Chubbie Hamster V12, Chubbie-chubb Furball

Sophiera
post Feb 3 2009, 01:53 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(odd_mochi @ Feb 2 2009, 07:52 AM)
Sophiera....how long is your hamster food? i think if it looks ok, u still can use it... sometimes keep for so long, can find bugs in it...sad.gif

btw, CNY season oredi lor.... u bought hamster oredi?? biggrin.gif
Actually someone else bought it for me during christmas @_@

How long hmm, Bean ate half of it before she kaputted. I'm more concerned about mold...
odd_mochi
post Feb 3 2009, 02:01 PM

23 posts

eih? i didnt know about your new hamster...wat's the name? smile.gif pic pls? tongue.gif

oh, true...i forgot about mold... hmmmm
DarkEmotion88
post Feb 3 2009, 02:15 PM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

i'm the one who bought the hammy for her. umm haven't named it yet. letting her be the one to name it. pics ar...i try to take some if possible.
fendy87
post Feb 3 2009, 03:09 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(sangels @ Feb 3 2009, 01:03 PM)
It's Sable banded. Cute Syrian you have there.
owh...sable banded....tq!
pikeydude
post Feb 3 2009, 03:51 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(mecool @ Jan 31 2009, 02:26 PM)
i put babyoil...it helps make it silent..
Oh babyoil~ maybe i should try that... since i dont have Vaseline also.
How about the other kind of lubricant? Err.... 'those' kind? Save to use also ?
scrollgurl
post Feb 3 2009, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Feb 3 2009, 01:53 PM)
Actually someone else bought it for me during christmas @_@

How long hmm, Bean ate half of it before she kaputted. I'm more concerned about mold...
if you kept it ina dry place and water never/didn't enter. i think it would be fine. perhaps, check the exp date too...but, maybe you would like to stick on the safe side.
blurjoey
post Feb 3 2009, 03:57 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(pikeydude @ Feb 3 2009, 03:51 PM)
Oh babyoil~ maybe i should try that... since i dont have Vaseline also.
How about the other kind of lubricant? Err.... 'those' kind? Save to use also ?
The only safe kind lubricants for hamster wheels are baby oil and vaseline. Cooking oil will get moldy.

But remember to apply very little amount to just lubricate the wheel should suffice.

Avoid all those lubricants for heavy machineries.

Added on February 3, 2009, 4:00 pm
QUOTE(scrollgurl @ Feb 3 2009, 03:54 PM)
if you kept it ina dry place and water never/didn't enter. i think it would be fine. perhaps, check the exp date too...but, maybe you would like to stick on the safe side.
Another is to use air tight containers and put in the fridge. The dry food will last longer.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 3 2009, 04:00 PM
lv1209
post Feb 3 2009, 05:49 PM

209 posts

arh...!!! dare nt to have hamster anymore afta 5 of my lovely roborovski dead few yrs ago. sad larrr... thou feel like getting them again......
odd_mochi
post Feb 3 2009, 07:32 PM

23 posts

wat happen to ur robos lv1209?

very scary....i found out my hostel does not allow us to have pets in our room sad.gif huhuhu......
lv1209
post Feb 3 2009, 09:04 PM

209 posts

they got sick one by one.... cry.gif

scrollgurl
post Feb 3 2009, 10:23 PM

just thought of sharing some info here.

I came across this anti-oxidant called ETHOXYQUIN. after doing some so-called research i came to conclusion that this thing can be potentially harmful. although basically a little amount is used it can still be dangerous as this thing accumulates in your pet's system. anything in excess can be lethal. ethoxyquin is basically an anti0oxdidant. it does just what an anti-oxidant do that is prevent spoilage or rancidification of food to increase the shelf life of food.

here are some useful links
http://www.aplus-flint-river-ranch.com/def...n.php?win=small
http://www.geocities.com/Petsburgh/Zoo/5650/ethoxy.html
http://www.preciouspets.org/petnblog/?p=145

i've noticed that well known pet food such as Kaytee do contain Ethoxyquin.

although still research is being done, there are some individuals saying that ethoxyquin isn't harmful but they arent willing to give guarantee that it is COMPLETELY safe. there are still pet food companies illegally adding Ethoxyquin to food. so is it the time to prepare our own pet food which is more safe as it is quite difficult to trust food brands?
http://www.wellpet.org/nutrition/ethoxyquin2.htm

as for myself, i would like to be on the safe side that is avoiding as much as food that contain Ethoxyquin for my pets.
read the ingredients on food packs before purchasing if you're not willing to purchase Ethoxyquin contaminated food.

remember this thread is not meant to be offensive or else. this is all from my point of view after reading articles on the net.

btw, i've posted the same topic on the main PETS WONDERLAND page. i just thought that i should have one here too.

RyoKenzaki
post Feb 4 2009, 12:40 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Long time din post Button Mushroom pic...
Here's her latest pic, posing for camera
odd_mochi
post Feb 4 2009, 02:16 AM

23 posts

RyoKenzaki hoho ur Mushroom drink water got style la tongue.gif
RyoKenzaki
post Feb 4 2009, 02:19 AM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

She was actually grooming herself and lost balance and fall but eventually she spotted the water bottle and start drinking from it while trying2 wake up

fendy87
post Feb 4 2009, 12:17 PM

24 posts

huhu....so cute!
scrollgurl
post Feb 4 2009, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Feb 4 2009, 02:19 AM)
She was actually grooming herself and lost balance and fall but eventually she spotted the water bottle and start drinking from it while trying2 wake up

haha! that was a series of cute actions! well done, mushroom! rclxms.gif
fendy87
post Feb 4 2009, 05:15 PM

24 posts

its been one week me wtih bibo...but bibo seem not really frenly with me...it is hard to take him out of the cage...always runaway..like playing hide n seek
blurjoey
post Feb 4 2009, 05:28 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(fendy87 @ Feb 4 2009, 05:15 PM)
its been one week me wtih bibo...but bibo seem not really frenly with me...it is hard to take him out of the cage...always runaway..like playing hide n seek
Take your time to tame him. Don't rush. You need to gain his trust first.

Try talking to him more so he will recognize you and hand feed more before trying to hold and take him out of the cage.

Some syrians are easily tamed and some takes a bit more time.

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 4 2009, 05:32 PM
scrollgurl
post Feb 4 2009, 11:29 PM

QUOTE(fendy87 @ Feb 4 2009, 05:15 PM)
perhaps, you should give him some time to settle down and get used to his new environment. then,try to win his his heart by giving him some treats. sunflower seeds,tofu, broccoli make good treats. i bought my syrian last month. i took at least a week and a half to let him settle down. then, it just took me a week to tame him.

now, he is such a mellow fellow! but he do get jumpy at times!

good luck to you and Bibo! rclxms.gif
Princess90
post Feb 5 2009, 12:08 AM

289 posts

Wanna ask sumthing...Having problems wit my new Robo.
How come my robo hammies sleep all the time??? sad.gif
They always run away from my hand... Even when I'm holding food for them! WHY??? WHY??? WHY???

126 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:26 PM