Chubby Hamsters V9, Rolling Fat Furballs.
nezumitaro
Jul 17 2008, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jul 17 2008, 02:13 PM)  nezu, why suddenly so excited~hahaha.. i will take part in it when my house's internet back to normal.. support support !!!  lol life is getting boring.. so hv some fun loh.. every participen will be given a small gift... don't miss out oh!! hope more ppl will join lah.. QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Jul 17 2008, 02:22 PM) I bought the cat litter which made from SILICA and it looks like small rocks which is white color, it's non-clumping and non-toxic (written on the packing). I saw my hammie chew the stone and maybe ate it, is it safe ? It is non-toxic, but my hammie maybe swallow it i think, wouldn't it get stuck in the stomach ? [attachmentid=530903] SILICA is a BIG NONO. it contain chemical, stop using it. QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jul 17 2008, 03:50 PM) I used dried corn cob as a chewtoy. There are some corn leftover on it just to entice her into chewing it but...she's eating all the corn too! Ok ka? I scared get this and that defiiency  It's a WW hamster by the way throw it aways after 24 hous.. may contain alphatoxic.
(N)3
Jul 17 2008, 11:18 PM
Hey ppl, my hamster really gave birth so I need advise on how to take care of them Here is the father which i just separated from the mother and babies This post has been edited by (N)3: Jul 17 2008, 11:20 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
blurjoey
Jul 17 2008, 11:39 PM
From V7 first page QUOTE Steps when your ham has just given birth.
1) Put them in a quiet place of the house. 2) Do not disturb them except for refilling food and water. 3) Do not change the bedding no matter how smelly it is for the next 21 to 24 days. 4) Remove the male. If not you'll have another batch of pink wriggly things in approximately 20 days. 5) Add protein rich supplements such as:-
-Fresh veggies -> Broccoli, alfalfa sprouts, carrots, watercress, choy sum etc. Make sure washed well. Avoid onions, garlic.
-Fresh fruits -> Apple, banana, papaya, honeydew, pear, mango etc. Do not give avocado and citrus fruits.
-Other protein rich stuff -> Wheatgerm, japanese soft tofu, hard boiled egg white, crickets, mealworms etc. Do not give milo or anything containing cocoa.
6) DO NOT TOUCH THE BABIES. If you really want to peek, wait for at least 3 - 4 days, then use the end of a pencil or brush, rub it in the bedding before gently prying a little to see the pinkies.
Reasons to why most or all the babies do not survive or disappear.
1) The mom feels that she does not have enough nutrition to suckle so many babies. She will cull the weakest one first.
2) The mom feels scared or threatened, so her instinct tells her to cull the babies so that she will have the nutrition and get away in order to be able to have another batch of babies in the near future instead of just leaving the babies to the predator/threat. In the wild, if she thinks that the predator is so darn near and gonna eat her any minute, she'll make a run for it. Leaving the babies without a choice.
But as pets, they don't have that option.
3) The baby is sick/injured and/or dying. She will instinctively kill it so that it hasn't a chance to pass whatever that made it sick if it's an infectious disease, and/or eat it to regain lost nutrition.
NOTE: If the baby dies, most ham mothers WILL eat their babies because if she just leaves it, the stench of rotting flesh will attract unwanted company.
4) She's not a good mom. Though most hams are good mothers, there are bound to be a few that will not suckle their babies and probably just step on them a lot. This will need extra attention to spot so that the unattended pups can be given to a foster mother.
Do not confuse this behaviour when seen in the first few hours after birth. It's normal, especially for first time moms, to ignore their pups for the first few hours. Just leave them be and they will usually know what to do.
A few clear rules
1) All pregnant females should be given their own cage each to nurse and have the pups grow. Do ensure there is enough room for them to exercise and run about.
2) DO NOT KEEP A PAIR TOGETHER FOR THE SAKE OF HAVING A PARTNER. A single sex pair is sufficient for that purpose.
3) Syrian hamster matings MUST be supervised. Syrians are SOLITARY, meaning they cannot live together.
4) Do not breed if possible. Breeding is not a FUN thing for them. It's a burden that will shorten their lifespan, nothing more. Also can see that you are using newspaper as the bedding. Please change it as the ink used are poisonous to hamsters and other small animals if eaten. This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jul 17 2008, 11:40 PM
the_catacombs
Jul 17 2008, 11:57 PM
QUOTE((N)3 @ Jul 17 2008, 11:18 PM) Hey ppl, my hamster really gave birth so I need advise on how to take care of them Here is the father which i just separated from the mother and babies she looks.... err.... wet....???... QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 17 2008, 11:39 PM) From V7 first page Also can see that you are using newspaper as the bedding. Please change it as the ink used are poisonous to hamsters and other small animals if eaten. yea.... no good use newspaper.... the dye is poisonous to hamsters...
(N)3
Jul 18 2008, 06:59 AM
ermm that is not the mum, that is the dad the mum is tucked in the cage in the corner of my house had put think of a temp place to put the feller
Jamien
Jul 18 2008, 12:27 PM
QUOTE((N)3 @ Jul 18 2008, 06:59 AM) ermm that is not the mum, that is the dad the mum is tucked in the cage in the corner of my house had put think of a temp place to put the feller  But don't use the newspaper. It'll still be poisonous for the daddy. Good looking daddy by the way. How are the mum and pups?
nezumitaro
Jul 18 2008, 01:35 PM
hey hey no one interested in the photo competition huh?
clementcpteh
Jul 18 2008, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 18 2008, 01:35 PM) hey hey no one interested in the photo competition huh? maybe still new, If i have should will join.
nezumitaro
Jul 18 2008, 02:22 PM
hope more ppl join lah. if not not fun...
Lil'Maine
Jul 18 2008, 03:03 PM

sorry....question here...any recommended vets that treats hamsters? coz i think my cousin's hamster kinda sick...nose and legs kinda swollen...dunno infection or ants bite....
the_catacombs
Jul 18 2008, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 18 2008, 01:35 PM) hey hey no one interested in the photo competition huh? interested... but i dont use ur product also... how to join wor... some more need before n after pics... QUOTE(Lil'Maine @ Jul 18 2008, 03:03 PM) sorry....question here...any recommended vets that treats hamsters? coz i think my cousin's hamster kinda sick...nose and legs kinda swollen...dunno infection or ants bite.... not much.... most vets concentrate more on dogs and cats... hamsters are alwiz neglected...
clementcpteh
Jul 18 2008, 05:19 PM
[quote=the_catacombs,Jul 18 2008, 04:52 PM] interested... but i dont use ur product also... how to join wor... some more need before n after pics... hahahha, the sound like difficulty for the picture? need ask host making simple, do you have any suggestion?
sangels
Jul 18 2008, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(Lil'Maine @ Jul 18 2008, 03:03 PM) sorry....question here...any recommended vets that treats hamsters? coz i think my cousin's hamster kinda sick...nose and legs kinda swollen...dunno infection or ants bite.... hand "N" paws c-17G, jalan PJU 1/45, Aman Suria Damansara, 47301 PJ tel: 03-78046539 SEGAR PETS CENTRE & VETERINARY SERVICES 2, Jln Manis 3, Tmn Segar, Cheras, 56100 KL Tel: 03-91334192, 03-91332343 Fax: 03-91328375 I brought my hamsters to Segar Pets Centre before, they do treat hamsters. Look for Dr Lum (Female Doc), she is quite good in hamsters as she know more than others about hamsters. This post has been edited by sangels: Jul 18 2008, 06:38 PM
hazzy
Jul 18 2008, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 18 2008, 01:35 PM) hey hey no one interested in the photo competition huh? Im surely gonna join the comp. but right now ive no Digicam, plus my phone rosak, gonna repair it 1st  (duit terbang lagi) aiyaiyaiyai, anyway! keep up the good work Nezumitaro. the comp is a very good idea for a Chubby Hamster Owner Good Job!
Lil'Maine
Jul 18 2008, 07:35 PM

QUOTE(sangels @ Jul 18 2008, 06:26 PM) hand "N" paws c-17G, jalan PJU 1/45, Aman Suria Damansara, 47301 PJ tel: 03-78046539 SEGAR PETS CENTRE & VETERINARY SERVICES 2, Jln Manis 3, Tmn Segar, Cheras, 56100 KL Tel: 03-91334192, 03-91332343 Fax: 03-91328375 I brought my hamsters to Segar Pets Centre before, they do treat hamsters. Look for Dr Lum (Female Doc), she is quite good in hamsters as she know more than others about hamsters. Thanls alot...the Segar 1 is lot nearer to me...thanks
Jamien
Jul 18 2008, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jul 18 2008, 01:35 PM) hey hey no one interested in the photo competition huh? Interested! But not yet edit picture size only ah~
jayniel
Jul 18 2008, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(IceHypnose @ Jul 18 2008, 10:09 PM) Ovo suite or pad is really suite for WW hamster? before that i got a 3 floor hamster cage they look much more active in that cage after i switch to ovo pad they like so lazy to move izit too small? i got 2 hamster in a cage anyway  if u got Ovo make sure u dont put at warm places.. cos the hot air will trap inside the Ovo and make the hamsters uncomfortable, and possibly heat stroke.. usually hamsters in warm places will not be very active.. they'll just lie down & sweat a lot..
IceHypnose
Jul 18 2008, 10:20 PM

QUOTE(jayniel @ Jul 18 2008, 10:15 PM) if u got Ovo make sure u dont put at warm places.. cos the hot air will trap inside the Ovo and make the hamsters uncomfortable, and possibly heat stroke.. usually hamsters in warm places will not be very active.. they'll just lie down & sweat a lot.. OOoo ok thanks for ur information jayniel maybe they are really sweating haha Thanks alot nice thread
(N)3
Jul 18 2008, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(Jamien @ Jul 18 2008, 12:27 PM)  But don't use the newspaper. It'll still be poisonous for the daddy. Good looking daddy by the way. How are the mum and pups? thanks  mum and pups doing fine, she is nursing them when i peeked goin to get another cage tomorrow for the dad