130 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

hkhk
post Jan 7 2009, 09:56 AM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

Lucky for my company. Slightly affected for this moment.
In fact my company has a mission to absorb those "Talent".
If you have good profile in research. You are welcomed to join. Things will be easier if you have postgrad degree or a well knowned Uni's degree.
yagmai
post Jan 7 2009, 10:14 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Jan 7 2009, 09:56 AM)
If you have good profile in research. You are welcomed to join. Things will be easier if you have postgrad degree or a well knowned Uni's degree.
can u pm me with more details? I'm interested in research and looking for job too.
Find The Way
post Jan 7 2009, 10:44 PM

724 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Jan 7 2009, 09:56 AM)
Research for which field?
hkhk
post Jan 8 2009, 12:57 AM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

My company is doing research related to harddisk. As you know most of the harddisk in the world is produced in Singapore, before the harddisk company move their fac to other country recently.. ( Seagate moved some of their factory to Senai!!)

There is other Research Institute who is doing other research, it can be materials, bio-tech, chemistry, electronic, computing, network, genetic etc. Choose the one you like..

Some of the Institute will require you to apply for PR within 6 month. Some will not.. Some institute will ask you to be Citizen if you are a PR...

This post has been edited by hkhk: Jan 8 2009, 10:13 AM
hotsungie
post Jan 8 2009, 11:53 AM

25 posts

hkhk..can you pm more abuot the position? I need a job...
washabushi
post Jan 8 2009, 04:23 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

can PM me too?
haha...

Added on January 8, 2009, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(jimmy79 @ Jan 6 2009, 04:00 PM)
I like to work with Philippines colleagues. They are all very friendly.
haha...
lucky u...
my place very different...
they make u wanna learn n practise more the word kannina

This post has been edited by washabushi: Jan 8 2009, 04:26 PM
Chrisky
post Jan 8 2009, 08:56 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

juz asking, lets say if i buy a LCD from JB n take it by hand thru custom into SG, will kena tax ah ? my sg colleague told me that if the item value is lower than sgd400 then its ok. hmm.gif

any1 knows ?
hkhk
post Jan 8 2009, 11:46 PM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

Why wanna buy from JB? Buy one at Sg during the PCShow/ITshow/Comex/SITEX la.. cheaper

Last year I bought one from Sg, bring back to JB..
seantang
post Jan 8 2009, 11:58 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jan 8 2009, 08:56 PM)
juz asking, lets say if i buy a LCD from JB n take it by hand thru custom into SG, will kena tax ah ? my sg colleague told me that if the item value is lower than sgd400 then its ok.  hmm.gif

any1 knows ?
Singapore doesn't tax any non-prohibited products brought into Singapore for personal use. It does however prohibit the commercial import of any product without going through the proper importation channels & procedures.

For foodstuffs etc, personal use is defined by weight &/or value.

For non-organic things like electronics, usually 1 or 2 items are quite reasonable for personal use. For eg. if you buy a couple PS3 and carry it back into Singapore. But if you're talking 5 or 6 etc... then there is cause to believe you are importing commercially.

If you're still fearful, just open up the box, reseal it yourself and if in the unlikely event that you're stopped by customs, say it's a used item you're moving from your home in Malaysia to Singapore.

fidoDido
post Jan 9 2009, 09:34 AM

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Aug 20 2008, 12:01 AM)
Stringfellow, put me in the list.
sukhoi37-work at Changi/Paya Lebar, stay at Pasir Ris
hai...may i ask you if I.T certificate can easile get job at SG?and how much basicly the salary??
Chrisky
post Jan 9 2009, 09:53 AM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Jan 8 2009, 11:46 PM)
Why wanna buy from JB? Buy one at Sg during the PCShow/ITshow/Comex/SITEX la.. cheaper

Last year I bought one from Sg, bring back to JB..
there's some models that i cant find in both Sim Lim n Funan, since i going to JB by the weekend anyway, might as well go n try my luck there. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 8 2009, 11:58 PM)
Singapore doesn't tax any non-prohibited products brought into Singapore for personal use. It does however prohibit the commercial import of any product without going through the proper importation channels & procedures.

For foodstuffs etc, personal use is defined by weight &/or value.

For non-organic things like electronics, usually 1 or 2 items are quite reasonable for personal use. For eg. if you buy a couple PS3 and carry it back into Singapore. But if you're talking 5 or 6 etc... then there is cause to believe you are importing commercially.

If you're still fearful, just open up the box, reseal it yourself and if in the unlikely event that you're stopped by customs, say it's a used item you're moving from your home in Malaysia to Singapore.
ok cool. thx for the info. smile.gif
oooooo
post Jan 9 2009, 11:08 AM

104 posts

Hi All, any mechanical design job to intro??
Plan to go SG by this yr...
Earned money will be spend in M'sia...hahaha
washabushi
post Jan 9 2009, 11:25 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

hoongji
i've moved my place to jurong east...
no longer in bkt batok...
Joshua_0718
post Jan 9 2009, 12:38 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Jan 9 2009, 11:25 AM)
hoongji
i've moved my place to jurong east...
no longer in bkt batok...
Bro, why?

Added on January 9, 2009, 12:39 pmGuys, I would like to apply for PR, but my company couldn't sponsor for my application. Slim chances?

What should I look at? I check at my application status, it is at orange light, 1 year working here only green light. Can I depends on my degree, s pass and my salary?

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Jan 9 2009, 12:39 PM
rayray
post Jan 9 2009, 10:22 PM

949 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 31 2008, 09:12 PM)
Singapore's public sector has different pay scales for first class degrees. Generally 10-15% more than normal degrees.

For the private sector, a first class is not a guarantee of a higher salary. It depends on which university that first class came from. Let's just say a normal pass from Melbourne U or NUS is much better regarded than a first class from UiTM or a polytechnic uni. The rest of your resume and your interview performance plays a big part of the employer's starting salary decision.

And there's also the fact that Business Admin is not a profession like law, medicine, architecture or accountancy. Therefore a bachelor's degree in a non-professional subject will not carry the same weight, especially if you're aiming for a specialised field.
Well, Malaysian cant work in Singapore's public sector i assume?

Private sector, sad to say that my university is not that well-known and all. My degree should b accredited though. Hope can get a little better offer or at least, better securing me the job i applying for. It'll take one year's time to complete my studies, hopefully the economy is not that bad by then. Singapore is still having recession and situation is worsening.

Something out of topic. Many people thinks that Business Admin is not professional as the field is very broad. As a BA student I can say that it is a vital function and the importance is not less than the professional. You can set up a legal firm with many experienced lawyers who can win cases, but it will still fail without good management and efficiently functioning operations such as HR, finance, account, marketing etc. icon_rolleyes.gif
seantang
post Jan 9 2009, 11:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(rayray @ Jan 9 2009, 10:22 PM)
Something out of topic. Many people thinks that Business Admin is not professional as the field is very broad. As a BA student I can say that it is a vital function and the importance is not less than the professional.
I disagree. The word I used is profession, not professional.

A profession is a collection of practitioners of a certain and specific skill. A profession contains a detailed and deep body of knowledge typically unavailable to people outside the profession. On top of that, it has a formal structure consisting of organisation, hierarchy, training, code of conduct & body of ethics. In almost all cases, the boundaries of a profession is defined by restricted membership.

By definition, a professional is someone who professes a profession. But these days, people tend to regard a professional as someone who simply takes his job and responsibilities seriously.

So no, BA is not a profession, although there are associations for office administrators.

QUOTE(rayray)
You can set up a legal firm with many experienced lawyers who can win cases, but it will still fail without good management and efficiently functioning operations such as HR, finance, account, marketing etc.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Each of the functions you mentioned ie. lawyers, HR, finance, accounting, marketing... each have a role that utilises a specific skill and creates tangible value for the company. A BA graduate takes classes in all these subjects but none of them in any real depth. As such, they become a jack of all trades, master of none. All BA graduates will end up working in a specific function eg. HR, finance, accounting, marketing, sales, IT etc etc and undergo on-the-job training and take professional qualifications if they intend to formally enter that profession. No company will hire a BA (Business Administration) graduate to specifically "administer their business".

Hence again, BA is not a profession.
danny_ptlm
post Jan 10 2009, 01:23 AM

!@#$%^&*()_+
161 posts

So no, BA is not a profession, although there are associations for office administrators.

so what de point ppl study BA?
seantang
post Jan 10 2009, 04:46 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(danny_ptlm @ Jan 10 2009, 01:23 AM)
so what de point ppl study BA?
It's very handy when you can't decide what specialised field you want to do but you need to study something anyway because you've already finished pre-U.

I know quite a few folks who studied BA and then after working a few years decide to take up accountancy. The BBA course is fairly similar to the BAcctg in 1st and half of 2nd year, so they just need to do a few makeup final year acctg subjects like Acctg Theory, Audit, Taxation 2 - and then they are eligible then to do a professional acctg qualification.
rayray
post Jan 10 2009, 10:05 AM

949 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 9 2009, 11:33 PM)
I disagree. The word I used is profession, not professional.

A profession is a collection of practitioners of a certain and specific skill. A profession contains a detailed and deep body of knowledge typically unavailable to people outside the profession. On top of that, it has a formal structure consisting of organisation, hierarchy, training, code of conduct & body of ethics. In almost all cases, the boundaries of a profession is defined by restricted membership.

By definition, a professional is someone who professes a profession. But these days, people tend to regard a professional as someone who simply takes his job and responsibilities seriously.

QUOTE(rayray)
You can set up a legal firm with many experienced lawyers who can win cases, but it will still fail without good management and efficiently functioning operations such as HR, finance, account, marketing etc.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Each of the functions you mentioned ie. lawyers, HR, finance, accounting, marketing... each have a role that utilises a specific skill and creates tangible value for the company. A BA graduate takes classes in all these subjects but none of them in any real depth. As such, they become a jack of all trades, master of none. All BA graduates will end up working in a specific function eg. HR, finance, accounting, marketing, sales, IT etc etc and undergo on-the-job training and take professional qualifications if they intend to formally enter that profession. No company will hire a BA (Business Administration) graduate to specifically "administer their business".

jack of all trades, master of none is only applied to students who are, just like you mentioned, couldnt decide their career yet (sad to say, the majority of them). But for example, there are people who specialize in marketing their product, able to do study on how to generate profit through detailed market research, effectively cutting cost, skills to manage an efficient team and all. IT, lawyers and doctors couldnt do those. to me they fit most the description of profession,which you already mention at the bolded part. no restricted membership, though. thats why one of my experienced lecturer once said business course's importance is always being overlooked. well, its just something out of topic as i mentioned earlier. we can discuss this in other thread smile.gif somehow, since singapore is firing foreigners to give ways to their own people, i think they will start with the professionals rite?engineer or IT professionals? sad.gif
cktwai
post Jan 10 2009, 10:40 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

[quote=rayray,Jan 10 2009, 10:05 AM]

[/quote]

jack of all trades, master of none is only applied to students who are, just like you mentioned, couldnt decide their career yet (sad to say, the majority of them). But for example, there are people who specialize in marketing their product, able to do study on how to generate profit through detailed market research, effectively cutting cost, skills to manage an efficient team and all. IT, lawyers and doctors couldnt do those. to me they fit most the description of profession,which you already mention at the bolded part. no restricted membership, though. thats why one of my experienced lecturer once said business course's importance is always being overlooked. well, its just something out of topic as i mentioned earlier. we can discuss this in other thread smile.gif somehow, since singapore is firing foreigners to give ways to their own people, i think they will start with the professionals rite?engineer or IT professionals? sad.gif

[/quote]

you should be worried if you follow whatever your lecturer says... if he's so "well versed" about all these things he won't become a lecturer...

and of course if I'm someone teaching BA, I would always tell my students the good things about it .. i wouldn't start a class by saying negative things would I ?

130 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:32 PM