about time we have our own team to represent Malaysia in SUPER BATTLE OPERA aka ARCADIA Cup Tournament! That would be awesome.
Who knows smile.gif

But it's going to be a really long way, looking at the Jap players - no, let alone Singaporeans who had a great head start ahead of us.

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 2 2009, 07:26 AM
rawfish
post Mar 2 2009, 09:02 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Mar 2 2009, 07:43 AM)
Since you brought it up Rawfish, I'll just a give a bit of Balrog info:

When you want to Ultra someone in the air (juggle or counter hit), the easiest way for most damage is that you miss the second hit completely regardless, regardless of what the first hit was.

So it's PPKKK or KPKKK.  The reason you miss the second hit is that when it hits, you either hit up to the 4th hit and miss the 5th (the most damaging one) or you hit only the first two hits and then the guy falls down BEHIND Balrog, which is really bad.

He can also actually Ultra from more positions than what I showed in the tournament, but I couldn't react fast enough on a pad.
Through my limited knowledge (I don't use boxer), corner and mid-screen ranges are different, and yes the safest is KPKKK (2nd hit whiffs) I've seen most people connect it when opp. falls head to upper-torso level.

I can imagine you on a pad and yet still using a charge character. Painful to retain DB charges and/or charge buffers. Good for you to stick to it when you had chances to use a stick, which you were not used to.
rawfish
post Mar 3 2009, 05:01 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(terryforever @ Mar 3 2009, 04:31 PM)
wow.....
play wit tristanX....the 2nd place for the tournament.....
i dun think we noob can win one match.... shocking.gif
u always got rawfish to beat as punching bag what...
rawfish
post Mar 3 2009, 11:51 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(MasterAlvin @ Mar 3 2009, 11:38 PM)
after a few tries with my sucky network, i managed to post the photos for two separated days of the event.

day 1:
http://anotheralvin.multiply.com/photos/al...y_1_group_stage

day 2:
http://anotheralvin.multiply.com/photos/al...tage_and_Finals
Thank you Alvin, you are truly the Mastah. Didn't get to fight your Gouken that day. But I realized I fought your brother's Gouki towards the end of Day 1 (group F). He landed plenty of RDs that day on lotsa people.

Btw, I think you'd be the best person to create a new SF4 thread.. since TS had gone AWOL *hint*

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 3 2009, 11:52 PM
rawfish
post Mar 4 2009, 12:14 PM

30 posts

At the tourney, when playing at the 5th Bravia, a friend of mine heard someone from the crowd asking, "this game don't have Excel ah?" LOL

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 4 2009, 12:15 PM
rawfish
post Mar 6 2009, 04:06 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 6 2009, 02:51 AM)
That nasi lemak is cheap and nice. I'll be at Freddy's this Saturday. hehe
There were some really good Penang and Ipoh players 10 years ago. I really miss them.
You don't have their contacts, even ICQ/MSN/Yahoo anymore? Penang Ryu-bot... Ah Tai's Raging Demon.. the Ipoh Yit Foong gang... miss them - all having unique play styles smile.gif
rawfish
post Mar 12 2009, 12:36 PM

30 posts

Trying to get some friends come along too. But I'm free this Sunday so will confirm later, Alan.

DS, hope to see you too.
rawfish
post Mar 13 2009, 12:54 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(alanmukkl @ Mar 13 2009, 12:38 PM)
NO WORRIES...JUST DROP BY...if not enough people for tournament its ok one....beside, we are planning to FORM STREET FIGHTER CLUB soon too...this will be Da Place for all SF fans to battle each other out....
Alan... I think "SF/Street Fighter Fight Club" will be better. Just like the awesome movie smile.gif
rawfish
post Mar 15 2009, 02:57 AM

30 posts

Alan,

My friends Nick and Peter will be dropping by. He's the guy who didn't get to join the Sony Tournament due to having needed to work, if you could still remember.
rawfish
post Mar 15 2009, 11:29 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Mar 15 2009, 09:59 PM)
Good games everyone.

HATE FUERTE

HATE RUFUS

But especially...

HAAATE YUN sad.gif
Don't hate the fat guy ler bro hehe.

Anyway, good games tonight and I'm sure everyone had fun! Hey Alan, thanks for putting this whole thing together, especially when it was back-to-back with your Dragonball event!

To Joshua and (sorry I forgot the other guy's name), if you're on PSN please add me - rawfish_us - didn't manage to get your PSN contacts as I had to leave early today.
rawfish
post Mar 16 2009, 01:27 PM

30 posts

Actually, on being defensive, turtling is a style which has been much discussed, debated, disinterpreted and digressed since the days of past.

The player who would simply just crouch his/her own end of the corner and bank-in on opportunities aka mistakes by the other player, is usually the least popular person in any match with an audience. Just because he/she doesn't show any flash, proactiveness or initiative to make the attacking move does not mean he/she has lesser skill. Over the years I have grown to accept this style of play even if I find it irritating. Turtling requires plenty of patience and concentration, as the intended effect is to bait your opponent to give in to come forward.

I faced a really good Japanese Claw user on PSN a few days ago, and he was so good at being defensive, aka TURTLING and at the same time excellent at prioritizing his pokes and footsie game I fell for almost all his tricks, when he went all out for the offensive. His timing for cross-up (on me waking up) EX Wall Dive to Izuna Drop was flawless. To differentiate his play style, he later on switched to Ryu which was close to Daigo's offensive play style. What an experience.

Bottom line, I strongly recommend you guys to accept this defensive play style and to work harder to tactfully counter their tactics / break through their defence. Nothing's more satisfying than having a big lead in the round while they themselves play "catch up" when you turn the tide on them smile.gif

EDIT: disinterpreted = misinterpreted.

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 16 2009, 01:27 PM
rawfish
post Mar 16 2009, 06:58 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Ex_Guile @ Mar 16 2009, 05:53 PM)
Hi everybody, I'm Peter the one who using guile yesterday. Instead of crouching heavy punch  i use flash kick due to more damage so most of the time i was crouching. Sorry, I don't know if you guys was feel irritating. I'll put more effort on using guile to play more offensive and not to disappointed you all anymore. btw, I enjoy playing with you guys and i did learn something from all of you. I should hang out with you guys more frequently rather than playing online (tmnet su*ks) and robot. Hope to cya guys soon. ggs.
You can be sorry if you're going against the fast-paced flow of casual matches where win/lose doesn't really matter, moreover among friends, but never ever, never ever - be sorry for having your own style of play. Don't let anyone tell you different. The only reason people get mad COULD be:

1) perhaps they don't feel the need to invest more effort or patience than you, to go for the WIN

2) perhaps they feel threatened that by blocking some/all/most of their block strings, it becomes ineffective hence reflect on their own character inadequacies. That way, you've already won the match psychologically

3) perhaps they have the perception that turtlers are boring to play against, which INFHO is indeed not interesting but also offers a unique challenge, as I am presented with more attacking options this way while the opponent figures out how to punish any of my mistakes. More importantly, it provides good training experience against similar turtlers. Face it, defensive players are around and here to stay so what can we do about it?

People who don't adopt and evolve will always be at the losing end - regardless if they play rush or turtle.
rawfish
post Mar 16 2009, 07:17 PM

30 posts

Sifu Alvin hah hah, yeah I like the way you put it. My point on posting here is not to advocate or defend turtling, but sharing a bit my opinion that it's a way of life in the SF world. Even careless offensive play will cause lifebar-depletion symptoms hehe smile.gif

Just like a broken record... i repeat... damn it felt GOOD getting my A$$ kicked by that Jap Vega. Turtle turtle... poke... bait.. turtle... go for KILL... "YOU LOSE"!!

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 16 2009, 11:02 PM
rawfish
post Mar 16 2009, 07:27 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Mar 16 2009, 07:19 PM)
haha .. nick ,  u felt that too tongue.gif ???
Wahaha - true or not. That's why Japs are good. Many arcades = better competition. Evolved gameplay + innovation = pwnzage skillzzz!!111 We're not only far behind, looks like we don't have a good chance to catch up. Glad people like Alan and you guys are organizing/participating in get-togethers smile.gif

Hey Mike, Abel's your friend ok. Not the forgetful Frenchie... the REAL Abel haha smile.gif

Added on March 16, 2009, 7:29 pm
QUOTE(Ex_Guile @ Mar 16 2009, 07:24 PM)
haha.. thanks bro.. try to connect PSN and have some fun with you if possible tonight.. because nic might coming to my house tonight as well..
Bro.. tonight I think I need to catch up with work ler. Till very late.. otherwise cannot even afford wantan mee. Another day ok.. here got many other better people to gaduh with smile.gif

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 16 2009, 07:29 PM
rawfish
post Mar 16 2009, 11:16 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(brastel @ Mar 16 2009, 10:46 PM)
lol crouching unblockables. what a fancy way to call an overhead attack heh

just got back from my first arcades session after a month hiatus, learned some stuff from a vega(dictator) who taught me how to counter his moves etc. he used to play blanka but he said blanka's boring haha. i need to work more on my defense..

one thing for sure, playing on the arcades feel much nicer than on HRAP3, everything is just smoother i dunno sad.gif
Wow Brastel, you really are in a good location (Nippon!!!) to have first-hand experience with Japanese play-style. Seen any top-level game play there? If so, must be very exciting, to even be a bystander!

All SF4 cabinets there are like this right? Taito Vewlix *yummy*

Not even a full Sanwa-modded HRAP3 can compare with the experience of being there.
rawfish
post Mar 17 2009, 06:09 PM

30 posts

Can you just feel the love here.

Anyway, I won't be playing much now but am still pretty much into this game. I am currently undertaking a new self-funded secret SF project which matters I can't discuss much here but it should involve popular Japanese and American players . Details may be revealed shortly, depending on my need to balance my time at work with paid projects.

Addition: Alan! The food was decently priced with good portions, as with the drinks. No further comments other than having a PS3 + 2 good sticks there permanently for matches.

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 17 2009, 06:12 PM
rawfish
post Mar 17 2009, 06:19 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(hatred___ @ Mar 17 2009, 06:12 PM)
No love. Only hatred_________________________________________________________
Is there any reason to add 54 extra underscore characters?

More on the get-togethers, Alan - I myself will be free on Sundays. I even know some people who run underground "SF4 Fight Clubs" and frequent on an almost daily basis at ungodly hours... hence the suggestion earlier on. They will definitely show up if there's another big tourney smile.gif

This post has been edited by rawfish: Mar 17 2009, 06:20 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:14 AM