Don't simply spam special attacks and play smart. Some special attacks leaves you open to attacks. That is a first start. All of the buttons has it's uses.
Games Street Fighter 4 Tournament Malaysia 2009, ARE YOU STILL A STREET FIGHTER?
Feb 26 2009, 04:27 AM
24,327 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
Don't simply spam special attacks and play smart. Some special attacks leaves you open to attacks. That is a first start. All of the buttons has it's uses.
Mar 1 2009, 10:14 PM
Yeah, great tournament. It would be even better if you see more good players from Penang and Ipoh if they still plays.
Mar 1 2009, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(tanleeseng @ Mar 1 2009, 10:44 PM) Been there today to watch the finals. The event I think turned out better than the previous Soul Calibur IV Tournament. Although I'm sorry to say this but the final match (Ryu Vs. Ken) is not as exciting as the fight for 3rd and 4th place (Blanka Vs. Balrog/M.Bison). Maybe it is because Ryu & Ken's attack power has been toned down in SFIV. Next stop....Tekken 6 Tournament....maybe ? Hopefully... It was a tactical game and the guy I played against is a friend who trained with me. He knows all my moves and my game was horrible. The one who don't last loses. Ryu and Ken fights are also common so it's nothing new. Ryu/Ken's combos are quite high in damage if it strikes. |
Mar 1 2009, 11:10 PM
The champion and third are from Sungei Wang. They are not active in the internet. They trained with me and some other friends who didn't take part in the tourney. There is also one C Viper who didn't show up for the tourney and he is also a very good player.
This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 1 2009, 11:11 PM |
Mar 1 2009, 11:14 PM
You are really good since you play only 3 days and you used DS3. You would be even better if you play for more than 2 weeks and use a joystick.
Mar 2 2009, 03:36 AM
QUOTE(MasterAlvin @ Mar 2 2009, 02:23 AM) Wait till u see other cross ups I've used Ken all the way to final for this tourmanent cause I was barring myself of taking advantage using other characters. I could use Ryu, Ken and Zangief effectively. Using a single character was a rule on my previous tournaments and I believe it is also a rule for the most of the tourmanents for overseas. It is actually good rule cause it will force you trying to win a fight against a bogey character. There are bogey characters for everyone. I've done it before on my old days. The reason for having so many same characters is because the time for training is too short. You can't expect people to have a new character ready for a tourney in 3 weeks. I've also train a lot less frequently compare to old times. This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 2 2009, 03:40 AM |
Mar 2 2009, 03:52 AM
I know. Hopefully there are more tourneys for this in the future so other characters could shine. I know a C Viper player who is very good.
It was the best tournament for me compare to previous ones. Thanks for organizing such a great tournament. Keep it up. QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Mar 1 2009, 11:32 PM) Tristan, thanks. Wish I owned the game, and a stick. Thanks. Yeah, my DP is quite accurate. Used to be around 90% though. I heard from my friend that you practiced jump positionings against Ken's DP. I don't how much that will affect my game if I play you again but I know when not to use it most of the time. Hope we meet again some other time. I'm sure you can be a very good player. The amount of time you practiced just to get to this level is just amazing. On top of that, you are using DS3.I must also say you have the best reaction anti air Dragon Punch I've seen. It was slightly safer to jump in at your friend than against you. If you saw me during the practise rounds before the semi finals, I had Alvin's bro try to teach me the range of the walking EX Dragon Punch, which stops jump ins from like 80% of the screen! I lost my concetration on the final. I used too much of it fighting my friend's Blanka. He's really a more of a headache than any other friends cause his Blanka is my Ryu/Ken's bogeyman. This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 2 2009, 04:28 AM |
Mar 2 2009, 03:07 PM
This tournament is the best. You should see how it was 10-13 years ago. It will be even better when there is another and you'll get better matches when other character players are there. The time for training is just too short for other characters to shine.
Don't forget SF4 is only available for us on Febuary 2009. People on overseas get to play it on the arcades somewhere on June 2008. It takes time for us to catch up with them if you wanna see the true skills but of course older players like me will have a wall. This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 2 2009, 03:09 PM |
Mar 2 2009, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Mar 2 2009, 03:28 PM) Well, you all could come to Sungei Wang Plaza, 6th floor, Games Hypermart for some friendlies. We usually screw around on that game. You also could find things that you never seen on the tourney, especially the new characters and the ones people don't use. Take this chance for your training and you'll probably learn something from us.Cineleisure is just too far for me. Travelling there already got me exhausted a bit. I will go there but I won't go there often. Alan will know if I'm going there. You can also come to my place at Genting Court if you stay nearby. Bring a joystick along and we got game. QUOTE(thespawnx @ Mar 2 2009, 06:00 PM) alrite, free game, i hv no reason 2 reject Can't do much about it. It is a tournament. I read your game and took advantage of it. You still need more training and experience.Added on March 2, 2009, 6:02 pm hey TristanX, nice game...luv ur ken i was 1 of the contestent which was knock out at the very 1st round on knockout stage:P This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 2 2009, 10:25 PM |
Mar 2 2009, 10:25 PM
Yeah, I forgot you fought my friend's Ken. hehe
Nothing much we can do for the distance we have. Sucks that we can't teleport. QUOTE(alanmukkl @ Mar 2 2009, 03:14 PM) Hello...you old liow lah....time to SAU SAN ( retire in Cantonese ) Let the new Generation play....or Lets say we have newbies pay you for you to train them...anyone wants to pay TristanX for training.? I told you on the day you organized the tournament, I'm getting old. roflMy concentration didn't last long enough after an all out game against my friend's Blanka. At least I still beat my own expectation reaching the final though. You don't need to pay anything when you play me or see me play. Certain things still requires you to learn it yourself though. You'll learn when you play better players. This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 2 2009, 11:20 PM |
Mar 3 2009, 01:54 AM
Cool, see ya on weekends
Mar 3 2009, 06:02 PM
Mar 4 2009, 12:19 PM
lol. Don't kill me ler.
I want Custom Combo. hehehe |
Mar 6 2009, 01:35 AM
It was disappointing that my friend is off for today. His usual off day is Wednesday. At least we get to play at my place. hehe
Yeah, you need to get used to your joystick and need more experience. You could catch me off guard. |
Mar 6 2009, 02:51 AM
That nasi lemak is cheap and nice. I'll be at Freddy's this Saturday. hehe
QUOTE(alanmukkl @ Mar 5 2009, 02:36 PM) Dont worry Penang or other States...I am currently working on a Tournament that involve the whole Malaysia....Keep finger cross that I can find enough sponsors ok? Oh plan for a TV show too.... There were some really good Penang and Ipoh players 10 years ago. I really miss them.This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 6 2009, 02:55 AM |
Mar 6 2009, 04:35 AM
I have their old contacts. Wished they didn't change their numbers.
Mar 7 2009, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(brastel @ Mar 7 2009, 02:44 AM) lol still studying, going into my final year though. Hope you can bring back some tricks from Japan. hehethe sf scene there is crazy yo. im glad we also have one, albeit a really new and small group but from what ive seen things are proly gonna get better soon.. heh |
Mar 8 2009, 09:08 PM
Not really. There are either equal or not as good as us 10 years ago. I'm looking forward for someone like our old days now. Our group won't last forever.
Mar 12 2009, 03:06 PM
Woi, don't plan to bully "old" man ler.
Mar 12 2009, 10:25 PM
3 games on characters that I don't know much. Nice one...
| Change to: | 0.0378sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:59 PM |