Chubbie Hamster V12, Chubbie-chubb Furball

tyliang
post Feb 1 2009, 11:34 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 29 2009, 07:37 PM)
Hamsters sleep during the day and wakes up at night. They are more active at night.

They will eat while sleeping also.
You can train your hamster to be awake in the morning and it takes time. Try to play,fill in the food during the day. About 2 months they will be awake on the day. But starting your hamster might dislike it. My robo active during the day. Provided you have a cooling cage. A heaty cage makes them sleep even more.

QUOTE(ling07 @ Feb 1 2009, 12:03 PM)
hello,
Just wanna ask
how long can a hamster live without food?

my ww died yesterday..=( so sad..
I was away for 3 days but I saw leftover in her food bowl.
Maybe she didn't like the leftover 1? sad.gif
She lived for 2 years adi..
QUOTE(ling07 @ Feb 1 2009, 07:22 PM)
*sigh*
still got water in the bottle..
I found out that her tummy was bloated.. sad.gif
so sad..I wasn't around with her when she died..
haih haih..
hope she r.i.p..
Your hamster died due bad digestion. You must have fed something SHOULDN'T be fed to your hamster. I also experience once. Moreever already 2 years. Too much vegetable maybe. And your bottle might be poisonous. Have you check? Direct pipe water got a lot of chlorine. Long term consumption kills your hamster.

scrollgurl
post Feb 1 2009, 11:52 PM

QUOTE(sangels @ Feb 1 2009, 05:38 PM)
So far no reported incident of death of humans or small animals from using Petroleum jelly since they discovered it in 1859.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petroleum_jelly

Can you post the link to the article regarding this ETHOXYQUIN? It is best to post here to let us know more.
here's the link on ETHOXYQUIN. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethoxyquin

QUOTE(opalish_ice @ Feb 1 2009, 09:01 PM)
I wasn't planning to use Kaytee, I just wanted to know for curiousity's sake  whistling.gif
And I live in Ipoh, not much choice of bedding here. But if anybody knows where i can try other good bedding please tell me!
Also does anybody know what type of wood the Chipsi bedding is made of??
well, you can use toilet roll a.k.a tissue paper.they are cheap,easy to get and not harmful. just a suggestion. btw, there are other kaytee beddings which are not wood based. or maybe you can order online.
hope these helped.

This post has been edited by scrollgurl: Feb 2 2009, 12:01 AM
Sophiera
post Feb 2 2009, 01:55 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

What should I do with my old hamster food? Throw it away? A little scared of using it...
blurjoey
post Feb 2 2009, 06:53 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(scrollgurl @ Feb 1 2009, 11:52 PM)
here's the link on ETHOXYQUIN. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethoxyquin
That's just a wikipedia site telling what is ETHOXYQUIN. Where is that article you mentioned earlier about Kaytee pet food and ETHOXYQUIN?

It only said:
It is commonly used as a preservative in pet foods to prevent the rancidification of fats.

Does this means all pet food? Then we have to boycott all pet food. Then what should we feed our pets with? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

Added on February 2, 2009, 6:55 am
QUOTE(tyliang @ Feb 1 2009, 11:34 PM)
You can train your hamster to be awake in the morning and it takes time. Try to play,fill in the food during the day. About 2 months they will be awake on the day. But starting your hamster might dislike it. My robo active during the day. Provided you have a cooling cage. A heaty cage makes them sleep even more.
Why you want to be so cruel and change their natural habit? How would you like it if your parents did that to you? How would you feel? shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 2 2009, 07:02 AM
odd_mochi
post Feb 2 2009, 07:52 AM

23 posts

Sophiera....how long is your hamster food? i think if it looks ok, u still can use it... sometimes keep for so long, can find bugs in it...sad.gif

btw, CNY season oredi lor.... u bought hamster oredi?? biggrin.gif
scrollgurl
post Feb 2 2009, 02:27 PM

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Feb 2 2009, 06:53 AM)
That's just a wikipedia site telling what is ETHOXYQUIN. Where is that article you mentioned earlier about Kaytee pet food and ETHOXYQUIN?
It only said:
Does this means all pet food? Then we have to boycott all pet food. Then what should we feed our pets with? shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
[
Ethoxyquin is a chemical preservative – and possible carcinogenic – regulated by the FDA (U.S. Food and Drug Administration) as a pesticide. While ethoxyquin cannot be used in human foods, it continues to be used in many pet food brands. Ethoxyquin has been found to promote kidney carcinogenesis and significantly increase the incidence of stomach tumors and enhanced bladder carcinogesis, according to several studies, including a recent one by The Department of Pathology, Nagoya City University Medical School, Japan. http://www.aplus-flint-river-ranch.com/def...n.php?win=small
another link: http://www.geocities.com/Petsburgh/Zoo/5650/ethoxy.html
http://www.preciouspets.org/petnblog/?p=145

to get more info why don't use search engines(yahoo,google, etc...).
although a small amount is used when we give those food( with E) it accumulates in the animal's body. plus, not all animal food i guess. i just refered to sluis's ingredients. it doesn't contain E. but it consist of Tocopherol which is safe.

This post has been edited by scrollgurl: Feb 2 2009, 02:29 PM
blurjoey
post Feb 2 2009, 02:59 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(scrollgurl @ Feb 2 2009, 02:27 PM)
Ethoxyquin is a chemical preservative – and possible carcinogenic – regulated by the FDA (U.S. Food and Drug Administration) as a pesticide. While ethoxyquin cannot be used in human foods, it continues to be used in many pet food brands. Ethoxyquin has been found to promote kidney carcinogenesis and significantly increase the incidence of stomach tumors and enhanced bladder carcinogesis, according to several studies, including a recent one by The Department of Pathology, Nagoya City University Medical School, Japan.  http://www.aplus-flint-river-ranch.com/def...n.php?win=small
another link:  http://www.geocities.com/Petsburgh/Zoo/5650/ethoxy.html
http://www.preciouspets.org/petnblog/?p=145

to get more info why don't use search engines(yahoo,google, etc...).
although a small amount is used when we give those food( with E) it accumulates in the animal's body. plus, not all animal food i guess. i just refered to sluis's ingredients. it doesn't contain E. but it consist of Tocopherol which is safe.
I do know how to search for information. But earlier you said something about Kaytee and ethoxyquin. But you didn't get that website to support your fact. But in the end you gave us website telling us what ethoxyquin is. Anyone can easily find out what is ethoxyquin. I just want the website you mentioned about Kaytee and ethoxyquin. That's all.

I found it here in another forum:
http://www.hamsterhouse.com/forum/index.ph...g72927#msg72927

More information here:
http://gerbilforum.proboards21.com/index.c...ay&thread=13187

Have a nice day! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 2 2009, 04:15 PM
scrollgurl
post Feb 2 2009, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Feb 2 2009, 02:59 PM)
I do know how to search for information. But earlier you said something about Kaytee and ethoxyquin. But you didn't get that website to support your fact. But in the end you gave us website telling us what ethoxyquin is. Anyone can easily find out what is ethoxyquin. I just want the website you mentioned about Kaytee and ethoxyquin. That's all.

I found it here in another forum:
http://www.hamsterhouse.com/forum/index.ph...g72927#msg72927

oh, silly me. you can find it in all KAYTEE YOGURT DIPS food product ( read it in the ingredients.) i'm not sure about other KAYTEE FOODS. you got to check it out. btw, here's where i found it.

http://hamsterhideout.com/forum/index.php?...2&hl=ethoxyquin
here's the website i was talking about and here's where i knew about KAYTEE foodstuffs containing ethoxyquin for the first time.

here's a link for a yogurt dips ingredient
http://www.petco.com/product/8722/Kaytee-Y..._-26-_-name_cat

(you can see ethoxyquin there too)

have a nice day too.

This post has been edited by scrollgurl: Feb 2 2009, 06:20 PM
tyliang
post Feb 2 2009, 10:22 PM

64 posts

My robo are mostly like that already. I only did to a pair and the pups all follow the parents. Is like 5 years back. Before this the hamster awake at night also not really active. Cause me not there to play with them smile.gif
zulkis
post Feb 2 2009, 11:15 PM

75 posts

My baby syrian...10 of them and 23 days old now. Various colours..

odd_mochi
post Feb 3 2009, 01:05 AM

23 posts

hi zulkis...nice and cute syrians u have there..
btw, i think it would be better for you to reduce the amount of kuaci u give the hamsters...

there are not really good for their health...smile.gif if not mistaken the info about recommended dry food is on the 1st page of this thread smile.gif

hope ur lil hamsters will grow chubbier and cute! smile.gif hehe
zulkis
post Feb 3 2009, 08:51 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(odd_mochi @ Feb 3 2009, 01:05 AM)
hi zulkis...nice and cute syrians u have there..
btw, i think it would be better for you to reduce the amount of kuaci u give the hamsters...

there are not really good for their health...smile.gif if not mistaken the info about recommended dry food is on the 1st page of this thread smile.gif

hope ur lil hamsters will grow chubbier and cute! smile.gif hehe
Ok noted. I gave them a bit only also mix with Prestige mix and some vege (once a week). These baby hams will open for sale lorr.

TSnezumitaro
post Feb 3 2009, 09:04 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE(zulkis @ Feb 2 2009, 11:15 PM)
My baby syrian...10 of them and 23 days old now. Various colours..

what size tank u r using? it looks pack in the photos. also no that much kuachi. and i don't see any prestige in the photo. they need high protein and nutritions food.
fendy87
post Feb 3 2009, 09:43 AM

24 posts

tHis is my baby BiBo...i tot it was black...but it is cinnamon brown~ is it??

This post has been edited by fendy87: Feb 3 2009, 11:20 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
scrollgurl
post Feb 3 2009, 11:45 AM

do breeder celect brand manufacture recycled paper as bedding?

This post has been edited by scrollgurl: Feb 3 2009, 11:47 AM
blurjoey
post Feb 3 2009, 11:55 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(scrollgurl @ Feb 3 2009, 11:45 AM)
do breeder celect brand manufacture recycled paper as bedding?
Breeder Celect cat litter is made from recycled paper.

http://www.reinbiotech.com/breeder_celect/breeder_celect.jsp

Most of us are using it as bedding for our hamsters.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 3 2009, 12:01 PM
shanecross
post Feb 3 2009, 12:11 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Hey, i realized something my WW always pee on my palm, hahah anything wrong?
scrollgurl
post Feb 3 2009, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(shanecross @ Feb 3 2009, 12:11 PM)
Hey, i realized something my WW always pee on my palm, hahah anything wrong?
maybe she/he likes your hand very much and he/she finds it too comfortable. so, he/she pees on it. hehe! i;m not sure if its normal or abnormal. btw, it sounds cute!
sangels
post Feb 3 2009, 01:03 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

QUOTE(fendy87 @ Feb 3 2009, 09:43 AM)
tHis is my baby BiBo...i tot it was black...but it is cinnamon brown~ is it??
It's Sable banded. Cute Syrian you have there.
odd_mochi
post Feb 3 2009, 01:17 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(zulkis @ Feb 3 2009, 08:51 AM)
Ok noted. I gave them a bit only also mix with Prestige mix and some vege (once a week). These baby hams will open for sale lorr.
better try and introduce fresh food everyday smile.gif list of veges/fruits is also in the first page..

126 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:24 PM