Dec 20 2008, 11:28 PM
829 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Cheras, KL |
QUOTE(mecool @ Dec 20 2008, 11:15 PM) just went to petshack this evening--saw many people there...bought some hamster needs.. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Are you the one who bought Classic Chipsy bedding and Habitrail food this evening? This post has been edited by sangels: Dec 20 2008, 11:33 PM |
Dec 20 2008, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(mecool @ Dec 20 2008, 11:38 PM) Hahaha... Just hang out there only la. I thought you were Chinese as I saw Chinese writing in your signature. We went there to get our dry smoothies and some other stuff for my hammies, don't know where to go except there as we can get everything we need there. |
Dec 21 2008, 12:12 AM
Can mix but only a quarter pack of Harry Hamster with one whole packet of Habitrail do not make a big different as too little Harry Hamster in it and can't really see. I already tried the dry smoothie before this, really good and convenient. All my hammies love it, even my very choosy fat tailed gerbil who don't really eat anything also love the dry smoothie. That's why today I get 4 packets at one shot. Wanna give one for my cousin who currently staying in Ipoh to try also. If you want it, you gotta pre-order first, don't have ready stock in shop yet.
Dec 21 2008, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(kwaiisushi @ Dec 21 2008, 03:33 PM) gosh~ Hamsters like to dig around and they also like to push bedding to one place to make that corner like a nest for them, that's why they 'sweep sweep' it away. Sometimes if they feel hot, they also will sweep away some bedding and sleep directly on the floor. I don't think color bedding will make any different for the sweeping problem. On top of that, anything extra-ordinary not so recommended as coloring usually not good for hamsters, so no need to risk their health as they will hide some bedding in their pouch and move the bedding somewhere else. Just use non pine bedding, corncobs or breeder celct or some recycle paper bedding which is natural color is good enough for them.im lost ysd trying to get to petshack~sob sob~sumore print de map fr de website but still ct find for 1 hr~ sigh~ oh i have 1 question^^ from all pictures here i see u guys put a lot of bedding,like cover whole floor~my hamsters seems to 'dun like' de bedding wan,always sweep sweep away~am planning to get dose round round coloured bedding but some say its not gud~any idea?hehe gratz V12 too^^ |
Dec 25 2008, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(Angel86 @ Dec 25 2008, 09:29 AM) My hamster died yesterday.She was only 1 month + old. How long your hamster have been staying with you? If only few days and within 2 weeks, it might possible died of wet tail. Wet tail is a fatal disease if delay treatment and it is highly contagious. Wet tail can be caused by stress as if it a new hammy to you and sometimes they can not cope with the new environment and stress up. RIP!I have no idea why she died.Before i went to work in the morning i fed her and everything was normal and when i came back,she was stiff,breathless,cold. I have no idea what happened.Did eating plastic killed it?Coz she liked to nibble on the plastic edges of her house. Its so sad man. |
Jan 2 2009, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(vchy @ Jan 2 2009, 02:15 PM) yep.i have done alot research and yes,will spend most of my time on them.after 3 days 1st,coz they might scared of me.and u also get the wrong idea.i mean i dont care they are female or male,they are cute and i love them alot^^haha,dun misunderstood me. QUOTE(vchy @ Jan 2 2009, 07:36 PM) Just my 2 cents. |
Jan 4 2009, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(konbawa @ Jan 4 2009, 03:30 AM) bath with water or soap is the last and very last option that if ur hammie got stained that cannot be removed from normal sandbathe. Is the hamster shampoo spray safe for use on the hamster? What brand are you using? Got picture to show?in normal case, bath ww with sandbath only. or, u can buy a hammie shampoo spray to spray on them n let them roll in bathing sand. if it is very smelly and dirty, u can take it out and spray the shampoo kaw kaw on it till it is wet , dry wit tissue and let it roll in bathing sand. it will afterward clean itself till fur dry and this way is good enough to remove dirt and stink. We are currently using Oxyfresh diluted with water and spray on them to deodorize the smell on their fur. Can use for cleaning the tanks too. This post has been edited by sangels: Jan 4 2009, 11:09 AM |
Jan 5 2009, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(je5sie @ Jan 5 2009, 09:23 PM) hi i really do need help. i have this male dwarf hamster. my friend gave it to me when this male kept on harassing, biting the other females to mate. the females rejected him and ended up bleeding bcos of the bites. i took him and i couldnt stand seeing him so lonely. i went and bought another dwarf female and put them together and right away this desperate guy started repeating the same thing and the female squeak alot trying to push him away. any idea why is this going on? any suggestion what i should do? i would prefer to keep them together. or is this actually normal? What dwarf hamster you got? RC and WW are solitary hamsters. Robos can stay together from young siblings. Also apply for WW if from young siblings. But if you try to put different age gap and different batch hamsters into a tank, there surely will be fights.Hamsters are territorial creatures. You put the female into the male tank? If you did that then means the female is invading the male's territory. He will fight off the intruder or mate if it is female. But I think most probably the female is too young, that could be one of the reasons why she rejected him in the first place. Also they are not human being so they don't have feelings of being lonely. You're the one feeling lonely for the hamster being by itself. Please do the humane thing and separate the male and the female into different tanks/cages. Reply by blurjoey This post has been edited by sangels: Jan 5 2009, 10:38 PM |
Jan 7 2009, 10:41 PM
Just hope everyone understand the ethic of 'breeding' for the good of the innocence animals. There's lots of problems if we accidentally breed them although we as humans don't need to experience the consequences but the small animals. That's why we keep emphasize and hope we can make things better for our animals.
Jan 8 2009, 04:31 PM
QUOTE(odd_mochi @ Jan 8 2009, 02:09 PM) ya ya...and from what i hav read from this thread... eyering can be used to differentiate sable from black, and mink from dove Don't worry, I think they are smart enough to differentiate what is food and what is not. Added on January 8, 2009, 2:20 pmissit harmful for hamsters to consume beddings [unpurposely]? beddings keep on splling in my boys' smoothie bowls |
Jan 12 2009, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(vergas @ Jan 12 2009, 08:12 AM) Syrian hamster clean themselves. Do not bath them with water! Yes, syrian don't use sand as well. You just have to clean their tank and wheels etc. They will groom themselves. No, Samsam is the 1 out of 3 we bought back from Penang when we went for vacation. The one bought with the bad container is Timtim (mink banded long haired male syrian). I think Samsam is not from the good gene, he never put on weight no matter how well we feed him and he always got wet backside. Added on January 12, 2009, 8:13 am Sad to hear that blurjoey, how old was he? This is the one you bought from a petshop that put him in a not so good container right? In remembrance: Samsam the super long haired solid cream black eyed male syrian hamster. Dear Samsam, You are the super messy boy and make us comb your hair everytime we took you out from your tank. You always walk around with your dirty backside and make us limit your drink and you remember to be thankful to Aunty Foo as she created the dry smoothie for you although you just get to eat for very short time. I know you are a strong boy while you are walking over the rainbow bridge to meet your little brother Digdig and your neighbor Fumoffu. You left us without saying goodbye, but I know why, you don't want us to be sad looking at you when you are leaving us like your little brother. I know you'll be good boy even without us taking care of you. We'll meet again one day, then I'll remember to bring along your favorite comb to comb your hair. We won't be sad for your leaving as we know we have given our best to you and you had a great time with us. Take good care till we meet once again. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jan 15 2009, 07:44 AM
GUYS!!! (Friendly reminder here)
Talking about pet shop with names here is prohibited. They got rules now to band you if you talk about them openly in here. I suggest we talk it in PM if necessary. Read the new rules please under the pinned topic in Pets Wonderland. Remember, no more mention of name or else Mod will think you are advertising for them. |
Jan 15 2009, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(hanboy @ Jan 15 2009, 07:58 PM) one of hammie is fat and lazy always sleep doesnt seems to move is this normal??? or they need more exercise like putting them into hamster ball?? Depend what time they are sleeping. They usually will be active when we are sleeping. Their timing is the other way round with our timing. Do you have a wheel for them to run in the tank. If hamster exercise ball, can't put them inside for too long, about 10-15 mins max only to avoid stress for the hamsters. What hamster do you have? |
Jan 15 2009, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(proshop @ Jan 15 2009, 10:54 PM) Hello, im new here Welcome! Yours is long haired syrian, male and it's a sable banded if I'm not mistaken as your pic is not very clear as he is very fluffy.![]() ![]() and im waiting to feed my jojo smoothies, so happy!! |
Jan 16 2009, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(proshop @ Jan 15 2009, 11:51 PM) he is long but not fat, is tht normal?his hair is messy too and thats normal for ling haired hamster right? Long haired are always messy, just like my SamSam boy. His hair always get tangled with bedding and I gotta trim his hair for him before it get worse. If the hamster is more than 2 months old, it's hardly get improve by their size, maybe just a bit different with good food. Your JOJO seems already more than 2 months old if I'm not wrong. Sometimes, their genetic also affect their growth in size. |
Jan 19 2009, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(odd_mochi @ Jan 19 2009, 06:57 AM) wah! my hamsters are dipping their dry food into the smoothie! stress...if like this, the dry food will sure get bad faster than usual... You can check by touching Toby's back with soft stroke and stimulate 'him' and see if 'he' have any smell after some time. Females can get stimulated by soft stroke to their back, if they are on heat, then their tail will rise and they stand very still and stiff. You can try it everyday and 5 days in a roll as females will get their heat every 4-5 days. If females get stimulated, some kind of stinky smell will also occur. What pet shop said can't be believe in 100% as sometimes they can be wrong in sexing the hamsters cos they are scared to be bitten by the wild hamsters in their shop. Sexing will be much easier after 2 months old. Even a male met another male, they will also do the same thing like licking the other backside and try to mount. If the other reject and it can end up fighting.last nite i took out Toph and Toby...and placed both of them on the tank cover...wanted to take picture of them close to each other. Toby was happily walking around when Toph started smelling and licking Toby's butt!! He even tried to mount Toby! So stress...i quickly separated them... Im confused....Toby is supposed to be a boy (according to the pet shop), but i've always question that fact, as Toby does not have any balls...(..yet..as the worker in the petshop said)... after the incidence, is Toby still Toby? or Tobyna? *confused liao* |
Feb 1 2009, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(scrollgurl @ Feb 1 2009, 12:12 AM) So far no reported incident of death of humans or small animals from using Petroleum jelly since they discovered it in 1859.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Petroleum_jelly Added on February 1, 2009, 5:41 pm QUOTE(ling07 @ Feb 1 2009, 12:03 PM) hello, Hamster have high metabolism and requires food constantly. That is why dry food is required in the tank 24/7.Just wanna ask how long can a hamster live without food? my ww died yesterday..=( so sad.. I was away for 3 days but I saw leftover in her food bowl. Maybe she didn't like the leftover 1? She lived for 2 years adi.. Did you leave them enough water in the water bottle? Also you said your hamster lived to be 2 years old could a reason that she died of old age Added on February 1, 2009, 5:48 pm QUOTE(scrollgurl @ Feb 1 2009, 04:03 PM) no, no matter what brand is it pine must not be used. there are other beddings by kaytee too. so, why don't you try those. just to let you know i saw a thread in here that says kaytee food products has ETHOXYQUIN and i've seen an article about it before. although it is in small amount, it can be dangerous. Yes! Just avoid any pine wood shavings. Can consider corncob, recycle paper (Breeder Celect or Back 2 Nature) and hay to be use for bedding. Wood shaving can use Aspen wood shavings which is safe.Can you post the link to the article regarding this ETHOXYQUIN? It is best to post here to let us know more. This post has been edited by sangels: Feb 1 2009, 05:48 PM |
Feb 3 2009, 01:03 PM
Feb 8 2009, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(xiaofer @ Feb 8 2009, 12:23 AM) I brought a new hammy again last fri.I went for a trip for 2 days.During da journey home my mum tod me my new hammy dead.Im so so shocking agaiN.I only saw it within 24 hour and it left me away.This is my 3rd time bela hammy.Da longest wan aso half an year.I wondering it is i dun suit being a pet owner.I felt so bad each time they leavin me. May your hamster RIP.Did you let your hamster settled down first before you go and play with it? Sometimes hamsters gone to a new home and they get stress and they'll get wet tail disease and died within 24 hours if don't have treatment immediately. Sometimes also because of the hamster itself, maybe not healthy when you bought it back. Did you really choose a healthy one and spend time to observe them first before you decided which one to buy? There's a lots of reason for a hamster to died after gone to a new home, it can be sickness, stress, wrong diet and so on. You have to find out the reason. |
| Change to: | 0.0652sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:08 AM |