Resignation Handbook, Revamp in progress 240614
furryfluffy
Dec 14 2010, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(Secret_Garden @ Dec 13 2010, 04:39 PM) Hi All, I tendered my letter on 28/10/2010 with a short notice that i will left the company on 15th Dec 2010, my annual and replacement leave total up have 17 days . My notice period is 3 month, so my last day should be 25/01/2011. After deduct with my leaves, starting from 8/01/2011 to 25/01/2011 is the days that I need to compensate back. I want to know that the compensation is it include weekend and 20/01/2011 (public holiday) according to Malaysia labour law? I need to pay also on those weekends and public holiday??? or no need to pay? My current company HR said that I need to pay on those days (weekends and 20/01/2011). Any HR personal expert can help me out? So i can argue back with Malaysia labour law. Thanks for reading my story. 1) Refer to Employment Act 1955. It is not labour law. 2) U do not need to pay the public holiday and weekend.
furryfluffy
Dec 31 2010, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(metaltooth @ Dec 30 2010, 12:57 PM) Hi All - Can i take the marriage leave (real one,,not trying to cheat etc) while im serving the 1-mth notice resignation period? Pls advice. thanks Ask ur HR. Some company allow, some dun.
furryfluffy
Apr 26 2011, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(afosz @ Apr 25 2011, 09:48 AM) Probation ends until end of month with termination period of 24 hours notice. I wish to end my contract up to probation period. Should I inform and give formal letter earlier, or just follow what's written ? My concern is the salary, where should I wait for it first ? Because I'm afraid that tender resignation earlier, salary will not be given.You will be paid pro-rated to the date you leave. Up to you when you want to serve the notice.
furryfluffy
Apr 27 2011, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(afosz @ Apr 27 2011, 11:16 AM) I'm sorry but what is pro-rated ? pro-rated: To divide proportionately If ur monthly salary = RM6,000 U leave on 20th of the month. So you get paid (RM6,000 รท 30) x 20 days = RM4,000.00
furryfluffy
Apr 27 2011, 05:07 PM
QUOTE(afosz @ Apr 27 2011, 01:45 PM) Ahh I see ! Thanks, but I believe the employer doesn't do pro-rated. QUOTE(afosz @ Apr 27 2011, 04:20 PM) Meaning that I left my previous company in the middle of the month and they did not inform me anything regarding my 2 weeks of service, hence 2 weeks pay, I have the right to collect it ? What if the employer says no ? Any action I can take ? So u did charity work? U work for wages and you are entitled to take whatever effort/work u put in. Unless u r terminated due to gross misconduct QUOTE(afosz @ Apr 27 2011, 04:38 PM) What if as stated in contract as 24 hours termination and I follow the terms, but the employer refuse to accept it as 24 hours, requesting me to leave at the end of the month, but I still leave based on 24 hours notice.Yes u can leave.
furryfluffy
Apr 27 2011, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(afosz @ Apr 27 2011, 05:24 PM) No I did not terminated due to misconduct. If that's the case, I will insist on requesting my pay then. Thank you so much for the advice.  Yes u r entitled to the wages. Dun be scared to ask. A lot company like to: 1) delay payment 2) dun wan pay 3) deduct wat they can
furryfluffy
Apr 28 2011, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(SLCS @ Apr 28 2011, 11:02 AM) Hi, I wud appreciate if anyone cud share with me or advice me on wat to do. Secnario : My salary is above 6K. My last day with company A is on the 15 April (verbal agreement between me and the director) the company has agree to offset my annual leave and hence I was allowed to leave on the 11 April. I started with the new company on the 12 April. Need Help : I just found out that my previous company (company A) refused to release my salary due in April What can I do now? Please advice reason given for not releasing the salary? Or will be released later?
furryfluffy
Apr 28 2011, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(SLCS @ Apr 28 2011, 11:14 AM) Reason being was I join the new company before 15th april. Pls advcie . thanks ????? wat kinda reason is this. The previous company (Company A) should pay you pro-rated salary (up to 15/April). Please talk to the boss/HR. They cant make you work for free from 1st April to 15th April (annual leave is entitled for normal pay).
furryfluffy
Apr 28 2011, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(SLCS @ Apr 28 2011, 11:22 AM) The director say that he allow me to offset my leave hence my last working day is 15April but since I work on the 12 apr with a new company he has the right to stop paying. I am so confused right now.No such thing lar...
furryfluffy
Apr 28 2011, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(SLCS @ Apr 28 2011, 12:14 PM) unfortunately this is the action that he insist is right....what can I do now tell him nicely: You worked from 1st Apr to 15Apr. U are entitled for the prorated pay. u cant work for free. you have resigned according to procedure. there is nothing that u done wrong.
furryfluffy
Apr 28 2011, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 28 2011, 09:35 AM) You still have not told the thread how long ago you leave this place. If anything more than six month the labour office my not entertain you. got such time frame meh? Akta Had Masa 1953 got 6 yrs mar: QUOTE Mengikut Seksyen 6(1), Akta Had Masa 1953, sesuatu tindakan yang terbit daripada kontrak dan tort haruslah dibawa ke mahkamah dalam tempoh masa enam tahun.
furryfluffy
May 9 2011, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(bakkutt3h @ May 9 2011, 02:22 AM) hi, just wanna ask, do i have to state my reason to leave the company in resignation letter? No. Not compulsory.
furryfluffy
May 9 2011, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(lovebattery @ May 9 2011, 04:57 PM) not necessarily. u can just say u tendering resignation and ur last day already enuff.I think just mention the the notice period will do. Some allows annual leaves to be offset etc. Sometimes there are some dispute also. Added on May 10, 2011, 12:20 pmHey guys, Normally when u resign, do u keep quiet & low profile, and most ppl dunno until almost the last day... or it is blown out of proportion and everyone knows about it? Sometimes very irritating when everyone ask: "u leaving? Go where?" This post has been edited by furryfluffy: May 10 2011, 12:20 PM
furryfluffy
May 10 2011, 11:58 PM
Next time u will need to submit resignation letter again to ask for increment?
What else u r not happy with at the current company other than pay?
How is the new company compared to this current company?
furryfluffy
May 11 2011, 01:40 PM
Let's say the company does give increment.... and if u r not happy with it, do u tell the boss/manager?
furryfluffy
May 11 2011, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(diamondclow @ May 11 2011, 03:44 PM) Currently I'm facing a quite difficult situation where I might not getting up my salary for this month  In my letter offer (for my current company) stating that I need to give 2 months notice period if I'm billable. This is the part where keep me stuck in here. I'm not sure about this part so I'm tendering 1 month notice period early of this month. And my tenure with my current company barely reach 3 months. I don't see any solid reason I need to tender 2 months notice but HR really can't release me earlier (1 month). What I can do to overcome this problem? I doesn't care to escape in unprofessional way but I think there is a way for me to resign and still getting my this month salary, right? where is ur employment contract? What does it say?
furryfluffy
May 12 2011, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(diamondclow @ May 11 2011, 09:28 PM) 1 month notice for non billable and 2 months notice for billable employee. I am consider as billable because based on customer office but still in probation period. Main reason I resign is spoiled shift schedule and manager seems to bias towards his favorite staff. We all entitle for shift allowance but almost half of the team never work on shift basis. Now I already tender my resignation letter and waiting to start at new workplace. Should I just leave them or work for free until at the end of this month? If u r billable and need 2 mths notice, then u shld serve the full 2 mths. If u wanna leave early, pay back the notice with ur salary. If u leave before the end of a full month request for prorated salary. No need work for free.
furryfluffy
May 19 2011, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(jeehouhee @ May 19 2011, 07:09 AM) Hi guys 1 questions. I join my company on 1st July 2010. My company need 1 month notice for us to resign. So if i hand out the resignation letter by tomorrow which is 20th of May. Izzit means that i need to work until 20th of Jun ? or i can CHAO on this end of May ? Kindly advise..and tq U leave end of may only 10 days. U can count right? Added on May 19, 2011, 8:28 amQUOTE(memphisto @ May 18 2011, 01:08 PM) hi people, sorry to raise this silly questions, but i just want to know... when any of you serving your notice period upon resignation, do you guys still work with full dedication, i.e. work 8 to 5 everyday, still perform all your daily chores as per before resignation...still goes for meeting and etc..... during that 3 months notice or you just do whatever you prefer, as long as you still show up for work 8 to 5, 5 days a week during the 3 months notice? thanks  Work as usual. U r still an employee until u leave. This post has been edited by furryfluffy: May 19 2011, 08:28 AM
furryfluffy
May 19 2011, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(jeehouhee @ May 19 2011, 08:52 AM) which mean i only can leave on 20 of Jun ? U can leave immediately by compensating ur employer with one month salary in lieu of notice. Or deduct whatever annual leave that u have to be released earlier
furryfluffy
May 21 2011, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(ZacZ @ May 21 2011, 02:00 PM) i am planning to quit by end of this month, and then serve the designated notice period of 3 months. that means the last month of service around end of August. there will a pay-out of bonus in end of June for the closing of FY10/11 performance, am i still entitled for the pay-out? or HR will cut me out from that? can they do that? appreciate some advise. Check with ur boss. If its for fy10, u deserve it.  U hv 3 mth resignation notice? Normally management level or very specialize field and hard to find replacement only has this long notice. What position & department r u in? This post has been edited by furryfluffy: May 22 2011, 12:14 AM