Resignation Handbook, Revamp in progress 240614

faceless
post Jul 25 2011, 12:30 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jul 25 2011, 11:27 AM)
Guys, how to deal victimization during notice period? Can action be taken from the employee side?

Victimisation in what form?
jayxunned
post Jul 25 2011, 03:17 PM

478 posts

Hi i still under probation, now only reach one month. My employer told me their Secretary forgot to include 24hour notice resignation for probation period.

So, even the offer letter does not state but it was stated by the employer, am i able to leave the company within 24 hr?

But anyway is it wise to leave after 1 month probation

cathy82
post Jul 25 2011, 04:35 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Jul 25 2011, 03:17 PM)
Hi i still under probation, now only reach one month. My employer told me their Secretary forgot to include 24hour notice resignation for probation period.

So, even the offer letter does not state but it was stated by the employer, am i able to leave the company within 24 hr?

But anyway is it wise to leave after 1 month probation
since the offer letter is not stated, you may leave within 24 hrs... but I'm curious, it's only 24 hrs notice, you can't even wait?

If you don't like the job, better just leave, no point wasting your time & your employer's.
jayxunned
post Jul 26 2011, 01:06 AM

478 posts

QUOTE(cathy82 @ Jul 25 2011, 04:35 PM)
since the offer letter is not stated, you may leave within 24 hrs... but I'm curious, it's only 24 hrs notice, you can't even wait?

If you don't like the job, better just leave, no point wasting your time & your employer's.
Of cuz i will take salary and all the allowance claim first only leave lol.

Yea, no point wasting his time, unmotivated to do anything he gave.
furryfluffy
post Jul 26 2011, 02:08 AM

Pass That Exam!
1,375 posts

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Jul 26 2011, 01:06 AM)
Of cuz i will take salary and all the allowance claim first only leave lol.

Yea, no point wasting his time, unmotivated to do anything he gave.
What demotivates u?

I also want to know what employee wan nowadays.

Added on July 26, 2011, 2:31 am
QUOTE(burningbun @ Jul 15 2011, 12:01 PM)
Just wondering is it normal for a country to set the max wage the act protects?
Act is passed by Parliament. Yes.

A person without sound mental capacity/incompetent ("illiterate") cannot enter into contract if they do not understand the terms laid in the contract.

The act covers this area of employment of low wage earner.

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jul 25 2011, 11:27 AM)
Guys, how to deal victimization during notice period? Can action be taken from the employee side?
Full story please. How were u victimized?

Victimization comes in the form of constructive dismissal, yes.

Else use defamation law: libel and slander.

Libel is when such words are expressed in a permanent form which is usually visible to the eye, like in a book, e-mail or picture.

Slander is when such words are expressed in a temporary form, usually when spoken or made by body movements.

This post has been edited by furryfluffy: Jul 26 2011, 02:31 AM
faceless
post Jul 26 2011, 08:57 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(furryfluffy @ Jul 26 2011, 02:08 AM)
What demotivates u?

I also want to know what employee wan nowadays.

In this case his heart is already set on greener pastures elsewhere so there is no mood to do anymore work.

nonoi1231
post Jul 26 2011, 09:26 AM

88 posts

I would like to know whether or not I should pay back my company due to I left the company immediately per doc's advised?

My situation is I'm pregnant and having complication with my pregnancy. Earlier I have had one misscariaged. So, I have received advised by the gynea of the hospital to resign for the sake of my second pregnancy.

I went to the office and handed over the resignation letter enclosed the letter from the hospital. My boss acknowledged and said will inf HR to waive the 1 month notice period. After all, I wasnt fit to work.

Suddenly, after 2 months, I received a letter from the HR to ask me to pay them back. The letter inf me to pay within 14days of the date of the letter but I only received the letter after 1month plus. Should I just ignore the letter since the amount they ask me to pay is not that much as to compare with the amount they will require to pay for the law?
Furthermore, wouldnt I have rights to also bring up this matter to the labor court on my behalf?

Pls help me..... Btw, my job was a customer service job with a bank and the turn over of the company is sooo high till everyday got ppl come and go.
ben83
post Jul 26 2011, 06:39 PM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 25 2011, 12:30 PM)
Victimisation in what form?
For example asking colleagues to boycott you & don't allow you to correspond with any internal company visitors or customers.
faceless
post Jul 27 2011, 11:12 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(nonoi1231 @ Jul 26 2011, 09:26 AM)
I went to the office and handed over the resignation letter enclosed the letter from the hospital. My boss acknowledged and said will inf HR to waive the 1 month notice period. After all, I wasnt fit to work.

Furthermore, wouldnt I have rights to also bring up this matter to the labor court on my behalf?

You do not owe them a single Sen. Dont ignore the letter. Remind them that your boss said payment in lieu of notice will be waive on medical grounds. I think there is some miscommunications along the way. Perhaps your boss did not memo down the intention to waive payments.

Yes you can bring this matter up to the labour courts and the civil court (discrimination against women) but lets not go into that for now. They may just retract their letter after you have written too them. As a bank I am sure they dont want this kind of trouble.

Do let the thread know of any further developments. If they are trying to take advantage of you, I am sure there are enough forumers here with knowledge on this issue to advise you accordingly.

P/S Sorry to hear about your complication. I wish you the best in bringing forth a child to this world safely.

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jul 26 2011, 06:39 PM)
For example asking colleagues to boycott you & don't allow you to correspond with any internal company visitors or customers.

This should not be an issue. Furthermore you cant prove it. If they boycott you when you need to interact with them for official purpose, then make a record of it. Shoot a memo to the boss that you are not getting cooperation from so and so.

This post has been edited by faceless: Jul 27 2011, 11:19 AM
beast_doadore
post Jul 28 2011, 11:20 AM

230 posts

I should pass my resignation letter to who???

I've 3 bosses which 2 big bosses and 1 small boss.
so I should submit my resignation letter to 1 big boss directly
or I have to pass 1 copy to my line manager and another 3 copies to each bosses one copy? confusing =.='''

This post has been edited by beast_doadore: Jul 28 2011, 11:23 AM
faceless
post Jul 28 2011, 11:53 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(beast_doadore @ Jul 28 2011, 11:20 AM)
I should pass my resignation letter to who???

I've 3 bosses which 2 big bosses and 1 small boss.
so I should submit my resignation letter to 1 big boss directly
or I have to pass 1 copy to my line manager and another 3 copies to each bosses one copy? confusing =.='''

Yes, it seems to me that the line manager is you immediate boss. So write to him and cc to other 'bigger" bosses.

beast_doadore
post Jul 28 2011, 12:04 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 28 2011, 11:53 AM)
Yes, it seems to me that the line manager is you immediate boss. So write to him and cc to other 'bigger" bosses.
my line manager is no my boss, he is also a staff of the company.
I couldnt cc through email due to all the staff using the same email..(Small medium Company)
faceless
post Jul 28 2011, 12:11 PM

4,515 posts

Address the letter to your line manager. It is proper protocol to write to you immediate superior/boss. Immediate superior does not have to own the company. A bank officer had to write to the bank manager if he need to resign. The bank manager is not the boss of the bank.

To: Line manager
cc: Boss1, boss2, boss3

You dont need to make copies since they all share the same email.
beast_doadore
post Jul 28 2011, 12:20 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 28 2011, 12:11 PM)
Address the letter to your line manager. It is proper protocol to write to you immediate superior/boss. Immediate superior does not have to own the company. A bank officer had to write to the bank manager if he need to resign. The bank manager is not the boss of the bank.

To: Line manager
cc: Boss1, boss2, boss3

You dont need to make copies since they all share the same email.
I know what is the right way now. thanks rclxms.gif
wu ming
post Jul 30 2011, 06:16 PM

1,143 posts

Hi guys. I need advise. I joined this current company thru a bond which lasted 24 months.
Now I am deciding to quit.
According to offer letter, if I quit I need to give 1 month notice & pay up the bond.
Company handbook states 3 months notice if to quit.
Wrote an email to HR and this is the reply.

Dear Wu Ming,

With reference to your query, if for example you tender your resignation by 13th June 2011 and your last official date will be falls on 12th July 2011 (before minus any leave excess)

Your commencement date with xxxx dated on 1st Sept 2009 and your duration served service with xxxx is 22 months. Accordingly to your training bond, you were need to refund back xxxx of RM5K.

Hope this is cleared with you.

Please feel free to contact should further assistance is needed.

Regards,
HR

It is the last month of my bond (August). So if i tender now, logically I should serve 1 month notice & no need to pay the bond because I have already serve 24 months in the company. Am I right?

Please advise. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wu ming: Aug 2 2011, 07:28 AM
faceless
post Aug 1 2011, 12:48 PM

4,515 posts

Wu Ming,

As stated you last day is 12 July. You need to compensate them from 13 July to 1 Sep.
aKiSuSu
post Aug 3 2011, 12:22 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(nonoi1231 @ Jul 26 2011, 09:26 AM)

I would like to know whether or not I should pay back my company due to I left the company immediately per doc's advised?

My situation is I'm pregnant and having complication with my pregnancy. Earlier I have had one misscariaged. So, I have received advised by the gynea of the hospital to resign for the sake of my second pregnancy.

Suddenly, after 2 months, I received a letter from the HR to ask me to pay them back. The letter inf me to pay within 14days of the date of the letter but I only received the letter after 1month plus. Should I just ignore the letter since the amount they ask me to pay is not that much as to compare with the amount they will require to pay for the law?

Pls help me..... Btw, my job was a customer service job with a bank and the turn over of the company is sooo high till everyday got ppl come and go.
You should ve printed two copies of resignation letter and asked your boss to sign on your copy with the date and his name/title that he let you go without the charges, it's a measurement for you to bring up this matter to the labor court, with a PROVE (oral promise is useless, you need signature/black and white), alot of people forgotten to keep a copy of resignation letter with their superior's signature, and turn over kena the company sue back over stuff like "etc this guy didn't resign at all, he didn't come to work", such cases mostly happen in smaller company, as for bigger company they ill sue you even if the lawyer fee more than what they are getting back, cause they need the face and the people's trust, you need to learn to protect yourself. And how about your leaves? should ve included by the time you handed your resignation letter.

As for this
within 14days of the date of the letter but I only received the letter after 1month plus

Most probably you can ignore it.

This post has been edited by aKiSuSu: Aug 3 2011, 12:28 PM
TommyTan
post Aug 3 2011, 03:27 PM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Jul 30 2011, 06:16 PM)
Hi guys. I need advise. I joined this current company thru a bond which lasted 24 months.
Now I am deciding to quit.
According to offer letter, if I quit I need to give 1 month notice & pay up the bond.
Company handbook states 3 months notice if to quit.
Wrote an email to HR and this is the reply.
It is the last month of my bond (August). So if i tender now, logically I should serve 1 month notice & no need to pay the bond because I have already serve 24 months in the company. Am I right?

Please advise. notworthy.gif
if you can bear it, finish the bond period THEN only tender.

this type of thing happen so often that someone interpret like you do, and end up being asked to pay stupid amounts to the company.

in other words, a lot of company will not consider the period when you serve notice as "normal employment".
debbieyss
post Aug 5 2011, 11:16 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

Hi, need help urgently.

In fact, if that company is which we really wanted to join, but we do not agree with certain terms of the offer letter, can we negotiate with HR? Or we have to follow whatever terms that mentioned in the offer letter?

TommyTan
post Aug 5 2011, 02:17 PM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Aug 5 2011, 11:16 AM)
Hi, need help urgently.

In fact, if that company is which we really wanted to join, but we do not agree with certain terms of the offer letter, can we negotiate with HR? Or we have to follow whatever terms that mentioned in the offer letter?
Depends inf you can live with those terms or not, or how likely those term will come into effect.

For example if its about bond period, and payback if you break the bond I doubt they will change the terms.

At least ask to nego the term, but I'd go through the hiring manager rather than HR

73 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:35 AM