127 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Games Street Fighter 4 Tournament Malaysia 2009, ARE YOU STILL A STREET FIGHTER?

lykiat
post Jun 13 2009, 09:40 PM

well overall I think most people had fun, I was just there playing for Fun and using Dan haha. Met a lot of nice players and Alan, as usual did a good job.

Good luck to all the finalist tomorrow, if I have time I'll come over and support you guys.
InkySliwinky
post Jun 13 2009, 10:10 PM

QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Jun 13 2009, 09:39 PM)
It's cool man, there was a super noob kid that was just mashing. Point is to go and have fun. smile.gif

shinjite

No projector, we're just playing on huge Sony LCDs.
u sure that kid wasnt me ? lol i was pretty clueless hahaha...
Darkstalker
post Jun 13 2009, 10:32 PM

214 posts

If you played only 3 rounds it wasn't you. This kid played many times with us. smile.gif
MasterAlvin
post Jun 13 2009, 11:29 PM

Not my Head!! Not my HEAD!!!!
1,677 posts

QUOTE(InkySliwinky @ Jun 13 2009, 09:29 PM)
doesnt matter la .. so much for fair fight .. meh wasted rm14 ... they think every1 can afford arcade sticks meh .. my god .. not to mention 1 round .. lol facepalm sia ...
lol i was losing like crab also mah. you are not alone.
the point is, there are hardly many chances to let all the good players meet up and compete.
so this is really for that purpose.
it's not like you get trashed that badly, most of this country's best players were there today.
i only had 4 wins out of more than 15 fights. no big deal. it was fun trying my best to juggle tristanx. hahaha

QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Jun 13 2009, 09:39 PM)
It's cool man, there was a super noob kid that was just mashing. Point is to go and have fun. smile.gif

shinjite

No projector, we're just playing on huge Sony LCDs.
you forgot about me kekeke. i was a noob there too.
thanks to desmond mike myke tristan and all those i havent mentioned for being there and being nice today.
it's always a pleasure playing against you guys as you guys are always willing to teach and give tips.
boogalogist
post Jun 13 2009, 11:36 PM

Where are the vids?!?!
Darkstalker
post Jun 13 2009, 11:58 PM

214 posts

I know Alvin was taking some. Bug him for it.

I dunno if anyone else has a camera. XD
InkySliwinky
post Jun 14 2009, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(MasterAlvin @ Jun 13 2009, 11:29 PM)
lol i was losing like crab also mah. you are not alone.
the point is, there are hardly many chances to let all the good players meet up and compete.
so this is really for that purpose.
it's not like you get trashed that badly, most of this country's best players were there today.
i only had 4 wins out of more than 15 fights. no big deal. it was fun trying my best to juggle tristanx. hahaha
you forgot about me kekeke. i was a noob there too.
thanks to desmond mike myke tristan and all those i havent mentioned for being there and being nice today.
it's always a pleasure playing against you guys as you guys are always willing to teach and give tips.
the part which makes no sense is they let us warm up using d3 .. then force us to use arcade sticks .. wheres the sense in that .. if i had time to get used to the sticks mayb i wouldnt have been so clueless .. i mean use common sense la ... that part is pure facepalm ... like teaching someone how 2 play football then telling him to go play basketball >.<

This post has been edited by InkySliwinky: Jun 14 2009, 12:12 AM
technophile
post Jun 14 2009, 12:14 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

i'm the guy who's in the liverpool jersey who gave free wins to ppl and decided to play rock band instead. LOL.

nice meeting you guys tho!
Darkstalker
post Jun 14 2009, 12:18 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(InkySliwinky @ Jun 14 2009, 12:11 AM)
the part which makes no sense is they let us warm up using d3 .. then force us to use arcade sticks
Originally, we were all going to be forced DS3.

Then some people (not sure who) were like "Hey, we don't mind you using our sticks man."

Thus, the sticks replaced the DS3s.
TristanX
post Jun 14 2009, 12:19 AM

Where is my stars?
24,328 posts

QUOTE(InkySliwinky @ Jun 14 2009, 12:11 AM)
the part which makes no sense is they let us warm up using d3 .. then force us to use arcade sticks .. wheres the sense in that .. if i had time to get used to the sticks mayb i wouldnt have been so clueless .. i mean use common sense la ... that part is pure facepalm ... like teaching someone how 2 play football then telling him to go play basketball >.<
It's because you have to use joysticks when it's time for the organizers to send players overseas. Go and see the international videos.
brastel
post Jun 14 2009, 12:32 AM

LOL tristan was there? No wonder dude's so frustrated LOL

Anyway yeah, stick > pad by a million years. Preferring to use DS3 is like preferring to be handicapped.

So who're the finalists?

I'm gonna post links to vids of last week's TRF beginner's tourney, Fuerte won that one. And i lost badly haha. Stupid claw gargh.
TristanX
post Jun 14 2009, 01:08 AM

Where is my stars?
24,328 posts

Marathon continues tomorrow. There is no finalists. I think top winners will get prizes.

I'm sorry if you think being forced to use joystick is handicap for you. I know you can't afford it but I've been at your age before. I just go to the arcades and play it on my days. Street Fighter is meant to be played on joysticks.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jun 14 2009, 01:12 AM
brastel
post Jun 14 2009, 01:18 AM

Any idea who's the current top winner then? And is he maining a sagat? biggrin.gif

Yeah, SF is meant to be played on a joystick, you'll never reach your full potential playing on DS3.

Malaysia(especially KL) needs SF4 machines, like now. LOL somebody plz revive the arcade scene in Malaysia.
InkySliwinky
post Jun 14 2009, 01:21 AM

QUOTE(brastel @ Jun 14 2009, 01:18 AM)
Any idea who's the current top winner then? And is he maining a sagat? biggrin.gif

Yeah, SF is meant to be played on a joystick, you'll never reach your full potential playing on DS3.

Malaysia(especially KL) needs SF4 machines, like now. LOL somebody plz revive the arcade scene in Malaysia.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2o20QNMRcHU lol this video tends to say otherwise... in any case.. dont the arcade versions have less characters ?.. might save up for a TE later... dunno yet

This post has been edited by InkySliwinky: Jun 14 2009, 01:21 AM
brastel
post Jun 14 2009, 01:36 AM

LOL that vid proves nothing(matter fact i think its stupid). Pull off combos in training mode? Proves nothing at all.

There are tons of thing you can do better with a joystick. Better overall controls, double tapping, plinking, etc etc.

Its like, people who play casually/pad are like people who play football at the field barefeet(sure its fun) and people who play seriously/stick wears proper footwear/boots(you're not necessarily better, but you're in proper gear and with training you can definitely get better compared to if youre only barefooted).

Added on June 14, 2009, 1:42 amTRF Beginner Tourney (2nd round, i got a bye for the first round LOL)

http://d.hatena.ne.jp/video/niconico/sm7320772

oh how convenient, my match is the first. haha. i will do better next week thats for sure, unless im gonna be matched up with zangief D:

This post has been edited by brastel: Jun 14 2009, 01:42 AM
TristanX
post Jun 14 2009, 01:53 AM

Where is my stars?
24,328 posts

I didn't keep track but I think me, Whatwhatinmybutt, darkstalker, mikee, rawfish and vanishing83 are on it. There are more but I forgot.
brastel
post Jun 14 2009, 01:56 AM

LOL Tristan, time to let the young blood win biggrin.gif

Plus, you already have a PS3. haha.

Good luck to everyone! I'll play yall when i come back for 2 weeks this September haha.

and i want nasi lemak Genting Klang hahahha

edited: fixed biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by brastel: Jun 14 2009, 02:03 AM
TristanX
post Jun 14 2009, 02:00 AM

Where is my stars?
24,328 posts

My place is not Wangsa Maju, it's Genting Klang. Hey, I lost 6 games today but I think I got around 30 wins.
leongteng5
post Jun 14 2009, 02:26 AM

27 posts

To me the matter of using a pad or stick is more of a preference. Whatever works for the player. I'm a pad user because I'm a cheapskate and I've grown into it to the point I can fight with the best with it. I don't plink or doubletap, I can work my game just fine without it, so why waste 500 bucks.

Anyway I get where the organizers are going with this. It's a marathon, and it's important not to lose time changing d-pad to stick and back again, that's the real reason why pad got banned. I don't blame Alan or anyone for this, but too bad as it barred the casual player and pad users from performing their best or even try playing as they're not used to sticks. But I guess there will be future tournaments that won't limit us next time, yeah?

But looking back another thing is it's retarded that they reduced the rounds to just 1 round. I know it;s a marathon and time's a factor but man..it's not SF4 with just 1 round.
brastel
post Jun 14 2009, 02:33 AM

Eh I didnt know about the 1 round thing. Thats kinda retarded LOL but hey this is an event of its own. SF4 Marathon w00t

Anyway yeah i might sound a lil bit harsh up there, of course its also a matter of preference. But I still believe that you cant get to get to your max potential playing on a pad and that a pro stick player can beat a pro pad player more often than the other way around. (no disrespect to leongteng n other pad users)

127 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:45 AM